Analysis in Brief
Analysis on businesses majority-owned by various sub-population groups and visible minorities, first quarter of 2022

Release date: March 10, 2022

Skip to text

Text begins

A variety of different factors impact the ability of Canadian businesses to operate.  Businesses in one part of the country may face different challenges than those in another part of the country.  Businesses that operate in one industry may face different obstacles than those in another.  Barriers faced by smaller businesses may be quite different than those faced by larger businesses.  These types of differences are also found when looking at business owners, as different segments of the population face different challenges as owners of businesses.

From the beginning of January to early February 2022, Statistics Canada conducted the Canadian Survey on Business Conditions to collect information on the environment businesses are currently operating in and their expectations moving forward. This article explores results from the survey by looking at the businesses majority-ownedNote  by women, First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons, immigrants to Canada and visible minorities. In the first quarter of 2022, differences were noted in various areas, such as long term optimism, sales, profitability, and operating income in addition to obstacles such as rising input costs, attracting new or returning customers, and insufficient demand for goods or services offered.

Across these four sub-population groups, there was a general decline in optimism compared with the last quarter and compared with all private sector businesses. Businesses majority-owned by women saw the most decline in optimistic future outlook from last quarter. Despite declining optimism compared to last quarter and to all private sector businesses, enterprises majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons performed better in several key indicators than all private sector businesses including sales, providing employment opportunities, and attracting new or returning customers. Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada and visible minorities expected decreases in profitability over the next three months.

Businesses majority-owned by women are significantly less optimistic about future outlook

Businesses majority-owned by women accounted for 18.2% of all private sector businesses in Canada in the first quarter of 2022. Businesses majority-owned by women were more prevalent in service industries, such as retail trade, accommodation and food services, and tourism.Note 

Less than two-thirds (64.8%) of businesses majority-owned by women reported having an optimistic future outlook over the next 12 months, a significant decrease from the fourth quarter of 2021 (75.3%). These businesses were less likely than all private sector businesses (69.5%) to be optimistic over the next 12 months.

Businesses majority-owned by women were slightly less likely to be able to take on more debt than all private sector businesses (49.1% vs. 54.3%). Similarly, over seven-tenths (72.3%) of businesses majority-owned by women said they have the cash or liquid assets required to operate over the next three months, compared to over three-quarters (75.8%) of all private sector businesses.

Of businesses experiencing supply chain challenges, half (49.8%) of those majority-owned by women expected supply chain challenges to worsen over the next three months, compared to over two-fifths (43.4%) of all private sector businesses. Meanwhile, under half (45.4%) of businesses majority-owned by women expected rising cost of inputs to be an obstacle over the next three months, compared to over half (51.7%) of all private sector businesses.

Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons expect sales and number of employees to increase over the next three months

According to the 2016 census, First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons represented 4.9% of the Canadian population.Note  In the first quarter of 2022, 2.3% of all private sector businesses in Canada were majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons.

Over two-thirds (67.4%) of businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons indicated having a positive future outlook over the next 12 months, a decrease from last quarter (72.0%), and slightly lower compared to all private sector businesses (69.5%).

Despite this, nearly one-quarter (24.7%) of businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons expected their sales to increase over the next three months, compared to one-fifth (20.7%) of all private sector businesses. Also, nearly one-fifth (19.1%) of businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit expected an increase in their number of employees over the next three months, compared to 14.2% of all private sector businesses.

Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons were less likely to expect obstacles related to recruiting skilled employees, retaining skilled employees, and attracting new or returning customers (34.3%, 26.5% and 16.6% respectively) than all private sector businesses (38.6%, 30.3% and 23.0% respectively).

Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada expect decreases in profitability and operating income over the next three months

In 2016, immigrants to Canada constituted over one-fifth (21.9%) of the Canadian populationNote  and in the first quarter of 2022, were the owners of 22.2% of all private sector businesses in Canada. This section presents results on businesses majority-owned by individuals who were born outside of Canada.

Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada were less likely (62.0%) to indicate having an optimistic future outlook over the next 12 months than all private sector businesses (69.5%). These levels of optimism have decreased somewhat from the fourth quarter of 2021, where two-thirds (66.5%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada indicated having a positive future outlook.

Over two-fifths (44.8%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada expected a decrease in profitability over the next three months, compared to less than two-fifths (36.0%) of all private sector businesses that said the same. Nearly three-tenths (29.2%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada expected a decrease in operating income in the next three months, compared to less than one-quarter (23.1%) of all private sector businesses.

These businesses were more likely to expect to face certain obstacles than all private sector businesses. Over one-fifth (21.3%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada expected insufficient demand for goods or services offered to be an obstacle over the next three months, compared to 16.5% of all private sector businesses. Also, close to three-tenths (28.4%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada expected increasing competition to be an obstacle over the next three months, compared to over one-fifth (20.9%) of all private sector businesses.

Less than two-fifths (37.2%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada reported that revenues were higher or the same in 2021 compared to 2019, whereas nearly half (48.2%) of all private sector businesses that said the same. Over the next three months, two-thirds (66.5%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada said they have the cash or liquid assets required to operate, compared to over three-quarters (75.8%) of all private sector businesses that said the same.

Additionally, under half (45.6%) of businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada can take on more debt, compared to over half (54.3%) of all private sector businesses that said the same.

Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities expected decreases in sales, demand, and profitability

According to the 2016 census, visible minorities represented nearly one-quarter (22.3%) of the Canadian population.Note  In the first quarter of 2022, 15.7% of all private sector businesses in Canada were majority-owned by visible minorities. Visible minorities are defined as individuals, other than Indigenous persons, who self-identified as non-Caucasian in race or non-white in colour, regardless of place of birth.

Three-fifths (60.9%) of businesses majority-owned by visible minorities indicated having an optimistic future outlook over the next 12 months, compared to over two-thirds (69.5%) of all private sector businesses. These feelings of optimism for businesses majority-owned by visible minorities have decreased somewhat from the fourth quarter of 2021 (64.0%).

Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities were more likely to expect a decrease in sales, demand for goods and services offered, profitability, and prices of goods and services offered (21.9%, 18.8%, 44.5% and 6.4% respectively) than all private sector businesses (17.9%, 14.1%, 36.0% and 5.3% respectively).

Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities faced obstacles such as insufficient demand for goods or services offered (18.4%), attracting new or returning customers (33.0%), and maintaining sufficient cash flow or managing debt (29.2%). These numbers remain relatively unchanged from the fourth quarter of 2021 (20.8%, 31.4%, and 28.3 % respectively).

Over one-third (36.7%) of businesses majority-owned by visible minorities said that compared to 2019, revenues were higher or the same in 2021. In contrast, close to half (48.2%) of all private sector businesses said the same. Meanwhile, two-thirds (66.4%) of businesses majority-owned by visible minorities said they have the cash or liquid assets required to operate over the next three months, compared to three-quarters (75.8%) of all private sector businesses that said the same.

Appendix


Table 1
Future outlook over the next 12 months, fourth quarter of 2021 and first quarter of 2022
Table summary
This table displays the results of Future outlook over the next 12 months Q4 2021, Q1 2022, Total optimistic, Total pessimistic and Unknown (appearing as column headers).
Q4 2021 Q1 2022
Total optimistic Total pessimistic Unknown Total optimistic Total pessimistic Unknown
% of businesses
All private sector businesses 71.8 14.5 13.7 69.5 16.9 13.5
Businesses majority-owned by women 75.3 13.2 11.6 64.8 17.5 17.8
Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons 72.0 6.9 21.1 67.4 20.2 12.4
Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada 66.5 15.7 17.8 62.0 20.1 17.8
Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities 64.0 16.7 19.3 60.9 21.3 17.8

Data table for Chart 1 
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1 Increase, Stay about the same and Decrease , calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Increase Stay about the same Decrease
percent
All private sector businesses 20.7 61.4 17.9
Businesses majority-owned by women 18.5 63.1 18.4
Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons 24.7 58.3 17.0
Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada 19.6 58.2 22.3
Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities 20.4 57.7 21.9

Data table for Chart 2 
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2 Increase, Stay about the same and Decrease , calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Increase Stay about the same Decrease
percent
All private sector businesses 13.6 50.4 36.0
Businesses majority-owned by women 12.5 51.9 35.6
Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons 13.7 48.1 38.1
Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada 12.7 42.5 44.8
Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities 12.0 43.5 44.5

Data table for Chart 3 
Data table for Chart 3
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 3 Increase, Stay about the same and Decrease , calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Increase Stay about the same Decrease
percent
All private sector businesses 25.7 60.2 14.1
Businesses majority-owned by women 24.7 61.4 13.9
Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons 25.2 57.9 16.9
Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada 23.2 55.8 21.0
Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities 23.0 58.2 18.8

Table 2
Selected obstacles for majority-owned businesses by various sub-population groups and visible minorities over the next three months, first quarter of 2022
Table summary
This table displays the results of Selected obstacles for majority-owned businesses by various sub-population groups and visible minorities over the next three months Rising cost of inputs, Recruiting skilled employees, Retaining skilled employees, Insufficient demand for goods or services offered, Increasing competition, Attracting new or returning customers and Maintaining sufficient cash flow or managing debt (appearing as column headers).
Rising cost of inputs Recruiting skilled employees Retaining skilled employees Insufficient demand for goods or services offered Increasing competition Attracting new or returning customers Maintaining sufficient cash flow or managing debt
% of businesses
All private sector businesses 51.7 38.6 30.3 16.5 20.9 23 22.9
Businesses majority-owned by women 45.4 33.4 30.3 18.6 19.8 29 25.3
Businesses majority-owned by First Nations, Métis or Inuit persons 54.8 34.3 26.5 23.6 25.8 16.6 37.3
Businesses majority-owned by immigrants to Canada 51.4 33.8 31.4 21.3 28.4 28.6 29.2
Businesses majority-owned by visible minorities 51.2 32.7 29.7 18.4 28.7 33 29.2

Methodology

From January 4 to February 7, 2022, representatives from businesses across Canada were invited to take part in an online questionnaire about business conditions and business expectations moving forward. The Canadian Survey on Business Conditions uses a stratified random sample of business establishments with employees classified by geography, industry sector, and size. An estimation of proportions is done using calibrated weights to calculate the population totals in the domains of interest. The total sample size for this iteration of the survey is 35,026 and results are based on responses from a total of 17,695 businesses.

References

Statistics Canada. (2022). Canadian Survey on Business Conditions, first quarter of 2022.

Statistics Canada. (2021). Canadian Survey on Business Conditions, fourth quarter of 2021.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Analyse en bref
Analyse des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à divers groupes de sous-populations et de minorités visibles, premier trimestre de 2022

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de diffusion : le 10 mars 2022

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Une panoplie de facteurs divers affecte la capacité des entreprises canadiennes à mener leurs activités. Les entreprises d’une région du pays peuvent être confrontées à des défis différents de ceux rencontrés dans une autre région du pays. Les entreprises qui exercent leurs activités dans une industrie donnée peuvent se heurter à des obstacles différents de ceux rencontrés dans une autre industrie. Les obstacles auxquels doivent faire face les petites entreprises peuvent être très différents de ceux que doivent surmonter les grandes entreprises. On trouve également ces types de différences en ce qui concerne les propriétaires d’entreprise, puisque divers segments de la population sont confrontés à des défis différents en tant que propriétaires d’entreprise.

Entre le début de janvier et le début de février 2022, Statistique Canada a mené l’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises afin de recueillir des renseignements sur l’environnement dans lequel les entreprises évoluent actuellement et sur leurs attentes concernant leur avenir. Le présent article porte sur les résultats de l’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises, et plus particulièrement les entreprises appartenant majoritairementNote  à des femmes, à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits, à des immigrants et à des personnes des minorités visibles. Au premier trimestre de 2022, des différences ont été relevées sur plusieurs plans, comme l’optimisme à long terme, les ventes, la rentabilité et le revenu d’exploitation, en plus d’obstacles tels que l’augmentation du coût des intrants, la capacité à attirer de nouveaux clients ou à maintenir la clientèle actuelle, et la demande insuffisante pour les biens ou les services offerts.

Dans ces quatre sous-groupes de population, l’optimisme a généralement diminué par rapport au trimestre précédent et par rapport à l’ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé. Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes ont connu la baisse la plus marquée quant aux perspectives optimistes comparativement au trimestre précédent. Malgré un optimisme en baisse par rapport au trimestre précédent et à toutes les entreprises du secteur privé, les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits ont obtenu de meilleurs résultats que toutes les entreprises du secteur privé en ce qui concerne plusieurs indicateurs clés, comme les ventes, l’offre de possibilités d’emploi et l’attraction de nouveaux clients ou le maintien de la clientèle actuelle. Les entreprises détenues majoritairement par des immigrants au Canada et par des personnes de minorité visible s’attendaient à des baisses de rentabilité au cours des trois prochains mois.

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes sont beaucoup moins optimistes en ce qui concerne les perspectives

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes représentaient 18,2 % de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé au Canada au premier trimestre de 2022. Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes étaient plus nombreuses dans les industries de services, comme le commerce de détail, les services d’hébergement et de restauration, ainsi que le tourismeNote  .

Moins des deux tiers (64,8 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes ont déclaré avoir des perspectives optimistes au cours des 12 prochains mois, ce qui représente une diminution importante par rapport au quatrième trimestre de 2021 (75,3 %). Ces entreprises étaient moins susceptibles que l’ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé (69,5 %) d’être optimistes à l’égard des 12 prochains mois.

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes étaient légèrement moins susceptibles que toutes les entreprises du secteur privé d’avoir la capacité de s’endetter davantage (49,1 % par rapport à 54,3 %). De même, plus des sept dixièmes (72,3 %) des entreprises détenues majoritairement par des femmes ont déclaré avoir l’argent ou les liquidités nécessaires à leur exploitation pour les trois prochains mois, comparativement à plus des trois quarts (75,8 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Parmi les entreprises devant faire face à des défis liés à la chaîne d’approvisionnement, la moitié (49,8 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes s’attendaient à ce que ces défis s’aggravent au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement à plus des deux cinquièmes (43,4 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé. Parallèlement, moins de la moitié (45,4 %) des entreprises détenues majoritairement par des femmes s’attendaient à ce que l’augmentation du coût des intrants constitue un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement à plus de la moitié (51,7 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits prévoient une augmentation des ventes et du nombre d’employés au cours des trois prochains mois

Selon les données du Recensement de 2016, les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits représentaient 4,9 % de la population canadienneNote  . Au premier trimestre de 2022, 2,3 % de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé au Canada appartenaient majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits.

Plus des deux tiers (67,4 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits ont indiqué avoir des perspectives positives au cours des 12 prochains mois, un taux en baisse par rapport au trimestre précédent (72,0 %) et légèrement inférieur à celui enregistré pour l’ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé (69,5 %).

Malgré cela, près du quart (24,7 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits s’attendaient à ce que leurs ventes augmentent au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement au cinquième (20,7 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé. De plus, près du cinquième (19,1 %) des entreprises détenues majoritairement par des Premières Nations, des Métis ou des Inuits s’attendaient à une augmentation du nombre de leurs employés au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement à 14,2 % de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits étaient moins susceptibles de s’attendre à devoir faire face à des obstacles liés au recrutement d’employés qualifiés, au maintien en poste d’employés qualifiés et à la capacité à attirer de nouveaux clients ou à maintenir la clientèle actuelle (34,3 %, 26,5 % et 16,6 %, respectivement) que toutes les entreprises du secteur privé (38,6 %, 30,3 % et 23,0 %, respectivement).

Les entreprises détenues majoritairement par des immigrants au Canada s’attendent à une baisse de la rentabilité et du revenu d’exploitation au cours des trois prochains mois

En 2016, les immigrants au Canada représentaient plus du cinquième (21,9 %) de la population canadienneNote  et, au premier trimestre de 2022, ils étaient les propriétaires de 22,2 % de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé au Canada. Dans cette section, on présente les résultats relatifs aux entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes nées à l’extérieur du Canada.

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada (62,0 %) étaient moins susceptibles d’indiquer avoir une perspective optimiste au cours des 12 prochains mois que l’ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé (69,5 %). Ces niveaux d’optimisme étaient quelque peu inférieurs à ceux observés au quatrième trimestre de 2021, quand les deux tiers (66,5 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada indiquaient avoir des perspectives positives.

Plus des deux cinquièmes (44,8 %) des entreprises détenues majoritairement par des immigrants au Canada prévoyaient une diminution de la rentabilité au cours des trois prochains mois, tandis que moins des deux cinquièmes (36,0 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé ont indiqué la même chose. Près des trois dixièmes (29,2 %) des entreprises détenues majoritairement par des immigrants au Canada s’attendaient à une baisse du revenu d’exploitation au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement à moins du quart (23,1 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Ces entreprises étaient plus susceptibles que toutes les entreprises du secteur privé de s’attendre à devoir faire face à certains obstacles. Plus du cinquième (21,3 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada s’attendaient à ce que la demande insuffisante pour les biens ou les services offerts constitue un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement à 16,5 % de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé. De plus, près des trois dixièmes (28,4 %) des entreprises détenues majoritairement par des immigrants au Canada s’attendaient à ce que l’intensification de la concurrence soit un obstacle au cours des trois prochains mois, comparativement à plus du cinquième (20,9 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Moins des deux cinquièmes (37,2 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada ont déclaré que leurs revenus étaient plus élevés ou les mêmes en 2021 comparativement à ce qu’ils étaient en 2019, tandis que près de la moitié (48,2 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé ont indiqué la même chose. Les deux tiers (66,5 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada ont déclaré avoir l’argent ou les liquidités nécessaires à leur exploitation pour les trois prochains mois, comparativement à plus des trois quarts (75,8 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Par ailleurs, moins de la moitié (45,6 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada ont la capacité de s’endetter davantage, comparativement à plus de la moitié (54,3 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles s’attendent à une baisse des ventes, de la demande et de la rentabilité

Selon les données du Recensement de 2016, les personnes de minorités visibles représentaient près du quart (22,3 %) de la population canadienneNote  . Au premier trimestre de 2022, 15,7 % de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé au Canada appartenaient majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles. On entend par personnes de minorités visibles les personnes, à l’exclusion des Autochtones, qui se sont identifiées comme n’étant pas de race ou de couleur blanche, quel que soit leur lieu de naissance.

Les trois cinquièmes (60,9 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles ont indiqué avoir des perspectives optimistes au cours des 12 prochains mois, comparativement à plus des deux tiers (69,5 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé. Ce sentiment d’optimisme chez les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles a quelque peu diminué par rapport au quatrième trimestre de 2021 (64,0 %).

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles étaient plus susceptibles de s’attendre à une diminution des ventes, de la demande pour les biens ou les services offerts, de la rentabilité et des prix des biens et des services offerts (21,9 %, 18,8 %, 44,5 % et 6,4 %, respectivement) que toutes les entreprises du secteur privé (17,9 %, 14,1 %, 36,0 % et 5,3 %, respectivement).

Les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles ont dû faire face à des obstacles tels qu’une demande insuffisante pour les biens ou les services offerts (18,4 %), la capacité à attirer de nouveaux clients ou à maintenir la clientèle actuelle (33,0 %), et le maintien de flux de trésorerie suffisants ou la gestion des dettes (29,2 %). Ces chiffres demeurent relativement inchangés par rapport au quatrième trimestre de 2021 (20,8 %, 31,4 % et 28,3 %, respectivement).

Plus du tiers (36,7 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles ont déclaré que, comparativement à 2019, leurs revenus étaient plus élevés ou les mêmes en 2021. En revanche, près de la moitié (48,2 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé ont indiqué la même chose. Parallèlement, les deux tiers (66,4 %) des entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles ont déclaré avoir l’argent ou les liquidités nécessaires à leur exploitation pour les trois prochains mois, comparativement aux trois quarts (75,8 %) de toutes les entreprises du secteur privé.

Annexe


Tableau 1
Perspectives au cours des 12 prochains mois, quatrième trimestre de 2021 et premier trimestre de 2022
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Perspectives au cours des 12 prochains mois T4 2021, T1 2022, Total - Optimistes, Total - Pessimistes et Inconnu, calculées selon pourcentage des entreprises unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
T4 2021 T1 2022
Total - Optimistes Total - Pessimistes Inconnu Total - Optimistes Total - Pessimistes Inconnu
pourcentage des entreprises
Ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé 71,8 14,5 13,7 69,5 16,9 13,5
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes 75,3 13,2 11,6 64,8 17,5 17,8
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits 72,0 6,9 21,1 67,4 20,2 12,4
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada 66,5 15,7 17,8 62,0 20,1 17,8
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles 64,0 16,7 19,3 60,9 21,3 17,8

Tableau de données du graphique 1 
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1 Augmenter, Rester à peu près le même et Diminuer, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Augmenter Rester à peu près le même Diminuer
pourcentage
Ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé 20,7 61,4 17,9
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes 18,5 63,1 18,4
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits 24,7 58,3 17,0
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada 19,6 58,2 22,3
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles 20,4 57,7 21,9

Tableau de données du graphique 2 
Tableau de données du graphique 2
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 2 Augmenter, Rester à peu près le même et Diminuer, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Augmenter Rester à peu près le même Diminuer
pourcentage
Ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé 13,6 50,4 36,0
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes 12,5 51,9 35,6
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits 13,7 48,1 38,1
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada 12,7 42,5 44,8
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles 12,0 43,5 44,5

Tableau de données du graphique 3 
Tableau de données du graphique 3
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 3 Augmenter, Rester à peu près le même et Diminuer, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Augmenter Rester à peu près le même Diminuer
pourcentage
Ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé 25,7 60,2 14,1
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes 24,7 61,4 13,9
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits 25,2 57,9 16,9
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada 23,2 55,8 21,0
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles 23,0 58,2 18,8

Tableau 2
Certains obstacles pour les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à divers groupes de sous-populations et de minorités visibles, au cours des trois prochains mois, premier trimestre de 2022
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Certains obstacles pour les entreprises appartenant majoritairement à divers groupes de sous-populations et de minorités visibles Augmentation du coût des intrants, Recrutement d’employés qualifiés, Maintien en poste des employés qualifiés, Demande insuffisante pour les biens ou les services offerts, Intensification de la concurrence, Capacité à attirer de nouveaux clients ou à maintenir la clientèle actuelle et Maintien de flux de trésorerie suffisants ou gestion des dettes, calculées selon % des entreprises unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Augmentation du coût des intrants Recrutement d’employés qualifiés Maintien en poste des employés qualifiés Demande insuffisante pour les biens ou les services offerts Intensification de la concurrence Capacité à attirer de nouveaux clients ou à maintenir la clientèle actuelle Maintien de flux de trésorerie suffisants ou gestion des dettes
% des entreprises
Ensemble des entreprises du secteur privé 51,7 38,6 30,3 16,5 20,9 23 22,9
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des femmes 45,4 33,4 30,3 18,6 19,8 29 25,3
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des Premières Nations, à des Métis ou à des Inuits 54,8 34,3 26,5 23,6 25,8 16,6 37,3
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des immigrants au Canada 51,4 33,8 31,4 21,3 28,4 28,6 29,2
Entreprises appartenant majoritairement à des personnes de minorités visibles 51,2 32,7 29,7 18,4 28,7 33 29,2

Méthodologie

Du 4 janvier au 7 février 2022, des représentants d’entreprises de partout au Canada ont été invités à répondre à un questionnaire en ligne portant sur la situation des entreprises et leurs attentes pour la suite des choses. L’Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises repose sur un échantillon aléatoire stratifié d’établissements commerciaux dans lequel les employés sont classés par région géographique, secteur d’industrie et taille. L’estimation des proportions se fait à l’aide de poids calibrés afin de calculer les totaux de population dans les domaines d’intérêt. La taille totale de l’échantillon pour ce volet de l’enquête est de 35 026. Les résultats sont fondés sur les réponses d’un total de 17 695 entreprises.

Références

Statistique Canada. 2022. Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises, premier trimestre de 2022.

Statistique Canada. 2021. Enquête canadienne sur la situation des entreprises, quatrième trimestre de 2021.

Date de modification :