2. Methodology

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

The analysis in this paper is based on employment data from the 1991, 1996 and 2001 Censuses of Population. This paper focuses on the 1990s for two reasons. First, the 1990s were a time of significant change in the Canadian economy. The growing importance of information and communication technologies such as the internet, the effect of the North American Free Trade Agreement and the rise of global competition are just three examples of important economic developments during this decade. Hence, the 1990s are of particular interest for assessing the role which culture-based occupations play in the economy. Second, and from a more practical standpoint, data limitations resulting largely from changes to the occupational coding system preclude the inclusion of data from prior to the 1991 Census of Population in this study. Also, at the time of this writing, employment data from the 2006 Census were not yet available.

This study relies on the Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics to determine which occupations are cultural in nature. The Framework defines culture occupations to be those which involve "creative artistic activity and the goods and services produced by it, and the preservation of human heritage." Examples of culture occupations in the Framework include artists, writers and museum curators. Other types of occupations that are not directly related to the production of culture goods and services but provide technical, managerial or manufacturing support are also included in the Framework . Examples of these are performing arts managers, library clerks and audiovisual technicians. The complete list of 48 culture occupations is presented in Table 1 and is taken from the Framework . Of these, 21 directly involve creative and artistic production or heritage collection and preservation (core culture occupations) while the other 27 are culture support occupations. This study restricts itself to examining the role that core creative culture occupations play in the economy and excludes culture support occupations. The core creative culture occupations in the Framework are more directly related to the forms of creativity emphasized recently by Richard Florida. As can be seen in Table 1, the core creative culture occupations can be divided into four main occupational groups. These are the literary arts, the visual arts and design, performing arts and heritage occupations. Although this study focuses on employment trends for just the core creative occupations, for ease of exposition, from this point onwards, the term "culture workers" is used instead of core culture workers to refer to those employed in core creative occupations.

In the Census, employed workers are classified according to occupation (using the Standard Occupational Classification) and also according to the industry to which their employer belongs. The Standard Industrial Classification - Establishments (SIC-E) was used to define industries for the 1991 and 1996 Censuses. For the 2001 Census, both the SIC-E and the new North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) were used to classify workers by industry. A figure illustrating the structure of both classification systems is presented in Appendix 1 and can be used as a reference for those readers not familiar with them.

The SIC-E was selected for this study since it was used to code workers for all three Censuses. Hence, selecting the SIC-E avoided issues arising from back casting data, which would have been unavoidable if NAICS had been used instead. Because the Census double-codes workers by both occupation and by industry, it is possible to determine the occupations found in any industry and also the number of workers employed in each occupation that comprises an industry. For example, for the Motion Picture and Video Industry, it is possible to estimate the number of actors, broadcast technicians, managers and workers in other occupations that are employed in the industry. Hence, by taking advantage of the double-coding of workers by both occupation and industry, census data can be used to calculate the extent to which culture workers are used as labour inputs for a wide variety of economic activities.

The SIC-E divides the economy into 18 Divisions; examples include, Manufacturing and Business Services. Divisions therefore represent a very high level of aggregation in the SIC-E. Each Division is further subdivided into major groups of industries, the second level of aggregation. In SIC-E, there are a total of 76 major groups. These in turn are divided into industry groups. Hence, an industry group is the third level of aggregation in the SIC-E. As well as defining which occupations are cultural in nature, the Framework also specifies which industries are cultural. Based on the Framework, a total of 20 industry groups are considered to be cultural in nature and these are listed in Table 2. Many are embedded within major groups that are, on the whole, non-cultural. For example, the communications industry (a major group) includes both broadcasting and postal and courier services. The former is a culture industry group while the latter is not. Since this study focuses on culture employment in non-culture areas of the economy, the 20 cultural industry groups were separated from the higher aggregation major group level. Considered together, the 20 cultural industry groups form the culture sector of the economy in this study. The workers remaining in the major groups, after the removal of the culture industries, therefore compose the non-culture portion of the economy.5 The number of culture workers and the size of the total workforce for each Division were calculated, allowing the proportion of culture workers (out of the total number of workers) to be determined.6 The proportion of culture workers in each Division in turn indicates the extent to which culture workers are used as labour inputs to produce goods and services in that Division.

Since the 2001 Census of Population was coded using both industrial classification systems, it was possible to investigate the extent to which the choice of SIC-E led to different results in 2001 compared to the case if NAICS had been used for that year. It was found that one major group and one industry group in the SIC-E contained a large number of culture workers who would have been classified as working in culture industries had NAICS been used, even though they are non-culture industries in SIC-E.7 Hence, whether they should be included in the culture sector or the non-culture sector is ambiguous. Therefore, for the purposes of this study, both are considered to be separate from the culture sector and the non-culture sector and are referred to as "unallocated industries." Hence, using SIC-E, the Canadian economy was divided into three broad sectors: the non-culture sector composed of 74 major groups (with culture industry groups removed), the culture sector, and unallocated industries. In this paper, overall patterns of culture worker employment in the non-culture sector are examined along with employment patterns in specific Divisions.

Table 1
Culture occupations

Table 2
List of SIC-E Industry Groups defined to be in the Culture Sector for this study

2. Méthodologie

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'analyse dans le présent document est fondée sur les données d'emploi provenant des recensements de la population de 1991, 1996 et 2001. Il porte sur les années 90 pour deux raisons. En premier lieu, les années 90 ont été une ère de mutation profonde dans l'économie canadienne. L'importance croissante des technologies de l'information et de la communication, comme l'Internet, l'effet de l'Accord de libre- échange nord-américain et la croissance de la concurrence mondiale ne sont que trois exemples des mutations économiques importantes pendant cette décennie. C'est pourquoi les années 90 sont d'intérêt particulier pour déterminer le rôle joué par les professions culturelles dans l'économie. En deuxième lieu, et d'un point de vue plus pratique, les limites des données découlant essentiellement des changements apportés au système de codage des professions nous empêchent d'inclure des données antérieures au recensement de la population de 1991 dans cette étude. En outre, au moment de la rédaction du présent article, les données sur l'emploi du recensement de 2006 n'étaient pas encore disponibles.

Pour déterminer quelles professions sont de nature culturelle nous avons utilisé le Cadre canadien pour les statistiques culturelles . Le Cadre définit ainsi les professions culturelles : « activités artistiques créatrices et les biens et services produits par cette activité, et conservation du patrimoine humain ». À titre d'exemples de professions culturelles mentionnées dans ce document, il y a les artistes, les écrivains et les curateurs de musée. D'autres types de professions qui ne sont pas directement liés à la production de biens et de services culturels, mais qui offrent des services techniques, de gestion ou de fabrication, sont également incluses dans le Cadre . Mentionnons à titre d'exemple les gestionnaires artistiques, les commis de bibliothèque et les techniciens en enregistrement audio et vidéo. La liste des 48 professions culturelles est présentée au tableau 1 et est extraite du Cadre . De ce nombre, 21 portent directement sur la création et la production artistique ou la collection et la conservation du patrimoine (profession culturelle primaire), tandis que les 27 autres sont des professions de soutien culturel. La présente étude se limite à examiner le rôle que les professions culturelles axées sur la création jouent dans l'économie et elles excluent les professions de soutien culturel. Les professions culturelles axées sur la création et essentielles dans le Cadre sont plus directement liées aux formes de créativité mentionnées récemment par Richard Florida. Comme on peut le voir au tableau 1, les professions culturelles primaires axées sur la création se répartissent en quatre groupes professionnels principaux : arts littéraires, arts visuels et design, arts de la scène et professions liées au patrimoine. Bien que la présente étude porte essentiellement sur les tendances de l'emploi pour seulement les professions primaires axées sur la création, pour simplifier l'exposé, nous utiliserons à partir de maintenant, le terme « travailleurs de la culture » plutôt que « travailleurs de la culture primaires » pour parler de ceux qui travaillent dans les professions primaires axées sur la création.

Dans le recensement, les travailleurs occupant un emploi sont classifiés selon leur profession (selon la Classification type de professions) et aussi selon l'industrie à laquelle appartient leur employeur. La Classification type des industries – Établissements (CTIÉ) a servi à définir les industries pour les recensements de 1991 et de 1996. Pour le recensement de 2001, à la fois la CTIÉ et le nouveau Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) ont servi à classer les travailleurs selon l'industrie. Un tableau illustrant la structure des deux systèmes de classification figure à l'annexe 1 et peut être consulté par les lecteurs qui ne les connaissent pas. La CTIÉ a été retenue pour la présente étude puisqu'elle a servi à attribuer un code aux travailleurs dans les trois recensements. Par conséquent, le choix de la CTIÉ nous a permis d'éviter des problèmes découlant de l'analyse rétrospective des données, ce qui aurait été inévitable si nous avions utilisé plutôt le SCIAN. Comme le recensement attribue un double code aux travailleurs à la fois selon leur profession et selon l'industrie, il est possible de déterminer les professions qui se trouvent dans une industrie et aussi le nombre de travailleurs employés dans chaque profession que comprend une industrie. Par exemple, pour l'industrie du cinéma et de la vidéo, il est possible de savoir le nombre d'acteurs, de techniciens en radiotélédiffusion, de gestionnaires et de travailleurs d'autres professions qui sont employés dans l'industrie. Ainsi, comme on peut utiliser le double codage des travailleurs à la fois selon la profession et selon l'industrie, les données du recensement peuvent servir à déterminer dans quelle mesure les travailleurs de la culture servent d'intrants travail pour toute une gamme d'activités d'économiques.

La CTIÉ répartit l'économie en 18 divisions, par exemple, les industries manufacturières et les services aux entreprises. Les divisions représentent donc un très haut niveau d'agrégation dans la CTIÉ. Chaque division est ensuite subdivisée en grands groupes, le deuxième niveau d'agrégation. Dans la CTIÉ, il y a 76 grands groupes au total. Ceuxci à leur tour sont divisés en groupes. Par conséquent, le groupe est le troisième niveau d'agrégation dans la CTIÉ. Outre qu'il définit quelles professions sont de nature culturelle, le Cadre précise également quelles industries sont de nature culturelle. Selon le Cadre, il y a 20 groupes au total qui sont de nature culturelle et ils sont énumérés au tableau 2. Beaucoup sont intégrés dans les grands groupes qui sont, dans l'ensemble, non culturels. Par exemple, l'industrie des communications (un grand groupe) comprend à la fois les services de radiodiffusion, ainsi que les services postaux et de messageries. Les premiers sont un groupe de l'industrie culturelle, mais non les deuxièmes. Comme cette étude porte sur l'emploi dans le secteur culturel dans des secteurs non culturels de l'économie, les 20 groupes culturels ont été séparés du grand groupe d'agrégation élevé. Ensemble, les 20 groupes culturels constituent le secteur culturel de l'économie dans la présente étude. Les travailleurs qui restent dans les grands groupes, après l'élimination des industries culturelles, représentent donc le volet non culturel de l'économie5. Le nombre de travailleurs de la culture et la taille de la main-d'œuvre totale pour chaque division ont été calculés, ce qui nous a permis de déterminer la proportion de travailleurs de la culture (sur le nombre total de travailleurs)6. La proportion de travailleurs de la culture dans chaque division par ailleurs indique dans quelle mesure les travailleurs de la culture servent d'intrants travail pour produire des biens et des services dans cette division.

Comme le recensement de la population de 2001 a été codé selon les deux systèmes de classification des industries, il a été possible de déterminer dans quelle mesure le choix de la CTIÉ nous a conduit à des résultats différents en 2001 comparativement à ce qui ce serait produit si nous avions utilisé le SCIAN pour cette annéelà. Nous avons constaté qu'un grand groupe et un groupe dans la CTIÉ contenait un grand nombre de travailleurs de la culture qui auraient été classés à titre de travailleurs dans les industries culturelles si nous avions utilisé le SCIAN, même s'il s'agit d'industries non culturelles dans la CTIÉ7. Nous ne savons pas donc exactement s'ils doivent être inclus dans le secteur culturel ou le secteur non culturel. Par conséquent, aux fins de la présente étude. les deux sont jugés être distincts du secteur culturel et du secteur non culturel, et il s'agit d'« industries non attribuées ». Par conséquent, selon la CTIÉ, l'économie canadienne a été répartie en trois grands secteurs : le secteur non culturel comprenant 74 grands groupes (sans les groupes culturels), le secteur culturel et les industries non attribuées. Dans le présent document, nous examinons les caractéristiques générales de l'emploi des travailleurs de la culture dans le secteur non culturel ainsi que les caractéristiques de l'emploi dans certaines divisions.

Tableau 1
Professions culturelles

Tableau 2
Liste des groupes de la CTI-É réputés faire partie du secteur culturel pour la présente étude