Ethnicity, Language and Immigration Thematic Series
Immigration and language in Canada, 2011 and 2016

by Brigitte Chavez

Release date: January 28, 2019

Skip to text

Text begins

Acknowledgments

This document was made possible thanks to the contribution of Jean-Pierre Corbeil and Jean-François Lepage of the Centre for Ethnocultural, Language and Immigration Statistics (CELIS) at Statistics Canada. The author would like to thank them for their involvement and their availability throughout this project. The author also thanks the many CELIS staff members involved in the conception and elaboration of the tables. Finally, the author wishes to thank Julie Bertrand, Isabelle Duncan, Shirley Li, Denis Theriault and Nathalie Villemure for their collaboration in finalizing the document.

This document was produced with the financial support from a consortium comprised of Canadian Heritage, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Health Canada and the Department of Justice Canada.

Introduction

This document focuses on immigration and language in Canada. It presents a general statistical portrait of immigrants by certain language characteristics and by their main countries of birth, using data from the 2011 National Household Survey and the 2016 Census of Population.

The main driver of Canada’s population growth is net international migration. Between 2011 and 2016, more than 1.2 million immigrants, or about 250,000 people per year, settled in Canada. In 2016, just over one fifth (21.9%) of the Canadian population was born outside Canada. In recent decades, the countries of origin of people immigrating to Canada have become increasingly diverse. Until the 1970s, immigrants came mainly from Western countries and Eastern Europe. Since then, growing numbers of people from Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, the Caribbean and Africa have settled in Canada.

Because the countries of origin of immigrants have become more diversified, Canada’s linguistic landscape has altered considerably. An increasing share of immigrants report a language other than English or French as their mother tongue or language spoken most often at home. In 2016, nearly three quarters (72.5%) of immigrants had a language other than English or French as their mother tongue, compared with 50.7% in 1971. Similarly, an increasing proportion of immigrants speak an “other” language most often at home. Specifically, 47.2% of people born outside Canada spoke an “other” language most often at home in 2016, while 52.8% spoke English or French at home.

In spite of the increased linguistic diversification of the immigrant population, the vast majority (93.2%) of immigrants reported knowing one or both of Canada’s official languages in 2016. These languages function as vectors of integration into Canadian society. In 2016, most immigrants were drawn to English: 82.5% had English as their first official language spoken (FOLS), 10.8% had French, and 6.8% had neither of these two languages. In contrast, in Quebec, close to two thirds (62.5%) of immigrants had French as their first official language spoken, while one third (33.1%) had English.

This document presents a descriptive analysis of recent and established immigrants in Canada, in Canada outside Quebec, in each province and territory, and in the six largest census metropolitan areas (CMAs) in the country, by certain linguistic characteristics and by their main countries of birth. This analysis comprises five sections. The first section presents statistics on immigrants’ first official language spoken. The second and third sections respectively address immigrants’ mother tongue and the language spoken most often at home. The fourth section provides statistics on their knowledge of the official languages (English and French) by mother tongue of the immigrant population. Lastly, the fifth section explores the main countries of birth of immigrants.

 
Date modified:

Série thématique sur l'ethnicité, la langue et l'immigration
Immigration et langue au Canada, 2011 et 2016

par Brigitte Chavez

Date de diffusion : le 28 janvier 2019

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Remerciements

Le présent document a été rendu possible grâce à la contribution de Jean-Pierre Corbeil et de Jean-François Lepage, du Centre de la statistique ethnoculturelle, langue et immigration (CSELI) de Statistique Canada. L’auteure tient à les remercier pour leur implication et leur grande disponibilité tout au long de la rédaction de ce document. L’auteure tient également à adresser ses remerciements aux membres du CSELI impliqués dans la conception et l’élaboration des tableaux. Enfin, l’auteure souhaite remercier Julie Bertrand, Isabelle Duncan, Shirley Li, Denis Theriault et Nathalie Villemure pour leur collaboration dans la finalisation du document.

Le présent document a été réalisé grâce au soutien financier d’un consortium constitué de Patrimoine canadien, d’Immigration, réfugiés et citoyenneté Canada, de Santé Canada et du ministère de la Justice du Canada.

Introduction

Le présent document porte sur l’immigration et la langue au Canada. Son but est de brosser un portrait statistique général des immigrants selon certaines caractéristiques linguistiques et selon leurs principaux pays de naissance à l’aide des données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 et du Recensement de la population de 2016.

Le principal facteur d’accroissement de la population canadienne est la migration internationale nette. De fait, le Canada a reçu plus de 1,2 million d’immigrants entre 2011 et 2016, soit environ 250 000 personnes par année. En 2016, un peu plus du cinquième (21,9 %) de la population canadienne était née à l’extérieur du pays. Au cours des dernières décennies, on observe une diversification marquée des pays d’origine de la population immigrante au Canada. Jusqu’aux années 1970, les immigrants provenaient surtout de pays occidentaux et de l’Europe de l’Est. Depuis, un nombre croissant de personnes en provenance de l’Asie, du Moyen-Orient, de l’Amérique latine, des Caraïbes et de l’Afrique sont venues s’établir au Canada.

L’évolution de la composition de l’immigration selon le pays d’origine a grandement modifié le paysage linguistique au Canada. En effet, une proportion de plus en plus forte d’immigrants déclarent avoir une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais comme langue maternelle, ou comme principale langue d’usage à la maison. En 2016, près des trois quarts (72,5 %) des immigrants avaient une langue tierce comme langue maternelle, alors qu’en 1971, cette part s’établissait à 50,7 %. De même, une proportion de plus en plus importante d’immigrants parlent le plus souvent une langue tierce à la maison. En 2016, 47,2 % des personnes nées à l’extérieur du Canada parlaient le plus souvent une langue tierce à la maison, alors que 52,8 % y parlaient l’anglais ou le français.

Malgré une grande diversification linguistique de la population immigrante, la grande majorité (93,2 %) de celle-ci déclarait connaître une langue officielle du Canada, ou les deux, en 2016. Ces langues servent de vecteur d’intégration à la société canadienne. En 2016, c’est vers l’anglais que la plupart des immigrants s’orientaient : 82,5 % de ceux-ci avaient cette langue comme première langue officielle parlée (PLOP), 10,8 % avaient le français et 6,8 % n’avaient aucune de ces deux langues. En revanche, au Québec près des deux tiers (62,5 %) des immigrants avaient le français comme première langue officielle parlée, tandis que le tiers (33,1 %) avaient l’anglais.

Le présent document présente une analyse descriptive des immigrants récents et établis du Canada, du Canada hors Québec, de chacune des provinces et chacun des territoires, ainsi que des six principales régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) du pays, selon certaines caractéristiques linguistiques et selon leurs principaux pays de naissance. Cette analyse comporte cinq sections. La première fournit des statistiques sur la première langue officielle parlée des immigrants. Les deuxième et troisième sections portent respectivement sur la langue maternelle des immigrants et la langue qu’ils utilisent le plus souvent à la maison. La quatrième section présente des statistiques sur la connaissance des langues officielles (le français et l’anglais) selon la langue maternelle de la population immigrante. La cinquième section traite des principaux pays de naissance des immigrants.

 
Date de modification :