August 2023

Spotlight on data and research

Internationally educated healthcare professionals in Canada: Sociodemographic characteristics and occupational distribution

Labour shortages in healthcare professions have become a pressing issue across Canadian jurisdictions and were made worse by the COVID-19 pandemic. This article presents new information about the distribution of IEHPs across provinces and territories and examines their sociodemographic characteristics and occupations across major fields of study.

The results show that IEHPs are a very diverse group based on their field of study, region of education, highest level of education, period of arrival in Canada, and official language proficiency. About 58% of employed IEHPs in Canada worked in health occupations in 2021, and the proportion working in health occupations was higher among those who studied nursing (69%) or were trained to be physicians (67%) than in other health fields. Across other major fields of study, 63% of IEHPs who studied pharmacy and 60% who studied dentistry were employed in health occupations.

Full article PDF version

Research articles

What’s included in Canadians’ rent?

There is considerable concern about the affordability of rental housing in Canada. However, it can be hard to compare rental costs across different dwellings and regions. This study uses rental inclusions, meaning the services or amenities, such as utilities, parking, or air conditioning, included as part of tenants’ rent, to explore their potential impact on rental costs. For those paying rent, common inclusions are water and other municipal services (71%), appliances (23% in Quebec, but 70% or more in other provinces), parking (53%), electricity (31%), and oil, gas and other fuels (26%).

Rental inclusions are a valuable source of information regarding the comparability of rental costs across Canada. For instance, it is estimated that the inclusion of air conditioning and appliances explain around 8% and 7%, respectively, of the difference in rental costs between Ontario and Quebec, while the inclusion of appliances accounts for around 11% of the difference in average rents between British Columbia and Quebec.

Full article PDF version

Poverty among racialized groups across generations

This article shows that most racialized groups had higher poverty rates in 2020 than White people. Differences in poverty rates between racialized and White people were largest among first-generation Canadians and mostly decreased in the second and third generations. However, poverty rates were persistently higher for some racialized groups (Black, Latin American, Arab, Southeast Asian, West Asian, and Korean people) than White people from the first generation to the third generation or more. The gap in the poverty rate between racialized groups and White people was partially due to differences in sociodemographic characteristics.

Among first-generation Canadians, poverty rates ranged from a low of 3.9% for Filipino people to a high of 15.4% for Arab people, compared with 7.0% for White people. With the exception of Filipino people, first-generation Canadians from all other racialized groups had higher poverty rates than White people.

Full article PDF version

Changing demographics of racialized groups in Canada

This article provides new data on the growth of racialized groups and changes in their household structure. Between 2001 and 2021, the number of racialized people in Canada increased from 3.85 to 8.87 million. Most racialized people are immigrants, but an increasing number are Canadian born. Few racialized people have been in Canada for more than two generations.

The increase was largest for the Arab, West Asian, and Filipino groups, which grew 254%, 214%, and 207%, respectively. The growth rates of the Japanese, Chinese, Southeast Asian, Korean, and Black groups ranged from 42% to 154%. This compared with a 1% increase in the size of the White population.

In 2021, many second-generation Canadians from racialized groups were children or adolescents and lived with their immigrant parents and often with their grandparents as well. The high prevalence of these types of household structures suggests that the poverty rates of second-generation Canadians from racialized groups are linked to the economic outcomes of their immigrant parents.

Full article PDF version

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Août 2023

Pleins feux sur les données et la recherche

Professionnels de la santé formés à l’étranger au Canada : renseignements sociodémographiques et répartition professionnelle

Les pénuries de main-d’œuvre dans les professions des soins de santé représentent un enjeu pressant dans tous les secteurs de compétence du Canada, et le problème s’est exacerbé durant la pandémie de COVID-19. Cet article fournit de nouveaux renseignements sur la répartition des PSFE dans les provinces et les territoires et s’intéresse à leurs caractéristiques sociodémographiques ainsi qu’à leurs groupes professionnels selon les principaux domaines d'études.

Les résultats montrent que les PSFE forment un groupe très diversifié en ce qui a trait au domaine d’études, à la région où les études ont été faites, au plus haut niveau de scolarité, à la période d’arrivée au Canada et à la maîtrise des langues officielles. Environ 58 % des PSFE en emploi au Canada travaillaient dans le domaine de la santé en 2021, et la part de PSFE exerçant des professions dans ce domaine était plus élevée chez ceux ayant fait des études en soins infirmiers (69 %) ou qui étaient formés pour devenir médecins (67 %) que dans d’autres domaines de la santé. Dans l’ensemble des principaux domaines d’études, 63 % des PSFE ayant fait leurs études en pharmacie et 60 % des PSFE ayant fait leurs études en dentisterie occupaient un emploi dans le domaine de la santé.

Article complet Version PDF

Articles de recherche

Qu’est-ce qui est compris dans le loyer au Canada?

L’abordabilité des logements locatifs est un sujet de préoccupation majeure au Canada. Toutefois, il peut être difficile de comparer les coûts des loyers entre les différents types de logements et les différentes régions. Cette étude tient compte des inclusions dans le loyer (c.-à-d. les éléments comme les services publics, le stationnement ou la climatisation) pour étudier leur incidence potentielle sur les coûts des loyers. Pour les personnes qui paient un loyer, les inclusions courantes comprennent les services d’approvisionnement en eau et d’autres services municipaux (71 %), les appareils ménagers (23 % au Québec, mais 70 % ou plus dans les autres provinces), le stationnement (53 %), l’électricité (31 %), et l’huile, le gaz et autres combustibles (26 %).

Les inclusions dans le loyer constituent une source précieuse d’information pour la comparabilité des coûts des loyers au Canada. Par exemple, on estime que l’inclusion de la climatisation et des appareils ménagers est à l’origine d’environ 8 % et 7 %, respectivement, de l’écart des coûts de location entre l’Ontario et le Québec, alors que l’inclusion des appareils ménagers est à l’origine de 11 % de l’écart entre la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec.

Article complet Version PDF

La pauvreté chez les groupes racisés, d’une génération à l’autre

Cet article montre que la plupart des groupes racisés avaient des taux de pauvreté plus élevés en 2020 que les personnes blanches. Les différences dans les taux de pauvreté entre les personnes racisées et les personnes blanches étaient les plus importantes chez les Canadiens de première génération et celles-ci ont généralement diminué chez les Canadiens de deuxième et de troisième générations. Cependant, les taux de pauvreté étaient systématiquement plus élevés chez certains groupes racisés (Noir, Latino-Américain, Arabe, Asiatique du Sud-Est, Asiatique occidental et Coréen) que pour les personnes blanches de la première à la troisième génération ou aux générations subséquentes. L’écart dans le taux de pauvreté entre les groupes racisés et les personnes blanches est en partie attribuable aux différences dans les caractéristiques sociodémographiques.

Chez les Canadiens de première génération, le taux de pauvreté allait d’un minimum de 3,9 % chez les Philippins à un maximum de 15,4 % chez les Arabes, contre 7,0 % chez les personnes blanches. À l’exception des Philippins, les Canadiens de première génération issus de tous les autres groupes racisés affichaient des taux de pauvreté plus élevés que ceux des personnes blanches.

Article complet Version PDF

Évolution démographique des groupes racisés au Canada

Cet article fournit de nouvelles données sur la croissance des groupes racisés et les changements dans la structure de leur ménage. Entre 2001 et 2021, le nombre de personnes racisées au Canada est passé de 3,85 millions à 8,87 millions. La plupart des personnes racisées sont des immigrants, mais un nombre croissant d’entre elles sont nées au Canada. Peu de personnes racisées sont installées au Canada depuis plus de deux générations.

L’augmentation a été la plus importante chez les groupes Arabe, Asiatique occidental et Philippin, qui ont augmenté respectivement de 254 %, 214 % et 207 %. Les taux de croissance des groupes Japonais, Chinois, Asiatique du Sud-Est, Coréen et Noir variaient de 42 % à 154 %. Par comparaison, il y a eu une augmentation de 1 % dans le groupe des personnes blanches.

En 2021, de nombreux Canadiens de deuxième génération issus de groupes racisés étaient des enfants ou des adolescents et vivaient avec leurs parents immigrants et souvent avec leurs grands-parents également. La fréquence élevée de ces types de structures de ménages donne à penser que les taux de pauvreté des Canadiens de deuxième génération issus de groupes racisés sont liés aux résultats économiques de leurs parents immigrants.

Article complet Version PDF

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :