Environment

Health is not simply the outcome of age, genetic make-up, and health behaviours; it is influenced by the physical and social environments. The physical environment includes biological, chemical and physical hazards that are found in air, water, soil and food.  Exposure to these hazards may occur in specific geographic locations or in places such as the home, workplace, school and the larger community1. The social environment encompasses the social, cultural and economic aspects of our lives.  It includes institutions and organizations and the ways they interact with individuals and the community2,3,4. Thus, everything from the political system (macro–level health determinants) to families and social groups (meso–level determinants) are part of the social environment1. These macro– and meso–level factors interact with individuals (micro–level) through behaviours and biological processes1.

The following indicators were chosen to represent aspects of the physical and social environments whose effects may be felt by individuals directly, such as through exposure to toxins, or indirectly, through access to resources, for example.

Shelter is a basic human need and issues surrounding housing are important to communities. In the Report on the State of Public Health in Canada 2008, Dr. Butler-Jones discusses the negative health consequences of inadequate home environments, from the direct effect of poor ventilation and exposure to toxins to the behavioral risk factors associated with homelessness5. The report states that 13.7% of Canadians lack access to acceptable housing.  Affordability is a major component of acceptable housing.  This report presents housing affordability defined as the proportion of people who spend an excessive amount of their household income on shelter costs, thereby leaving inadequate resources for food and other health–promoting necessities. 

Employment is positively associated with health. As well as enhancing the ability to afford housing and other essentials, employment is associated with psychosocial benefits6,7. In addition, employment helps generate a tax base that, in turn, provides community services. As a result, individuals and the community as a whole benefit from an employed population.  On the other hand, long–term unemployment is a threat to health. Thus, the percentage of the community who remain unemployed for a year or more indicates a group within the community who are likely under stress and is another measure of the health of the social environment. 

Education, which is closely linked to employment, is also positively associated with health. An educated population is a community resource and another measure of the social environment. The percentage of young people who have, at minimum, completed secondary school is presented as an indicator of the health of the social environment.

A healthy environment may also be defined as one in which community members thrive physically, mentally and socially. A subjective measure commonly used to assess communities is sense of community belonging. Canadians who feel connected to their community have higher odds of reporting positive health, including mental health8,9.

Second–hand smoke is an environmental pollutant that directly impacts health through exposure in homes, public places, and vehicles.  Second hand smoke has been associated with health problems such as lung cancer, asthma and bronchitis, and Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)10,11.  This report presents the percentage of non-smokers who are exposed daily, or almost daily, in the home, private vehicles, and public places.  Monitoring the second hand smoke indicator over time provides insight into the effectiveness of public and private smoking bans12.

These attributes of the physical and social environments in Canada varied over time and across provinces and territories. Positive findings include the majority of Canadians reporting a strong sense of community belonging; an increase in the percentage of young people with secondary diplomas; and decreasing exposure to second-hand smoke. However, nearly one in four households spent more than 30% of their income on shelter costs in 2006, and it is evident that renters were much more likely than homeowners to face housing affordability problems. Long–term unemployment remained relatively stable although it was high in some areas, particularly the territories and the Atlantic Provinces. Yet these same areas are more likely to report strong community belonging. Relatively high percentages of Ontario and British Columbia residents experienced housing affordability problems, but the percentages of secondary graduates in their populations were also relatively high. These examples illustrate some of the variation across Canada; no single place could be labelled the "healthiest" place to live. 

Despite provincial and territorial differences, males and females expressed similar feelings of community belonging, although younger and older Canadians were more likely to report strong feelings of community belonging than were people in their middle years.  Males were more likely than females to be exposed to second-hand smoke, as were children and youth compared with adults.

Monitoring indicators of the physical and social environments in which Canadians live and work is important for understanding changes in population health.  It also helps evaluate the health impact of policies aimed at improving social and economic conditions. Addressing housing, education and employment issues, exposure to toxins like second-hand smoke, and striving to enhance sense of community belonging is an "upstream" approach that helps prevent disease and promote health.

Please visit Health Profile for the latest health-related data for your region.


References

1. Young TK. Population Health: Concepts and Methods. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

2. Health-EU. The Public Health Portal of the European Union.  Social Environment.

3. World Health Organization. Social Environment.

4. Patrick DL, Wickizer TM. Community and health.  In: Amick III BC, Levine S, Tarlov AR, Chapman Walsh D, eds. Society and Health. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995: 46-92.

5. Butler-Jones D.  The Chief Public Health Officer's Report on the State of Public Health in Canada, 2008.

6. Mathers CD, Shofield DJ. The health consequences of unemployment: the evidence. Medical Journal of Australia 1998; 168: 178-82.

7. Ross CE, Mirowsky J.  Does employment affect health?  Journal of Health and Social Behavior 1995; 36(3): 230-43.

8. Shields M. Community Belonging and Self-perceived Health: Early CCHS Findings (January to June 2005) (Catalogue 82-621) Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2005.

9. Shields M. Community belonging and self-perceived health. Health Reports (Statistics Canada, Catalogue 82-003) 2008; 19(2): 51-60.

10. Vozoris N, Lougheed MD.  Second-hand smoke exposure in Canada: prevalence, risk factors, and association with respiratory and cardiovascular diseases. Canadian Respiratory Journal 2008; 15(5): 263-9.

11. Klonoff-Cohen HS, Edelstein SL, Lefkowitz ES, et al. The effect of passive smoking and tobacco exposure through breast milk on sudden infant death syndrome. Journal of the American Medical Association 1995; 273(10): 795-8.

12. Shields M.  Smoking—prevalence, bans and exposure to second-hand smoke. Health Reports  (Statistics Canada, Catalogue 82-003) 2007; 18(3); 67-85.

Date modified:

Environnement

La santé n'est pas simplement déterminée par l'âge, l'hérédité et les comportements ayant une incidence sur la santé; elle est influencée par les environnements physique et social. L'environnement physique comprend les dangers biologiques, chimiques et physiques présents dans l'air, l'eau, le sol et les aliments. L'exposition à ces dangers peut se produire dans des lieux géographiques particuliers ou dans des endroits tels que le domicile, le lieu de travail, l'école et la collectivité dans son ensemble1. L'environnement social englobe les aspects sociaux, culturels et économiques de nos vies. Il comprend les institutions et les organisations, ainsi que les façons dont ils interagissent avec les individus et la collectivité 2,3,4. Donc, tout, du régime politique (macrodéterminants de la santé) à la famille et au groupe social (mésodéterminants) fait partie de l'environnement social1. Ces macrofacteurs et mésofacteurs interagissent avec les individus (niveau micro) par la voie des comportements et des processus biologiques1.

Les indicateurs qui suivent ont été choisis pour représenter les aspects des milieux physique et social dont les effets peuvent être ressentis directement par les individus, par exemple par l'exposition directe à des toxines, ou indirectement, par exemple, par l'accès aux ressources.

Le logement est un besoin humain essentiel et les questions qui y ont trait sont importantes pour les communautés. Dans le Rapport sur l'état de la santé publique au Canada 2008, le Dr David Butler–Jones discute des conséquences néfastes pour la santé d'un milieu familial inadéquat, allant de l'effet direct d'une mauvaise ventilation et de l'exposition à des toxines, aux facteurs de risque de type comportemental associés à l'absence de domicile fixe5. Selon ce rapport, 13,7 % des Canadiens n'ont pas accès à un logement acceptable. Dans le présent rapport, l'indicateur d'abordabilité du logement est défini comme la proportion de personnes qui dépensent une part excessive du revenu total de leur ménage pour se loger, si bien qu'ils ne disposent pas de ressources adéquates pour se nourrir et pour d'autres nécessités favorisant un bon état de santé.

L'emploi est associé positivement à la santé. En plus d'accroître la capacité d'avoir les moyens de se loger et de se procurer l'essentiel, l'emploi est relié à des bienfaits psychosociaux6,7. En outre, l'emploi contribue à l'établissement d'une assiette fiscale qui, à son tour, permet d'offrir des services communautaires. Donc, les particuliers et la collectivité dans son ensemble tirent des avantages d'une population occupée. Par ailleurs, le chômage de longue durée représente une menace pour la santé. Par conséquent, le pourcentage de membres de la collectivité qui restent chômeurs pendant un an ou plus signale l'existence d'un groupe de personnes qui sont vraisemblablement sous l'emprise du stress et représente une autre mesure de la santé de l'environnement social.

Le niveau de scolarité, qui est étroitement lié à l'emploi, est également associé positivement à la santé. Une population instruite représente une ressource communautaire et une autre mesure de l'environnement social. Le pourcentage de jeunes qui ont au moins terminé leurs études secondaires est présenté comme un indicateur de la santé de l'environnement social.

Un environnement sain peut aussi être défini comme un environnement dans lequel les membres de la collectivité s'épanouissent physiquement, mentalement et socialement. Une mesure subjective utilisée fréquemment pour évaluer les collectivités est le sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté. Les Canadiens qui ont un sentiment de connexion avec leur collectivité ont plus de chance de faire une déclaration positive concernant leur santé, y compris la santé mentale8,9.

La fumée secondaire est un polluant environnemental qui a une incidence directe sur la santé par la voie de l'exposition à la maison, dans les lieux publics et dans les véhicules. L'exposition à la fumée secondaire a été associée à des problèmes de santé tels que le cancer du poumon, l'asthme et la bronchite, ainsi qu'au syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson (SMSN) 10,11. Le présent rapport donne le pourcentage de non–fumeurs qui sont exposés quotidiennement, ou presque quotidiennement, à la maison, dans les véhicules privés et dans les lieux publics. Le suivi de l'indicateur d'exposition à la fumée secondaire au cours du temps donne une idée de l'efficacité des interdictions de fumer dans les lieux publics et privés12.

Ces attributs des environnements physiques et sociaux au Canada varient au cours du temps et selon la province ou le territoire. Les constatations favorables comprennent le fait que la majorité des Canadiens disent avoir un fort sentiment d'appartenance à leur communauté, l'accroissement de la proportion de jeunes titulaires d'un diplôme d'études secondaires et la diminution de l'exposition à la fumée secondaire. Cependant, près d'un ménage sur quatre dépensait plus de 30 % de son revenu pour se loger en 2006 et il est évident que les locataires étaient nettement plus susceptibles que les propriétaires de faire face à des problèmes d'abordabilité du logement. Le taux de chômage de longue durée est demeuré relativement stable, mais il était élevé dans certaines régions, particulièrement les territoires et les provinces atlantiques. Pourtant, les habitants de ces mêmes régions sont plus susceptibles que les autres de mentionner un fort sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté. Des proportions relativement élevées de résidents de l'Ontario et de la Colombie–Britannique éprouvaient des problèmes d'abordabilité du logement, mais les proportions de diplômés du secondaire dans les populations de ces provinces étaient également assez fortes. Ces exemples illustrent certaines des variations à travers le Canada; aucun endroit particulier ne peut être désigné comme étant le lieu de vie « le plus sain ».

Malgré des différences provinciales et territoriales, l'intensité du sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté était la même chez les hommes et les femmes, mais les Canadiens jeunes et âgés étaient plus susceptibles de déclarer un fort sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté que les personnes d'âge moyen. Les hommes étaient plus susceptibles que les femmes, et les enfants et les jeunes, plus susceptibles que les adultes d'être exposés à la fumée secondaire.

La surveillance des indicateurs de l'environnement physique et social dans lequel vivent et travaillent les Canadiens est importante si l'on veut comprendre l'évolution de la santé de la population. Elle facilite aussi l'évaluation de l'incidence qu'ont sur la santé les politiques destinées à améliorer les conditions sociales et économiques. Se pencher sur les problèmes concernant le logement, la scolarité et l'emploi, ainsi que l'exposition aux toxines, telles que la fumée secondaire, et s'efforcer de renforcer le sentiment d'appartenance à la collectivité est une approche d'« intervention en amont » qui aide à prévenir la maladie et à promouvoir la santé.

Pour les plus récentes données de la santé pour votre région, visiter le site Web Profil de la santé


Bibliographie

1. Young T.K. 2005. Population Health : Concepts and Methods, New York, Oxford University Press.

2. Santé–EU, Le portail de la santé publique de l'Union européenne, Environnement social.

3. Organisation mondiale de la santé, Milieu social.

4. Patrick D.L. et T.M. Wickizer. 1995. « Community and health », Society and Health, publié sous la direction de B.C. Amick III, S. Levine, A.R. Tarlov et D. Chapman Walsh, New York, Oxford University Press, p. 46 à 92.

5. Butler–Jones D. L'administrateur en chef de la santé publique : Rapport sur l'état de la santé publique au Canada 2008 : S'attaquer aux inégalités.

6. Mathers C.D. et D.J. Shofield. 1998. « The health consequences of unemployment: the evidence », Medical Journal of Australia, no 168, p. 178 à 182.

7. RossC.E. et J. Mirowsky. 1995. « Does employment affect health? », Journal of Health and Social Behavior, vol. 36, no 3, p. 230 à 243.

8. Shields M. 2005. Appartenance à la communauté et perception de l'état de santé : Premiers résultats de l'ESCC, janvier à juin 2005, produit no 82-621 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, Ottawa, Ontario.

9.Shields  M. 2008. « Appartenance à la communauté et autoévaluation de l'état de santé », Rapports sur la santé, produit no 82-003 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, vol. 19, no 2, p. 57 à 67.

10. Vozoris N. et M.D. Lougheed. 2008. « Second–hand smoke exposure in Canada: prevalence, risk factors, and association with respiratory and cardiovascular diseases », Revue canadienne de pneumologie, vol. 15, no 5, p. 263 à 269.

11. Klonoff–Cohen H.S., S.L. Edelstein, E.S. Lefkowitz et coll. 1995. « The effect of passive smoking and tobacco exposure through breast milk on sudden infant death syndrome », Journal of the American Medical Association, vol. 273, no 10, p. 795 à 798.

12. Shields  M. 2007. « Usage du tabac : prévalence, interdictions et exposition à la fumée secondaire », Rapports sur la santé, produit no 82-003 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, vol. 18, no 3, p. 71 à 92.

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :