Homelessness in Canada

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Infographic: Homelessness in Canada
Description: Homelessness in Canada

In Canada, almost 3% of people who make housing decisions for their household have experienced unsheltered homelessness,Note 1 while about 15% have experienced hidden homelessness.Note 2

Why do we say “people who make housing decisions for their household”? The study on which this infographic is based looks at individuals who have experienced homelessness in the past and are now responsible for housing decisions within their household. The results are therefore not necessarily representative of all Canadians aged 15 and older. However, information on unsheltered homelessness is very scarce, and the benefits of the data outweigh their limitations.


Table 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Table 1 Unsheltered and Hidden (appearing as column headers).
Unsheltered Hidden
Men 2.6% 14.2%
Women 2.3% 15.0%

Among Canadians responsible for housing decisions within their household, First Nations people living off reserve (12%), Métis (6%) and Inuit (10%) are more likely to have experienced unsheltered homelessness than the non-Indigenous population (2%). Homelessness is also more common among women who are sexual minorities (8%).

Among the population being studied, recent unsheltered homelessness is more common among women than among men: 38% of unsheltered homelessness episodes experienced by women were between 2010 and 2019.


Table 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Table 2 Men and Women (appearing as column headers).
Men Women
Before 1980 18% 11%
1980 to 1989 16% 10%
1990 to 1999 18% 12%
2000 to 2009 27% 30%
2010 to 2019 21% 38%

Socioeconomic and health outcomes are substantially worse for people who have experienced homelessness than those who have not. Women who have experienced homelessness reported worse socioeconomic and health outcomes than their male counterparts.

Sources: S. Uppal. 2022. “A portrait of Canadians who have been homeless.” Insights on Canadian Society. March. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 75-006-X; Statistics Canada, Canadian Housing Survey, 2018.

Date modified:

L’itinérance au Canada

Infographie : L’itinérance au Canada
Description : L’itinérance au Canada

Au Canada, près de 3 % des personnes qui prennent des décisions en matière de logement pour leur ménage ont vécu une situation d’itinérance sans abriNote 1, alors qu’environ 15 % a vécu une situation d’itinérance cachéeNote 2.

Pourquoi dit-on « les personnes qui prennent des décisions en matière de logement pour leur ménage »? L'étude sur laquelle cette infographie se fonde porte sur les personnes qui ont vécu une situation d'itinérance par le passé, et qui sont maintenant responsables des décisions relatives au logement au sein de leur ménage. Par conséquent, les résultats ne sont pas nécessairement représentatifs de l’ensemble de la population canadienne âgée de 15 ans et plus. Cependant, les renseignements sur l’itinérance sans abri sont très rares, et les avantages que procure l’accès à ces données compensent largement les limites qu’elles peuvent présenter.


Tableau 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau 1 Sans abri et Cachée(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Sans abri Cachée
Hommes 2,6 % 14,2 %
Femmes 2,3 % 15,0 %

Parmi les personnes responsables des décisions relatives au logement au sein de leur ménage, les membres des Premières Nations vivant à l’extérieur des réserves (12 %), les Métis (6 %) et les Inuits (10 %) sont plus susceptibles d’avoir vécu une situation d’itinérance sans abri que les non-Autochtones (2 %). L’itinérance est plus répandue chez les femmes de minorités sexuelles (8 %).

Parmi la population étudiée, l’itinérance sans abri récente était plus courante chez les femmes que chez les hommes : 38 % des épisodes d’itinérance sans abri vécues par les femmes ont eu lieu entre 2010 et 2019.


Tableau 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau 2 Hommes et Femmes(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Hommes Femmes
Avant 1980 18 % 11 %
1980 à 1989 16 % 10 %
1990 à 1999 18 % 12 %
2000 à 2009 27 % 30 %
2010 à 2019 21 % 38 %

Les résultats socioéconomiques et en matière de santé des personnes ayant vécu une situation d’itinérance sont beaucoup plus faibles que ceux des autres personnes. Les femmes ayant vécu une situation d’itinérance ont fait état de résultats socioéconomiques et en matière de santé moins bons que leurs homologues masculins.

Sources : S. Uppal, 2022, « Portrait des Canadiennes et Canadiens ayant vécu en situation d’itinérance », Regards sur la société canadienne, mars, produit no 75-006-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada; Statistique Canada, Enquête canadienne sur le logement de 2018.

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :