Canadian Agriculture at a Glance



This edition of Canadian Agriculture at a Glance aims to open the barn doors of Canadian agriculture to farming and non-farming Canadians by providing an informative and unbiased look at the state of agriculture in the country.

The 2016 Census of Agriculture—the basis for the articles—found fewer than 1% of Canadians are farm operators. Yet, all Canadians participate in the agri-food sector when they go grocery shopping and make food choices.

Statistics Canada’s mandate is to provide information to all Canadians so they can make sound, fact-based decisions—whether on the farm or in the grocery aisle. Its wealth of objective data on the agriculture sector can help you make your own choices.

Logo

About the artistNote 1

The changing face of the immigrant farm operator

by Stephanie Tam and Matthew Shumsky, Agriculture Division

Release date: July 3, 2019

This article focuses on the emergence of the United States and China as the top countries of birth for farm operators that immigrated to Canada between 2011 and 2016.

It compares immigrant farm operators born in the United States and China who came to Canada between 2011 and 2016 with non-immigrant and other immigrant farm operators. The article explores topics such as where they live and the type and size of the farms they are working on.

The educational advancement of Canadian farm operators

by Kevin Tran and Matthew Shumsky, Agriculture Division

Release date: March 21, 2019

As farms evolve into increasingly automated and technologically advanced operations, Canadian farm operators are placing a greater emphasis on educational attainment.

This article examines the past 20 years of farm operators’ educational attainment, as well as the relationship between educational attainment and the characteristics of farm operators and their agricultural operations.

This article examines the major field of study reported by farm operators, including the top major field of study reported for each province. This article also discusses how educational attainment influences opportunities for off-farm work and the gross farm receipts of farm operators. In addition, it takes a look at how farm operators are leveraging technology for their farms, as well as the breakdown of farm types, in relation to farm operators’ highest level of educational attainment.

Aboriginal peoples and agriculture in 2016: A portrait

by Nicolas Gauthier and Julia White, Agriculture Division

Release date: January 17, 2019

This article is Statistics Canada’s first-ever publication on Aboriginal peoples and agriculture. It explores the part that Aboriginal persons play in the agricultural population in 2016. It examines how Aboriginal farm operators resemble or differ from their non-Aboriginal farm operator counterparts, and how likely they are to be engaged in off-farm paid employment. It also discusses the most common farm types for Aboriginal farm operators.

Female and young farm operators represent a new era of Canadian farmers

by Matthew Shumsky and Allison Nelson, Agriculture Division

Release date: December 13, 2018

This article focuses on the emergence of the next generation of Canadian farm operators. The rise of adaptive and educated female farm operators in synergy with progressive and resourceful young farm operators is changing the perception of the typical farmer.

Faced with modernizing farming practises, female and young farm operators are placing greater emphasis on educational attainment. While agricultural operations evolve into large-scale, capital-intensive entities, female and young farm operators are adapting by diversifying revenue streams and acquiring farm land through innovative methods.

Innovation and healthy living propel growth in certain other crops

by Matthew Shumsky, Agriculture Division

Release date: March 22, 2018

With increasing attention on health-conscious agricultural products, farm operations are focusing on particular varieties of “other crops” to try and meet consumer needs. “Other crops” encompass both fruits and vegetables, as well as field crops. These “other” commodities are collected by the Census of Agriculture program using write-in fields which are then coded and grouped into similar product classes. This article serves to highlight some of the emerging trends on select “other crops”.

Dairy goats in Ontario: a growing industry

by Mallory McGonegal, Agriculture Division

Release date: December 6, 2017

The number of goats for dairy on agricultural operations in Ontario is increasing as farmers expand and optimize production. When compared to other agricultural operations in the province, dairy goat operations can differ in terms of demographic, geographic, financial and organizational characteristics.

Other livestock and poultry in Canada

by Mitra Rostami, Agriculture Division

Release date: November 20, 2017

While Canadian livestock is often associated with more traditional sectors such as cattle, pigs, sheep and poultry, Canadian farms raise a host of other livestock and poultry. Other livestock in Canada include, for example, horses, donkeys, rabbits and deer. Other poultry in Canada include, for example, ducks, geese, ostriches and pheasants. Other livestock and poultry can be found on a variety of operations, with varying demographic and financial characteristics.


Date modified:

Un coup d'œil sur l'agriculture canadienne



Cette édition d’Un coup d’œil sur l’agriculture canadienne vise à ouvrir les portes des étables de l’agriculture canadienne aux agriculteurs et aux non agriculteurs et à leur présenter une information utile et impartiale, sur l’état de l’agriculture au pays.

Dans le Recensement de l’agriculture de 2016 — sur lequel sont fondés les articles — on a constaté que moins de 1 % des Canadiens sont des exploitants agricoles. Or, tous les Canadiens participent au secteur agroalimentaire lorsqu’ils vont faire leurs emplettes au magasin d’alimentation et qu’ils choisissent des aliments.

Statistique Canada a pour mandat de bien informer tout les Canadiens afin qu’ils puissent prendre des décisions judicieuses fondées sur des faits, à la ferme ou au magasin d’alimentation. Le document contient une multitude de données objectives sur le secteur de l’agriculture afin que vous puissiez faire vos propres choix.

Logo

Au sujet des artistesNote 1

Le visage changeant de l’exploitant agricole immigrant

par Stephanie Tam et Matthew Shumsky, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 3 juillet 2019

Cet article porte sur l’arrivée des États-Unis et de la Chine au sommet de la liste des pays d’origine des exploitants agricoles qui ont immigré au Canada entre 2011 et 2016.

Les exploitants agricoles nés aux États-Unis et en Chine qui ont immigré au Canada entre 2011 et 2016 sont comparés avec les exploitants agricoles nés au Canada et avec d’autres exploitants agricoles immigrants. Le lieu où ils vivent ainsi que le type et la taille de l’exploitation dans laquelle ils travaillent font également partie des sujets abordés dans l’article.

L’accroissement du niveau de scolarité des exploitants agricoles canadiens

par Kevin Tran et Matthew Shumsky, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 21 mars 2019

Avec l’automatisation et l’évolution technologique des activités agricoles, les exploitants agricoles canadiens accordent une importance croissante à leur niveau de scolarité.

Le présent article examine le niveau de scolarité des exploitants agricoles au cours des 20 dernières années, ainsi que le lien entre le niveau de scolarité et les caractéristiques des exploitants agricoles, et leurs activités agricoles.

L’article se penche sur les principaux domaines d’études déclarés par les exploitants agricoles, y compris le principal domaine d’études le plus souvent déclaré dans chaque province. Il décrit également dans quelle mesure le niveau de scolarité influence les perspectives de travail hors ferme et les revenus agricoles bruts des exploitants agricoles. En outre, il explore comment les exploitants agricoles mettent à profit la technologie dans leur exploitation, ainsi que la répartition des types d’exploitation agricole en fonction du plus haut niveau de scolarité atteint de l’exploitant.

Les peuples autochtones et l’agriculture en 2016 : un portrait

par Nicolas Gauthier et Julia White, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 17 janvier 2019

Cet article est la toute première publication de Statistique Canada sur les peuples autochtones et l’agriculture. L’article traite de la part que jouent les Autochtones dans la population agricole en 2016. Il mentionne les ressemblances et les différences entre les exploitants agricoles autochtones et leurs homologues non autochtones, et s’ils sont plus susceptibles de combiner leurs activités à un emploi hors ferme. Les types de fermes les plus répandus chez les exploitants agricoles autochtones sont également présentés.

Les exploitantes et les jeunes exploitants agricoles représentent une nouvelle ère pour les agriculteurs canadiens

par Matthew Shumsky et Allison Nelson, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 13 décembre 2018

Cet article traite de l’avènement de la prochaine génération d’exploitants agricoles canadiens. La venue d’exploitantes agricoles à la fois adaptables et instruites en synergie avec de jeunes exploitants agricoles progressifs et astucieux change la perception qu’ont les Canadiens de l’agriculteur type.

Confrontés à la modernisation des pratiques agricoles, les exploitantes et les jeunes exploitants agricoles accordent une importance accrue à la formation scolaire. Alors que les activités agricoles évoluent pour devenir des entreprises à grande échelle nécessitant d’importants investissements, les exploitantes et jeunes exploitants s’adaptent en diversifiant leurs sources de revenus et en acquérant des terres agricoles à l’aide de méthodes innovantes.

L'innovation et les modes de vie sains stimulent la croissance dans certaines autres cultures

par Matthew Shumsky, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 22 mars 2018

Étant donné l’importance accrue accordée aux produits agricoles santé, les exploitations agricoles mettent l’accent sur certaines variétés d’« autres cultures » pour essayer de répondre aux besoins des consommateurs. Ces « autres cultures » englobent les fruits et les légumes, ainsi que les grandes cultures. Les données sur ces « autres » produits sont recueillies dans le cadre du Recensement de l’agriculture au moyen de champs de réponse écrite; ces réponses sont ensuite codées et regroupées dans des catégories de produits semblables. L’article met en évidence certaines des tendances émergentes d’« autres cultures » sélectionnées.

Les chévres laitières en Ontario : une industrie en pleine croissance

par Mallory McGonegal, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 6 décembre 2017

Le nombre de chèvres pour les produits laitiers sur les exploitations agricoles en Ontario augmente à mesure que les fermiers développent et optimisent la production. Par rapport aux autres exploitations agricoles dans la province, les exploitations des chèvres laitières peuvent différer en termes de caractéristiques démographiques, géographiques, financières et organisationnelles.

Bétail et volailles non traditionnels au Canada

par Mitra Rostami, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 20 novembre 2017

Alors que le bétail canadien est souvent associé à des secteurs plus traditionnels tels que les bovins, les porcs, les moutons et la volaille, les fermes canadiennes élèvent une foule de bétail et volailles non traditionnels. Le bétail non traditionnel au Canada comprend, par exemple, les chevaux, les ânes, les lapins et les cerfs. La volaille non traditionnelle au Canada comprend, par exemple, les canards, les oies, les autruches et les faisans. Les bétail et volailles non traditionnels peuvent être trouvés sur diverses opérations, avec des caractéristiques démographiques et financières variables.


Date de modification :