Publications

    Canada Year Book

    2010

    Past issues

    Historical collection

    Doctors and official-language minorities

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived Content

    Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]11-402-x[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Quality health care depends largely on communication between doctors and their patients. This is particularly important for official-language minority groups. In 2006, 4% of Canada's population outside Quebec spoke French as their first official language. In Quebec, 13% spoke English as their first official language.

    Of the 30,600 doctors working outside Quebec in 2006, 4% were francophone and 21% reported being able to conduct a conversation in French. Quebec had 10,500 doctors in 2006 and 15% were anglophone. That year, 15% of Quebec's doctors used English most often at work. Moreover, 86% of Quebec's doctors know English well enough to conduct a conversation.

    In Ontario, 23% of the 15,200 doctors reported being able to conduct a conversation in French in 2006, while 7% said they used French at least regularly in their work. At 39%, New Brunswick had the highest proportion of francophone doctors outside of Quebec. In 2006, nearly 46% of New Brunswick's doctors reported using French at work at least regularly.

    Chart 21.4 Unemployment rate, men 25 to 54 years
    View data source for chart 22.4

    Date modified:

Les médecins et les minorités de langue officielle

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La qualité des services de santé dépend largement de la capacité des patients à communiquer avec leurs médecins, ce qui est surtout important pour les minorités de langue officielle. En 2006, 4 % de la population du Canada à l'extérieur du Québec avait le français comme première langue officielle. Au Québec, 13 % de la population avait l'anglais comme première langue officielle.

Chez les 30 600 médecins travaillant à l'extérieur du Québec en 2006, 4 % étaient francophones et 21 % ont déclaré pouvoir communiquer en français. Au Québec, on dénombrait 10 500 médecins en 2006, dont 15 % étaient anglophones. Cette année-là, 15 % des médecins du Québec utilisaient l'anglais plus souvent au travail. Au Québec, 86 % des médecins pouvaient communiquer en anglais.

Parmi les 15 200 médecins de l'Ontario, 23 % ont dit pouvoir communiquer en français en 2006, tandis que 7 % ont dit utiliser le français au moins régulièrement au travail. Le Nouveau-Brunswick a affiché la plus forte proportion de médecins francophones à l'extérieur du Québec (39 %). Près de 46 % des médecins de cette province ont déclaré utiliser le français au travail au moins régulièrement en 2006.

graphique 30.4 Taux de chômage, hommes 25 à 54 ans
Voir la source des données du graphique 18.4

Date de modification :