Analysis in Brief
Analysis on supply chains in Canada, second quarter of 2022

Release date: June 2, 2022

Skip to text

Text begins

Challenges that have arisen since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic have shone a spotlight on the strength and resilience of supply chains. Many provinces and territories are feeling the effects from prior tightening and closing of borders, restrictions on the movement of people and goods, and the closure of businesses, which all had the potential to disrupt supply chains. As a result, the status of supply chains and the impact they have on their respective economies is of great interest.

Widespread global supply constraints in combination with pent-up consumer demand resulted in inflationary pressures. In fact, in April, Canadian consumer prices rose 6.8% year over year,Note a slight increase from March (+6.7%), the largest increase since January 1991 (+6.9%).Note In addition, the Industrial Product Price Index rose 0.8% month over month in April 2022 and 16.4% year over year,Note following the largest monthly and year over year gain since 1974 in March.Note Also, prices of raw materials purchased by manufacturers operating in Canada, as measured by the Raw Materials Price Index, decreased 2.0% on a monthly basis in April 2022 and rose 38.4% year over year.Note

From the beginning of April to early May 2022, Statistics Canada conducted the Canadian Survey on Business Conditions to better understand the current environment that businesses in Canada are operating in and their expectations moving forward. Based on the results of the survey, businesses expect supply chain issues to continue into the short term, specifically when acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically and abroad, and maintaining inventory levels. Additionally, of those businesses that expected supply chain challenges, the vast majority expect the situation to stay the same or worsen over the next three months, and businesses plan to use various strategies to address supply chain issues. This article provides insights on the topic of supply chain challenges and the impacts of these issues on businesses in Canada.

Supply chain challenges anticipated to continue

Over one-quarter (28.2%) of businesses expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically over the next three months.Note This proportion has decreased from the previous quarter, when nearly one-third (32.1%) of businesses anticipated challenges in this regard. Over half of businesses in agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting (52.9%) and manufacturing (52.0%) expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically over the next three months. Of the businesses expecting difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically, nearly three-fifths (57.3%) expect these challenges to continue for six months or more, up from the previous quarter (52.4%). Meanwhile, nearly one-third (30.8%) of businesses are uncertain how long these challenges will persist. Businesses in wholesale trade (68.8%) and professional, scientific and technical services (67.5%) were the most likely to expect this difficulty to continue being an obstacle for six months or more (Table 1).

Almost one-fifth (18.2%) of businesses expect difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad over the next three months. This is relatively unchanged from 18.1% of businesses in the previous quarter. About two-fifths of businesses in manufacturing (41.8%) and wholesale trade (37.9%) expect to experience this challenge over the next three months. Of businesses expecting difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad, almost three-fifths (58.2%) expect these challenges to continue for six months or more, down slightly from the previous quarter (62.5%). At the same time, almost one-third (31.2%) of businesses are uncertain how long these challenges will persist. Businesses in real estate and rental and leasing (70.9%) and arts, entertainment and recreation (70.0%) were the most likely to expect this difficulty to continue being an obstacle for six months or more (Table 1).

Nearly one-fifth (17.4%) of businesses expect maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle over the next three months. This number has decreased slightly from the previous quarter, when one-fifth (20.8%) of businesses expected maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle. Almost two-fifths (39.1%) of businesses in retail trade and nearly one-third of businesses in manufacturing (30.7%) and wholesale trade (30.2%) expect maintaining inventory levels to be a challenge over the next three months. Among businesses that expected maintaining inventory levels to be a challenge, over half (55.9%) expect these difficulties to continue for six months or more, up from the previous quarter (50.0%). However, nearly one-quarter (24.6%) of businesses are uncertain how long these challenges will persist. Businesses in agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting (63.7%); wholesale trade (63.6%); and manufacturing (63.5%) were the most likely to expect this obstacle to continue for six months or more (Table 1).


Table 1
Business expectations of how long supply chain obstacles will last, by selected industries, second quarter of 2022
Table summary
This table displays the results of Business expectations of how long supply chain obstacles will last Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from within Canada for six months or more, Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad for six months or more and Business expects maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle for six months or more (appearing as column headers).
Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from within Canada for six months or more Business expects difficulty acquiring inputs, products or supplies from abroad for six months or more Business expects maintaining inventory levels to be an obstacle for six months or more
All industries 57.3 58.2 55.9
Wholesale trade 68.8 66.2 63.6
Professional, scientific and technical services 67.5 62.8 50.7
Real estate and rental and leasing 63.6 70.9 54.8
Arts, entertainment and recreation 62.3 70.0 60.8
Retail trade 61.3 59.0 63.0
Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting 61.1 63.1 63.7
Construction 59.0 60.6 43.5
Information and cultural industries 59.0 46.8 28.8
Manufacturing 56.6 57.4 63.5
Mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extraction 56.5 47.4 46.6
Accommodation and food services 54.1 57.7 51.3
Other services (except public administration) 49.0 48.5 58.9
Health care and social assistance 45.8 45.2 42.9
Transportation and warehousing 40.3 44.7 37.2

Challenges worsening for businesses experiencing supply chain issues

Of businesses that expected supply chain challenges (difficulty maintaining inventory levels, or acquiring inputs, products or supplies domestically or abroad) over the next three months, over two-thirds (67.9%) reported that challenges experienced by the business have worsened over the last three months. This figure has decreased from the previous quarter (71.9%). Leading factors that contributed to worsened supply chain challenges were increased delays in deliveries (84.1%); increased prices (78.5%) of inputs, products or supplies; and supply shortages that resulted in fewer inputs, products or supplies being available (75.7%), similar to the previous quarter (84.7%, 76.3%, and 75.8% respectively). Over one-quarter (27.6%) of businesses that expected supply chain challenges reported that these challenges have remained about the same over the last three months, and 4.5% said that supply chain challenges have improved.

Chart 1 ZZZ

Data table for Chart 1 
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1 Supply chain challenges have worsened, Supply chain challenges have remained about the same and Supply chain challenges have improved, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Supply chain challenges have worsened Supply chain challenges have remained about the same Supply chain challenges have improved
percent
Businesses that expect supply chain challenges 67.9 27.6 4.5

Among businesses that expect supply chain challenges over the next three months, businesses in professional, scientific and technical services (85.6%); accommodation and food services (72.5%); and manufacturing (70.7%) were the most likely industries to report that supply chain challenges have worsened. In contrast, two-fifths (40.6%) of businesses in arts, entertainment and recreation reported that supply chain challenges have remained about the same.

Similar to the previous quarter, the vast majority of businesses expect supply chain challenges to either worsen or remain about the same over the next three months. Specifically, over one-third (35.9%) of businesses expect supply chain challenges to worsen, while over half (56.0%) expect the situation to remain about the same. Businesses in agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting (48.7%) and accommodation and food services (48.6%) were the most likely industries to expect supply chain challenges to worsen over the next three months. At the same time, 8.1% of businesses expect supply chain challenges to improve over the next three months.

Planned adjustments to supply chains

Businesses expect supply chain challenges over the next three months and have planned various adjustments to address them over the next 12 months. Nearly one-third of these businesses plan to work with suppliers to improve timeliness (31.2%) and partner with new suppliers (30.5%), and over one-quarter (26.4%) plan to substitute inputs, products or supplies with alternate inputs, products or supplies. Meanwhile, 14.8% businesses plan to shift to local suppliers, with businesses in arts, entertainment and recreation (32.4%) being most likely to do so. Nearly one-fifth (19.7%) of businesses were uncertain of plans to adjust their supply chain, and more than one-fifth (22.1%) had no plans to adjust their supply chain over the next 12 months.

Chart 2 ZZZ

Data table for Chart 2 
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2. The information is grouped by Adjustments planned for supply chain (appearing as row headers), Percent (appearing as column headers).
Adjustments planned for supply chain Percent
Work with suppliers to improve timeliness 31.2
Partner with new suppliers 30.5
Substitute inputs, products or supplies with alternate inputs, products or supplies 26.4
Shift to local suppliers 14.8
Implement technological improvements 12.9
Invest in research and development projects to identify alternate inputs, products, supplies, or production processes 8.0
Relocate supply chain activities to Canada 5.9
Relocate supply chain activities outside of Canada 5.4
Other 0.7
Unknown 19.7
No adjustments planned 22.1

Vast majority of inputs, products or supplies sourced domestically

Of businesses that expect supply chain challenges over the next three months, most (82.6%) sourced inputs, products or supplies within Canada in the last 12 months. In particular, over half (55.2%) of these businesses sourced inputs, products or supplies from Ontario, almost one-third (30.3%) sourced from Quebec, one-quarter (25.8%) sourced from British Columbia, and one-fifth (20.6%) sourced from Alberta.

Chart 3 ZZZ

Data table for Chart 3 
Data table for Chart 3
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 3. The information is grouped by Regions within Canada businesses sourced inputs, products or supplies from (appearing as row headers), Percent (appearing as column headers).
Regions within Canada businesses sourced inputs, products or supplies from Percent
Canada 82.6
Ontario 55.2
Quebec 30.3
British Columbia 25.8
Alberta 20.6
Saskatchewan 6.8
Manitoba 5.7
Nova Scotia 5.5
New Brunswick 4.9
Newfoundland and Labrador 1.7
Prince Edward Island 1.6
Territories 1.3
Unknown region 9.4
Not sourced within Canada 17.4

Businesses in mining, quarrying, and oil and gas extraction (91.8%); construction (90.4%); and agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting (89.9%) were the most likely to source their inputs, products or supplies within Canada in the last 12 months. Businesses in administrative and support, waste management and remediation services (34.3 %); transportation and warehousing (31.0 %); and real estate and rental and leasing (30.3%) were the least likely to have sourced any inputs, products or supplies within Canada in the last 12 months.

Methodology

From April 1 to May 6, 2022, representatives from businesses across Canada were invited to take part in an online questionnaire about business conditions and business expectations moving forward. The Canadian Survey on Business Conditions uses a stratified random sample of business establishments with employees classified by geography, industry sector, and size. An estimation of proportions is done using calibrated weights to calculate the population totals in the domains of interest. The total sample size for this iteration of the survey is 35,775 and results are based on responses from a total of 16,678 businesses or organizations.

References

Statistics Canada. 2022. Canadian Survey on Business Conditions, second quarter of 2022.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Analyse en bref
Analyse des chaînes d’approvisionnement au Canada, deuxième trimestre de 2022

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de diffusion : le 2 juin 2022

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Les défis surgis depuis le début de la pandémie de COVID-19 ont mis en lumière les forces et la résilience des chaînes d’approvisionnement. De nombreuses provinces et de nombreux territoires ressentent les effets des fermetures des frontières et des resserrements des contrôles frontaliers antérieurs, des restrictions concernant le déplacement des personnes et des biens, et des fermetures des entreprises. Chacune de ces choses a le potentiel de perturber les chaînes d’approvisionnement. Par conséquent, l’état des chaînes d’approvisionnement et l’incidence qu’ont celles-ci sur leurs économies respectives sont d’un grand intérêt.

Les contraintes d’approvisionnement généralisées à l’échelle mondiale, combinées à une demande refoulée des consommateurs lors de la relance de l’économie, ont entraîné des pressions inflationnistes. En fait, en avril, les prix à la consommation ont augmenté de 6,8 % d’une année à l’autreNote , ce qui représente une légère augmentation par rapport à mars (+6,7 %) et la plus forte hausse depuis janvier 1991 (+6,9 %)Note . En outre, l’Indice des prix des produits industriels a augmenté de 0,8 % d’un mois à l’autre en avril 2022 et de 16,4 % d’une année à l’autreNote , après avoir enregistré les plus grandes hausses mensuelles et d’une année à l’autre depuis 1974 en marsNote . De plus, les prix des matières brutes achetées par les fabricants exerçant leurs activités au Canada, tel que mesuré par l’Indice des prix des matières brutes, ont diminué de 2,0 % sur une base mensuelle en avril 2022 et ont augmenté de 38,4 % d’une année à l’autreNote .

Du début d’avril jusqu’au début de mai 2022, Statistique Canada a mené l’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises afin de mieux comprendre l’environnement actuel dans lequel évoluent les entreprises au Canada et leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. Selon les résultats de l’enquête, les entreprises s’attendent à ce que les problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se poursuivent à court terme, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’acquisition d’intrants, de produits ou de fournitures, au pays et à l’étranger, ainsi que le maintien des niveaux de stocks. De plus, parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement, la grande majorité d’entre elles s’attendent à ce que la situation demeure la même ou s’aggrave au cours des trois prochains mois, et les entreprises ont utilisé — ou prévoient utiliser — diverses stratégies pour régler les problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Le présent article donne un aperçu des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement et des répercussions de ces enjeux sur les entreprises au Canada.

On s’attend à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement persistent

Plus du quart (28,2 %) des entreprises s’attendent à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures à l’échelle nationale au cours des trois prochains moisNote . Cette proportion a diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent, lors duquel près du tiers (32,1 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à être confrontées à cette difficulté. Plus de la moitié des entreprises dans les secteurs de l’agriculture, de la foresterie, de la pêche et de la chasse (52,9 %) ainsi que de la fabrication (52,0 %) s’attendent à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au pays. Près des trois cinquièmes (57,3 %) s’attendent à ce que ces difficultés persistent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une hausse par rapport à la proportion du trimestre précédent (52,4 %). Parallèlement, près du tiers (30,8 %) des entreprises ne savaient pas pendant combien de temps ces défis persisteraient. Les entreprises dans le secteur du commerce de gros (68,8 %) et dans le secteur des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (67,5 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que cette difficulté demeure un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus (tableau 1).

Près du cinquième (18,2 %) des entreprises s’attendent à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en provenance de l’étranger au cours des trois prochains mois. Cette proportion est presque identique à celle de 18,1 % des entreprises lors du trimestre précédent. Environ les deux cinquièmes des entreprises des secteurs de la fabrication (41,8 %) et du commerce de détail (37,9 %) s’attendent à être confrontés à ce défi au cours des trois prochains mois. Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à avoir de la difficulté à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en provenance de l’étranger, presque trois cinquièmes (58,2 %) s’attendaient à ce que ces problèmes persistent pendant six mois ou plus, ce qui représente une légère diminution par rapport au trimestre précédent (62,5 %). Parallèlement, près du tiers (31,2 %) des entreprises ne savent pas combien de temps ces défis persisteront. Les entreprises des secteurs des services immobiliers et services de location et de location à bail (70,9 %) ainsi que des arts, des spectacles et des loisirs (70,0 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que cette difficulté demeure un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus (tableau 1).

Près du cinquième (17,4 %) des entreprises s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois. Ce nombre a légèrement diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent, lorsque près du cinquième (20,8 %) des entreprises s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle. Près des deux cinquièmes (39,1 %) des entreprises dans le secteur du commerce de détail et près du tiers du tiers des entreprises dans les secteurs de la fabrication (30,7 %) et du commerce de gros (30,2 %) s’attendaient à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois. Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à être confrontées à ce problème, plus de la moitié (55,9 %) s’attendaient à ce que ces difficultés persistent pendant six mois ou plus, soit une hausse par rapport au trimestre précédent (50,0 %). Cependant, près du quart (24,6 %) des entreprises ne savaient pas pendant combien de temps ces défis persisteraient. Les entreprises dans les secteurs de la foresterie, de la pêche et de la chasse (63,7 %); du commerce de gros (63,6 %); et de la fabrication (63,5 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de s’attendre à ce que cet obstacle persiste pendant six mois ou plus (tableau 1).


Tableau 1
Attentes des entreprises quant à la durée des obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement, selon certaines industries, deuxième trimestre de 2022
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Attentes des entreprises quant à la durée des obstacles liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada, pendant six mois ou plus, Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant de l’étranger, pendant six mois ou plus et Entreprises qui s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant du Canada, pendant six mois ou plus Entreprises qui s’attendent à des difficultés à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures provenant de l’étranger, pendant six mois ou plus Entreprises qui s’attendent à ce que le maintien des niveaux de stocks soit un obstacle pendant six mois ou plus
Ensembles des industries 57,3 58,2 55,9
Commerce de gros 68,8 66,2 63,6
Services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques 67,5 62,8 50,7
Services immobiliers et services de location et de location à bail 63,6 70,9 54,8
Arts, spectacles et loisirs 62,3 70,0 60,8
Commerce de détail 61,3 59,0 63,0
Agriculture, foresterie, pêche et chasse 61,1 63,1 63,7
Construction 59,0 60,6 43,5
Industrie de l’information et industrie culturelle 59,0 46,8 28,8
Fabrication 56,6 57,4 63,5
Extraction minière, exploitation en carrière, et extraction de pétrole et de gaz 56,5 47,4 46,6
Services d’hébergement et de restauration 54,1 57,7 51,3
Autres services (sauf les administrations publiques) 49,0 48,5 58,9
Soins de santé et assistance sociale 45,8 45,2 42,9
Transport et entreposage 40,3 44,7 37,2

Les défis s’aggravent pour les entreprises confrontées à des problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendaient à des problèmes liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement (difficulté à maintenir les niveaux de stocks, ou à acquérir des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures à l’échelle nationale ou à l’étranger) au cours des trois prochains mois, plus des deux tiers (67,9 %) ont déclaré que les défis auxquels l’entreprise est confrontée se sont empirés au cours des trois derniers mois. Ce chiffre a diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent (71,9 %). Les principaux facteurs qui ont contribué à la détérioration des difficultés liées à la chaîne d’approvisionnement étaient l’augmentation des retards (84,1 %); la hausse des prix des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures (78,5 %); les pénuries d’approvisionnement entraînant une baisse du nombre d’intrants, de produits ou de fournitures disponibles (75,7 %), soit des proportions semblables au trimestre précédent (84,7 %, 76,3 % et 75,8 %, respectivement). Plus du quart (27,6 %) des entreprises qui s’attendaient à être confrontées à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement ont déclaré que ces défis n’ont pas vraiment changé au cours des trois derniers mois, et 4,5 % ont dit que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont améliorés.

Graphique 1 Changement dans les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement  rencontrés au cours des trois derniers mois, deuxième trimestre de 2022

Tableau de données du graphique 1 
Tableau de donnée du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de donnée du graphique 1 Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés, Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement sont restés à peu près les mêmes et Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont améliorés, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont aggravés Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement sont restés à peu près les mêmes Les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement se sont améliorés
pourcentage
Entreprises qui s’attendent à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement 67,9 27,6 4,5

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendent à être confrontées à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, les entreprises dans les secteurs des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (85,6 %); des services d’hébergement et de restauration (72,5 %); et de la fabrication (70,7 %) étaient les industries les plus susceptibles de déclarer que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement avaient empiré. Par contraste, deux cinquièmes (40,6 %) des entreprises dans le secteur des arts, des spectacles et des loisirs déclaraient que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement étaient restés à peu près pareils.

Comme lors du trimestre précédent, la grande majorité des entreprises s’attendent à ce que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’aggravent ou restent à peu près pareils. Plus précisément, plus d’un tiers (35,9 %) des entreprises s’attendent à ce que les difficultés liées à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’aggravent, tandis que plus de la moitié (56,0 %) prévoient que la situation restera à peu près inchangée. Les entreprises dans les secteurs de l’agriculture, de la foresterie, de la pêche et de la chasse (48,7 %) ainsi que des services d’hébergement et de restauration (48,6 %) étaient les industries les plus susceptibles à s’attendre que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement empirent au cours des trois prochains mois. Parallèlement, 8,1 % des entreprises s’attendaient que les défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’améliorent au cours des trois prochains mois.

Ajustements prévus aux chaînes d’approvisionnement

Les entreprises s’attendent à être confrontées à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois et ont prévu divers ajustements pour y remédier au cours des 12 prochains mois. Près du tiers de ces entreprises prévoient travailler avec des fournisseurs pour améliorer la rapidité (31,2 %) et établir des partenariats avec de nouveaux fournisseurs (30,5 %), et plus du quart (26,4 %) prévoient substituer les intrants, produits ou fournitures par d’autres intrants, produits ou fournitures. Parallèlement, 14,8 % des entreprises prévoient se tourner vers des fournisseurs locaux et les entreprises du secteur des arts, des spectacles et des loisirs (32,4 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de le faire. Près du cinquième (19,7 %) des entreprises étaient incertaines des plans qu’elles mettraient en place pour ajuster leur chaîne d’approvisionnement, et plus du cinquième (22,1 %) n’avaient pas l’intention d’ajuster leur chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des 12 prochains mois.

Graphique 2 Ajustements prévus à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des 12 prochains mois, deuxième trimestre de 2022

Tableau de données du graphique 2 
Tableau de donnée du graphique 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de donnée du graphique 2. Les données sont présentées selon Ajustements prévus pour la chaîne d'approvisionnement (titres de rangée) et Pourcentage(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Ajustements prévus pour la chaîne d'approvisionnement Pourcentage
Collaborer avec les fournisseurs pour accroître la rapidité 31,2
S’associer à de nouveaux fournisseurs 30,5
Substituer les intrants, produits ou fournitures par d’autres intrants, produits ou fournitures 26,4
Changer pour des fournisseurs locaux 14,8
Mettre en œuvre des améliorations technologiques 12,9
Investir dans des projets de recherche-développement afin de déterminer d’autres intrants, produits, fournitures ou processus de production 8,0
Déplacer les activités de la chaîne d’approvisionnement au Canada 5,9
Déplacer les activités de la chaîne d’approvisionnement à l’extérieur du Canada 5,4
Autres 0,7
Inconnus 19,7
Aucuns ajustements prévus 22,1

La grande majorité des intrants, des produits et des fournitures proviennent de sources intérieures

Parmi les entreprises qui s’attendent à être confrontées à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement au cours des trois prochains mois, la plupart (82,6 %) ont obtenu des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au Canada au cours des 12 derniers mois. Notamment, plus de la moitié (55,2 %) de ces entreprises ont obtenu des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures en Ontario, près du tiers (30,3 %) ont obtenu ce dont elles avaient besoin au Québec, un quart (25,8 %) en Colombie-Britannique, et un cinquième (20,6 %) ont obtenu ce dont elles avaient besoin en Alberta.

Graphique 3 Régions au Canada d’où les entreprises ont pu  obtenir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures au cours des 12 derniers  mois, deuxième trimestre de 2022

Tableau de données du graphique 3 
Tableau de donnée du graphique 3
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de donnée du graphique 3. Les données sont présentées selon Régions au Canada d’où les entreprises ont pu obtenir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures (titres de rangée) et Pourcentage(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Régions au Canada d’où les entreprises ont pu obtenir leurs intrants, produits ou fournitures Pourcentage
Canada 82,6
Ontario 55,2
Québec 30,3
Colombie-Britannique 25,8
Alberta 20,6
Saskatchewan 6,8
Manitoba 5,7
Nouvelle-Écosse 5,5
Nouveau-Brunswick 4,9
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 1,7
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 1,6
Territoires 1,3
Région inconnue 9,4
Produits ne provenant pas du Canada 17,4

Les entreprises dans les secteurs de l’extraction minière, l’exploitation en carrière, et l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz (91,8 %); de la construction (90,4 %); ainsi que de l’agriculture, de la foresterie, de la pêche et de la chasse (89,9 %) étaient les plus susceptibles d’obtenir leurs intrants, produits ou fourniture au Canada au cours des 12 derniers mois. Les entreprises dans les secteurs des services administratifs, de soutien, de gestion des déchets et d’assainissement (34,3 %); du transport et de l’entreposage (31,0 %); ainsi que des services immobiliers, de location et de location à bail (30,3 %) étaient les moins susceptibles d’avoir obtenu des intrants, des produits ou des fournitures au Canada au cours des 12 derniers mois.

Méthodologie

Du 1er avril au 6 mai 2022, des représentants d’entreprises de partout au Canada ont été invités à répondre à un questionnaire en ligne portant sur la situation des entreprises et sur leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. L’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises repose sur un échantillon aléatoire stratifié d’établissements commerciaux dans lequel les employés sont classés par région géographique, secteur d’industrie et taille. L’estimation des proportions se fait à l’aide de poids calibrés afin de calculer les totaux de population dans les domaines d’intérêt. La taille totale de l’échantillon pour ce cycle de l’enquête est de 35 775 et les résultats sont fondés sur les réponses d’un total de 16 678 entreprises et organismes.

Références

Statistique Canada. 2022. Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises, deuxième trimestre de 2022.

Date de modification :