General Social Survey, Cycle 25: Family, 2011 Public Use Microdata Files

Public use microdata: 12M0025X

Description:

This package was designed to enable users to access and manipulate the microdata file for Cycle 25 (2011) of the General Social Survey (GSS). It contains information on the objectives, methodology and estimation procedures, as well as guidelines for releasing estimates based on the survey.

Cycle 25 collected data from persons 15 years and over living in private households in Canada, excluding residents of the Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut; and full-time residents of institutions.

For the fifth time, in 2011, the General Social Survey (GSS) collected detailed information on families in Canada. Previous GSS surveys on this topic were conducted in 1990, 1995, 2001 and 2006. The 2011 survey updated most of the information collected in previous surveys, including leaving the family home, conjugal history (marriages, common-law unions, separations and divorces), children (biological, adopted or step), maternity and parental leave, childcare arrangements, intentions to form (or re-form) a union, fertility intentions, custody and financial support agreements and work history. As in all GSS surveys, data were also collected on the respondent's main activity, education and other socio-demographic characteristics. The 2011 GSS data can be used for cross-sectional and retrospective analyses (i.e. tracking the different family histories and trajectories followed by men and women).

Frequency: Occasional
Available formats: CD-ROM
TitlesRelease dateMore Information
General Social Survey, Cycle 25: Family, 2011 Public Use Microdata Files, 2013001 - ARCHIVEDApril 19, 2013More information

Enquête sociale générale, cycle 25 : Famille, 2011 : Fichier de microdonnées à grande diffusion

Microdonnées à grande diffusion : 12M0025X

Description :

Ce document a pour but de faciliter la consultation et la manipulation du fichier de microdonnées du cycle 25 (2011) de l'Enquête sociale générale (ESG). Il contient des renseignements sur les objectifs, la méthodologie et les procédures d'estimation ainsi que sur les règles régissant la diffusion d'estimations fondées sur les données de l'enquête.

Le cycle 25 a permis de recueillir des données auprès de personnes âgées de 15 ans ou plus vivant dans des ménages privés au Canada, à l'exclusion des résidents du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut et des pensionnaires d'établissement à temps plein.

L'Enquête sociale générale (ESG) de 2011 a permis de recueillir, pour la cinquième fois, des renseignements détaillés sur la famille au Canada. L'ESG en avait recueilli en 1990, 1995, 2001 et 2006. L'enquête de 2011 a servi à mettre à jour la plupart des mêmes renseignements obtenus lors des enquêtes précédentes, soit les départs du domicile familial, l'histoire conjugale du répondant (mariages, unions libres, séparations et divorces), les enfants du répondant (biologiques, adoptés ou par alliance), les congés de maternité et parentaux, les modes de garde des enfants, les intentions quant à la (re)mise en union et la fécondité, la garde et les ententes de soutien financier pour les enfants et l'ex-conjoint suite à une rupture d'union et l'histoire professionnelle. Comme pour toutes les ESG, des données sur l'activité principale et la scolarité, de même que sur d'autres caractéristiques sociodémographiques du répondant, sont également recueillies. Les données de l'ESG de 2011 permettent de réaliser des analyses transversales et rétrospectives (c'est-à-dire tracer les différentes histoires et trajectoires familiales empruntées par les hommes et les femmes).

Fréquence : Occasionnelle
Formats disponibles : CD-ROM
TitresDate de sortieInformations supplémentaires
Enquête sociale générale, cycle 25 : Famille, 2011 : Fichier de microdonnées à grande diffusion, 2013001 - ARCHIVÉ19 avril 2013Informations supplémentaires