Publications

    Canada Year Book

    2010

    Past issues

    Historical collection

    Languages at work

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived Content

    Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]11-402-x[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Immigrants who use non-official languages on the job are concentrated in certain industries. Food services, building services, residential construction, farming, clothing manufacturing and grocery stores make up some of the 20 industries employing 40% of these immigrants. Full-service restaurants and limited-service eating places together employ 10% of these workers.

    Though many of the jobs are unskilled, some—such as teaching, sales, and real estate agency work—require excellent communication skills. Allophone immigrants may hold jobs in these industries precisely because they speak a non-official language and can reach growing immigrant markets. However, few immigrants employed in sales or real estate speak a non-official language to the exclusion of English or French.

    With time in Canada, immigrants become less concentrated in the industries typical of recently arrived immigrants working in non-official languages.

    Chart 21.3 Student unemployment during summer months, by selected age groups
    View data source for chart 22.3

    Date modified:

Langues au travail

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les immigrants utilisant des langues non officielles au travail œuvrent dans certaines industries. Les services alimentaires, les services relatifs aux immeubles, la construction résidentielle, les fermes, la confection de vêtements et les épiceries figurent parmi les 20 industries employant 40 % de ces immigrants. Les restaurants à service complet et les établissements de restauration à service restreint embauchent 10 % d'entre eux.

Ces emplois sont souvent non spécialisés, mais certains exigent d'excellentes aptitudes à la communication, comme l'enseignement, la vente et l'immobilier. Certains allophones travaillent en effet dans ces domaines, car ils parlent une langue non officielle leur permettant de joindre des marchés d'immigrants en expansion. Dans la vente ou l'immobilier, peu d'immigrants parlent une langue non officielle à l'exclusion du français ou de l'anglais.

Après un certain temps au Canada, les immigrants sont moins enclins à occuper les emplois typiques de nouveaux arrivants utilisant des langues non officielles.

graphique 30.3 Chômage, étudiants au cours des mois d'été, selon certains groupes d'âge
Voir la source des données du graphique 18.3

Date de modification :