Publications

    Rural and Small Town Canada Analysis Bulletin

    Manufacturing Employment in Resource Value Chains: a Rural-urban Comparison from 2001 to 2008

    Manufacturing Employment in Resource Value Chains: a Rural-Urban Comparison from 2001 to 2008

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived Content

    Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

    By Roland Beshiri, Statistics Canada

    Highlights

    • Employment in manufacturing in Canada has fluctuated over recent decades. The level reached a historically high in 2004 and has been declining since that time.
    • In 2008, over one-half (54%) of all Canadian manufacturing workers were employed in the value chain of a resource sector.
    • In 2008, resource sector manufacturing employment was relatively more important in rural and small town areas (69% of manufacturing employment and 9% of total employment) compared to larger urban centres (50% of manufacturing employment and 6% of total employment).
    • In the 2001 to 2008 period, resource manufacturing employment became a larger share of total manufacturing employment (up from 51% to 54%) because resource manufacturing employment declined less (-6%) compared to the decline of all "other" manufacturing employment (-18%).
    • Also, in the 2001 to 2008 period, resource manufacturing employment become relatively more important in rural and small town areas as the decline (-3%) was smaller in rural and small town areas compared to the decline in larger urban centres (-7%).
    • Within rural and small town areas at the Canada level, 9% of total employment in 2008 was resource sector manufacturing employment. This ranged from 14% within the rural and small town areas of Quebec to 2% within the rural and small town areas of Saskatchewan.
    • Within rural and small town areas in 2008, employment in wood processing accounted for the largest share of resource sector manufacturing employment (43%).
    Report a problem on this page

    Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

    Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

    Privacy notice

    Date modified:

Publications

    Bulletin d'analyse - Régions rurales et petites villes du Canada

    L'emploi manufacturier dans la chaîne de valeur des ressources : comparaison entre les régions rurales et urbaines de 2001 à 2008

    L'emploi manufacturier dans la chaîne de valeur des ressources : comparaison entre les régions rurales et urbaines de 2001 à 2008

    Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Information archivée dans le Web

    L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    Par Roland Beshiri, Statistique Canada

    Points saillants

    • L'emploi manufacturier du Canada a fluctué au cours des dernières décennies. Il a atteint un sommet historique en 2004 et n'a pas cessé de baisser depuis.
    • En 2008, plus de la moitié (54 %) de tous les travailleurs manufacturiers canadiens étaient employés dans la chaîne de valeur d'un secteur des ressources.
    • En 2008, l'emploi manufacturier dans le secteur des ressources était relativement plus important dans les régions rurales et petites villes (69 % de l'emploi manufacturier et 9 % de l'emploi total) que dans les grands centres urbains (50 % de l'emploi manufacturier et 6 % de l'emploi total).
    • Pendant la période de 2001 à 2008 à l'échelle du Canada, la proportion de l'emploi manufacturier dans le secteur des ressources par rapport à l'emploi manufacturier total a crû, passant de 51 % à 54 %, parce que l'emploi manufacturier dans le secteur des ressources a moins baissé (-6 %) que tout « autre » emploi manufacturier (-18 %).
    • De même, pendant la période de 2001 à 2008, l'emploi manufacturier dans le secteur des ressources est devenu relativement plus important dans les régions rurales et petites villes, car le recul (-3 %) était plus faible dans les régions rurales et petites villes que dans les grands centres urbains (-7 %).
    • Dans les régions rurales et petites villes, à l'échelle du Canada, 9 % de l'emploi total en 2008 était représenté par l'emploi manufacturier dans le secteur des ressources. Cette fourchette allait de 14 % dans les régions rurales et petites villes du Québec à 2 % dans les régions rurales et petites villes de la Saskatchewan.
    • Dans les régions rurales et petites villes, en 2008, l'emploi dans la transformation du bois représentait la proportion la plus importante de l'emploi manufacturier dans le secteur des ressources (43 %).
    Date de modification :