Table E.1.6
Percentage of 25-year-oldsNote 1 who ever left high school, by cohortNote 1 and sex, Canada and provincesNote 2, 2005 and 2009

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Standard table symbols

Table E.1.6
Percentage of 25-year-oldsNote 1 who ever left high school, by cohortNote 1 and sex, Canada and provincesNote 2, 2005 and 2009
  25 years of age in:
December 2005 December 2009
Total Male Female Total Male Female
percent
CanadaNote 3 18.4 22.1 14.6 13.5 16.2 10.7
Newfoundland and Labrador F F x 7.5 9.6Note E 5.4Note E
Prince Edward Island 16.1Note E F F 7.3 9.4Note E 5.4Note E
Nova Scotia 17.8 26.7Note E 8.3Note E 11.4 12.6 10.1Note E
New Brunswick 8.6Note E 11.6Note E x 8.5 10.8Note E 6.2Note E
Quebec 21.4 28.9 13.8Note E 22.0 28.0 15.7
Ontario 16.9 19.2 14.5Note E 11.1 12.7 9.6Note E
Manitoba 18.5Note E 21.3Note E 15.5Note E 13.4 13.4Note E 12.9Note E
Saskatchewan 15.0 19.6Note E 10.2Note E 8.9 7.9Note E 9.9Note E
Alberta 24.9 27.5Note E 21.9Note E 12.7 16.7 8.1Note E
British Columbia 16.9Note E 16.8Note E 17.0Note E 10.0 10.9Note E 9.0Note E
x suppressed to meet the confidentiality requirements of the Statistics Act
E use with caution
F too unreliable to be published
1. The two longitudinal cohorts from the Youth in Transition Survey (YITS) were used for this table. One consists of individuals who were 18 to 20 years of age in Cycle 1 of YITS in 1999. Of this cohort, only the individuals who were 25 years of age in December 2005 (those who were 19 years of age in December 1999) were selected for this table. The other cohort consists of individuals who were 15 years of age in Cycle 1 of YITS in 1999. However, because of changes over time in the population of young adults in Canada, primarily due to immigration and emigration, neither cohort represents a cross-section of the overall population at age 25 in December 2005 or December 2009. Data in this table reflect the situation of the two initial cohorts at the end of December 2005 and at the end of December 2009.
2. The province in which high school was last attended. Further analysis indicates that the incidence of interprovincial migration among respondents who had ever left high school is low, less than 1%.
3. Respondents who did not attend elementary or high school in Canada at all, or who last attended high school in the United States or another country, are not included in this table. Respondents who reported last attending high school in one of the territories are included in the Canada total, but the territories are not shown separately due to small sample size.
Notes: YITS asks all respondents whether they have ever left elementary or secondary school. However, it is not possible to differentiate between those who left in elementary school and those who left in secondary school. Further analysis, based on age at which respondents last attended school, indicates that the numbers who left in elementary school are very small.
For a brief description of this indicator, including the methodology, please see the Handbook for the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program.
Source: Statistics Canada, Youth in Transition Survey (YITS), Cycles 4 and 6.
Updated December 14, 2011.
Date modified:

Tableau E.1.6
Pourcentage des 25 ans qui ont déjà interrompu leurs études secondaires, selon la cohorteNote 1 et le sexe, Canada et provincesNote 2, 2005 et 2009

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les signes conventionnels utilisés dans les tableaux

Tableau E.1.6
Pourcentage des 25 ans qui ont déjà interrompu leurs études secondaires, selon la cohorteNote 1 et le sexe, Canada et provincesNote 2, 2005 et 2009
  âgés de 25 ans en
décembre 2005 décembre 2009
Total Hommes Femmes Total Hommes Femmes
pourcentage
CanadaNote 3 18,4 22,1 14,6 13,5 16,2 10,7
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador F F x 7,5 9,6Note E 5,4Note E
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 16,1Note E F F 7,3 9,4Note E 5,4Note E
Nouvelle-Écosse 17,8 26,7Note E 8,3Note E 11,4 12,6 10,1Note E
Nouveau-Brunswick 8,6Note E 11,6Note E x 8,5 10,8Note E 6,2Note E
Québec 21,4 28,9 13,8Note E 22,0 28,0 15,7
Ontario 16,9 19,2 14,5Note E 11,1 12,7 9,6Note E
Manitoba 18,5Note E 21,3Note E 15,5Note E 13,4 13,4Note E 12,9Note E
Saskatchewan 15,0 19,6Note E 10,2Note E 8,9 7,9Note E 9,9Note E
Alberta 24,9 27,5Note E 21,9Note E 12,7 16,7 8,1Note E
Colombie-Britannique 16,9Note E 16,8Note E 17,0Note E 10,0 10,9Note E 9,0Note E
x confidentiel en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la statistique
E à utiliser avec prudence
F trop peu fiable pour être publié
1. Les deux cohortes longitudinales de l'Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition (EJET) ont été utilisées pour ce tableau. L'une est constituée de personnes qui étaient âgées de 18 à 20 ans lors du premier cycle de l'EJET en 1999. De cette cohorte, seuls les individus qui étaient âgés de 25 ans en décembre 2005 (ceux qui avaient 19 ans en décembre 1999) ont été sélectionnés pour ce tableau. L'autre est formée d'individus qui étaient âgés de 15 ans au premier cycle de l'EJET en 1999. Cependant en raison des changements dans la population des jeunes adultes au Canada au fil du temps, principalement reliés à l'immigration et l'émigration, aucune des deux cohortes n'est transversalement représentative de la population âgée de 25 ans en décembre 2005 ou décembre 2009. Les données de ce tableau sont l'expression de la situation de ces deux cohortes, l'une à la fin de décembre 2005 et l'autre à la fin de décembre 2009.
2. Province où l'école secondaire a été fréquentée pour la dernière fois. Une analyse plus poussée révèle que le taux de migration interprovinciale des répondants qui ont interrompu leurs études secondaires est bas, moins de 1 %.
3. Les répondants qui n'ont jamais fréquenté l'école primaire ou l'école secondaire au Canada ou qui ont fréquenté pour la dernière fois une école secondaire aux États-Unis ou dans un autre pays sont exclus de ce tableau. Les répondants qui ont déclaré avoir fréquenté pour la dernière fois une école secondaire dans un des territoires sont inclus dans le total du Canada, mais les données des territoires ne sont pas présentées séparément en raison de la petite taille de l'échantillon.
Notes : L'EJET demande à tous les répondants s'ils ont déjà abandonné l'école primaire ou secondaire. Il est impossible de faire la distinction entre ceux qui ont abandonné l'école primaire et ceux qui ont abandonné l'école secondaire. Une analyse plus poussée en fonction de l'âge auquel les répondants ont fréquenté l'école pour la dernière fois révèle que le nombre de personnes qui abandonnent l'école primaire est très faible.
Pour obtenir une brève description de cet indicateur, incluant la méthodologie, veuillez consulter le Manuel pour le Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation.
Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête auprès des jeunes en transition (EJET), 4e et 6e cycle.
Mis à jour le 14 décembre 2011.
Date de modification :