Statistics: Power from Data!
3 Data gathering and processing

Text begins

Section 2 described who in society is gathering and using data, and for which purposes. Then the advantages and disadvantages of the different types of traditional collection methods were compared. Finally, examples were given of alternative sources of data recently used at Statistics Canada.

Of all these types of data, sample surveys are the most frequently used for producing statistical information about the Canadian society. However, they require careful planning as well as tried and tested methods to select a sample and to carry collection operations. Therefore, the first three subsections of Section 3 are mostly devoted to sample surveys while the rest of the subsections on processing, estimation and quality management can potentially apply to all types of data.

Figure 3.1 summarizes the different steps of data collection, data processing and estimation that will be explored in this section.

Figure 1 The different steps of data collection, data processing and estimation

Description for Figure 3.1

The figure shows three boxes linked with arrows. The first box corresponding to data collection includes the following elements: sampling, collection, questionnaire and interviewers. The second box corresponding to data processing includes coding, capture, edit, imputation and linkage. The last box corresponding to estimation includes weighting, variance estimation and adjustments.


Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Les statistiques : le pouvoir des données!
3 Collecte et traitement des données

Début du texte

La section 2 décrivait les acteurs de la société qui collectent et utilisent des données et à quelles fins. Ensuite, les avantages et désavantages des différents types de méthode de collecte traditionnelle ont été comparés. Finalement, des exemples de différents types de données alternatives récemment utilisées à Statistique Canada ont été donnés.

Parmi ces méthodes de collecte, les enquêtes-échantillons sont les plus fréquemment utilisées dans la production d’information statistique à propos de la société canadienne. Elles requièrent toutefois une planification minutieuse et des méthodes éprouvées pour la sélection d’échantillons et la tenue des activités de collecte. Par conséquent, les trois premières sous-sections de la section 3 sont consacrées aux enquêtes-échantillons tandis que les autres sous-sections sur le traitement, l’estimation et la gestion de la qualité peuvent potentiellement concerner tous les types de données.

La figure 3.1 résume les différentes étapes de la collecte des données, du traitement des données et de l’estimation qui seront explorés dans cette section.

Figure 1 Les différentes étapes de la collecte des données, du traitement des données et de l’estimation

Description de la figure 3.1

La figure montre trois boîtes reliées par des flèches. La première boîte correspondant à la collecte des données inclut les éléments suivants : échantillonnage, collecte, questionnaire et intervieweurs. La seconde boîte correspondant au traitement des données inclu : codage, saisie, vérification, imputation et couplage. La dernière boîte correspondant à l’estimation inclut pondération, estimation de la variance et ajustements.


Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :