Section 3: Drainage region profiles

Canada’s abundant freshwater is provided through a wide variety of ecosystems across a broad range of landscapes. These ecosystems can be large and complex, creating significant challenges in assessing how changes in land cover and climatological factors, among other drivers of change, affect the supply of freshwater.

This section provides maps, tables and charts on water supply and demand, land cover, population, nutrients and selected other factors influencing the provision of freshwaterNote 1 for each of Canada’s 25 drainage regions. Taken together, these data can help provide information on potential risks to water supply within drainage regions. See Textbox 3.1 for more information.

Drainage region profiles

Pacific Coastal
Fraser–Lower Mainland
Okanagan–Similkameen
Columbia
Yukon
Peace–Athabasca
Lower Mackenzie
Arctic Coast–Islands
Missouri
North Saskatchewan
South Saskatchewan
Assiniboine–Red
Winnipeg
Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson
Churchill
Keewatin–Southern Baffin
Northern Ontario
Northern Quebec
Great Lakes
Ottawa
St. Lawrence
North Shore–Gaspé
Saint John–St. Croix
Maritime Coastal
Newfoundland–Labrador

Start of text box

Textbox 3.1 Human modifications of landscapes affecting the supply of freshwater

Landscape modifications influence how ecosystems function and provide freshwater. Areas with more people, activities and infrastructure are generally more degraded from their natural state. Shorelines and waterways are modified by dams, culverts and diversions; roads, roofs, parking lots and other impermeable or disturbed surfaces increase runoff of sediment and contaminants into water bodies.Note 2 Some of the main factors of interest to understand this degradation include population densities, land cover and land use, and nutrient inputs.

The majority (98%) of Canada’s population is concentrated in the south of the country, with large expanses of the landscape in the central and northern portions of Canada remaining virtually uninhabited.Note 3 The St. Lawrence and Great Lakes drainage regions have the highest population densities at 59.9 and 54.7 people per square kilometre, as well as the highest proportions of built-up area at 5.0% and 3.5% (Tables A.2 and A.1).

Landscapes in the prairie drainage regions have the largest proportions of arable land and natural land used for pasture (Table A.1). Drainage regions with the highest densities of linear infrastructure such as roads, pipelines, transmission lines and railroads include the St. Lawrence, Red–Assiniboine and Great Lakes (Table A.1).

While there are many different contaminants that can have an impact on water quality, nutrient pollution is one of the most widespread issues in Canada and around the world. Much of the nitrogen and phosphorus come from commercial fertilizers and manure that run off the land into water bodies or leach into groundwater, but other major sources include wastewater and stormwater, as well as nitrogen releases to air from motor vehicle use, oil and gas production, electrical power generation and other activities.Note 4

The largest fertilizer application areas were found in the Assiniboine–Red, South Saskatchewan and North Saskatchewan drainage regions (Table A.1). Some of the highest amounts of residual soil nitrogenNote 5 or phosphorus potentially released from agricultural soilsNote 6 in 2011 occurred in areas that have historically had intensive agriculture, including parts of the Fraser–Lower Mainland, South Saskatchewan, Assiniboine–Red, Great Lakes, St. Lawrence and Maritime Coastal drainage regions (Maps 3.1 and 3.2, Table A.3).

In 2014 there were 754 thousand tonnes of nitrogen and 40 thousand tonnes of phosphorus released from industrial facilities to air, land and water across Canada (Table A.3). Wastewater discharges from industrial facilities, including wastewater treatment plants, can have varying impacts on the receiving aquatic ecosystems depending on the type of treatment, effluent quality, volume of discharge and the receiving water body. In 2012, over 3,700 wastewater systems in Canada generated an estimated 6 trillion litres of wastewater, of which over 150 billion litres may have been untreated. Of these systems, 849 were identified as needing upgrades to meet national effluent quality standards and 136 were considered high risk systems.Note 7

Turbidity measures of source water for drinking water production were highest in the Lower Saskatchewan–Nelson, North Saskatchewan and Assiniboine–Red drainage regions in the Prairies and in the St. Lawrence drainage region (Table A.3). Turbidity data collected by treatment plant operators help establish historical trends concerning source water conditions. Data on land cover and land use change in the surrounding and upstream environment can provide information on how people contribute to changing turbidity levels.

End of text box

Notes

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Un large éventail d’écosystèmes dans divers types de paysages fournit au Canada une abondance d’eau douce. Ces écosystèmes peuvent être grands et complexes, ce qui complique considérablement l’évaluation des répercussions des changements de la couverture terrestre et des facteurs climatologiques, entre autres vecteurs de changement, sur l’offre d’eau douce.

La présente section renferme des cartes, des tableaux et des graphiques sur l’offre et la demande d’eau, la couverture terrestre, la population, les éléments nutritifs et d’autres facteurs sélectionnés qui influent sur l’approvisionnement en eau douce Note 1 de chacune des 25 régions de drainage du Canada. Considérées ensemble, ces données peuvent permettre d’éclairer les risques susceptibles de peser sur l’offre d’eau au sein des régions de drainage. Voir l’encadré 3.1 pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Les profils des regions de drainage

Côte du Pacifique
Fraser–Basses-terres
Okanagan–Similkameen
Columbia
Yukon
Paix–Athabasca
Bas Mackenzie
Côte de l'Arctique–Îles
Missouri
Saskatchewan Nord
Saskatchewan Sud
Assiniboine–Rouge
Winnipeg
Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson
Churchill
Keewatin–sud de l'Île de Baffin
Nord de l'Ontario
Nord du Québec
Grands Lacs
Des Outaouais
Saint-Laurent
Côte-Nord–Gaspé
Saint-Jean–St-Croix
Côte des provinces Maritimes
Terre-Neuve–Labrador

Début de l'encadré

Encadré 3.1 Les modifications anthropiques des paysages qui influent sur l’offre d’eau douce

Les modifications du paysage ont une incidence sur le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et la manière dont ils fournissent de l’eau douce. En général, les zones où il y a plus de personnes, d’activités et d’infrastructures sont plus détériorées par rapport à leur état naturel. Les rives et les cours d’eau sont transformés par les barrages, les ponceaux et les entrées de détournement; les routes, les toits, les terrains de stationnement et d’autres surfaces imperméables ou perturbées augmentent le ruissellement des sédiments et des contaminants dans les cours d’eau Note 2. Certains des facteurs d’intérêt qui aident à comprendre cette détérioration comprennent la densité démographique, la couverture terrestre et l’utilisation des terres, de même que les apports en éléments nutritifs.

La majorité (98 %) de la population du Canada est concentrée dans le sud du pays, alors que de vastes étendues du paysage dans ses parties centrale et nordique sont pratiquement inhabitées Note 3. Les régions de drainage Saint-Laurent et Grands Lacs sont celles où la densité de la population est la plus élevée (59,9 et 54,7 personnes par kilomètre carré, respectivement), de même que celles où les proportions des zones bâties sont les plus grandes, soit 5,0 % et 3,5 % (tableaux A.2 et A.1).

Les paysages dans les régions de drainage des prairies comptent les plus fortes proportions de terres arables et de terres naturelles utilisées pour le pâturage (tableau A.1). Les régions de drainage où l’on retrouve les plus grandes densités d’infrastructures linéaires, comme des routes, des pipelines, des lignes de transmission et des voies ferrées, comprennent les régions de drainage Saint-Laurent, Assiniboine–Rouge et Grands Lacs (tableau A.1).

Bien qu’un grand nombre de contaminants puissent avoir une incidence sur la qualité de l’eau, la pollution provoquée par les éléments nutritifs est l’un des problèmes les plus répandus au Canada et dans le monde. Une bonne partie de l’azote et du phosphore provient du fumier et des engrais chimiques qui ruissellent dans les plans d’eau ou qui s’infiltrent dans les eaux souterraines, mais d’autres sources importantes comprennent les eaux usées et les eaux pluviales, de même que l’azote rejeté dans l’atmosphère par l’utilisation des véhicules automobiles, la production pétrolière et gazière, la production d’électricité et d’autres activités Note 4.

Les superficies fertilisées les plus grandes se trouvaient dans les régions de drainage Assiniboine–Rouge, Saskatchewan Sud et Saskatchewan Nord (tableau A.1). En 2011, on retrouvait certaines des plus grandes quantités d’azote résiduel dans le sol Note 5 ou de phosphore possiblement rejeté par les sols agricoles Note 6 dans des zones où, historiquement, était pratiquée l’agriculture intensive, notamment des parties des régions de drainage Fraser–Basses-terres, Saskatchewan Sud, Assiniboine–Rouge, Grands Lacs, Saint-Laurent et Côte des provinces Maritimes (cartes 3.1 et 3.2, tableau A.3).

En 2014, 754 000 tonnes d’azote et 40 000 tonnes de phosphore ont été rejetées par des établissements industriels dans l’atmosphère, les sols et l’eau au Canada (tableau A.3). Les rejets d’eaux usées par les établissements industriels, notamment les usines de traitement des eaux usées, peuvent avoir des répercussions variables sur les écosystèmes aquatiques récepteurs, selon le genre de traitement, la qualité de l’effluent, le volume du déversement et le plan d’eau récepteur. En 2012, plus de 3 700 systèmes d’assainissement des eaux usées au Canada ont généré un volume estimé à 6 billions de litres d’eaux usées, dont plus de 150 milliards de litres pourraient ne pas avoir été traités. Il a été déterminé que 849 de ces systèmes devaient être rénovés de façon à répondre aux normes nationales de qualité des effluents, et 136 étaient considérés comme des systèmes à risque élevé Note 7.

Les mesures de la turbidité de l’eau de source servant à la production d’eau potable étaient les plus élevées dans les régions de drainage Bas Saskatchewan–Nelson, Saskatchewan Nord et Assiniboine–Rouge dans les Prairies ainsi que la région de drainage Saint-Laurent (tableau A.3). Les données sur la turbidité recueillies par les exploitants d’usine de traitement aident à établir les tendances historiques concernant les conditions des sources d’eau. Les données sur les changements relatifs à la couverture terrestre et à l’utilisation des terres dans les environs et en amont peuvent fournir des renseignements sur la façon dont les gens contribuent à la variation des niveaux de turbidité.

Fin de l'encadré

Note


Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :