The baby boom

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

The years immediately following the Second World War were characterized by an economic boom and much technological and infrastructural development in Canada. Additionally, men and women began marrying at a greater rate and at a younger age, and women began having children at a younger age, on average, than previous cohorts. These changes contributed to the baby boom (1946 to 1965) which defines this period in the nation’s history.Note 25 These years also saw the widespread introduction of television into homes, transforming family leisure habits and popular culture. Television programs such as Leave it to Beaver’ transmitted an idealized portrayal of a nuclear family which influenced societal norms about family life. The ‘male breadwinner’ model was the predominant family form, with a prevailing norm that mothers should engage primarily in the unpaid work of homemaking and childrearing.Note 26

As a result of these cultural shifts and further reductions in child and adult mortality, many children born during the middle of the 20th century in Canada experienced a relatively stableNote 27 family situation over the course of their childhood, a stability not seen in the eras immediately preceding and following. In 1961, 93.6% of the 7.8 million children in census families were living with married parents—the highest proportion observed over the past century.Note 28 Correspondingly, the proportion of children living with a lone parent reached a low of 6.4% in 1961, just over half the 11.9% share observed thirty years earlier in 1931.

Owing mainly to changes in the timing of childbearing among consecutive cohorts of women, fertility increased to its highest recorded level during this era, peaking at 3.94 children per woman in 1959.Note 29 The number of births during the baby-boom years was also the largest ever recorded. About 479,300 births were registered in 1959, almost double the 242,100 recorded thirty years earlier in 1929. Thus, the baby boom was a period when the absolute number and the relative prevalence of children aged 4 and under were both at elevated levels not seen before or since (Figure 2).

Figure 2 Number of births and proportion (in percentage) of the population aged 0 to 4 in Canada from 1926 to 2011

Description for figure 2

As a result, children accounted for a relatively large share of the total Canadian population during the baby-boom years compared to the immediately preceding decades (Figure 3). In 1961, individuals aged 24 and under comprised close to half (48.3%) of Canada’s population, and over one-third (34.0%) of the population was aged 14 and under.

Figure 3 Proportion (in percentage) of the population aged 0 to 14, 15 to 24 and 65 and over, Canada, 1901 to 2031

Description for figure 3

The relatively strong influx of children into the Canadian population during the baby-boom period, paired with a strong economy, resulted in a shift in the infrastructure development towards the needs of this generation. This focus evolved as the baby-boom cohort aged, from the construction of primary schools in their childhood years to universities, suburbs and jobs in their young adult years.


Notes

  1. Milan, A. 2000. “One hundred years of families”, Canadian Social Trends, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-008.
  2. Beaujot, R. and A. Muhammad. 2006. “Transformed families and the basis for childbearing”, Canada’s Changing Families: Implications for Individuals and Society, editors K. McQuillan and Z. R. Ravanera, University of Toronto Press, pages 15 to 48.
  3. Greater stability of family life does not necessarily imply greater happiness or satisfaction for family members, as noted by Kevin McQuillan’s concluding chapter of Canada’s Changing Families: Implications for Individuals and Society (2006), editors K. McQuillan and Z.R. Ravanera,  University of Toronto Press, pages 293 to 306.
  4. Wargon, S.T. 1979. Children in Canadian Families, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 98-810, Tables 2 and 18.
  5. Based on data beginning in 1926. Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Vital Statistics, Births Database, 1926 to 2011, Survey 3231 and Demography Division, Population Estimates Program.
Date modified:

Publications

    Documents démographiques

    Une diversité qui perdure : le mode de vie des enfants au Canada selon les recensements des 100 dernières années

    Le baby-boom

    Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Information archivée dans le Web

    L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    Les années suivant immédiatement la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont été caractérisées par une vague de prospérité et un fort développement technologique et des infrastructures au Canada. En outre, plus d’hommes et de femmes se marient, d’un âge de plus en plus précoce, et les femmes commencent à avoir des enfants plus jeunes, en moyenne, que les cohortes précédentes. Ces changements ont contribué au baby-boom (1946 à 1965), qui définit cette période de l’histoire du paysNote 25. Ces années ont également vu la diffusion généralisée de la télévision dans les foyers, qui a transformé les habitudes de loisirs des familles ainsi que la culture populaire. Les programmes télévisés comme « Leave it to Beaver » véhiculaient l’idéal d’une famille nucléaire, ce qui influait sur les normes sociétales en matière de vie familiale. Le modèle de l’homme « soutien de famille » était le type de famille prédominant, et la norme dominante voulait que les mères devaient avoir pour activité principale un travail non rémunéré, essentiellement les tâches ménagères et l’éducation des enfantsNote 26.

    En conséquence de ces changements culturels et avec la poursuite de la baisse de la mortalité chez les enfants et les adultes, bien des enfants nés au milieu du 20e siècle au Canada ont vécu une situation familiale relativement stableNote 27 tout au long de leur enfance, une stabilité qui n’avait pas été observée dans les périodes situées immédiatement avant ou après le baby-boom. En 1961, 93,6 % des 7,8 millions d’enfants des familles de recensement demeuraient avec des parents mariés — la plus forte proportion observée au cours du dernier siècleNote 28. De même, la proportion d’enfants vivant avec un parent seul a atteint un creux de 6,4 % en 1961, soit à peine plus de la moitié de celle observée 30 ans plus tôt, en 1931, à 11,9 %.

    Surtout à cause des changements dans le calendrier de la fécondité d’une cohorte de femmes à l’autre, la fécondité a alors augmenté à un niveau jamais enregistré pendant cette période, l’indice synthétique de fécondité atteignant un sommet de 3,94 enfants par femme en 1959Note 29. Le nombre de naissances pendant les années du baby-boom était également le plus élevé jamais enregistré. Environ 479 300 naissances ont été enregistrées en 1959, près du double des 242 100 naissances enregistrées 30 ans plus tôt, en 1929. Par conséquent, le baby-boom est une période où le nombre et la proportion d’enfants âgés de quatre ans et moins ont atteint des sommets jamais observés auparavant, ni depuis (figure 2).

    Figure 2 Nombre de naissances et la proportion (en pourcentage) de la population de 0 à 4 ans au Canada de 1926 à 2011

    Description de la figure 2

    Par conséquent, les enfants représentaient une proportion relativement importante de l’ensemble de la population canadienne pendant les années du baby-boom, comparativement aux décennies précédentes (figure 3). En 1961, les personnes de 24 ans et moins constituaient près de la moitié (48,3 %) de la population du Canada, et plus du tiers (34,0 %) de la population était âgée de 14 ans et moins.

    Figure 3 Proportion (en pourcentage) de la population canadienne de 0 à 14 ans, de 15 à 24 ans et de 65 ans et plus, de 1901 à 2031

    Description de la figure 3

    L’arrivée massive d’enfants dans la population canadienne pendant la période du baby-boom, associé à une économie robuste, a orienté le développement des infrastructures vers les besoins de cette génération. Cette orientation a évolué avec le vieillissement de la cohorte du baby-boom, passant de la construction d’écoles primaires lors de leur enfance aux universités un peu plus tard, puis aux banlieues et aux emplois pour les jeunes adultes.


    Notes

    1. Milan, A. 2000. « Les familles : 100 ans de continuité et de changement », Tendances Sociales Canadiennes, 11-008 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
    2. Beaujot, R. et A. Muhammad. 2006. « Transformed families and the basis for childbearing », Canada’s Changing Families: Implications for Individuals and Society, K. McQuillan et Z.R. Ravanera éditeurs, University of Toronto Press, pages 15 à 48.
    3. Une plus grande stabilité dans la vie familiale ne rime pas nécessairement avec un bonheur accru ou une plus grande satisfaction à l’égard de la vie pour les membres de la famille, comme l’indiquait Kevin McQuillan dans le dernier chapitre de Canada’s Changing Families: Implications for Individuals and Society (2006), K. McQuillan et Z.R. Ravanera éditeurs,  University of Toronto Press, pages 293 à 306.
    4. Wargon, S.T. 1979. L’enfant dans la famille canadienne, 98-810 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, tableaux 2 et 18.
    5. Selon les données observées depuis 1926. Source : Statistique Canada, Statistique de l'état civil - Base de données sur les naissances, 1926 à 2011, enquête 3231 et Division de la démographie, Programme des estimations démographiques.
    Signaler un problème sur cette page

    Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

    S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

    Avis de confidentialité

    Date de modification :