Adult and youth correctional statistics in Canada, 2016/2017

Articles and reports: 85-002-X201800154972

Description:

This Juristat article provides a statistical overview of adults and youth admitted to and released from custody and community supervision in Canada in 2016/2017. Analysis is presented at the national as well as the provincial and territorial levels. Average counts and the incarceration rates are presented. Admissions and the characteristics of adults and youth in the correctional system (such as age, sex and Aboriginal identity) are also discussed.

Issue Number: 2018001
Author(s): Malakieh, Jamil

Main Product: Juristat

FormatRelease dateMore information
HTMLJune 19, 2018
  • Correction: June 29, 2018

    The article "Adult and youth correctional statistics in Canada, 2016/2017" was updated June, 29th, 2018. The change affected a data point in the “Adults who are an Aboriginal person are overrepresented in the correctional system” section. In the first bullet point, the estimate of “about 5% » was changed to a more precise figure of “4.1%”.

PDFJune 19, 2018
  • Correction: June 29, 2018

    The article "Adult and youth correctional statistics in Canada, 2016/2017" was updated June, 29th, 2018. The change affected a data point in the “Adults who are an Aboriginal person are overrepresented in the correctional system” section. In the first bullet point, the estimate of “about 5% » was changed to a more precise figure of “4.1%”.

Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour les adultes et les jeunes au Canada, 2016-2017

Articles et rapports : 85-002-X201800154972

Description :

Le présent article de Juristat donne un aperçu statistique des adultes et des jeunes au Canada qui, en 2016-2017, ont été placés sous garde ou admis à un programme de surveillance dans la collectivité, ou qui en ont été libérés. L'analyse est présentée à l'échelon du pays ainsi qu'à celui des provinces et des territoires. On y examine les comptes moyens et les taux d'incarcération. Le bulletin porte également sur les admissions et les caractéristiques (comme l'âge, le sexe et l'identité autochtone) des adultes et des jeunes se trouvant dans le système correctionnel.

Numéro d'exemplaire : 2018001
Auteur(s) : Malakieh, Jamil

Produit principal : Juristat

FormatDate de sortieInformations supplémentaires
HTML19 juin 2018
  • Correction : 29 Juin, 2018

    L’article « Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour les adultes et les jeunes au Canada, 2016-2017 » a été mis à jour le 29 juin 2018. Le changement a eu un impact sur une donnée dans la partie suivante « Les adultes autochtones sont surreprésentés au sein du système correctionnel ». Dans le premier point centré, l’estimation de « environ 5 % » a été changé pour un chiffre plus précis de « 4,1 % ». 

PDF19 juin 2018
  • Correction : 29 Juin, 2018

    L’article « Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour les adultes et les jeunes au Canada, 2016-2017 » a été mis à jour le 29 juin 2018. Le changement a eu un impact sur une donnée dans la partie suivante « Les adultes autochtones sont surreprésentés au sein du système correctionnel ». Dans le premier point centré, l’estimation de « environ 5 % » a été changé pour un chiffre plus précis de « 4,1 % ».