Analysis in Brief
Analysis on supply chains in Canada, first quarter of 2022

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Release date: March 17, 2022

Skip to text

Text begins

The COVID-19 pandemic has renewed interest in supply chains and put a spotlight on the strength and resilience of supply chains. The tightening and closing of borders, the restrictions on the movement of people and goods, the closure of businesses as strategies to control the spread of the virus, and the impact of the virus on employees, all had the potential to disrupt supply chains. As a result, the status of supply chains and the impact they have on their respective economies is of great interest.Note  Widespread global supply constraints in combination with pent-up consumer demand as the economy reopened resulted in inflationary pressures. In fact, the Consumer Price Index (CPI) rose 3.4% on an annual average basis in 2021, the fastest pace since 1991 (+5.6%), following an increase of 0.7% in 2020.Note 

From the beginning of January to early February 2022, Statistics Canada conducted the Canadian Survey on Business Conditions to better understand the current environment businesses in Canada are operating in and their expectations moving forward. Based on the results of the survey, businesses expect supply chain issues to continue into the short term, specifically when acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically and abroad and maintaining inventory levels. Additionally, of those businesses that expected supply chain challenges, the vast majority of them expect the situation to stay the same or worsen over the next three months, and businesses have or plan to use various strategies to address supply chain issues. This article provides insights on the topic of supply chain challenges and the impacts of these issues on businesses in Canada.

Supply chain challenges anticipated to continue

Nearly one-third (32.1%) of businesses expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically over the next three months.Note  This proportion has increased from last quarter, when over one-quarter (27.2%) of businesses expected this difficulty. Of the businesses expecting difficulty in the first quarter of 2022, over half (52.4%) expect these challenges to continue for six months or more, similar to last quarter (51.8%). Meanwhile, one-third (33.1%) are uncertain how long these challenges will persist. Over half of businesses in construction (57.7%) and manufacturing (53.2%) expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically over the next three months. Businesses in wholesale trade (65.6%) and transportation and warehousing (64.1%) were the most likely to expect this difficulty to continue being an obstacle for six months or more (Table 1).

Almost one-fifth (18.1%) of businesses expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad over the next three months. This figure has increased slightly from last quarter, when 17.5% of businesses expected the same difficulty. Of these businesses in the first quarter of 2022, over three-fifths (62.5%) expect these challenges to continue for six months or more, up from last quarter (56.4%). At the same time, over one-quarter (28.8%) are uncertain how long these challenges will persist. Almost half (45.7%) of businesses in wholesale trade and nearly one-third of businesses in manufacturing (32.5%) and retail trade (29.8%) expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad over the next three months. Businesses in transportation and warehousing (77.7%) and arts, entertainment and recreation (74.6%) were the most likely to expect this difficulty to continue being an obstacle for six months or more (Table 1).

One-fifth (20.8%) of businesses expect maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle over the next three months. This number has slightly increased from last quarter, when almost one-fifth (18.4%) of businesses expected maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle. Of these businesses in the first quarter of 2022, half (50.0%) expect these difficulties to continue for six months or more, similar to last quarter (51.9%). However, over one-quarter (28.0%) are uncertain how long these challenges will persist. Over two-fifths of businesses in retail trade (44.2%) and wholesale trade (42.7%) expect maintaining inventory levels to be a challenge over the next three months. Businesses in wholesale trade (72.9%) and information and cultural industries (71.7%) were the most likely to expect this obstacle to continue for six months or more (Table 1).


Table 1
Business expectations of how long supply chain obstacles will last, by industry, first quarter of 2022
Table summary
This table displays the results of Business expectations of how long supply chain obstacles will last Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from within Canada for six months or more, Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad for six months or more and Business expects maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle for six months or more, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from within Canada for six months or more Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad for six months or more Business expects maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle for six months or more
percent
All industries 52.4 62.5 50.0
Wholesale trade 65.6 74.0 72.9
Transportation and warehousing 64.1 77.7 60.9
Information and cultural industries 63.6 72.0 71.7
Mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extraction 62.4 71.0 50.8
Real estate and rental and leasing 61.4 57.5 61.1
Arts, entertainment and recreation 60.4 74.6 57.7
Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting 57.4 61.8 58.7
Construction 54.2 59.9 50.3
Manufacturing 53.8 68.0 50.9
Administrative and support, waste management and remediation services 49.2 39.8 43.9
Other services (except public administration) 49.0 39.0 43.7
Retail trade 48.0 67.6 50.9
Health care and social assistance 47.7 61.5 40.6
Professional, scientific and technical services 46.9 62.5 10.0
Accommodation and food services 42.5 54.4 38.1
Finance and insurance 41.9 45.5 48.4

Supply chain challenges worsened

Of businesses that expected supply chain challenges (difficulty maintaining inventory levels, or acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically or abroad) over the next three months, nearly three-quarters (71.9%) reported that challenges experienced by the business have worsened over the last three months. Leading factors that contributed to worsened supply chain challenges were increased delays in deliveries of inputs, products or supplies (84.7%), increased prices of inputs, products or supplies (76.3%) and supply shortages resulting in fewer inputs, products or supplies being available (75.8%).

Data table for Chart 1 
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1 Supply chain challenges have worsened, Supply chain challenges have remained about the same and Supply chain challenges have improved, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Supply chain challenges have worsened Supply chain challenges have remained about the same Supply chain challenges have improved
percent
Businesses that expect supply chain challenges 71.9 25.3 2.8

Among businesses that expect supply chain challenges over the next three months, nearly four-fifths (78.5%) of businesses in other services (except public administration) and around three-quarters of businesses in wholesale trade (75.7%) and accommodation and food services (74.6%) reported that supply chain challenges have worsened. In contrast, those in health care and social assistance were the least negatively affected, with half (50.9%) reporting that supply chain challenges have remained about the same.

The vast majority of businesses expect supply chain challenges to either worsen or remain about the same over the next three months. Specifically, over two-fifths (43.4%) of businesses expect supply chain challenges to worsen, and nearly half (48.0%) expect the situation to remain about the same. Meanwhile, less than one in ten (8.7%) businesses expect supply chain challenges to improve over the next three months. Businesses in accommodation and food services (12.0%) and retail trade (11.8%) were the most likely to expect supply chain challenges to improve over the next three months.

Current and planned adjustments to supply chains

Of businesses that expected supply chain challenges over the next three months, the most common strategies currently used to address these challenges included searching for alternate sources of supply (64.5%), increasing communications with suppliers or wholesalers (58.3%), and monitoring shortages, delays, or disruptions for critical inputs, products or supplies (57.3%). Meanwhile, 4.0% of these businesses had no strategies in place to address supply chain challenges.

Among businesses that expected supply chain challenges over the next three months, various supply chain adjustments are planned over the next 12 months. Around one-third of these businesses plan to partner with new suppliers (35.8%) and substitute inputs, products or supplies with alternate inputs, products or supplies (31.6%). Almost one-fifth (18.0%) plan to shift to local suppliers, with businesses in accommodation and food services (31.6%) being most likely to do so. However, nearly one-fifth (19.2%) of businesses were uncertain of plans to adjust their supply chain, and almost one-quarter (24.5%) had no plans to adjust their supply chain over the next 12 months.

Vast majority of inputs, products or supplies sourced domestically

Of businesses that expect supply chain challenges over the next three months, nearly all (92.8%) sourced inputs, products or supplies from Canada within the last 12 months. Almost two-fifths (39.9%) of these businesses sourced inputs, products or supplies from the United States, and nearly one-fifth (17.3%) of these businesses sourced from Asia. One-in-ten (9.8%) of these businesses sourced from Europe, and 3.4% sourced from Mexico.

Data table for Chart 2 
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2 Regions businesses sourced inputs, products or supplies from, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Regions businesses sourced inputs, products or supplies from
percent
Canada 92.8
United States 39.9
Asia 17.3
Europe 9.8
Mexico 3.4
South America 1.6
Africa 0.8
Other region 0.4
Unknown region 4.1

Businesses in health care and social assistance (99.3%), administrative and support, waste management and remediation services (98.1%), and arts, entertainment and recreation (97.9%) were the most likely to source their inputs, products or supplies domestically. Businesses in wholesale trade (65.0%), information and cultural industries (60.1%), and manufacturing (56.3%) were the most likely to source their inputs, products or supplies from the United States. Businesses in information and cultural industries (50.1%) and wholesale trade (37.9%) were the most likely to source their inputs, products or supplies from Asia.

Methodology

From January 4 to February 7, 2022, representatives from businesses across Canada were invited to take part in an online questionnaire about business conditions and business expectations moving forward. The Canadian Survey on Business Conditions uses a stratified random sample of business establishments with employees classified by geography, industry sector, and size. An estimation of proportions is done using calibrated weights to calculate the population totals in the domains of interest. The total sample size for this iteration of the survey is 35,026 and results are based on responses from a total of 17,695 businesses or organizations.

References

Statistics Canada. (2022). Canadian Survey on Business Conditions, first quarter of 2022.

Date modified:

Analyse en bref
Analyse des chaînes d’approvisionnement au Canada, premier trimestre de 2022

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de diffusion : le 17 mars 2022

Passer au texte

Début du texte

La pandémie de COVID-19 a renouvelé l’intérêt envers les chaînes d’approvisionnement et a mis en lumière la force et la résilience de ces dernières. Le resserrement des mesures et la fermeture des frontières, les restrictions liées à la circulation des personnes et des biens, la fermeture des entreprises comme stratégies visant à contrôler la propagation du virus, ainsi que les répercussions du virus sur les employés, tout cela avait le potentiel de perturber les chaînes d’approvisionnement. Par conséquent, l’état des chaînes d’approvisionnement et l’incidence qu’ont celles-ci sur leurs économies respectives sont d’un grand intérêtNote  . Les contraintes d’approvisionnement généralisées à l’échelle mondiale, combinées à une demande refoulée des consommateurs lors de la relance de l’économie, ont entraîné des pressions inflationnistes. En fait, l’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) a augmenté de 3,4 % sur une base annuelle moyenne en 2021, ce qui représente le rythme de croissance le plus rapide depuis 1991 (+5,6 %), et qui fait suite à une augmentation de 0,7 % en 2020Note  .

Du début de janvier jusqu’au début de février 2022, Statistique Canada a mené l’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises afin de mieux comprendre l’environnement actuel dans lequel évoluent les entreprises au Canada et leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. Selon les résultats de l’enquête, les entreprises s’attendent à ce que les problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se poursuivent à court terme, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’acquisition d’intrants, de produits ou de fournitures, au pays et à l’étranger, ainsi que le maintien des niveaux de stocks. De plus, parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement, la grande majorité d’entre elles s’attendent à ce que la situation demeure la même ou s’aggrave au cours des trois prochains mois, et les entreprises ont utilisé — ou prévoient utiliser — diverses stratégies pour régler les problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Le présent article donne un aperçu des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement et des répercussions de ces enjeux sur les entreprises au Canada.

On s’attend à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement persistent

Près du tiers (32,1 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures à l’échelle nationale au cours des trois prochains moisNote  . Cette proportion a augmenté par rapport au dernier trimestre, lorsque plus du quart (27,2 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à être confrontées à cette difficulté. Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendent à éprouver des difficultés au cours du premier trimestre de 2022, plus de la moitié (52,4 %) s’attendent à ce que ces difficultés se poursuivent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une proportion semblable à celle enregistrée au cours du trimestre précédent (51,8 %). Parallèlement, le tiers (33,1 %) ne savaient pas pendant combien de temps ces défis persisteraient. Plus de la moitié des entreprises de la construction (57,7 %) et de la fabrication (53,2 %) s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au pays au cours des trois prochains mois. Les entreprises dans le secteur du commerce de gros (65,6 %) et dans le secteur du transport et de l’entreposage (64,1 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que cette difficulté demeure un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus (tableau 1).

Près du cinquième (18,1 %) des entreprises s’attendent à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en provenance de l’étranger au cours des trois prochains mois. Ce chiffre a légèrement augmenté par rapport au trimestre précédent, lorsque 17,5 % des entreprises s’attendaient à affronter la même difficulté. Parmi ces entreprises, au premier trimestre de 2022, plus des trois cinquièmes (62,5 %) s’attendent à ce que ces défis persistent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une hausse par rapport au trimestre précédent (56,4 %). Parallèlement, plus du quart (28,8 %) des répondants ne savent pas combien de temps ces défis persisteront. Près de la moitié (45,7 %) des entreprises du secteur du commerce de gros et près du tiers des entreprises des secteurs de la fabrication (32,5 %) et du commerce de détail (29,8 %) s’attendent à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en provenance de l’étranger au cours des trois prochains mois. Les entreprises du secteur du transport et de l’entreposage (77,7 %), ainsi que celles du secteur des arts, des spectacles et des loisirs (74,6 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que cette difficulté demeure un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus (tableau 1).

Le cinquième (20,8 %) des entreprises s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois. Ce nombre a légèrement augmenté par rapport au trimestre précédent, lorsque près du cinquième (18,4 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle. Parmi ces entreprises, au premier trimestre de 2022, la moitié (50,0 %) s’attend à ce que ces difficultés persistent pendant six mois ou plus, soit une proportion semblable à celle enregistrée au trimestre précédent (51,9 %). Cependant, plus du quart (28,0 %) des répondants ne savent pas combien de temps ces défis persisteront. Plus des deux cinquièmes des entreprises dans les secteurs du commerce de détail (44,2 %) et du commerce de gros (42,7 %) s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un défi au cours des trois prochains mois. Les entreprises dans le secteur du commerce de gros (72,9 %) et dans l’industrie de l’information et l’industrie culturelle (71,7 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que cet obstacle persiste pendant six mois ou plus (tableau 1).


Tableau 1
Attentes des entreprises quant à la durée des obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement, par industrie, au premier trimestre de 2022
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Attentes des entreprises quant à la durée des obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada, pendant six mois ou plus, Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant de l’étranger, pendant six mois ou plus et Entreprises qui s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada, pendant six mois ou plus Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant de l’étranger, pendant six mois ou plus Entreprises qui s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus
pourcentage
Ensembles des industries 52,4 62,5 50,0
Commerce de gros 65,6 74,0 72,9
Transport et entreposage 64,1 77,7 60,9
Industrie de l’information et industrie culturelle 63,6 72,0 71,7
Extraction minière, exploitation en carrière, et extraction de pétrole et de gaz 62,4 71,0 50,8
Services immobiliers et services de location et de location à bail 61,4 57,5 61,1
Arts, spectacles et loisirs 60,4 74,6 57,7
Agriculture, foresterie, pêche et chasse 57,4 61,8 58,7
Construction 54,2 59,9 50,3
Fabrication 53,8 68,0 50,9
Services administratifs, services de soutien, services de gestion des déchets et services d’assainissement 49,2 39,8 43,9
Autres services (sauf les administrations publiques) 49,0 39,0 43,7
Commerce de détail 48,0 67,6 50,9
Soins de santé et assistance sociale 47,7 61,5 40,6
Services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques 46,9 62,5 10,0
Services d’hébergement et de restauration 42,5 54,4 38,1
Finance et assurances 41,9 45,5 48,4

Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à devoir composer avec des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement (difficulté dans le maintien des niveaux des stocks ou l’acquisition des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au pays ou en provenance de l’étranger) au cours des trois prochains mois, près des trois quarts (71,9 %) ont indiqué que les défis auxquels l’entreprise était confrontée étaient devenus plus grands au cours des trois derniers mois. Les principaux facteurs qui ont contribué à aggraver les difficultés liées à la chaîne d’approvisionnement étaient l’augmentation des retards dans la livraison des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures (84,7 %), l’augmentation des prix des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures (76,3 %) et des pénuries d’approvisionnement entraînant une baisse du nombre d’intrants, de produits ou de fournitures disponibles (75,8 %).

Tableau de données du graphique 1 
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1 Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés, Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement sont restés à peu près les mêmes et Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont améliorés, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement sont restés à peu près les mêmes Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont améliorés
pourcentage
Entreprises qui s’attendent à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement 71,9 25,3 2,8

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendent à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, près des quatre cinquièmes (78,5 %) des entreprises des autres services (sauf les administrations publiques) et environ les trois quarts des entreprises du commerce de gros (75,7 %) et des services d’hébergement et de restauration (74,6 %) ont indiqué que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés. En revanche, les entreprises des soins de santé et de l’assistance sociale ont été les moins touchées, la moitié (50,9 %) ayant indiqué que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement sont restés à peu près les mêmes.

La grande majorité des entreprises s’attendent à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’aggravent ou demeurent à peu près les mêmes au cours des trois prochains mois. Plus précisément, plus des deux cinquièmes (43,4 %) des entreprises s’attendent à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’aggravent, et près de la moitié (48,0 %) s’attendent à ce que la situation demeure à peu près la même. Parallèlement, moins de 1 entreprise sur 10 (8,7 %) s’attend à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’améliorent au cours des trois prochains mois. Les entreprises des services d’hébergement et de restauration (12,0 %) et celles du commerce de détail (11,8 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’améliorent au cours des trois prochains mois.

Ajustements actuels et ajustements prévus aux chaînes d’approvisionnement

Au niveau des entreprises qui s’attendaient à devoir faire face à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, les stratégies les plus couramment utilisées pour relever ces défis comprenaient la recherche d’autres sources d’approvisionnement (64,5 %), l’augmentation des communications avec les fournisseurs ou les grossistes (58,3 %) et la surveillance des pénuries, des retards ou des interruptions des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures essentiels (57,3 %). Parallèlement, 4,0 % de ces entreprises n’avaient aucune stratégie en place pour relever les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, divers ajustements à la chaîne d’approvisionnement étaient prévus au cours des 12 prochains mois. Environ le tiers de ces entreprises prévoient établir des partenariats avec de nouveaux fournisseurs (35,8 %) et substituer les intrants, produits ou fournitures par d’autres intrants, produits ou fournitures (31,6 %). Près du cinquième (18,0 %) prévoient se tourner vers des fournisseurs locaux, et les entreprises des services d’hébergement et de restauration (31,6 %) sont les plus susceptibles de le faire. Toutefois, près du cinquième (19,2 %) des entreprises étaient incertaines des plans qu’elles mettraient en place pour ajuster leur chaîne d’approvisionnement, et près du quart (24,5 %) n’avaient pas l’intention d’ajuster leur chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des 12 prochains mois.

La grande majorité des intrants, des produits et des fournitures proviennent de sources intérieures

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendent à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, presque toutes (92,8 %) ont acquis des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada au cours des 12 derniers mois. Près des deux cinquièmes (39,9 %) de ces entreprises ont acquis des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en provenance des États-Unis, et près du cinquième (17,3 %) de ces entreprises ont acquis des intrants, produits ou fournitures en provenance de l’Asie. Une entreprise sur dix (9,8 %) a acquis des intrants, produits ou fournitures en provenance de l’Europe et 3,4 % en provenance du Mexique.

Tableau de données du graphique 2 
Tableau de données du graphique 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 2 Régions d’où les entreprises ou les organismes ont pu obtenir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Régions d’où les entreprises ou les organismes ont pu obtenir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures
pourcentage
Canada 92,8
États-Unis 39,9
Asie 17,3
Europe 9,8
Mexique 3,4
Amérique du Sud 1,6
Afrique 0,8
Autre région 0,4
Région inconnue 4,1

Les entreprises des soins de santé et de l’assistance sociale (99,3 %), des services administratifs, des services de soutien, des services de gestion des déchets et des services d’assainissement (98,1 %) et des arts, des spectacles et des loisirs (97,9 %) étaient les plus susceptibles d’acquérir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures au pays. Les entreprises du commerce de gros (65,0 %), de l’industrie de l’information et l’industrie culturelle (60,1 %) et de la fabrication (56,3 %) étaient les plus susceptibles d’acquérir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures des États-Unis. Les entreprises de l’industrie de l’information et l’industrie culturelle (50,1 %) et du commerce de gros (37,9 %) étaient les plus susceptibles d’acquérir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures de l’Asie.

Méthodologie

Du 4 janvier au 7 février 2022, des représentants d’entreprises de partout au Canada ont été invités à répondre à un questionnaire en ligne portant sur la situation des entreprises et sur leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. L’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises repose sur un échantillon aléatoire stratifié d’établissements commerciaux dans lequel les employés sont classés par région géographique, secteur d’industrie et taille. L’estimation des proportions se fait à l’aide de poids calibrés afin de calculer les totaux de population dans les domaines d’intérêt. La taille totale de l’échantillon pour ce cycle de l’enquête est de 35 026 et les résultats sont fondés sur les réponses d’un total de 17 695 entreprises et organismes.

Références

Statistique Canada. (2022). Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises, premier trimestre de 2022.

Date de modification :