Quality of Employment in Canada

Release date: May 30, 2022

Introduction to the Statistical Framework on Quality of Employment

For many Canadians, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought on profound changes in the way work is conducted, including the growing use of personal electronic devices to work remotely and exposure to new mental health risk factors at work. These transformations have highlighted the need to expand analysis and dissemination of data on quality of employment: aspects of employment which relate to the well-being of individuals.

The analysis and variables of interest presented in Statistics Canada’s Quality of Employment in Canada publication are based on a statistical framework developed by the Expert Group on Measuring Quality of Employment, established by the Bureau of the Conference of European Statisticians. This expert group, of which Statistics Canada is a member, produced the Handbook on Measuring Quality of Employment: A Statistical Framework, published by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) in 2015.

According to this handbook (pages 5 to 6):

Quality of employment is an important issue for society, policy makers, governments and researchers. Employment is key to the social and economic advancement of workers and provides them with a sense of identity, but it may also be associated with risks for health and well-being. The dynamic development of labour markets can be accompanied by challenges concerning the quality of employment that call for statistical measurement.

The statistical framework presented in this handbook provides a clear and coherent structure for measuring quality of employment. Quality of employment is approached as a multidimensional concept, characterized by different elements, which relate to human needs in various ways. To cover all relevant aspects, the framework identified seven dimensions and twelve sub-dimensions of quality of employment:

For each dimension and sub-dimension, the framework presents a number of statistical indicators that may be produced. Data and short analytical texts relating to the indicators can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link under each dimension.

The statistical framework defines quality of employment from the point of view of the employed person. It refers to the entirety of aspects of employment that may affect the well-being of employed persons. This may differ from the point of view of the employer or the society as a whole. The authors of the handbook acknowledge that different aspects of quality of employment may be perceived differently by different individuals.

Statistics Canada’s Quality of Employment in Canada publication

Statistics Canada’s Quality of Employment in Canada publication is intended to provide Canadians with a better understanding of the quality of employment using an internationally supported statistical framework. It will be updated on a regular basis, adding other statistical indicators within the framework that have not yet been analyzed; data sources not currently available; as well as new years of data from existing sources, to help further the understanding of quality of employment in Canada. In addition, Statistics Canada is exploring a number of initiatives to inform Canadians on various aspects of quality of employment, including enhancements to the Labour Force Survey (LFS). Wherever possible, the indicators are consistent with the UNECE Expert Group on Measuring Quality of Employment definitions. For reasons of data availability some indicators may differ slightly. More information is available at the end of each indicator.

The Handbook on Measuring Quality of Employment: A Statistical Framework, can be found on the UNECE website.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Qualité de l'emploi au Canada

Date de diffusion : le 30 mai 2022

Introduction au Cadre statistique pour la mesure de la qualité de l’emploi

La pandémie de COVID-19 a entraîné de profonds changements dans la façon de travailler de nombreux Canadiens, y compris l’utilisation grandissante d’appareils électroniques personnels pour travailler à distance et l’exposition à de nouveaux facteurs de risque en matière de santé mentale au travail. Ces transformations ont mis en évidence la nécessité d’accroître l’analyse et la diffusion de données sur la qualité de l’emploi : les aspects de l’emploi qui sont liés au bien-être des personnes.

L’analyse et les variables d’intérêt présentées dans la publication Qualité de l’emploi au Canada de Statistique Canada sont fondées sur un cadre statistique élaboré par le Groupe d’experts sur la mesure de la qualité de l’emploi, qui a été mis sur pied par le Bureau de la Conférence des statisticiens européens. Ce groupe d’experts, dont Statistique Canada fait partie, a produit le document intitulé Handbook on Measuring Quality of Employment: A Statistical Framework (manuel pour la mesure de la qualité de l’emploi, un cadre statistique), qui a été publié en 2015 par la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Europe (CEE-ONU).

D’après ce manuel (pages 5 à 6):

La qualité de l’emploi est une question importante pour la société, les décideurs, les gouvernements et les chercheurs. Bien que l’emploi soit fondamental pour l’épanouissement social et économique des travailleurs et qu’il leur procure un sentiment d’identité, il peut également être associé à des risques pour la santé et le bien-être. L’évolution dynamique des marchés du travail peut s’accompagner de défis concernant la qualité de l’emploi qui nécessitent l’élaboration de mesures statistiques.

Le cadre statistique présenté dans ce manuel fournit une structure claire et cohérente pour mesurer la qualité de l’emploi. La qualité de l’emploi est traitée comme un concept multidimensionnel se caractérisant par différents éléments et se rapportant de diverses façons aux besoins humains. Pour englober tous les aspects pertinents, le cadre définit sept dimensions et douze sous-dimensions de la qualité de l’emploi :

Pour chaque dimension et sous-dimension, le cadre statistique présente un certain nombre d’indicateurs statistiques qui peuvent être calculés. Des données et des courts textes analytiques relatifs aux indicateurs sont disponibles en cliquant sur les liens sous chaque dimension.

Le cadre statistique définit la qualité de l’emploi du point de vue des personnes en emploi. Il couvre tous les aspects de l’emploi susceptibles d’influer sur leur bien-être. Ce point de vue peut différer de celui de l’employeur ou de la société dans son ensemble. Les auteurs du manuel reconnaissent que divers aspects de la qualité de l’emploi peuvent être perçus différemment d’une personne à l’autre.

Publication Qualité de l’emploi au Canada de Statistique Canada

La publication Qualité de l’emploi au Canada de Statistique Canada vise à aider les Canadiens et les organisations canadiennes à mieux comprendre la qualité de l’emploi au moyen d’un cadre statistique soutenu par la communauté internationale. La publication sera mise à jour régulièrement pour y ajouter; d’autres indicateurs statistiques de ce cadre qui n’ont pas encore été analysés, des sources de données n’étant pas accessibles à l’heure actuelle, de même que de nouvelles années de données pour les sources existantes, dans le but de mieux comprendre la qualité de l’emploi au Canada. De plus, Statistique Canada examine un certain nombre d’initiatives, incluant des perfectionnements à l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA), afin d’informer les Canadiens par rapport aux différents aspects de la qualité de l’emploi. Dans la mesure du possible, les indicateurs cadrent avec les définitions du Groupe d’experts sur la mesure de la qualité de l’emploi de la CEE-ONU. Cependant, pour des raisons de disponibilité des données, certains indicateurs pourraient être quelque peu différents. Des renseignements supplémentaires sont donnés à la fin de chaque indicateur.

Le Manuel pour la mesure de la qualité de l’emploi, un cadre statistique (Handbook on Measuring Quality of Employment: A Statistical Framework), est disponible sur le site Web de la CEE-ONU (en anglais seulement).

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :