Logo Just the Facts

Online shopping in Canada, 2018

Release date: December 2, 2019

This Just the Facts article provides a statistical portrait highlighting Ecommerce activity in Canada. The data will draw mainly from the recently released Canadian Internet Use Survey 2018.

Cybercrime in Canada

Release date: December 2, 2019

This Just the Facts article highlights statistics on cybercrime and cybersecurity from a police (Uniform Crime Reporting Survey, 2018), business (Canadian Survey of Cyber Security and Cybercrime, 2017), and individual (Canadian Internet Use Survey, 2018) perspective.

A portrait of the school-age population and measures of student achievement

Release date: September 18, 2019

This edition presents demographic and family background information on the school-age population as well as measures of student performance in reading, math and science as measured by the 2015 Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) and the 2016 Pan-Canadian Assessment Program (PCAP).

Asylum Claimants

Release date: May 17, 2019

This “Just the Facts: Asylum Claimants” provides information on asylum claimants in Canada including recent trends and their outcomes after arrival.

Women’s employment in natural and applied sciences occupations in Canada, 1998 to 2018

Release date: March 8, 2019

This chart presents the proportion of women employed in natural and applied science occupations in Canada and how their employment in these occupations has grown compared with men.

Family Day 2019 and the Diversity of Families in Canada

Release date: February 18, 2019

Everyone in Canada is, or has been, a part of a family.  The purpose of this Just the Facts edition is to celebrate families in Canada on Family Day 2019 (a statutory holiday in some provinces) by acknowledging their diversity and how they have changed over time.  Data from the Census of Population and the General Social Survey together provide a snapshot of families today in the historical album of family life in Canada.

The Gender Wage Gap and Equal Pay Day 2018

Release date: November 23, 2018

The purpose of this edition is to raise awareness about the gender wage gap. It does so by presenting "Equal Pay Day" on the date when women effectively start working for free in Canada, and by providing a general overview of women's experiences in the labour market.

Changes in new home prices, Canada and select census metropolitan areas

Release date: October 31, 2018

This edition presents changes in new home prices for Canada and select census metropolitan areas (CMAs) between August 2017 and August 2018. During this period, Canadians experienced rising mortgage rates, tighter lending rules and some provincial policy interventions.

Canada's import and duty values from the world and from the United States

Release date: October  19, 2018 Revised date: November 5, 2019

These tables present values of Canada's monthly imports and duties collected on imported goods. The tables include Canada's total import and duty values, and these values for dairy products, iron and steel products, aluminum products, vehicles, and for all other goods. Each table includes Canada's total imports and imports from the United States.

Projected indicators to 2036 for the Canadian labour force

Release date: September 10, 2018 Revised date: October 29, 2018

These tables provide modeled (2017) and projected (2036) statistical indicators related to the Canadian labour force.

Students, teachers and academic performance

Release date: September 7, 2018

This edition presents the most recent numbers of students, teachers, and student performance in reading, math and science as measured by the 2015 Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA).

Firearm-related violent crime, 2009 to 2017

Release date: August 5, 2018

This table presents information relating to firearms and violent crime using data reported by police to Statistics Canada, including recent trends in census metropolitan areas.

Facts on Select Canadian Industries Impacted by Tariffs

Release date: August 24, 2018 Revised date: December 4, 2019

On June 1st 2018 the United States implemented additional US tariffs on selected steel and aluminum products. Tariffs on softwood lumber exports have also been in effect since April 2017. This new table shows economic indicators that Statistics Canada produces for industries impacted by tariffs. On May 17th 2019, it was announced that the US tariffs on imports of Canadian steel and aluminum products would be lifted in a matter of days.

Average prices for selected products by origin of manufacture, Canada and provinces

Release date: August 17, 2018

Average prices for a selection of products, some of which are referenced in the July 1st, 2018 Countermeasures in Response to Unjustified Tariffs on Canadian Steel and Aluminum Products. Data are provided at the Canada and province level. Prices are classified by origin of manufacture and are available beginning with the June 2017 reference month.

Trade values of products subject to tariffs, customs basis, 2017

Release date: August 17, 2018

On June 1, 2018, the United States implemented additional tariffs on selected Canadian steel and aluminum products exported to the United States. The additional tariff rates are 25% and 10% respectively. In response, on July 1, 2018, Canada imposed tariffs on the imports of certain products from the United States. These tariff rates are also at the 25% and 10% levels, and cover a diverse range of products and primarily fall under the categories of aluminum products; articles of iron and steel; prepared foodstuffs; paper products; machinery and electrical equipment; and other miscellaneous manufactured items. This table provides the Canadian International Merchandise Trade Import and Export Statistics for the items subject to the tariffs.

Date modified:

Logo Les faits, tout simplement!

Un portrait de la population d'âge scolaire et des mesures du rendement des élèves

Date de diffusion : le 18 septembre 2019

Cette édition présente des renseignements démographiques et familiaux sur la population d'âge scolaire ainsi que des mesures du rendement des élèves en lecture, en mathématiques et en sciences, tel que mesuré par le Programme intarnational pour le suivi des acques des élèves (PISA) 2015 et le Programme pananadien d'évaluation (PPCE) 2016.

Les demandeurs d’asile

Date de diffusion : le 17 mai 2019

La publication « Les faits, tout simplement! Les demandeurs d’asile » fournit des renseignements sur les demandeurs d’asile au Canada, y compris sur les tendances récentes et leurs résultats après leur arrivée au pays.

L’emploi des femmes dans les professions des sciences naturelles et appliquées au Canada, 1998 à 2018

Date de diffusion : le 8 mars 2019

Ce graphique présente la proportion de femmes qui occupent des professions dans le domaine des sciences naturelles et appliquées au Canada ainsi que la croissance de leur emploi dans ces professions par rapport aux hommes.

Jour de la Famille 2019 et diversité des familles au Canada

Date de diffusion : le 18 février 2019

Tout le monde au Canada fait ou a déjà fait partie d'une famille.  Le but de la présente édition, Les faits, tout simplement!, est de célébrer les familles au Canada  en ce jour de la famille 2019 (jour férié dans certaines provinces), tout en reconnaissant sa diversité et  son évolution au fil du temps. Les données du recensement de la population et de l'Enquête sociale générale fournissent ensemble un aperçu des familles d’aujourd'hui et leur position dans l’ensemble de l’histoire de la famille au Canada.  

L’écart salarial entre les sexes et la Journée de l’équité salariale, 2018

Date de diffusion : le 23 novembre 2018

Le but de la présente édition est de sensibiliser les gens à l’écart salarial entre les hommes et les femmes. Pour ce faire, on y présente la « Journée de l’équité salariale », soit la date où les femmes commencent en fait à travailler gratuitement au Canada. On y donne également un aperçu général de l’expérience des femmes sur le marché du travail.

Variations des prix des maisons neuves au Canada et dans certaines régions métropolitaines de recensement

Date de diffusion : le 31 octobre 2018

Cette édition présente les variations des prix des maisons neuves au Canada et dans certaines régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) entre août 2017 et août 2018. Durant cette période, les Canadiens ont connu des taux d'intérêt plus élevés, des règles de prêt plus strictes, et certaines politiques et interventions provinciales.

Valeurs des importations du Canada et des droits de douane en provenance du monde et des États-Unis

Date de diffusion : le 19 octobre 2018 Date révisée : le 4 septembre 2019

Ces tableaux présentent les valeurs des importations mensuelles du Canada et des droits de douane perçus sur les marchandises importées. Les tableaux incluent les valeurs des importations totales du Canada et les valeurs des droits de douane, ainsi que ces valeurs pour les produits laitiers, les produits en fer ou en acier, les produits en aluminium, les véhicules, et pour tous les autres produits. Chaque tableau comprend les importations du Canada en provenance du monde et les importations du Canada en provenance des États-Unis.

Indicateurs projetés en 2036 de la population active canadienne

Date de diffusion : le 10 septembre 2018 Date révisée : le 29 octobre 2018

Ces tableaux portent sur des indicateurs statistiques modélisés (2017) et projetés (2036) en lien avec la population active canadienne.

Élèves, éducateurs et rendement des élèves

Date de diffusion : le 7 septembre 2018

Cette édition présente les statistiques les plus récentes sur les élèves, les éducateurs et le rendement des élèves en lecture, en mathématiques et en sciences, telles que mesurées par le Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA) de 2015.

Crimes violent liés aux armes à feu, 2009 à 2017

Date de diffusion : le 27 août 2018

Ce tableau fournit de l’information relativement aux armes à feu et aux crimes violents à partir des données déclarées par la police à Statistique Canada, y compris les tendances à court terme parmi les régions métropolitaines de recensement.

Faits sur certaines industries canadiennes touchées par les tarifs

Date de diffusion : le 24 août 2018 Date révisée : le 5 septembre 2019

Le 1er juin 2018, les États-Unis ont mis en place des tarifs supplémentaires relatifs à certains produits en acier et en aluminium. Ces tarifs s’ajoutent à ceux qui sont appliquées depuis avril 2017 sur les exportations de bois d’oeuvre canadien. Ce nouveau tableau montre les indicateurs économiques que Statistique Canada produit pour les industries touchées par les tarifs. Le 17 mai 2019, il a été annoncé que les tarifs américains sur les importations de produits en acier et en aluminium canadien seraient annulés dans les jours suivants.

Prix moyens de produits sélectionnés selon l'origine de fabrication, Canada et provinces

Date de diffusion : le 17 août 2018

Prix moyens de produits sélectionnés, dont certains sont cités en référence dans Contre-mesures en réponse aux tarifs injustifiés appliqués sur l'acier et l'aluminium provenant du Canada, du 1 juillet 2018. Les données sont fournies au niveau du Canada et des provinces. Les prix sont classifiés selon l'origine de fabrication et sont disponibles à partir du mois de référence de juin 2017.

Valeurs du commerce des produits assujettis aux tarifs, base douanière, 2017

Date de diffusion : le 17 août 2018

Le 1er juin 2018, les États-Unis ont mis en place des tarifs supplémentaires relatifs à certains produits d'acier canadien et d'aluminium exportés vers les États-Unis. Ces taux de tarifs supplémentaires sont de 25 % et de 10 % respectivement. En réponse, le 1er juillet 2018, le Canada a imposé des tarifs touchant certains produits importés des États-Unis. Ces tarifs sont également de 25 % et de 10 % et couvrent une grande variété de produits, surtout dans les catégories des produits d'aluminium; des produits de fer ou d'acier; des aliments préparés; des produits des industries du papier; des machines et matériel électriques; et d'autres articles fabriqués divers. Ce tableau porte sur les exportations et les importations du Commerce international canadien de marchandises pour les produits couverts par les tarifs.

Date de modification :