National Household Survey: Aboriginal Peoples

Surveys and statistical programs – Documentation: 99-011-X

Description:

This topic presents data on the Aboriginal peoples of Canada and their demographic characteristics. Depending on the application, estimates using any of the following concepts may be appropriate for the Aboriginal population: (1) Aboriginal identity, (2) Aboriginal ancestry, (3) Registered or Treaty Indian status and (4) Membership in a First Nation or Indian band. Data from the 2011 National Household Survey are available for the geographical locations where these populations reside, including 'on reserve' census subdivisions and Inuit communities of Inuit Nunangat as well as other geographic areas such as the national (Canada), provincial and territorial levels.

Analytical products

The analytical document provides analysis on the key findings and trends in the data, and is complimented with the short articles found in NHS in Brief and the NHS Focus on Geography Series.

Data products

The NHS Profile is one data product that provides a statistical overview of user selected geographic areas based on several detailed variables and/or groups of variables. Other data products include data tables which represent a series of cross tabulations ranging in complexity and are available for various levels of geography.

Frequency: Occasional
Available formats: HTML, PDF
TitlesRelease dateMore Information
Suicide among First Nations people, Métis and Inuit (2011-2016): Findings from the 2011 Canadian Census Health and Environment Cohort (CanCHEC)June 28, 2019More information
Aboriginal Peoples Technical Report, National Household Survey, 2011 - ARCHIVEDMay 28, 2014More information
Aboriginal Identity (8), Age Groups (20), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces, Territories, Census Divisions and Census Subdivisions, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDDecember 11, 2013More information
Aboriginal Identity (8), Housing Suitability (6), Condition of Dwelling (4), Number of Persons per Room (5), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3), Area of Residence (10) and Age Groups (10) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDDecember 11, 2013More information
Aboriginal Identity (8), Condition of Dwelling (4), Number of Persons per Room (5), Housing Suitability (6) Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3), Age Groups (10) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces, Territories, Census Metropolitan Areas and Census Agglomerations, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDDecember 11, 2013More information
Highest Certificate, Diploma or Degree (10), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3), Aboriginal Identity (8), Major Field of Study - Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2011 (82), Attendance at School (3), Age Groups (8B) and Sex (3) for the Population Aged 15 Years and Over, in Private Households of Canada, Provinces, Territories, Census Metropolitan Areas and Census Agglomerations, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDDecember 11, 2013More information
Aboriginal Population Profile, National Household Survey, 2011 - ARCHIVEDNovember 13, 2013More information
Aboriginal Peoples in Canada: First Nations People, Métis and Inuit - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
National Household Survey in Brief - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Aboriginal peoples and language - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Aboriginal Peoples Reference Guide, National Household Survey, 2011 - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Aboriginal Identity (8), Age Groups (20), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3), Area of Residence: On Reserve (3) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Aboriginal Identity (8), Age Groups (20), Area of Residence: Inuit Nunangat (7) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Aboriginal Identity (8), Age Groups (20), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces, Territories, Census Metropolitan Areas and Census Agglomerations, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Aboriginal Ancestry (6), Single and Multiple Aboriginal Ancestry Responses (3), Age Groups (6) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces, Territories, Census Metropolitan Areas and Census Agglomerations, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Detailed Knowledge of Aboriginal Languages (79), Knowledge of Languages: Single and Multiple Language Responses (3), Aboriginal Identity (8), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3), Aboriginal Mother Tongue (11), Area of Residence: On Reserve (3) and Age Groups (8) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Knowledge of Inuit Languages (10), Knowledge of Languages: Single and Multiple Language Responses (3), Aboriginal Identity (8), Mother Tongue - Detailed Inuit Languages (15), Area of Residence: Inuit Nunangat (7), Age Groups (8) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Census Family Status (12), Aboriginal Identity (8), Registered or Treaty Indian Status (3), Area of Residence: On Reserve (3), Age Groups (8A) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information
Census Family Status (12), Aboriginal Identity (8), Area of Residence: Inuit Nunangat (7), Age Groups (8A) and Sex (3) for the Population in Private Households of Canada, Provinces and Territories, 2011 National Household Survey - ARCHIVEDMay 8, 2013More information

Enquête nationale auprès des ménages : Peuples autochtones

Enquêtes et programmes statistiques — Documentation : 99-011-X

Description :

Ce thème présente des données sur les Autochtones du Canada et leurs caractéristiques démographiques. Selon l'application, les estimations fondées sur les concepts suivants pourraient être appropriées pour la population autochtone : 1) Identité autochtone, 2) Ascendance autochtone, 3) Indien inscrit ou des traités et 4) Membre d'une Première Nation ou d'une bande indienne. Les données de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 sont offertes pour les localités géographiques où ces populations résident, y compris les subdivisions de recensement « dans les réserves » et les collectivités inuites de l'Inuit Nunangat ainsi que les autres régions géographiques, c.-à-d. aux niveaux national (Canada), provincial et territorial.

Produits analytiques

Le document analytique offre des analyses relatives aux principales conclusions et aux tendances dans les données, et a comme complément les courts articles trouvés dans l'ENM en bref et dans la Série « Perspective géographique » de l'ENM.

Produits de données

Le Profil de l'ENM est l'un des produits de données qui offrent un aperçu statistique des régions géographiques déterminées par l'utilisateur, fondé sur plusieurs variables détaillées ou groupes de variables. D'autres produits de données comprennent des tableaux de données qui représentent une série de tableaux croisés d'une complexité variée et sont offerts pour plusieurs niveaux géographiques.

Fréquence : Occasionnelle
Formats disponibles : HTML, PDF
TitresDate de sortieInformations supplémentaires
Rapport technique sur les peuples autochtones, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages, 2011 - ARCHIVÉ28 mai 2014Informations supplémentaires
Identité autochtone (8), groupes d'âge (20), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces, territoires, divisions de recensement et subdivisions de recensement, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ11 décembre 2013Informations supplémentaires
Identité autochtone (8), taille convenable du logement (6), état du logement (4), nombre de personnes par pièce (5), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3), région de résidence (10) et groupes d'âge (10) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et territoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ11 décembre 2013Informations supplémentaires
Identité autochtone (8), état du logement (4), nombre de personnes par pièce (5), taille convenable du logement (6), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3), groupes d'âge (10) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces, territoires, régions métropolitaines de recensement et agglomérations de recensement, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ11 décembre 2013Informations supplémentaires
Plus haut certificat, diplôme ou grade (10), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3), identité autochtone (8), principal domaine d'études - Classification des programmes d'enseignement (CPE) 2011 (82), fréquentation scolaire (3), groupes d'âge (8B) et sexe (3) pour la population âgée de 15 ans et plus, dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces, territoires, régions métropolitaines de recensement et agglomérations de recensement, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ11 décembre 2013Informations supplémentaires
Profil de la population autochtone, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages, 2011 - ARCHIVÉ13 novembre 2013Informations supplémentaires
Les peuples autochtones au Canada : Premières Nations, Métis et Inuits - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Série « Enquête nationale auprès des ménages en bref » - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Les peuples autochtones et la langue - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Guide de référence sur les peuples autochtones, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages, 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Identité autochtone (8), groupes d'âge (20), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3), région de résidence : Réserve (3) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et territoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Identité autochtone (8), groupes d'âge (20), régions de residence : Inuit Nunangat (7) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et terrotoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Identité autochtone (8), groupes d'âge (20), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces, territoires, régions métropolitaines de recensement et agglomérations de recensement, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Ascendance autochtone (6), réponses uniques et multiples pour l'ascendance autochtone (3), groupes d'âge (6) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces, territoires, régions métropolitaines de recensement et agglomérations de recensement, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Connaissance des langues autochtones détaillée (79), connaissance des langues : réponses uniques et multiples portant sur les langues (3), identité autochtone (8), statut d'Indien inscrit ou des traités (3), langue maternelle autochtone (11), région de résidence : réserve (3) et groupes d'âge (8) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et territoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Connaissance des langues inuites (10), connaissance des langues : réponses uniques et multiples portant sur les langues (3), identité autochtone (8), langue maternelle - langues inuites détaillées (15), régions de résidence : Inuit Nunangat (7) et groupes d'âge (8) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et territoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Situation des particuliers dans la famille de recensement (12), identité autochtone (8), statut d'indien inscrit ou des traités (3), région de résidence : réserve (3), groupes d'âge (8A) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et territoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires
Situation des particuliers dans la famille de recensement (12), identité autochtone (8), régions de residence : Inuit Nunangat (7), groupes d'âge (8A) et sexe (3) pour la population dans les ménages privés du Canada, provinces et territoires, Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 - ARCHIVÉ8 mai 2013Informations supplémentaires