Education Indicators in Canada: Fact Sheets

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

Interrupting High School and Returning to Education
April 2010

A person without a high-school diploma has very limited opportunities to contribute in today's society and economy. Not completing high school represents a great loss to society and the individual. A variety of second-chance programs have been developed by provincial/territorial education ministries to offer possibilities to young adults who have left high school to complete their diplomas at older ages.

This fact sheet looks at the proportion of young adults who have left high school without a diploma and, among them, at the proportions who have returned to obtain a high-school diploma and who progressed to postsecondary education. Knowing about the progress of these students helps us to take their needs into consideration and understand the value of second-chance programs. 

What proportion ever left high school?

Looking at Canada as a whole, between 1999 and 2007, among the young adults who were followed by the Youth in Transition Survey (YITS),1 17% had interrupted their high school education at some point, mostly before the age of 18 to 20. This represents almost 210,000 high-school students who left high school somewhere along the way.

Although getting them back on track is not necessarily easy and requires investment, the data indicate that provincial/territorial second-chance programs are successful. By the ages of 26 to 28, only 6% of the YITS cohort still had not graduated from high school and had no further education (Table 1). The remaining 11% had returned and either completed high school or entered postsecondary education.

In the provinces, 20% or more of young adults in Quebec, Manitoba, and Alberta indicated that they had interrupted their high-school education at some point (Table 1). By December 2007, however, the proportion with no high-school diploma and no further education in these provinces had dropped to only 7 or 8% (Table 1). The remaining 12 or 13% eventually returned and completed a high-school diploma, or participated in a postsecondary program without first graduating from high school. This attests to the importance of second-chance opportunities offered in these provinces, although they still had the highest proportions of young adults without a high-school diploma at the ages of 26 to 28 years.

Table 1 Percentage of 26- to 28-year-old cohort who had ever left high school, compared with the percentage who had not obtained a high-school diploma (or higher) by December 2007, Canada and provinces Table 1
Percentage of 26- to 28-year-old cohort who had ever left high school, compared with the percentage who had not obtained a high-school diploma (or higher) by December 2007, Canada and provinces

In Canada as a whole, men were more likely than women to have left high school early: 19% compared to 16% (Table E.1.6). The gender gap is significant in Quebec, where 28% of men had left high school at some point, compared to 17% of women.

What proportion progressed to postsecondary education?

High-school leavers can follow various pathways back into education. While some may return to high school and graduate, and then possibly go on to pursue postsecondary education, others may undertake postsecondary education without first obtaining their high-school credential.

In the group of 26- to 28-year-olds who had interrupted their high-school education at some point, over half (55%) later returned and obtained their high-school diploma. One-third carried on and participated in postsecondary education. An additional 9% participated in postsecondary education without having obtained their high-school diploma (Table 2).

Table 2 Educational status of a cohort of 26- to 28-year-olds1 who had ever left high school, Canada, December 2007Table 2
Educational status of a cohort of 26- to 28-year-olds1 who had ever left high school, Canada, December 2007

This fact sheet illustrates that over the longer term, a majority of young people complete high school or participate in postsecondary education. Further research on the types of postsecondary institutions and programs pursued by early high-school leavers would be of interest, including mechanisms such as prior-learning assessment and adult upgrading programs. This highlights the importance of following the education pathways of young adults to better understand the challenges they face and the progress they make.

To obtain more information about the Youth in Transition Survey (YITS), the data source used for this fact sheet, please visit the "Definitions, data sources and methods" section of the Statistics Canada Web site (www.statcan.gc.ca), survey number 4435. For more detailed information on the specific data referred to in this fact sheet, please see the accompanying tables, Tables E.1.4 to E.1.6.

In many cases, small sample sizes for the provinces limit the analysis that could be done at the provincial level.

For other tables related to education in Canada and other fact sheets that address education issues, please see Education Indicators in Canada: Report of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program. Please note that YITS data previously presented in PCEIP are not comparable with the data used for this fact sheet.

The Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program (PCEIP) is an ongoing initiative of the Canadian Education Statistics Council, a partnership between Statistics Canada and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC), to provide a set of statistical measures on education systems in Canada.


Notes

1. The Youth in Transition Survey (YITS) followed a cohort of young people for a period of eight years, from the time they were 18 to 20 years old in 1999, through to 2007, when they were 26 to 28 years old.

Date modified:

Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : feuillets d'information

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Abandonner l'école et y retourner
Avril 2010

De nos jours, un individu a peu de chances de contribuer à la société et à l'économie sans diplôme d'études secondaires. Ne pas obtenir son diplôme du secondaire représente une grande perte pour la société comme pour l'individu. Les ministères de l'éducation provinciaux et territoriaux ont mis en œuvre une variété de programmes de « deuxième chance » pour offrir aux jeunes adultes qui abandonnent leurs études secondaires l'occasion d'obtenir leur diplôme à un âge plus avancé.

Le présent feuillet d'information explore la proportion de jeunes adultes qui ont abandonné leurs études secondaires à un moment donné, avant d'obtenir un diplôme, la proportion de ceux qui ont repris leurs études et obtenu un diplôme et la proportion de ceux qui ont poursuivi des études postsecondaires. Le fait de connaître les progrès réalisés par ces élèves nous aide à prendre en considération leurs besoins et à comprendre la valeur des programmes de deuxième chance.

Quelle proportion d'élèves ont déjà abandonné leurs études secondaires?

Dans l'ensemble du Canada, parmi les jeunes adultes suivis par l'Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition (EJET) 1 entre 1999 et 2007, 17 % avaient interrompu leurs études secondaires à un moment donné, la plupart avant l'âge de 18 à 20 ans. Ceci représente près de 210 000 élèves du secondaire qui ont quitté l'école secondaire au cours de leur cheminement.

Malgré le fait que les ramener dans la bonne voie n'est pas chose facile et nécessite de l'investissement, les données nous indiquent que les programmes de « deuxième chance » mis en place par les provinces et territoires obtiennent un certain succès. À l'âge de 26 à 28 ans, seulement 6 % de la cohorte de l'EJET n'avait pas de diplôme d'études secondaires ni de scolarité supplémentaire (tableau 1). Les autres 11 % étaient retournés dans le système scolaire, soit pour terminer leurs études secondaires, soit pour poursuivre des études au niveau postsecondaire.

Au niveau des provinces, plus de 20 % des jeunes adultes du Québec, du Manitoba et de l'Alberta ont indiqué avoir interrompu leurs études secondaires à un moment donné (tableau 1). En décembre 2007 cependant, la proportion de ceux qui n'avaient pas de diplôme d'études secondaires ou de scolarité supplémentaire était tombée à seulement 7 ou 8 % dans ces provinces. Les autres 12 ou 13 % étaient retournés sur les bancs d'école, avaient obtenu leur diplôme d'études secondaires ou avaient entrepris un programme postsecondaire sans avoir terminé leurs études secondaires. Cette situation témoigne de l'importance des opportunités de « deuxième chance » dans ces provinces, malgré le fait que celles-ci étaient demeurées celles où la proportion de jeunes adultes de 26 à 28 ans sans diplôme d'études secondaires était la plus élevée.

Tableau 1     Pourcentage  de la cohorte des 26 à 28 ans qui ont quitté l'école à un moment donné,  comparativement au pourcentage de ceux qui ont obtenu leur diplôme d'études  secondaires (ou plus) en décembre 2007, Canada et provincesTableau 1
Pourcentage de la cohorte des 26 à 28 ans qui ont quitté l'école à un moment donné, comparativement au pourcentage de ceux qui ont obtenu leur diplôme d'études secondaires (ou plus) en décembre 2007, Canada et provinces

Dans l'ensemble du Canada, les hommes étaient plus enclins que les femmes à quitter l'école prématurément : 19 % comparativement à 16 % (tableau E.1.6). Cet écart entre les sexes était particulièrement important au Québec, où 28 % des hommes avaient interrompu leurs études secondaires à un moment donné comparativement à 17 % des femmes.

Quelle proportion a entrepris des études postsecondaires?

Ceux qui abandonnent leurs études secondaires peuvent les reprendre selon divers itinéraires. Alors que certains retournent au secondaire et obtiennent leur diplôme pour poursuivre éventuellement des études postsecondaires, d'autres poursuivent des études postsecondaires sans avoir préalablement obtenu leur diplôme du secondaire.

Dans le groupe des 26 à 28 ans qui avaient interrompu leurs études secondaires à un moment donné, plus de 55 % y étaient retournés et avaient obtenu leur diplôme. Le tiers avait poursuivi et avait entrepris des études postsecondaires. Une tranche additionnelle de 9 % avait poursuivi des études postsecondaires sans avoir au préalable obtenu de diplôme secondaire (tableau 2).

Tableau 2     Statut  éducationnel de la cohorte des 26 à 28 ans qui ont déjà quitté l'école  secondaire, Canada, décembre 2007Tableau 2
Statut éducationnel de la cohorte des 26 à 28 ans qui ont déjà quitté l'école secondaire, Canada, décembre 2007

Ce feuillet d'information démontre qu'à long terme la majorité des jeunes adultes terminent leurs études secondaires ou entreprennent des études postsecondaires. Il serait intéressant d'approfondir la recherche sur les types d'établissements et de programmes postsecondaires auxquels les personnes qui abandonnent leurs études secondaires s'inscrivent, y compris les mécanismes tels que la reconnaissance des acquis et les programmes de recyclage pour adultes. Ceci met en lumière l'importance de suivre les parcours éducationnels des jeunes adultes afin de mieux comprendre les défis auxquels ils font face et les progrès qu'ils réalisent.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet de l'Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition (EJET), la source de données utilisée dans le présent feuillet d'information,  veuillez consulter la section « Définitions, sources de données et méthodes » du site Web de Statistique Canada (www.statcan.gc.ca), enquête numéro 4435. Pour plus de détails sur les données mentionnées dans ce feuillet d'information, voir les tableaux E.1.4 à E.1.6.

Dans plusieurs cas, la petite taille des échantillons provinciaux est un obstacle à l'analyse des données.

Pour consulter d'autres tableaux de données se rapportant à l'éducation au Canada et d'autres feuillets d'information sur l'éducation, voir Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : rapport du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation. Il importe de signaler que les données de l'EJET précédemment publiées par le PIPCE ne sont pas directement comparables à celles du présent feuillet d'information. 

Le Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation (PIPCE) est une initiative en cours du Conseil des statistiques canadiennes de l'éducation, lui-même un partenariat entre Statistique Canada et le Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada) [CMEC] visant à fournir un ensemble de mesures statistiques sur les systèmes d'éducation au Canada.


Note

1. L'Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition (EJET) a suivi une cohorte de jeunes adultes pendant huit ans, depuis le moment où ils avaient entre 18 et 20 ans en 1999, jusqu'en 2007 lorsqu'ils avaient entre 26 et 28 ans.

Date de modification :