Financial and Wealth Accounts

As the name suggests, the financial and wealth accounts record the financial flows and other economic flows that either increase a sector's wealth or decrease a sector's wealth, as well as the stock of assets and liabilities at a point in time. The financial and wealth accounts can be divided into the accumulation accounts and the balance sheet.

The accumulation accounts record transaction flows and other economic flows in non-financial assets, financial assets and liabilities. The accumulation accounts are divided into four accounts:

The balance sheet provides a stock dimension to the Canadian System of National Economic Accounts. The balance sheet account records the stock of assets and liabilities and resulting net worth for each sector of the economy.

The capital account records the acquisitions and disposals of produced and non-produced non-financial assets as a result of transactions with other units, internal bookkeeping transactions linked to production (such as changes in inventories and consumption of fixed capital) and the redistribution of wealth by means of capital transfers. For example, if a business purchases machinery or equipment, the acquisition of this fixed asset would be recorded in the capital account.

The financial account records acquisitions and disposals of financial assets and liabilities, also through transactions. For example, if a business borrowed money to purchase machinery and equipment the incurrence of the loan and subsequent cash payment for the machinery and equipment would be recorded in the financial account.

The revaluation account records changes in the values of relevant assets and liabilities that result from changes in their prices. For example, if as a result of buying machinery and equipment, the business became more productive and the price of its shares increased, the increase in the value of the shares would be recorded in the revaluation account. Any change in the reproducible cost of its machinery and equipment would also be recorded in this account.

The other changes in the volume of assets account records changes in the amounts of assets and liabilities held by institutional units or sectors as a result of factors other than transactions or revaluations. For example, if a natural disaster destroyed the machinery or equipment purchased by the business, the loss of the fixed asset would be recorded in the other changes in the volume of assets account.

Within the Canadian System of National Economic Accounts, the revaluation account and the other changes in the volume of assets account are combined into a single account called the “other changes in assets account”. This account does not distinguish between the change in the value of assets and liabilities due to price and other changes in volume. It combines these two other economic flows into a single flow called “other changes”. This is an instance where the Canadian System of National Economic Accounts deviates from the international recommendations as outlined in the "System of National Accounts 2008".

The balance sheet account records the stock of assets, liabilities and net worth for each institutional sector. For example, if a non-financial corporation purchased machinery or equipment that it intends to use repeatedly for more than a year to produce goods and services, it would be recorded on the non-financial corporation’s balance sheet as a non-financial asset—increasing the sector’s wealth.

Within the Canadian System of National Economic Accounts, the accumulation accounts and balance sheet account are compiled by institutional sector. The capital accounts are recorded for the six main institutional sectors, namely households, non-profit institutions serving households, general governments, financial corporations, non-financial corporations and non-residents. The general governments’ sector is disaggregated into the federal general government sector, provincial and territorial general governments sector, local general governments sector, the Aboriginal general governments sector and the social security funds (Canada and Quebec pension plans) sector.

The financial account, other changes in assets account and balance sheet account show significantly more institutional sector detail than the capital accounts -- specifically related to financial corporations. Financial corporations play an important role in facilitating the flow of funds across the economy and therefore they take on a prominent role in the financial and wealth accounts.

The financial account, other changes in assets account and balance sheet account are recorded for the six main institutional sectors. In addition, the financial corporations’ sector is disaggregated into the following subsectors:

Total monetary authorities
Total chartered banks and quasi-banks
—Chartered banks
—Quasi-banks
Insurance and pension funds
—Life insurance business
—Segregated funds of life insurance companies
—Trusteed pension funds
—Property and casualty insurance companies
Total other private financial institutions
—Mutual funds
—Money market funds
—Other mutual funds
—Sales finance and consumer loan companies
—Issuers of asset-backed securities
—Other private financial institutions
Financial government business enterprises

Within the Canadian System of National Economic Accounts, the financial and wealth accounts consist of the following group of accounts:

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Comptes financiers et du patrimoine

Ainsi que leur nom l’indique, les comptes financiers et du patrimoine présentent les flux financiers et d’autres flux économiques ayant comme effet d’accroître ou de réduire le patrimoine d’un secteur, de même que les stocks d’actifs et de passifs à un moment particulier. Ils peuvent être subdivisés entre les comptes d’accumulation et le compte du bilan national.

On retrouve dans les comptes d’accumulation les flux d’opérations et d’autres flux économiques liés à des actifs non financiers, des actifs financiers et des passifs. Ils sont subdivisés en quatre comptes :

Le compte du bilan national donne un aperçu des stocks dans le cadre du Système des comptes économiques nationaux du Canada. On y inscrit les stocks d’actifs et de passifs ainsi que la valeur nette correspondante pour chaque secteur de l’économie.

Le compte du capital sert à comptabiliser les acquisitions et les cessions d’actifs non financiers produits et non produits qui résultent d’opérations avec d’autres unités, d’opérations comptables internes liées à la production (comme la variation des stocks et la consommation de capital fixe) ou de la redistribution de richesse au moyen de transferts en capital. Par exemple, si une entreprise achète des machines ou du matériel, on enregistrera l’acquisition de ces actifs fixes dans le compte de capital.

Le compte financier enregistre les acquisitions et les cessions d’actifs et de passifs financiers résultant là encore d’opérations. À titre d’exemple, si une entreprise a contracté un emprunt pour acheter des machines et du matériel, cet emprunt et le paiement subséquent pour l’achat des machines et du matériel seront inscrits à ce compte.

Le compte de réévaluation présente les changements de la valeur des actifs et passifs par suite de modifications de leurs prix. Par exemple, si, en raison de l’achat de machines et de matériel, une entreprise devient plus productive et que le prix de ses actions augmente, cette augmentation sera inscrite au compte de réévaluation. On y notera aussi tout changement relatif au coût reproductible des machines et du matériel de l’entreprise.

Le compte des autres changements de volume d’actifs enregistre les changements des volumes d’actifs et de passifs détenus par les unités ou les secteurs institutionnels attribuables à des facteurs autres que des opérations ou des réévaluations. Par exemple, dans l’éventualité où une catastrophe naturelle entraîne la destruction de machines ou de matériel achetés par l’entreprise, la perte d’actifs fixes sera inscrite à ce compte.

Dans le Système des comptes économiques nationaux du Canada, le compte de réévaluation et le compte des autres changements de volume d’actifs sont combinés en un même compte, le « compte des autres changements d’actifs ». Dans ce compte, on ne fait pas de distinction entre les changements de la valeur des actifs ou des passifs attribuables aux prix et les autres changements de volume. On y combine ces deux flux économiques en un seul, les « autres changements ». Il s’agit d’un cas où le Système des comptes économiques nationaux du Canada s’écarte des recommandations internationales telles qu’énoncées dans le « Système de comptabilité nationale 2008 ».

Le compte du bilan national présente les stocks d’actifs et de passifs ainsi que la valeur nette de chaque secteur institutionnel. Si par exemple une société non financière achète des machines ou du matériel qu’elle prévoit utiliser de manière répétitive pendant plus d’un an pour la production de biens et de services, ces machines et ce matériel seront inclus dans le compte de patrimoine de la société à titre d’actifs non financiers, ce qui fera augmenter le patrimoine du secteur.

Dans le Système des comptes économiques nationaux du Canada, les comptes d’accumulation et le compte du bilan national sont compilés par secteur institutionnel. Les comptes du capital sont établis pour les six grands secteurs institutionnels, c’est-à-dire les ménages, les institutions sans but lucratif au service des ménages, les administrations publiques, les sociétés financières, les sociétés non financières et les non-résidents. Le secteur des administrations publiques est désagrégé entre administration publique fédérale, administrations publiques provinciales et territoriales, administrations publiques locales, administrations publiques autochtones et administrations de sécurité sociale (Régime de pensions du Canada et Régime de rentes du Québec).

Le compte financier, le compte des autres changements d’actifs et le compte du bilan national contiennent des renseignements beaucoup plus détaillés au niveau des secteurs institutionnels que les comptes du capital, plus précisément à l’égard des sociétés financières. Ces dernières remplissent en effet une fonction importante aux fins de faciliter les flux financiers à l’intérieur de l’économie, de sorte qu’elles jouent un rôle de premier plan dans les comptes financiers et du patrimoine.

Le compte financier, le compte des autres changements d’actifs et le compte du bilan national sont dressés pour les six principaux secteurs institutionnels. De plus, le secteur des sociétés financières est désagrégé en fonction des sous-secteurs suivants :

-Total, autorités monétaires
-Total, banques à charte et quasi-banques
---Banques à charte
---Quasi-banques
-Sociétés d’assurances et régimes de pension
---Affaires d’assurance-vie
---Fonds distincts des sociétés d’assurance-vie
---Caisses de retraite en fiducie
---Sociétés d’assurance-biens et risques divers
-Total, autres institutions financières privées
---Fonds communs de placement
---Fonds du marché monétaire
---Autres fonds communs de placement
---Sociétés de financement de vente à crédit et de prêts à la consommation
---Émetteurs de titres adossés à des actifs
---Autres institutions financières privées
-Entreprises publiques financières

À l’intérieur du Système des comptes économiques nationaux du Canada, les comptes financiers et du patrimoine contient les groupes de comptes suivants :

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :