Publications

    Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics Profile Series

    Household Income and Victimization in Canada, 2004

    Household Income and Victimization in Canada, 2004

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived information

    Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

    By Andrea Taylor-Butts, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, Statistics Canada

    The risk of becoming the victim of violent crime or household property crime can vary according to the mix of social, economic and demographic factors that characterize an individual's circumstances. Income is one such factor and is implicated in the risk of both violent and household criminal victimization (Siegel and McCormick, 1999; Besserer and Hendrick, 2001; Gannon and Mihorean, 2005).

    Using data primarily from the 2004 General Social Survey (GSS), this report profiles violent and household victimization among Canadians from low-income households (i.e., under $15,000).1, 2 The report also provides information on who victims turn to for help, perceptions of neighbourhood safety as well as fear of crime among Canadians from low-income households.

    Preface

    This series of profiles provides analysis on a variety of topics and issues concerning victimization, offending and public perceptions of crime and the justice system. The profiles primarily draw on results from the General Social Survey on victimization. Where applicable, they also incorporate information from other data sources, such as the Census of the Population and the Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey.

    Examples of the topics explored through this series include: Victimization and offending in Canada's territories, Canadians' use of crime prevention measures and victimization of older Canadians. This is a unique periodical, of great interest to those who have to plan, establish, administer and evaluate justice programs and projects, or anyone who has an interest in Canada's justice system.

    Notes

    1. Throughout this report, the lowest household income group (i.e., under $15,000) from the GSS is used as a proxy for low-income households and the highest income group (i.e., $60,000 or more) is used as a proxy for high income households. For further information, see Text box 1 "Household income and the General Social Survey (GSS)".

    2. Unless otherwise stated, differences reported are statistically significant.

    Date modified:

Publications

    Série de profils du Centre canadien de la statistique juridique

    Le revenu du ménage et la victimisation au Canada, 2004

    Le revenu du ménage et la victimisation au Canada, 2004

    Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Information archivée dans le Web

    L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]85f0033m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    par Andrea Taylor-Butts, Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, Statistique Canada

    Le risque de devenir victime d'un crime violent ou d'un crime contre les biens du ménage peut varier en fonction de l'ensemble des facteurs sociaux, économiques et démographiques qui caractérisent la situation d'une personne. Le revenu est l'un de ces facteurs, et il intervient dans le risque de victimisation criminelle avec violence et des ménages (Siegel et McCormick, 1999; Besserer et Hendrick, 2001; Gannon et Mihorean, 2005).

    Le présent rapport, qui est principalement fondé sur les données de l'Enquête sociale générale (ESG) de 2004, dresse le profil de la victimisation avec violence et de la victimisation des ménages chez les Canadiens vivant dans des ménages à faible revenu (moins de 15 000 $)1,  2 . Il fournit également de l'information sur les ressources auxquelles s'adressent les victimes pour obtenir de l'aide, sur les perceptions de la sécurité du quartier et sur la crainte de la criminalité chez les Canadiens issus de ménages à faible revenu.

    Préface

    Cette série de profils présente des analyses de divers sujets et questions liés à la victimisation, à la criminalité, et aux perceptions de la criminalité et du système de justice par le public. Les données servant à établir les profils proviennent en grande partie de l'Enquête sociale générale sur la victimisation. Le cas échéant, d'autres sources de données, comme le Recensement de la population et le Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité fondé sur l'affaire, sont utilisées.

    Les sujets examinés au moyen de cette série comprennent, notamment, la victimisation et la criminalité dans les territoires canadiens; l'utilisation de mesures de prévention du crime par les Canadiens; et la victimisation des Canadiens âgés. Il s'agit d'une série unique, qui est d'une importance particulière pour les personnes qui doivent planifier, élaborer, administrer et évaluer des programmes et des projets en matière de justice, ou pour toute personne qui s'intéresse au système de justice canadien.

    Notes

    1. Dans le présent rapport, le groupe dont le revenu du ménage est le plus faible (moins de 15 000 $) de l'ESG sert de substitut des ménages à faible revenu, et le groupe dont le revenu est le plus élevé (60 000 $ et plus) sert de substitut des ménages à revenu élevé. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, voir l'encadré 1 intitulé « Le revenu du ménage et l'Enquête sociale générale ».

    2. Sauf indication contraire, les différences indiquées sont statistiquement significatives.
    Signaler un problème sur cette page

    Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

    S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

    Avis de confidentialité

    Date de modification :