Canadian Agriculture at a Glance



This edition of Canadian Agriculture at a Glance aims to open the barn doors of Canadian agriculture to farming and non-farming Canadians by providing an informative and unbiased look at the state of agriculture in the country.

The 2016 Census of Agriculture—the basis for the articles—found fewer than 1% of Canadians are farm operators. Yet, all Canadians participate in the agri-food sector when they go grocery shopping and make food choices.

Statistics Canada’s mandate is to provide information to all Canadians so they can make sound, fact-based decisions—whether on the farm or in the grocery aisle. Its wealth of objective data on the agriculture sector can help you make your own choices.

Logo

About the artistNote 1

Innovation and healthy living propel growth in certain other crops

by Matthew Shumsky, Agriculture Division

Release date: March 22, 2018

With increasing attention on health-conscious agricultural products, farm operations are focusing on particular varieties of “other crops” to try and meet consumer needs. “Other crops” encompass both fruits and vegetables, as well as field crops. These “other” commodities are collected by the Census of Agriculture program using write-in fields which are then coded and grouped into similar product classes. This article serves to highlight some of the emerging trends on select “other crops”.

Dairy goats in Ontario: a growing industry

by Mallory McGonegal, Agriculture Division

Release date: December 6, 2017

The number of goats for dairy on agricultural operations in Ontario is increasing as farmers expand and optimize production. When compared to other agricultural operations in the province, dairy goat operations can differ in terms of demographic, geographic, financial and organizational characteristics.

Other livestock and poultry in Canada

by Mitra Rostami, Agriculture Division

Release date: November 20, 2017

While Canadian livestock is often associated with more traditional sectors such as cattle, pigs, sheep and poultry, Canadian farms raise a host of other livestock and poultry. Other livestock in Canada include, for example, horses, donkeys, rabbits and deer. Other poultry in Canada include, for example, ducks, geese, ostriches and pheasants. Other livestock and poultry can be found on a variety of operations, with varying demographic and financial characteristics.


Date modified:

Un coup d'œil sur l'agriculture canadienne



Cette édition d’Un coup d’œil sur l’agriculture canadienne vise à ouvrir les portes des étables de l’agriculture canadienne aux agriculteurs et aux non agriculteurs et à leur présenter une information utile et impartiale, sur l’état de l’agriculture au pays.

Dans le Recensement de l’agriculture de 2016 — sur lequel sont fondés les articles — on a constaté que moins de 1 % des Canadiens sont des exploitants agricoles. Or, tous les Canadiens participent au secteur agroalimentaire lorsqu’ils vont faire leurs emplettes au magasin d’alimentation et qu’ils choisissent des aliments.

Statistique Canada a pour mandat de bien informer tout les Canadiens afin qu’ils puissent prendre des décisions judicieuses fondées sur des faits, à la ferme ou au magasin d’alimentation. Le document contient une multitude de données objectives sur le secteur de l’agriculture afin que vous puissiez faire vos propres choix.

Logo

Au sujet des artistesNote 1

L'innovation et les modes de vie sains stimulent la croissance dans certaines autres cultures

par Matthew Shumsky, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 22 mars 2018

Étant donné l’importance accrue accordée aux produits agricoles santé, les exploitations agricoles mettent l’accent sur certaines variétés d’« autres cultures » pour essayer de répondre aux besoins des consommateurs. Ces « autres cultures » englobent les fruits et les légumes, ainsi que les grandes cultures. Les données sur ces « autres » produits sont recueillies dans le cadre du Recensement de l’agriculture au moyen de champs de réponse écrite; ces réponses sont ensuite codées et regroupées dans des catégories de produits semblables. L’article met en évidence certaines des tendances émergentes d’« autres cultures » sélectionnées.

Les chèvres laitières en Ontario : une industrie en pleine croissance

par Mallory McGonegal, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 6 décembre 2017

Le nombre de chèvres pour les produits laitiers sur les exploitations agricoles en Ontario augmente à mesure que les fermiers développent et optimisent la production. Par rapport aux autres exploitations agricoles dans la province, les exploitations des chèvres laitières peuvent différer en termes de caractéristiques démographiques, géographiques, financières et organisationnelles.

Bétail et volailles non traditionnels au Canada

par Mitra Rostami, Division de l’agriculture

Date de diffusion : le 20 novembre 2017

Alors que le bétail canadien est souvent associé à des secteurs plus traditionnels tels que les bovins, les porcs, les moutons et la volaille, les fermes canadiennes élèvent une foule de bétail et volailles non traditionnels. Le bétail non traditionnel au Canada comprend, par exemple, les chevaux, les ânes, les lapins et les cerfs. La volaille non traditionnelle au Canada comprend, par exemple, les canards, les oies, les autruches et les faisans. Les bétail et volailles non traditionnels peuvent être trouvés sur diverses opérations, avec des caractéristiques démographiques et financières variables.


Date de modification :