Labour market experiences of First Nations people living off reserve: Key findings from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey

Articles and reports: 89-653-X2018003

Description:

This booklet provides key findings related to labour market experiences of First Nations people based on data from the 2017 Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS). Sections are divided according to labour force status. Among employed First Nations people, the prevalence of and reasons for part-time employment, self-employment and participation in other labour activities are explored among other aspects. Among unemployed First Nations people, barriers and facilitators of employment, and means of looking for work are described. Among those not in the labour force, the reasons for non-participation among those who wanted to work, and facilitators to finding work among those expecting to enter the labour force are outlined. Finally, job-related skills and access to job-related training are described.

This booklet also briefly describes how the APS allows deeper exploration of concepts derived from the Census of Population, and broad topics for which data is available from the survey.

Issue Number: 2018003
Author(s): Robertson, Henry
FormatRelease dateMore information
HTMLNovember 26, 2018
  • Correction: November 27, 2018

    Data Table descriptions for chart 4, entitled ‘Barriers to employment reported by unemployed First Nations men and women living off reserve aged 15 or older in 2017’  was corrected to remove asterisk from reference group.  The correction was made to the chart data table description and does not affect the chart itself.

  • Correction: December 11, 2018

    As a result of a data rounding error, a correction was made to table 2 titled ‘Percentage of employed off-reserve First Nations people aged 15 years or older who were self-employed in 2017 by province and territory’ with the percent for Atlantic Canada being revised upwards to 9E from 8E.

PDFNovember 26, 2018
  • Correction: December 11, 2018

    As a result of a data rounding error, a correction was made to table 2 titled ‘Percentage of employed off-reserve First Nations people aged 15 years or older who were self-employed in 2017 by province and territory’ with the percent for Atlantic Canada being revised upwards to 9E from 8E.

  • Correction: January 11, 2019

    As a result of a data error, a correction was made to map 1 entitled “Prevalence of harvesting and handicraft activities among First Nations People living off reserve in 2017 by province or territory” the percent for ‘Made carvings, drawings, jewellery or other kinds of artwork’ for the Yukon has been revised downwards to 25% from 31%.

Expériences sur le marché du travail des Premières Nations vivant hors réserve : principaux résultats de l'Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones de 2017

Articles et rapports : 89-653-X2018003

Description :

La présente publication révèle les principaux résultats relatifs aux expériences sur le marché du travail des Premières Nations à partir des données de l’Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones (EAPA) de 2017. Les sections sont divisées en fonction de la situation vis-à-vis de l’activité. On explore, notamment, la prévalence et les raisons de travailler à temps partiel, de devenir travailleur autonome et la participation à d’autres activités liées au travail chez les Premières Nations occupant un emploi. De plus, on examine les obstacles à l’emploi, les facteurs facilitant la recherche d’emploi, ainsi que les méthodes utilisées pour trouver du travail chez les Premières Nations en chômage. On aborde également, dans le cas des Premières Nations qui étaient inactives, les raisons de ne pas faire partie de la population active chez celles qui souhaitaient travailler ainsi que les facteurs facilitant la recherche d’emploi chez celles ayant l’intention d’entrer sur le marché du travail. Enfin, les compétences professionnelles et l’accès à la formation professionnelle sont aussi étudiés.

La publication décrit brièvement comment l’EAPA permet d’analyser de façon plus approfondie les concepts dérivés du recensement de la population et des sujets généraux pour lesquels les données de l’enquête sont disponibles.

Numéro d'exemplaire : 2018003
Auteur(s) : Robertson, Henry
FormatDate de sortieInformations supplémentaires
HTML26 novembre 2018
  • Correction : 27 Novembre, 2018

    Les descriptions du tableau de données du graphique 4, intitulé « Obstacles à l’emploi déclarés par les hommes et les femmes des Premières Nations vivant hors réserve âgés de 15 ans et plus qui étaient en chômage en 2017», ont été corrigées pour supprimer l'astérisque du groupe de référence. Les corrections ont été apportées aux descriptions du tableau de données du graphique et n’ont pas d’incidence sur le graphique lui-même.

  • Correction : 11 Décembre, 2018

    À la suite d’une erreur d’arrondissement des données, une correction a été apportée au tableau 2 intitulé « Pourcentage de Premières Nations vivant hors réserve âgées de 15 ans et plus occupant un emploi qui étaient des travailleurs autonomes en 2017, selon la province ou le territoire ». Le pourcentage pour le Canada atlantique a été révisé à la hausse, celui-ci étant maintenant 9 %E au lieu de 8 %E.

PDF26 novembre 2018
  • Correction : 11 Décembre, 2018

    À la suite d’une erreur d’arrondissement des données, une correction a été apportée au tableau 2 intitulé « Pourcentage de Premières Nations vivant hors réserve âgées de 15 ans et plus occupant un emploi qui étaient des travailleurs autonomes en 2017, selon la province ou le territoire ». Le pourcentage pour le Canada atlantique a été révisé à la hausse, celui-ci étant maintenant 9 %E au lieu de 8 %E.

  • Correction : 11 Janvier, 2019

    À la suite d’une erreur d’arrondissement des données, une correction a été apportée au tableau 2 intitulé « Pourcentage de Premières Nations vivant hors réserve âgées de 15 ans et plus occupant un emploi qui étaient des travailleurs autonomes en 2017, selon la province ou le territoire ». Le pourcentage pour le Canada atlantique a été révisé à la hausse, celui-ci étant maintenant 9 %E au lieu de 8 %E.