Interim List of Changes to Municipal Boundaries, Status, and Names
Up to January 1st, 2019

Release date: November 13, 2019

The Interim List of Changes to Municipal Boundaries, Status and Names provides a summary of the changes to census subdivisions such as municipal boundary or name changes that were processed since the production of the previous Interim List and have an effective date on or before January 1, 2019. This report presents the changes which have been processed by Statistics Canada based on the information received and, therefore, may not include all the changes that may have occurred in this time period.

About this product

Preface

Census subdivision (CSD) is the general term for municipalities (as determined by provincial/territorial legislation) or areas treated as municipal equivalents for statistical purposes, such as Indian reserves, Indian settlements and unorganized territories. Municipal status is defined by laws in effect in each province and territory in Canada.

CSDs are an important component of the geographic structure used at Statistics Canada for collecting and disseminating data. As such, Statistics Canada carefully monitors and updates changes to the boundaries, names and other relevant information related to CSD. These changes are published in this Interim List to advise users doing trend or longitudinal analysis that the areas being compared have changed over time.

Content considerations

The summary data in this product reflect municipal changes in effect that were processed since the production of the previous Interim List and have an effective date on or before January 1, 2019. Notifications of the changes that take place during this period are obtained from provincial gazettes and statutes, orders of the Municipal Board and special provincial acts.

Boundary changes are compiled from legal descriptions and accompanying maps into the National Geographic Database (NGD) using the best available information. Census Subdivision Boundary FilesNote  are published on an occasional basis for public use. Any corrections or additional changes to those published boundaries reported back to Statistics Canada are represented in the subsequent issue of the Interim List.

An important reference for users of the Interim List is the Standard Geographical Classification manual. It is composed of:

We welcome any suggestions on the presentation of the Interim List or the planned frequency. Those users requiring more information about changes to CSDs should contact us by e-mail at STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca, or by phone at 1-800-263-1136.

Geographic changes

After a census, Statistics Canada makes public the total number of persons and the total number of dwellings counted in a given area, for example, in a municipality. By the next census, the municipality's geographic boundaries may have changed, especially if it has annexed part of another municipality or has merged with another municipality. When a boundary change occurs between censuses, the population and dwelling counts for the geographic areas affected by the boundary change are revised (adjusted). Once the dwellings affected by the boundary change are identified, it is possible to establish the population affected. These counts are then added to the geographic area that has increased in size and subtracted from the geographic area that has decreased in size.

Tables

Table 1  Changes to census subdivisions by province and territory (HTML | CSV) presents all changes received to date, with 2016 population adjusted to modified census subdivision limits, where applicable. The table is available for download for all of Canada.

In Table 1, the information is presented using the assumption that a CSD may be gaining or losing information, be it area, population, a combination of both area and population, as well as codes, names and types.

Note: A gaining CSD may have more than one entry in the table if more than one losing CSD is associated with the same transaction. Records can be grouped by transaction using the File Number field.

The record layout of Table 1 is presented in Table 2.


Table 2
Interim List record layout
Table summary
This table displays the results of Interim List record layout . The information is grouped by Attribute name (appearing as row headers), Description (appearing as column headers).
Attribute name Description
Gaining CSDuid The code that uniquely identifies the CSD that is gaining information in the transaction.  This code is based on the Standard Geographical Classification (SGC). In order to uniquely identify each CSD in Canada, the two-digit province/territory (PR) code and the two-digit census division (CD) code must precede the three-digit CSD code.
Gaining CSDname The name associated with the CSD that is gaining information in the transaction.
Gaining CSDtype The CSD type associated with the CSD that is gaining information in the transaction. The census subdivision type accompanies the census subdivision name in order to distinguish CSDs with the same name within a given province or territory.
Gaining Change Code The code that is associated with the type of change of the gaining CSD.  A full list of change codes and their meanings can be found in the description of Table 4.
Gaining Action A brief description associated with the change code of the gaining CSD.
Losing CSDuid The code that uniquely identifies the CSD that is losing information in the transaction.  This code is based on the Standard Geographical Classification (SGC). In order to uniquely identify each CSD in Canada, the two-digit province/territory (PR) code and the two-digit census division (CD) code must precede the three-digit CSD code.
Losing CSDname The name associated with the CSD that is losing information in the transaction.
Losing CSDtype The CSD type associated with the CSD that is losing information in the transaction. The census subdivision type accompanies the census subdivision name in order to distinguish CSDs with the same name within a given province or territory.
Losing Change Code The code that is associated with the type of change of the losing CSD.  A full list of change codes and their meanings can be found in the description of Table 4.
Losing Action A brief description associated with the change code of the losing CSD.
Losing Census Population Affected The population count, derived from the 2016 Census, that is removed from the losing CSD and added to the gaining CSD if applicable.
Effective Date The date on which the change.
File Number The code that identifies the transaction number for a given change or set of changes.  The code is assigned by Statistics Canada for the purpose of logging CSD changes.  The first two digits are equal to the province code in which the affected CSDs are located.  The following four digits are assigned sequentially within the tracking system as the transactions are entered.

Table 3  Number of census subdivision changes by type of change presents the number of CSD changes according to the type of change. The type of change is represented by a change code. The different change codes are presented in Table 4.


Table 4
Change codes
Table summary
This table displays the results of Change codes . The information is grouped by Code (appearing as row headers), Description (appearing as column headers).
Code Description
1 Incorporation
2 Change of census subdivision name
2C Correction of census subdivision name
23 Change of census subdivision name and type
3 Change of census subdivision type
3C Correction of census subdivision type
4 Dissolution
5 Census subdivision has annexed a new part from another census subdivision
5A Census subdivision has annexed a complete census subdivision (could also include the annexation of another census subdivision part)
6 census subdivision has lost a part annexed by another census subdivision
7 Revision of Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) code
8 Census subdivision limits have been corrected and census subdivision has gained land area and population
8C Census subdivision limits have been corrected and census subdivision has gained land area
9 Census subdivision limits have been corrected and census subdivision has lost land area and population
9C Census subdivision limits have been corrected and census subdivision has lost land area
10 Population has increased
11 Population has been reduced

Notes

No changes to CSD were processed during the time period covered by this Interim List for the following provinces and territories: Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon and Northwest Territories.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Liste intérimaire des changements aux limites municipales, statut et noms
Jusqu’au 1er janvier 2019

Date de publication : le 13 novembre 2019

La Liste intérimaire des changements aux limites municipales, statut et noms fournit un résumé des modifications apportées aux subdivisions de recensement tel que les changements aux limites municipales ou aux noms, qui ont été apportés depuis la production de la Liste intérimaire précédente et qui sont entrés en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019 ou avant. Cette liste rend compte des modifications qui ont été traitées par Statistique Canada à partir des renseignements reçus. Par conséquent, elle ne renferme peut-être pas toutes les modifications apportées durant la période.

À propos du produit

Préface

Subdivision de recensement (SDR) est un terme générique qui désigne les municipalités (telles que définies par les lois provinciales/territoriales) ou les territoires considérés comme étant des équivalents municipaux à des fins statistiques (p. ex., les réserves indiennes, les établissements indiens et les territoires non organisés). Le statut de municipalité est défini par les lois en vigueur dans chaque province et territoire au Canada.

Les SDR sont un élément important de la structure géographique utilisée à Statistique Canada pour recueillir et diffuser des données. Par ailleurs, Statistique Canada surveille attentivement et met à jour les changements qui sont apportés aux limites, aux noms et aux renseignements pertinents liés aux SDR. Ces changements sont publiés dans cette Liste intérimaire afin d’aviser les utilisateurs qui font des analyses tendancielles ou longitudinales que les régions qu'ils comparent ont changé au fil du temps.

Considérations relatives au contenu

Les données sommaires de ce produit reflètent les changements aux limites municipales qui étaient en vigueur qui ont été apportés depuis la production de la Liste intérimaire précédente, et qui sont entrés en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019 ou avant. Les avis de changements qui se produisent au cours de cette période sont tirés des « Gazettes provinciales », des décrets du Conseil des municipalités et des lois provinciales spéciales.

Les changements aux limites sont compilés à partir des descriptions juridiques et des cartes connexes, et intégrés dans la Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG) à l’aide des meilleurs renseignements disponibles. Les Fichiers de limites des subdivisions de recensementNote  sont publiés sur une base occasionnelle pour les besoins du public. Tout correctif ou changement supplémentaire aux limites publiées signalé à Statistique Canada est représenté dans la version subséquente de la Liste intérimaire.

Un outil de référence important pour les utilisateurs de la Liste intérimaire est le manuel intitulé Classification géographique type. Il est composé d’un :

Vos suggestions sur la présentation ou sur la fréquence prévue sont les bienvenues. Les utilisateurs désirant avoir de plus amples renseignements sur les SDR sont priés de s'adresser à nous par courriel à STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca, ou par téléphone, 1-800-263-1136.

Changements géographiques

Après un recensement, Statistique Canada rend publics le nombre total d'habitants et le nombre total de logements comptés dans une région donnée, par exemple, dans une municipalité. Lors du recensement suivant, les limites géographiques d'une municipalité peuvent avoir changé, notamment si une partie d'une autre municipalité lui a été annexée ou si la municipalité a été fusionnée à une autre municipalité. Lorsqu'un changement de limites survient entre deux recensements, les chiffres de population et des logements des régions géographiques touchées par ce changement de limites sont révisés (ajustés). Une fois les logements touchés repérés, il est possible de déterminer quelle est la population touchée. Ces chiffres sont alors ajoutés à ceux de la région géographique dont la superficie a augmenté, et soustraits de ceux de la région géographique dont la superficie a diminué.

Tableaux

Tableau 1  Changements apportés aux subdivisions de recensement par province et territoire (HTML | CSV) présente tous les changements reçus à ce jour, dont l’ajustement de la population de 2016 en fonction des changements apportés aux limites de SDR, le cas échéant. Le tableau peut être téléchargé pour l’ensemble du Canada.

Dans le Tableau 1, les renseignements sont présentés sous forme d’hypothèses selon lesquelles une SDR peut gagner ou perdre de l’information, qu’il s’agisse de superficie, de population, d’une combinaison de superficie et de population, des codes, des noms et des types.

Note : Une SDR gagnante pourrait être associée à plus d’une entrée dans le tableau si plus d’une SDR perdante est associée à la même transaction. Les enregistrements peuvent être regroupés par transaction à l’aide du champ No. du fichier.

La disposition d’enregistrement du Tableau 1 est présentée dans le Tableau 2.


Tableau 2
Présentation des enregistrements de la Liste intérimaire
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Présentation des enregistrements de la Liste intérimaire . Les données sont présentées selon Nom d'attribut (titres de rangée) et Description(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Nom d'attribut Description
SDRidu gagnant Le code qui identifie de façon unique la SDR recevant des renseignements dans la transaction. Ce code s’appuie sur la Classification géographique type (CGT). Afin d’identifier de façon unique chaque SDR au Canada, le code de province/territoire (PT) à deux chiffres doit précéder le code à trois chiffres de la SDR.
SDRnom gagnant Nom associé à la SDR qui gagne en renseignements dans la transaction.
SDRgenre gagnant Genre de SDR associée à la SDR qui gagne en renseignements dans la transaction. Le genre de subdivision de recensement accompagne le nom de la subdivision de recensement pour que la distinction soit faite entre les SDR portant le même nom dans une province ou un territoire donné.
Code du changement gagnant Code associé au genre de changement de la SDR gagnante. Une liste complète des codes de changement et de leur signification figure dans la description du Tableau 4.
Action gagnant Une courte description associée au code de changement de la SDR gagnante.
SDRidu perdant Code qui identifie de façon unique la SDR qui perd des renseignements dans la transaction. Ce code s’appuie sur la Classification géographique type (CGT). Afin d’identifier de façon unique chaque SDR au Canada, le code de province/territoire (PT) à deux chiffres doit précéder le code à trois chiffres de la SDR.
SDRnom perdant Nom associé à la SDR qui perd des renseignements dans la transaction.
SDRgenre perdant Genre de SDR associée à la SDR qui perd des renseignements dans la transaction. Le genre de subdivision de recensement accompagne le nom de la subdivision de recensement pour que la distinction soit faite entre les SDR portant le même nom dans une province ou un territoire donné.
Code du changement perdant Code associé au genre de changement de la SDR perdante. Une liste complète des codes de changement et de leur signification figure dans la description du Tableau 4.
Action perdant Courte description associée au code de changement de la SDR perdante.
Population du recensement perdant affecté Dénombrement de la population de la SDR perdante, calculé à partir du Recensement de 2016, qui est retiré de la SDR perdante et ajouté à la SDR gagnante, le cas échéant.
Date d’entrée en vigeur Date d’entrée en vigueur du changement.
No. du fichier Code qui identifie le numéro de transaction d’un changement donné ou d’un ensemble de changements. Le code est attribué par Statistique Canada aux fins de consignation des changements apportés aux SDR. Les deux premiers chiffres correspondent au code de province dans laquelle les SDR touchées sont situées. Les quatre chiffres suivants sont attribués de façon séquentielle dans le système de suivi au fur et à mesure que les transactions sont inscrites.

Tableau 3  Nombre de changements aux subdivisions de recensement par genre de changement présente le nombre de changements apportés aux SDR selon le genre de changement. Le genre de changement est représenté par un code de changement. Les différents codes de changement sont présentés dans le Tableau 4.


Tableau 4
Codes de changement
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Codes de changement . Les données sont présentées selon Code (titres de rangée) et Description(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Code Description
1 Constitution
2 Changement de nom d'une subdivision de recensement
2C Correction du nom d'une subdivision de recensement
23 Changement de nom et genre d'une subdivision de recensement
3 Changement du genre d'une subdivision de recensement
3C Correction du genre d'une subdivision de recensement
4 Dissolution
5 Une subdivision de recensement a annexé une nouvelle partie d'une autre subdivision de recensement
5A Une subdivision de recensement a complètement annexé une subdivision de recensement (peut également inclure une partie annexée d'une autre subdivision de recensement)
6 Une subdivision de recensement a perdu une partie annexée par une autre subdivision de recensement
7 Révision du code Classification géographique type (CGT)
8 La limite de la subdivision de recensement a été corrigée et la subdivision de recensement a gagné en superficie et en population
8C La limite de la subdivision de recensement a été corrigée et la subdivision de recensement a gagné en superficie
9 La limite de la subdivision de recensement a été corrigée et la subdivision de recensement a perdu en superficie et en population
9C La limite de la subdivision de recensement a été corrigée et la subdivision de recensement a perdu en superficie
10 La population a été augmentée
11 La population a été diminuée

Notes

Aucune modification aux SDR n'a été traitée pendant la période couverte par la présente Liste intérimaire dans les provinces et territoires suivants : Terre-Neuve et Labrador, Yukon et Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Date de modification :