Projections of the Indigenous Populations: Interactive Dashboard

Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
Embed this product
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

Definitions

Classifications of Indigenous identity

In this visualization tool, Indigenous populations are broken down into two distinct classifications. The first classification, known as the variant that gives precedence to Indigenous groups, emphasizes the Indigenous group characteristic. It consists of three main populations: First Nations people, Métis and Inuit (single identities). It must be noted that the total Indigenous identity population of this classification also includes individuals who identify with more than one group (multiple identities) and those who do not identify with an Indigenous group but who are Registered or Treaty Indians and/or members of a First Nation or an Indian Band.

The second classification—the variant that gives precedence to Registered or Treaty Indian status—instead focuses on Registered or Treaty Indian status first, then the Indigenous group (single identities) second. It consists of four main populations: Registered or Treaty Indians, First Nations people without Registered or Treaty Indian status, Métis without Registered or Treaty Indian status, and Inuit without Registered or Treaty Indian status. It must be noted that the total Indigenous identity population of this classification also includes individuals who are not Registered or Treaty Indians but self-identify with more than one Indigenous group (multiple identities), as well as those who do not self-identify with an Indigenous group, but who are members of a First Nation or an Indian Band.

In total, the Indigenous identity population is the same in both classifications.

Base population for projections

The base population for projections is derived from 2016 Census (long-form) data, for which the weights were adjusted to account for the population living in collective dwellings and institutions, for the census net undercoverage and for the population living in incompletely enumerated Indian reserves and settlements.

Populations observed in 2016

The population figures for 2016 are as of May 10, the reference date for the 2016 Census. These population figures were extracted directly from the base population file of the projection. The population figures are in thousands and are rounded to the nearest thousand. Therefore, a value of zero can be either a true zero or a rounded value less than 500.

Populations projected from 2017 to 2041

For the period from 2017 to 2041, these are projected populations based on three projection scenarios. For these years, the presented population figures are in person-years, that is, the number of years lived in a given state by the individuals who make up the population from January 1 to December 31 of a given year. The population figures are in thousands and are rounded to the nearest thousand. Therefore, a value of zero can be either a true zero or a rounded value less than 500.

Projection scenarios

A projection scenario consists of a set of assumptions about the demographic and non-demographic components used to make a population projection. In this visualization tool, three plausible scenarios from the perspective of past trends and recent demographic developments are presented: a low-growth scenario, a medium-growth scenario and a high-growth scenario. The following is a brief description of each of the three scenarios:

Low-growth scenario:

The low-growth scenario combines the low assumptions for the Indigenous populations in regards to the four components listed below. The assumptions for the other components projected in the model are the same for each of the three projection scenarios presented in this data table.

  • Slow decline of fertility over 25 years, reaching 1.7 children per woman in 2041.
  • Slow gradual increase in the life expectancy at birth between 2016 and 2041.
  • Low level of intragenerational ethnic mobility at the start then converging to the 1996-2016 average level by 2041.
  • 34,000 new registrations to the Indian Register related to Bill S-3 from 2018 to 2041.

Medium-growth scenario:

The medium-growth scenario combines the medium assumptions for the Indigenous populations in regards to the four components listed below. The assumptions for the other components projected in the model are the same for each of the three scenarios presented in this data table.

  • Slight decline of fertility at the beginning of the projection followed by a slight increase to reach its starting level of 1.9 children per woman in 2041.
  • Moderate gradual increase in the life expectancy at birth between 2016 and 2041.
  • Recent observed level of intragenerational ethnic mobility at the start then converging to the 1996-2016 average level by 2041.
  • 66,000 new registrations to the Indian Register related to Bill S-3 from 2018 to 2041.

High-growth scenario:

The high-growth scenario combines the high assumptions for the Indigenous populations in regards to the four components listed below. The assumptions for the other components projected in the model are the same for each of the three scenarios presented in this data table.

  • Slow increase of fertility over 25 years, reaching 2.2 children per woman in 2041.
  • Fast gradual increase in the life expectancy at birth between 2016 and 2041.
  • High level of intragenerational ethnic mobility at the start then converging to the 1996-2016 average level by 2041.
  • 251,000 new registrations to the Indian Register related to Bill S-3 from 2018 to 2041.

For more details on the assumptions and scenarios, please refer to “Projections of the Indigenous populations and households in Canada, 2016 to 2041: Overview of data sources, methods, assumptions and scenarios” in Demosim: Reports and Analytical Studies (Catalogue number 17200001). Please note that demographic projections are not predictions. Please consider the range of results given by the different scenarios instead of trying to find a more probable scenario.

Area of residence

This geographic variable includes four mutually exclusive regions:

  1. on reserve
  2. inside Inuit Nunangat
  3. in census metropolitan areas (CMAs), off reserve and outside Inuit Nunangat
  4. outside of CMAs, off reserve and outside Inuit Nunangat.

Note that the geographic areas “on reserve” and “inside Inuit Nunangat” are mutually exclusive by nature. Outside these two geographic areas, the population is subdivided by whether it resides inside or outside CMAs.

On reserve

“On reserve” includes six census subdivision (CSD) types legally affiliated with First Nations or Indian bands as defined in the 2016 Census: Indian reserve (IRI), Indian settlement (S-É) (except for the four Indian settlements of Champagne Landing 10, Klukshu, Two Mile and Two and One-Half Mile Village and Kloo Lake located in Yukon), Indian government district (IGD), terres réservées aux Cris (TC), terres réservées aux Naskapis (TK) and Nisga'a land (NL).

Users must note that the projected data for on-reserve populations are more affected by the fact that some Indian reserves and settlements were not enumerated in certain provinces (Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia) in the 2016 Census.

Inside Inuit Nunangat

“Inside Inuit Nunangat” includes the communities located in the four Inuit regions: Nunatsiavut (Northern coastal Labrador), Nunavik (Northern Quebec), the territory of Nunavut and the Inuvialuit region of the Northwest Territories. These regions collectively encompass the area traditionally occupied by Inuit in Canada.

In CMAs, off reserve and outside Inuit Nunangat

“In CMAs, off reserve and outside Inuit Nunangat” includes the 35 census metropolitan areas (CMAs) of Canada identified in the 2016 Census, excluding the “on reserve” and “inside Inuit Nunangat” parts.

Outside of CMAs, off reserve and outside Inuit Nunangat

“Outside of CMAs, off reserve and outside Inuit Nunangat” includes all regions outside of census metropolitan areas (CMAs), reserves and Inuit Nunangat.

For more information

For more details on the data sources, methods, assumptions and scenarios behind these projections, please refer to the following report: “Projections of the Indigenous populations and households in Canada, 2016 to 2041: Overview of data sources, methods, assumptions and scenarios” in Demosim: Reports and Analytical Studies (Catalogue number 17200001).

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Projections des populations autochtones : tableau de bord interactif

Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tableaux de données suivants :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Intégrer ce produit
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Information additionnelle

Définitions

Classifications de l’identité autochtone

Dans cet outil de visualisation, les populations autochtones sont ventilées selon deux classifications distinctes. La première classification, dite variante donnant préséance au groupe autochtone, met à l’avant-plan la caractéristique du groupe autochtone. Elle est constituée de trois populations principales : les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits (identités uniques). Il est à noter que la population d’identité autochtone totale de cette classification inclut également les personnes qui s’identifient à plus d’un groupe autochtone (identités multiples) ainsi que celles qui ne s’identifient pas à un groupe autochtone, mais qui sont des Indiens inscrits ou des traités et/ou qui sont membres d’une Première Nation ou d’une bande indienne.

La seconde classification, dite variante donnant préséance au statut d’Indien inscrit ou des traités, met plutôt à l’avant-plan la caractéristique du statut d’Indien inscrit ou des traités puis, dans un second temps, celle du groupe autochtone (identités uniques). Elle est constituée de quatre populations principales : les Indiens inscrits ou des traités, les Premières Nations n’ayant pas le statut d’Indien inscrit, les Métis n’ayant pas le statut d’Indien inscrit et les Inuits n’ayant pas le statut d’Indien inscrit. Il est à noter que la population d’identité autochtone totale de cette classification inclut également les personnes sans statut d’Indien inscrit ou des traités qui s’identifient à plus d’un groupe autochtone (identités multiples) ainsi que celles qui ne s’identifient pas à un groupe autochtone, mais qui sont membres d’une Première Nation ou d’une bande indienne.

Au total, la population d’identité autochtone est la même selon les deux classifications.

Population de base des projections

La population de base des projections est basée sur les données du Recensement de 2016 (questionnaire détaillé) dont les poids ont été ajustés pour tenir compte de la population vivant en logements collectifs et en institutions, pour le sous-dénombrement net au recensement et pour la population vivant dans les réserves et établissements indiens partiellement dénombrés.

Populations observées en 2016

Les chiffres de population pour l’année 2016 sont en date du 10 mai, soit la date de référence du Recensement de 2016. Ces chiffres de population ont été extraits directement du fichier de la population de base de la projection. Les chiffres de population sont exprimés en milliers et sont arrondis au plus proche millier. Par conséquent, une valeur de zéro peut être soit un vrai zéro ou soit une valeur arrondie inférieure à 500.

Populations projetées de 2017 à 2041

Pour la période allant de 2017 à 2041, il s’agit de populations projetées selon trois scénarios de projection. Pour ces années, les chiffres de population présentés sont en années-personnes, c’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit du nombre d’années vécues dans un état donné par les individus qui composent la population du 1er janvier au 31 décembre d’une année donnée. Les chiffres de population sont exprimés en milliers et sont arrondis au plus proche millier. Par conséquent, une valeur de zéro peut être soit un vrai zéro ou soit une valeur arrondie inférieure à 500.

Scénarios de projection

Un scénario de projection est composé d’un ensemble d’hypothèses relatives aux composantes, démographiques ou non, servant à effectuer une projection de population. Dans cet outil de visualisation, trois scénarios, tous plausibles du point de vue des tendances passées et de l’évolution démographique récente, sont présentés : un scénario de croissance faible, de croissance moyenne et de croissance forte. Voici une brève description de chacun de ces trois scénarios :

Scénario de croissance faible :

Le scénario de croissance faible combine les hypothèses faibles pour les populations autochtones en ce qui concerne les quatre composantes énumérées ci-dessous. Les hypothèses pour les autres composantes projetées dans le modèle sont les mêmes pour chacun des trois scénarios de projection présentés dans ce tableau de données.

  • Lente baisse de la fécondité sur 25 ans, pour s’établir à 1,7 enfant par femme en 2041;
  • Augmentation lente et progressive de l’espérance de vie à la naissance entre 2016 et 2041;
  • Faible niveau de mobilité ethnique intragénérationnelle au début, puis convergence au niveau moyen observé entre 1996 et 2016 d’ici 2041;
  • 34 000 nouvelles inscriptions au registre des Indiens se rapportant au projet de loi S-3 de 2018 à 2041.

Scénario de croissance moyenne :

Le scénario de croissance moyenne combine les hypothèses moyennes pour les populations autochtones en ce qui concerne les quatre composantes énumérées ci-dessous. Les hypothèses pour les autres composantes projetées dans le modèle sont les mêmes pour chacun des trois scénarios présentés dans ce tableau de données.

  • Léger déclin de la fécondité au début de la projection, suivi d’une légère augmentation pour atteindre son niveau de départ de 1,9 enfant par femme en 2041;
  • Augmentation modérée et progressive de l’espérance de vie à la naissance entre 2016 et 2041;
  • Niveau de mobilité ethnique intragénérationnelle observé récemment au début, puis convergence au niveau moyen observé entre 1996 et 2016 d’ici 2041;
  • 66 000 nouvelles inscriptions au registre des Indiens se rapportant au projet de loi S-3 de 2018 à 2041.

Scénario de croissance forte :

Le scénario de croissance forte combine les hypothèses fortes pour les populations autochtones en ce qui concerne les quatre composantes énumérées ci-dessous. Les hypothèses pour les autres composantes projetées dans le modèle sont les mêmes pour chacun des trois scénarios présentés dans ce tableau de données.

  • Lente augmentation de la fécondité sur 25 ans, atteignant 2,2 enfants par femme en 2041;
  • Augmentation rapide et progressive de l’espérance de vie à la naissance entre 2016 et 2041;
  • Niveau élevé de mobilité ethnique intragénérationnelle au début, puis convergence au niveau moyen observé entre 1996 et 2016 d’ici 2041;
  • 251 000 nouvelles inscriptions au registre des Indiens se rapportant au projet de loi S-3 de 2018 à 2041.

Pour obtenir plus de détails quant aux hypothèses et scénarios de projection, veuillez consulter « Projections des populations et des ménages autochtones au Canada, 2016 à 2041 : aperçu des sources de données, méthodes, hypothèses et scénarios » dans Demosim : Rapports et études analytiques (numéro 17200001 au catalogue). Veuillez noter que les projections démographiques ne sont pas des prédictions. Veuillez considérer l’ensemble de la fourchette fournie par les différents scénarios au lieu de chercher le scénario le plus probable.

Région de résidence

Cette variable géographique contient quatre régions mutuellement exclusives :

  1. dans une réserve;
  2. à l’intérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat;
  3. dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR), hors réserve et à l’extérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat;
  4. à l’extérieur des RMR, hors réserve et à l’extérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat.

À noter, les géographies « dans une réserve » et « à l’intérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat » sont naturellement mutuellement exclusives. À l’extérieur de ces deux géographies, la population est subdivisée selon qu’elle réside dans une RMR ou hors RMR.

Dans une réserve

« Dans une réserve » comprend les six types de subdivisions de recensement (SDR) légalement affiliées aux Premières Nations ou aux bandes indiennes tel que défini dans le Recensement de 2016 : réserve indienne (IRI), établissement indien (S-É) (sauf pour les quatre établissements indiens de Champagne Landing 10, Klukshu, Two Mile and Two and One-Half Mile Village et Kloo Lake du Yukon), Indian government district (IGD), terres réservées aux Cris (TC), terres réservées aux Naskapis (TK) et Nisga'a land (NL).

Les utilisateurs doivent prendre note que les données projetées en lien avec les populations vivant dans les réserves sont davantage affectées par le fait que certaines réserves indiennes et certains établissements indiens n'ont pas été dénombrés dans certaines provinces (Québec, Ontario, Alberta et Colombie-Britannique) au Recensement de 2016.

À l’intérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat

« À l’intérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat » comprend les communautés incluses dans les quatre régions inuites : Nunatsiavut (la côte nord du Labrador), Nunavik (Nord du Québec), le territoire du Nunavut et la région Inuvialuit des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ensemble, ces régions englobent le territoire traditionnellement habité par les Inuits au Canada.

Dans les RMR, hors réserve et à l’extérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat

« Dans les RMR, hors réserve et à l’extérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat » comprend les 35 régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) du Canada identifiées dans le Recensement de 2016 à l’exclusion des parties « dans une réserve » et « à l’intérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat ».

Hors RMR, hors réserve et à l’extérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat

« À l’extérieur des RMR, hors réserve et à l’extérieur de l’Inuit Nunangat » comprend l’ensemble des régions se situant à l’extérieur des régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR), des réserves et de l’Inuit Nunangat.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour plus de détails en lien avec les sources de données, les méthodes, les hypothèses et les scénarios derrière ces projections, veuillez consulter le rapport suivant : « Projections des populations et des ménages autochtones au Canada, 2016 à 2041 : aperçu des sources de données, méthodes, hypothèses et scénarios » dans Demosim : Rapports et études analytiques (numéro 17200001 au catalogue).

Date de modification :