Illustrated Glossary
Province or territory


‘Province’ and ‘territory’ refer to the major political units of Canada. Canada is divided into 10 provinces and 3 territories. From a statistical point of view, province and territory are basic areas for which data are tabulated.

province or territory

For more information on province or territory, consult the Dictionary, Census of Population, 2021.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: