Correctional services statistics: Interactive dashboard

Release date: November 19, 2019
Data

The data used to create this interactive web application is from the following listed data tables:

Start of visual interactive dashboard
End of visual interactive dashboard

Additional information

In Canada, the administration of correctional services is a shared responsibility between the federal, provincial and territorial governments. The Correctional Service of Canada is responsible for the federal system and has jurisdiction over adult offenders (18 years and older) serving custodial sentences of two years or more, and is responsible for supervising offenders on conditional release in the community (such as parole or statutory release). Those adults that are serving custodial sentences that are less than two years, or who are being held while awaiting trial or sentencing (remand), and those serving community sentences, such as probation, fall under the purview of the provincial and territorial correctional services programs. For youth, the provinces and territories are responsible for administering correctional services for both custody and community sentences, including youth being held while awaiting trial or sentencing (pre-trial detention).

The Correctional services statistics interactive dashboard provides an overview of adult and youth correctional services in Canada. The dashboard presents correctional services statistics using two measures: average counts and admissions. Average counts provide a snapshot of the correctional population and represent the number of adults and youth in custody or under community supervision on any given day. Admissions are counted each time an individual begins or moves to a new type of custody or community supervision over the fiscal year: the same person can be included numerous times in the admissions count, as he/she moves from one type of supervision to another. As such, the count of admissions provides an important indicator of the flow of persons through the correctional system for a given year.

All the information presented in the Correctional services statistics interactive dashboard is available on Statistics Canada's website. Please refer to the following documentation for more details:

Adult Corrections
  • Table 35-10-0014-01 Adult admissions to correctional services
  • Table 35-10-0022-01 Adult admissions to federal correctional services
  • Table 35-10-0155-01 Average counts of offenders in federal programs, Canada and regions
  • Table 35-10-0154-01 Average counts of adults in provincial and territorial correctional programs
  • Table 35-10-0017-01 Adult custody admissions to correctional services by age group
  • Table 35-10-0016-01 Adult custody admissions to correctional services by aboriginal identity
  • Table 35-10-0015-01 Adult custody admissions to correctional services by sex
  • Survey 3306 Adult Correctional Services (ACS)
  • Survey 5251 Canadian Correctional Services Survey (CCSS)
  • Survey 3313 Corrections Key Indicator Report for Adults and Youth (CKIR)
Youth Corrections
  • Table 35-10-0005-01 Youth admissions to correctional services
  • Table 35-10-0003-01 Average counts of young persons in provincial and territorial correctional services
  • Table 35-10-0007-01 Youth admissions to correctional services, by Aboriginal identity and sex
  • Table 35-10-0006-01 Youth admissions to correctional services, by age and sex
  • Survey 3323 Youth Custody and Community Services (YCCS)
  • Survey 3313 Corrections Key Indicator Report for Adults and Youth (CKIR)
  • Survey 5251 Canadian Correctional Services Survey (CCSS)
Notes
  • Incarceration rates are based on total actual-in counts, as well as population estimates provided by Demography Division of Statistics Canada.
  • Total custodial admissions are totals of sentenced (including intermittent sentences), remand and other custodial status admissions. Total custodial admissions for youth are totals of pre-trial detention, provincial director remand, secure custody and open custody.
  • Total community admissions are the sum of probation, conditional sentence, and other community programs. The conditional sentencing option came into effect in 1996/1997.
  • Sentenced custody is the detention of offenders convicted of a crime, either in a federal (two years or more), or a provincial/territorial (less than two years) facility. Sentenced custody admissions include admissions to intermittent sentences.
  • Remand is the detention of a person in custody while awaiting a further court appearance. These persons have not been sentenced and can be held for a number of reasons (e.g., risk that they won't appear for their court date, danger to themselves and/or others, risk to re-offend). Remand is the responsibility of provincial/territorial correctional services.
  • Other custodial statuses include persons who are being held in provincial/territorial correctional institutions for lock-ups, parole violations or suspensions, immigration holds, and those who are temporarily detained without warrants of any type.
  • The total actual-in count represents persons held in custody under sentence, remand or who are otherwise legally required to be there and who are present at the time the count is taken.
  • Total community supervision counts are the sum of probation, conditional sentences, and provincial parole. Community supervision counts are reported as average month-end counts unless otherwise noted.
  • For the purposes of the Canadian Correctional Services Survey, “Aboriginal identity” refers to persons under correctional supervision who identified with the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. This includes those who are First Nations (North American Indian), Métis or Inuk (Inuit) and/or those who are Registered or Treaty Indians (that is, registered under the Indian Act of Canada), and/or those who have membership in a First Nation or Indian band. The term Indigenous will be used in place of Aboriginal throughout this dashboard.
  • Age refers to the age of the person on admission to custody or community supervision.
  • (Federal) Total custodial admissions are totals of warrant of committal, revocation of conditional release and other custodial status admissions.
  • (Federal) Total community admissions is the sum of federal day parole, federal full parole and statutory releases.
  • (Federal) Actual-in counts include federal and provincial or territorial offenders in a federal facility and those temporarily detained in a federal facility.
  • (Federal) Total community supervision counts are sums of day parole, full parole, statutory release and long term supervision. Community supervision counts include federal offenders and provincial or territorial offenders in provinces and territories that do not operate their own parole boards, but who are supervised by Correctional Service Canada.

Newly released crime and justice articles can be found in The Daily - Crime and Justice.

Date modified:

Statistiques sur les programmes des services correctionnels : tableaux de bord interactif

Date de diffusion : le 19 novembre 2019
Données

Les données utilisées pour créer cette application Web interactive proviennent des tables de données suivantes :

Début du tableau de bord interactif visuel
Fin du tableau de bord interactif visuel

Renseignements supplémentaires

Au Canada, l’administration des services correctionnels est une responsabilité partagée entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Le Service correctionnel du Canada est responsable du système fédéral et des contrevenants adultes (18 ans et plus) qui purgent une peine de détention de deux ans ou plus. Il est également chargé de la surveillance des contrevenants en liberté sous conditions dans la collectivité (comme les contrevenants en liberté conditionnelle ou en liberté d’office). Les adultes qui purgent une peine d’emprisonnement de moins de deux ans ou qui sont détenus en attendant leur procès ou le prononcé de leur sentence (c.-à-d. ceux qui sont en détention provisoire) et ceux qui purgent une peine au sein de la collectivité, comme la probation, relèvent des programmes correctionnels des provinces et territoires. En ce qui concerne les jeunes, les provinces et territoires sont responsables de l’administration des services correctionnels pour les jeunes placés sous garde ou sous surveillance au sein de la collectivité, y compris les jeunes maintenus sous garde dans l’attente de leur procès ou du prononcé de leur sentence (détention avant procès).

Le tableau de bord interactif sur les statistiques sur les services correctionnels offre une vue d’ensemble des services correctionnels pour les adultes et les jeunes au Canada. On y présente des statistiques sur les services correctionnels à l’aide de deux mesures, soit les comptes moyens et les admissions. Les comptes moyens permettent de dresser un profil instantané de la population sous surveillance correctionnelle et représentent le nombre d’adultes et de jeunes en détention ou placés sous garde, ou sous surveillance au sein de la collectivité au cours d’une journée typique. Une admission est comptée chaque fois qu’une personne commence une période de détention, de placement sous garde ou de surveillance au sein de la collectivité, ou qu’elle passe d’un programme à l’autre au cours de l’exercice financier. La même personne peut figurer plusieurs fois dans les comptes d’admissions; cela se produit chaque fois que la personne change de programme. Par conséquent, les admissions constituent un indicateur important du nombre de personnes qui cheminent au sein du système correctionnel pour une année donnée.

Toute l’information présentée dans le tableau de bord interactif sur les statistiques sur les services correctionnels est disponible sur le site Web de Statistique Canada. Veuillez consulter la documentation suivante afin d'obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Services correctionnels pour adultes
  • Tableau 35-10-0014-01 Admissions d'adultes aux services correctionnels
  • Tableau 35-10-0022-01 Admissions d'adultes aux services correctionnels fédéraux
  • Tableau 35-10-0155-01 Comptes moyens de contrevenants dans les programmes fédéraux, Canada et régions
  • Tableau 35-10-0154-01 Comptes moyens d'adultes dans les programmes correctionnels provinciaux et territoriaux
  • Tableau 35-10-0017-01 Admissions d'adultes à la détention dans les services correctionnels, selon le groupe d’âge
  • Tableau 35-10-0016-01 Admissions d'adultes à la détention dans les services correctionnels, selon l'identité autochtone
  • Tableau 35-10-0015-01 Admissions d'adultes à la détention dans les services correctionnels, selon le sexe
  • Enquête 3306 Services correctionnels pour adultes (SCA)
  • Enquête 5251 Enquête sur les services correctionnels canadiens (ESCC)
  • Enquête 3313 Rapport sur les indicateurs clés des services correctionnels pour les adultes et les jeunes (RICSC)
Services correctionnels pour les jeunes
  • Tableau 35-10-0005-01 Admissions de jeunes aux services correctionnels
  • Tableau 35-10-0003-01 Comptes moyens de jeunes dans les services correctionnels provinciaux et territoriaux
  • Tableau 35-10-0007-01 Admissions de jeunes aux services correctionnels, selon l'identité autochtone et le sexe
  • Tableau 35-10-0006-01 Admissions de jeunes aux services correctionnels, selon l'âge et le sexe
  • Enquête 3323 Enquête sur les services communautaires et le placement sous garde des jeunes (ESCPSGJ)
  • Enquête 3313 Rapport sur les indicateurs clés des services correctionnels pour les adultes et les jeunes (RICSC)
  • Enquête 5251 Enquête sur les services correctionnels canadiens (ESCC)
Notes
  • Les taux d'incarcération sont fondés sur le compte réel des détenus en établissement, ainsi que sur les estimations démographiques fournies par la Division de la démographie de Statistique Canada.
  • Le total des admissions dans un établissement de détention représente le nombre total d'admissions en détention après condamnation (y compris les condamnations à une peine discontinue), en détention provisoire et dans les autres types de détention. Le total des admissions de jeunes dans un établissement de détention comprend le nombre total de placements sous garde avant le procès, de détentions provisoires sous l'autorité du directeur provincial et de placements sous garde en milieu fermé ou en milieu ouvert.
  • Le total des admissions aux programmes de surveillance au sein de la collectivité représente la somme des admissions en probation, des condamnations avec sursis et des admissions à d'autres programmes de surveillance au sein de la collectivité. La condamnation avec sursis en tant qu'option de peine est entrée en vigueur en 1996-1997.
  • La détention après condamnation désigne la détention des contrevenants reconnus coupables d'un crime, soit dans un établissement fédéral (peine de deux ans ou plus), soit dans un établissement provincial ou territorial (peine de moins de deux ans). Les admissions en détention après condamnation comprennent les condamnations à une peine discontinue.
  • La détention provisoire désigne le placement sous garde d'une personne qui est en attente d'une nouvelle comparution en cour. Cette personne, dont la peine n'a pas été déterminée, peut être détenue pour diverses raisons (p. ex. on craint qu'elle ne se présente pas à sa date de comparution prévue, elle représente un danger pour elle-même ou pour les autres, il y a un risque de récidive). La détention provisoire est la responsabilité des service correctionnels provinciaux ou territoriaux.
  • La catégorie « admissions à d'autres types de détention » comprend les personnes dans les établissements correctionnels provinciaux ou territoriaux qui sont détenues avant la comparution, aux fins de l'immigration ou en raison de manquements aux conditions de la libération conditionnelle ou de la suspension de celle-ci, de même que les personnes qui sont détenues temporairement sans mandat de n'importe quel type.
  • Le compte réel des détenus en établissement représente la somme des comptes des contrevenants en détention après condamnation et en détention provisoire, et des contrevenants qui sont tenus par la loi d'être en détention et qui sont présents au moment du dénombrement.
  • Le compte total de la population sous surveillance au sein de la collectivité représente la somme des comptes des contrevenants en probation, des contrevenants purgeant une condamnation avec sursis et des contrevenants en liberté conditionnelle provinciale. Les comptes de la population sous surveillance au sein de la collectivité sont présentés comme des comptes moyens en fin de mois, sauf indication contraire.
  • Dans le cadre de l’Enquête sur les services correctionnels canadiens, les personnes d’« identité autochtone » désignent les personnes sous surveillance correctionnelle qui se sont identifiées comme appartenant aux peuples autochtones du Canada. Il s’agit des personnes qui sont des Premières Nations (Indiens de l’Amérique du Nord), des Métis ou des Inuits, les personnes qui sont des Indiens inscrits ou des Indiens visés par un traité (c’est-à-dire inscrits en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens du Canada) et celles qui appartiennent à une Première Nation ou à une bande indienne.
  • L'âge désigne l'âge de la personne au moment de l'admission dans un établissement de détention ou de l'admission à un programme de surveillance au sein de la collectivité.
  • (Fédéral) Le total des admissions dans un établissement de détention représente le nombre total d'admissions en détention en vertu d'un mandat d'incarcération, d'admissions en détention à la suite de la révocation de la liberté sous condition et d'admissions à d'autres types de détention.
  • (Fédéral) Le total des admissions à un programme de surveillance au sein de la collectivité représente la somme des admissions à la semi-liberté de ressort fédéral, des admissions à la libération conditionnelle totale de ressort fédéral et des admissions à la libération d'office.
  • (Fédéral) Le compte réel des détenus en établissement comprend les contrevenants sous responsabilité fédérale, provinciale ou territoriale logés dans un établissement fédéral, ainsi que les contrevenants logés temporairement dans un établissement fédéral.
  • (Fédéral) Le compte total de la population sous surveillance au sein de la collectivité représente la somme des comptes de la semi-liberté, de la libération conditionnelle totale, de la libération d'office et de la surveillance de longue durée. Les comptes de la population sous surveillance au sein de la collectivité comprennent les contrevenants sous responsabilité fédérale et les contrevenants sous responsabilité provinciale ou territoriale dans les provinces et les territoires qui n'ont pas leur propre commission des libérations conditionnelles, mais qui sont surveillés par le Service correctionnel du Canada.

Des articles récemment publiés sur la criminalité et la justice se trouvent dans Le Quotidien - Crime et Justice.

Date de modification :