The International Trade Explorer, 2018

Release date: September 4, 2019 Updated on: September 4, 2019

For persons using assistive technologies, this presentation can be read in .

Content on the page will be updated when any selection is made






Notes

  1. The data contained in the world map are annual and on a customs basis.
  2. On a customs basis, it is the country of origin that determines the trading partner from which the goods were imported. For exports, the trading partner is based on the country of final destination.
  3. The “net export” variable is calculated by subtracting import from export values on a customs basis.
  4. Data in this visualization can be found in table 12-10-0130-01Opens a new window.

Content on the page will be updated when any selection is made





Notes

  1. The data contained in the tree map are annual and on a customs basis.
  2. On a customs basis, it is the country of origin that determines the trading partner from which the goods were imported. For exports, the trading partner is based on the country of final destination.
  3. The tree map visualization provides data for Canada’s 27 Principal Trading Partners (PTPs) down to the North American Product Classification System (NAPCS)Opens a new window Group level of detail.
  4. Data in this visualization can be found in table 12-10-0132-01Opens a new window.

Content on the page will be updated when any selection is made



Notes

  1. The data contained in the bar chart are annual and on a customs basis.
  2. On a customs basis, it is the country of origin that determines the trading partner from which the goods were imported. For exports, the trading partner is based on the country of final destination.
  3. Country groupings such as trade agreements and continents can be selected from the drop down list of the bar chart.
  4. Data in this visualization can be found in tables 12-10-0130-01Opens a new window and 12-10-0140-01Opens a new window.

Content on the page will be updated when any selection is made






Notes

  1. The data contained in the provincial map are annual and on a customs basis.
  2. The export values in this data visualization represent the “domestic exports” of a province, as opposed to total exports which include re-exports. Data at the Canada level are also showing domestic exports.
  3. Imports by province are based on the concept of province of clearance, which is the Canadian province (or territory) associated with the customs office responsible for clearing the goods for entry into Canada. Exports by province are based on the concept of province of origin, or province of production.
  4. Data in this visualization can be found in table 12-10-0133-01Opens a new window.

Notes

  1. The data contained in the data visualizations are annual, on a customs basis and not seasonally adjusted.
  2. The North American Product Classification System (NAPCS)Opens a new window is used for the product aggregates.
  3. In the world map, the “net export” variable was calculated by subtracting import from export values on a customs basis. The net export variable differs from the concept of “trade balance”, which is calculated by subtracting import from export values on a balance of payment basis.
  4. Unless otherwise specified, exports are “total exports” (domestic exports plus re-exports).
  5. In the provincial view, the export values represent the “domestic exports” of a province, as opposed to total exports which include re-exports. Data at the Canada level are also showing domestic exports. Domestic exports are goods grown, produced, extracted, or manufactured in Canada, including goods of foreign origin that have been materially transformed in Canada.
  6. In the provincial view, imports by province are based on the province of clearance concept, which is the Canadian province (or territory) associated with the customs office responsible for clearing the goods for entry into Canada. This may not always be the province (or territory) into which the goods physically entered the country, or the province in which the goods are ultimately consumed.
  7. Exports by province are based on the concept of province of origin, or province of production.
  8. Under the “by product” function on the provincial view, in the product table at the right, “..” means no data were reported for that specific data point, while a zero (0) means that there are data, but they were rounded to zero. Data in this table are in millions of dollars.
  9. On a customs basis, it is the country of origin that determines the trading partner from which the goods were imported. For exports, the trading partner is based on the country of final destination.
  10. In the import view of the world map, Canada is showing some significant values as a country of origin for imports into Canada. This is normal and legitimate as products of Canadian origin can sometimes return to Canada without being materially transformed in another country.
  11. The countries displayed in the world map are countries identified as Canada’s trading partners. This definition may not always align with other standard definitions of sovereign countries.
  12. The tree map visualization provides data for Canada’s 27 Principal Trading Partners (PTPs) down to the NAPCS Group level of detail. This level of detail offers an extra layer of analysis to users while insuring an optimal performance of the tool.
  13. If a country shows “no data”, it is either because no trade was reported between Canada and that country, or because the data of the country was incorporated into the data of another country. The countries that have their data incorporated with another country are listed below:

    • Comoros includes data from Mayotte.
    • Finland includes data from Aland Islands.
    • France includes data from:
      • French Guiana
      • Guadeloupe
      • Martinique
      • Monaco
      • Reunion
    • Israel includes data from State of Palestine.
    • Italy includes data from:
      • Holy See (Vatican)
      • San Marino
    • Kiribati includes data from Tuvalu.
    • New Zealand includes data from Tokelau.
    • Norway includes data from Svalbard Island.
    • Serbia includes data from Kosovo.
    • Spain includes data from Ceuta and Melilla.
    • Switzerland includes data from Liechtenstein.
    • United Kingdom includes data from:
      • Guernsey
      • Isle of Man
      • Jersey
      • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
    • United States Minor Outlying Islands includes data from:
      • Federated States of Micronesia
      • Marshall Islands
      • Northern Mariana Islands
      • Pacific Islands
      • Palau

Tables

Contact information

For more information, contact us (toll-free 1-800-263-1136; 514-283-8300; STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca).

To enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of this release, contact the International Accounts and Trade Division, (toll-free 1-800-294-5583; STATCAN.itdtrade-dcicommerce.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Date modified:

L’Explorateur du commerce international, 2018

Date de diffusion : le 4 septembre 2019 Mis à jour : le 4 septembre 2019

Pour les personnes qui utilisent la technologie accessible, cette presentation peut être lue en .

Le contenu de la page sera mis à jour quand une sélection sera faite






Notes

  1. Les données contenues dans la carte du monde sont annuelles et présentées sur une base douanière.
  2. Sur une base douanière, c’est le pays d’origine qui détermine le partenaire commercial duquel les biens ont été importés. Pour les exportations, le partenaire commercial est fondé sur le pays de la destination finale.
  3. La variable « exportations nettes » est calculée en soustrayant les importations des valeurs des exportations sur une base douanière.
  4. Les données dans ce produit de visualisation se trouvent dans le tableau 12-10-0130-01Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Le contenu de la page sera mis à jour quand une sélection sera faite





Notes

  1. Les données contenues dans la carte à cases sont annuelles et présentées sur une base douanière.
  2. Sur une base douanière, c’est le pays d’origine qui détermine le partenaire commercial duquel les biens ont été importés. Pour les exportations, le partenaire commercial est fondé sur le pays de la destination finale.
  3. La carte à cases présente des données pour les 27 partenaires commerciaux principaux du Canada jusqu’au niveau de détail des groupes du Système de classification des produits de l’Amérique du Nord (SCPAN)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.
  4. Les données dans ce produit de visualisation se trouvent dans le tableau 12-10-0132-01Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Le contenu de la page sera mis à jour quand une sélection sera faite



Notes

  1. Les données contenues dans le graphique à barres empilées sont annuelles et présentées sur une base douanière.
  2. Sur une base douanière, c’est le pays d’origine qui détermine le partenaire commercial duquel les biens ont été importés. Pour les exportations, le partenaire commercial est fondé sur le pays de la destination finale.
  3. Les regroupements par pays, tels que les accords commerciaux et les continents, peuvent être sélectionnés à partir de la liste du menu déroulant du graphique à barres.
  4. Les données dans ce produit de visualisation se trouvent dans les tableaux 12-10-0130-01Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre et 12-10-0140-01Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Le contenu de la page sera mis à jour quand une sélection sera faite






Notes

  1. Les données contenues dans la carte du commerce par province sont annuelles et présentées sur une base douanière.
  2. Les valeurs des exportations dans ce produit de visualisation de données représentent les « exportations intérieures » d’une province, à l’opposé des exportations totales qui incluent les réexportations. Les données au niveau du Canada présentent également les exportations intérieures.
  3. Les importations par province sont fondées sur le concept de province de dédouanement, soit la province (ou le territoire) canadienne associée au bureau de douane responsable du dédouanement des biens destinés à entrer au Canada. Les exportations par province sont fondées sur le concept de province d’origine, ou de province de production.
  4. Les données dans ce produit de visualisation se trouvent dans le tableau 12-10-0133-01Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre.

Notes

  1. Les données contenues dans les produits de visualisation de données sont annuelles, présentées sur une base douanière et non désaisonnalisées.
  2. Le Système de classification des produits de l’Amérique du Nord (SCPAN)Ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre est utilisé pour effectuer les agrégats de produits.
  3. Dans la carte du monde, la variable « exportations nettes » a été calculée en soustrayant les importations des valeurs des exportations sur une base douanière. La variable « exportations nettes » diffère du concept de « balance commerciale », qui est calculée en soustrayant les importations des valeurs des exportations sur la base de la balance des paiements.
  4. Sauf indication contraire, les exportations sont les « exportations totales» (les exportations domestiques plus les réexportations).
  5. Dans la visualisation du commerce par province, les valeurs des exportations représentent les « exportations domestiques » d’une province, par opposition au total des exportations, qui incluent aussi les réexportations. Les données au niveau du Canada présentent également les exportations domestiques. Les exportations domestiques sont des biens cultivés, produits, extraits ou fabriqués au Canada, y compris des biens d'origine étrangère ayant subi une transformation matérielle au Canada.
  6. Dans la visualisation du commerce par province, les importations par province sont fondées sur le concept de province de dédouanement, qui est la province (ou le territoire) canadienne associée au bureau de douane responsable du dédouanement des biens destinés à entrer au Canada. Il se peut que ce ne soit pas toujours la province (ou le territoire) dans laquelle les biens sont entrées physiquement dans le pays, ni la province dans laquelle les biens sont finalement consommés.
  7. Les exportations par province sont basées sur le concept de province d'origine, ou de province de production.
  8. Sous la fonction « par produit » de la visualisation du commerce par province, dans le tableau des produits à droite, «..» signifie qu'aucune valeur n'a été rapportée pour ce point de donnée spécifique, tandis qu'un zéro (0) signifie qu'il existe des données, mais qu’elles ont été arrondies à zéro. Les données dans ce tableau sont en millions de dollars.
  9. Sur une base douanière, c’est le pays d’origine qui détermine le partenaire commercial duquel les biens ont été importés. Pour les exportations, le partenaire commercial est fondé sur le pays de la destination finale.
  10. Pour ce qui est des importations présentées dans la carte du monde, le Canada affiche des valeurs importantes en tant que pays d'origine des importations vers le Canada. Cela est normal et légitime, car les produits d'origine canadienne peuvent parfois revenir au Canada sans être réellement transformés dans un autre pays.
  11. Les pays affichés sur la carte du monde sont des pays identifiés comme partenaires commerciaux du Canada. Cette définition peut ne pas toujours correspondre avec d'autres définitions standards des pays souverains.
  12. La carte à cases fournit des données pour les 27 principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada jusqu’au niveau de détail des groupes du SCPAN. Ce niveau de détail offre aux utilisateurs un niveau d’analyse supplémentaire tout en s’assurant d’une performance optimale de l’outil.
  13. Si un pays n’affiche « aucune donnée », c’est soit qu’aucun commerce n’a été signalé entre le Canada et ce pays, soit que les données de ce pays ont été intégrées aux données d’un autre pays. Les pays dont les données sont intégrées aux données d’un autre pays sont tous affichés dans la liste suivante :

    • L'Espagne inclut les données de Ceuta et Melilla.
    • La Finlande inclut les données des Îles Aland.
    • La France inclut les données :
      • de la Guadeloupe
      • de la Guyane française
      • de l'Île de la Réunion
      • de la Martinique
      • de Monaco
    • Les Îles Comores incluent les données de Mayotte.
    • Les Îles mineures éloignées des États-Unis incluent les données :
      • des États fédérés de Micronésie
      • des Îles du Pacifique
      • des Îles Mariannes du Nord
      • des Îles Marshall
      • de Palau
    • L'Israël inclut les données de l'État de Palestine.
    • L'Italie inclut les données :
      • de Saint-Marin
      • du Vatican
    • Les Kiribati incluent les données de Tuvalu.
    • La Norvège inclut les données de Svalbard.
    • La Nouvelle-Zélande inclut les données de Tokelau.
    • Le Royaume-uni inclut les données :
      • de la Géorgie du Sud et les Îles Sandwich du Sud
      • de Guernesey
      • de l'Île de Man
      • de Jersey
    • La Serbie inclut les données du Kosovo.
    • La Suisse inclut les données du Liechtenstein.

Tableaux

Coordonnées des personnes-ressources

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec nous au 514-283-8300 ou composez sans frais le 1-800-263-1136 (STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes et la qualité des données, communiquez avec la Division du commerce et des comptes internationaux 1-800-294-5583 (STATCAN.itdtrade-dcicommerce.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Date de modification :