Appendix

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Census definitions of family and children over time

Historically, family-related changes in the census questionnaires and to census concepts have followed societal changes.Note 47 Over the period examined in this document, modifications have been implemented to the definitions related to children and families (see Table A1 for a summary).

Prior to the 1941 Census, there was no consistent definition of a family, and little distinction was made between the household and family units in census publications from 1901 to 1931. In the 1871 to 1911 censuses, for example, boarders, lodgers, employees and other unrelated people were considered family members provided they were residing in the same household.Note 48 In 1979, the evolution of the concepts of census family and children in census families was documented as follows: Note 49

There have been changes over the years in the definitions of ‘family’ and of ’children’ in families in the Canadian census, and in the tabulation of statistics based on these definitions. Reasonably comparable statistics on Canadian families exist since 1941, when the ’census family’ concept was introduced. By far the larger part of family data in the Canadian census is prepared and published according to this concept, which also provides reasonably comparable statistics on children 0 [to] 24 years of age, living at home.Note 50

The census family definition used in the Canadian census since 1941 defines a family as generally consisting of “[…] a husband and wife (with or without children who have never married, regardless of age), or a lone parent, regardless of marital status, with one or more children (who have never married, regardless of age) living in the same dwelling.”Note 51

Since 1956, the Canadian census has also prepared and published data according to the ‘economic family’ concept. An economic family is defined as “two or more persons resident in the same household and related by blood, marriage or adoption”.Note 52

In the 1976 Census, the universe of census families was limited to families in Canadian private households only, and excluded families in collectives and in households abroad. However this change in coverage has not significantly altered the comparability of the statistics on families and children.Note 53

In the Canadian census publications from 1941 [to] 1971, children in census families were generally considered as sons and daughters of all ages who had never married and were living at home. Children who had ever been married, regardless of age, were not considered as members of their parents’ family, even though living in the same dwelling. Unmarried sons and daughters, 25 years of age and over, living at home on the census date were considered as children in a broad sense and appeared only in a few tabulations. Most tables featuring statistics on children referred to those 0 [to] 24 years of age. Included as children also were adopted and stepchildren, foster children for whom no pay was received, as well as guardianship children or wards under 21 years of age, residing in the same dwelling.Note 54

[In the 1976 Census], a reassessment of concepts, tabulation methods, enumeration procedures and coverage led to a number of changes. These were designed to improve the quality of the statistics on families and children. The conceptual changes in particular were intended to make the statistics on children accord faithfully with the literal meaning of “children” inherent in the census concepts used. The elimination of some household members previously tabulated as children in families,Note 55 the procedural change in the enumeration of certain young adults away at school, and the limitation of the family and children statistics to private households in Canada only, are not considered to unduly affect the comparability of the data on children 0 [to] 24 from 1941 [to] 1976, since such changes are taken account of where necessary, that is, where they might make a significant different in the interpretation of statistics.Note 56

The concept of a census family remained unchanged between 1976 and 1996. This is despite a terminology change in 1991Note 57 and retroactive availability of data on common-law partners and common-law couples back to 1981.Note 58

Along with the new millennium, there came several expansions to the definition of census families, and correspondingly, the definition of children living within those families.  The 2001 Census broadened and further distinguished the concept of children in census families to include the following:

  • Children in a census family who were previously married (as long as they are not currently living with a married spouse or common-law partner). From 1941 to 1996, they had to be 'never married'.
  • Children living with two common-law parents who are of the same sex—a concept that was broadened in 2006 to include same-sex married parents.
  • A grandchild living in a three-generation household whose parent (middle generation) has never married is, contrary to previous censuses, considered a child in the census family of his or her parent, provided the grandchild is not living with his or her own married spouse, common-law partner, or child. From 1976 to 1996, the census family usually consisted of the two older generations.
  • A grandchild of another household member, where no middle-generation parent is  present, is now considered a child in the census family of his or her grandparent, provided the grandchild is not living with his or her own spouse, common-law partner, or child. From 1976 to 1996, such a grandchild would not be considered a member of a census family.

Overall, between 1996 and 2001 there was a 1.0% increase in the number of children aged 24 and under in census families based on the new 2001 concept, while there would have been a decrease of -0.3% in the number of children during this period had the concepts remained constant.  Among children aged 24 and under in lone-parent families, there was an 11.3% increase between 1996 and 2001 based on the new 2001 concept compared to an increase of 5.5% had the concept remained unchanged. Consequently, historical comparisons for census families, particularly for lone-parent families, must be interpreted with caution as a result of these conceptual changes.

Beginning with the 2011 Census, a child living with two parents could be further classified as living in either an intact family or in a stepfamily. A stepchild is defined as a child in a couple family who is the biological or adopted child of only one married spouse or common-law partner in the couple. A stepfamily is a couple census family with at least one such child.

Additionally, in 2011, a distinction could be made between those living in a simple stepfamily or a complex stepfamily.Note 59  A simple stepfamily refers to a couple family in which all children are the biological or adopted children of one and only one married spouse or common-law partner and whose birth or adoption preceded the current relationship. There are three types of complex stepfamilies—a couple family in which there is at least one child of both parents and at least one child of only one parent; a couple family in which there is at least one child of each parent and no children of both parents; and a couple family in which there is at least one child of both parents and at least one child of each parent.

Throughout this document, the term ‘child’ refers to biological or adopted children aged 24 and under living in the same dwelling as their parent(s) in private households, unless otherwise stated. Historical comparability is the main reason for the age restriction, as information on children aged 24 and under has been released for most censuses. In addition, the age restriction on children gives some sense of the dependency of a child on their parent(s). 

Notably, not all individuals generally considered to be children are classified as ‘children’ in census families. In the 2011 Census, for example, 89.2% of the population aged 24 and under living in private households were children in census families, while the remaining 10.8% lived in other arrangements. 'Foster children', who are considered 'other relatives' in an economic family,Note 60 have not been considered ‘children' in census families since 1976. Since 1941, the proportion of the population aged 24 and under in private households that were living outside of census families has not exceeded 20.7%.

The term 'child' may be used in other contexts, such as young adults who live in the parental home, which is based on the economic family status definition of child, i.e., the son or daughter of the economic family reference person. These adult children may be in the parental home accompanied by a married spouse or common-law partner or children of their own.

Census definitions of living arrangements are restricted to co-residential living arrangements. Immediate family members living in separate households are not counted as part of the same census family. As is the case today, the ‘snapshot’ of living arrangements taken on Census Day does not fully capture the living arrangements of individuals over the course of their childhood years.


Notes

  1. Che-Alford, J., C. Allan and G. Butlin. 1994. Focus on Canada: Families in Canada, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 96-307E, Prentice Hall Canada.
  2. Gauthier, H. 1971. The Census Definition of Family: 1871-1971, Population and Housing Research Memorandum no. PH-FAM-1, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 1570E.
  3. Wargon, S.T. 1979. Children in Canadian Families, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 98-810.
  4. Wargon, 1979. pages 11 to 12.
  5. Wargon, 1979. page 12.
  6. Wargon, 1979. page 13.
  7. Wargon, 1979. page 12.
  8. Wargon, 1979. page 13.
  9. This included the exclusion of household members, designated as children in all censuses previous to that of 1976, but where (it was shown in an unpublished 1971 evaluation report) there was not, in fact, a direct parent-child relationship as required by the census family definition. Such children were, for example, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, etc., who were under 21 years of age. Unrelated wards, foster or guardianship children whether or not pay was received by the designated guardian, were classified and tabulated in 1976 as lodgers rather than as children in families. In 1971 and all censuses dating back to 1941 they had been classified as children if no pay was received.
  10. Wargon, 1979. page 14.
  11. The Census Dictionary of 1991 states (page 124): “In previous censuses, the term ‘husband-wife families’ covered both the families of now-married couples and those of common-law couples.”
  12. The Census Dictionary of 1996 states (page 124): “Data on common-law couples have only been available [as a subset of all couples] since 1981.”
  13. For more information on stepfamilies, see the 2011 Census analytical document Portrait of Families and Living Arrangements in Canada, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 98-312-X-2011001.
  14. Foster children have been ‘other relatives’ in the economic family since 2006 even though they were not published separately until 2011.  From 1976 to 1996, foster children were considered ‘lodgers’ in the economic family.
Date modified:

Publications

    Documents démographiques

    Une diversité qui perdure : le mode de vie des enfants au Canada selon les recensements des 100 dernières années

    Annexe

    Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Information archivée dans le Web

    L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    Définitions de la famille et des enfants d’un recensement à l’autre

    Dans le passé, les changements liés à la famille apportés aux questionnaires et aux concepts du recensement ont suivi les changements sociétauxNote 47. Au cours de la période couverte par le présent document, des modifications ont été apportées aux définitions liées aux enfants et aux familles (voir le tableau A1 pour un sommaire).

    Avant le Recensement de 1941, il n’y avait pas de définition uniforme de la famille, et on ne faisait pas beaucoup de distinction entre le ménage et les unités de la famille dans les publications du recensement de 1901 à 1931. Par exemple, dans les recensements de 1871 à 1911, les chambreurs, les pensionnaires, les employés et les autres personnes non apparentées étaient considérés comme des membres de la famille s’ils habitaient dans le même ménageNote 48. En 1979, l’évolution des concepts de la famille de recensement et des enfants dans les familles de recensement a été documentée comme suitNote 49 :

    Avec les années, les termes « famille » et « enfants » dans les familles ont été définis différemment dans le recensement canadien, et les totalisations des statistiques fondées sur ces définitions ont changé. Il existe des statistiques raisonnablement comparables sur les familles canadiennes depuis 1941, année où la notion de « famille de recensement » a été créée. La majeure partie des données sur les familles du recensement canadien sont préparées et publiées en fonction de ce concept, qui permet également d’avoir des statistiques relativement comparables sur les enfants de 0 à 24 ans vivant au foyerNote 50.

    D’après la définition de la famille de recensement employée dans le recensement depuis 1941, une famille comprend généralement : « […]un époux et une épouse avec ou sans enfants célibataires (peu importe leur âge), ou un parent seul, quel que soit son état matrimonial, avec un ou plusieurs enfants célibataires (peu importe leur âge) vivant dans le même logement »Note 51.

    Depuis 1956, le recensement canadien établit et publie également des données en fonction du concept de « famille économique ». Une famille économique est définie comme « [...]deux personnes ou plus vivant dans le même ménage et qui sont apparentées par le sang, par alliance ou par adoption »Note 52.

    Dans le Recensement de 1976, l’univers des familles de recensement était limité aux familles vivant dans des ménages privés canadiens seulement et excluait les familles qui vivaient dans des ménages collectifs et des ménages à l’étranger.  Cependant, cette modification du champ d’observation n’a pas affecté de façon significative la comparabilité des statistiques sur les familles et les enfantsNote 53.

    Dans les publications des recensements canadiens de 1941 à 1971, on considérait généralement comme enfants dans les familles de recensement les fils et les filles de tous âges qui étaient célibataires et vivaient au foyer. Les enfants qui avaient déjà été mariés, quel que soit leur âge, n’étaient pas considérés comme membres enfants au sens large et ne figuraient que dans quelques totalisations. La plupart des tableaux contenant des statistiques sur les enfants portaient sur ceux de 0 à 24 ans. Étaient également considérés comme enfants, les enfants adoptés et [les enfants par alliance], les enfants en foyer nourricier pour lesquels aucune rémunération n’était reçue, ainsi que les pupilles et les enfants en tutelle âgés de moins de 21 ans résidant dans le même logementNote 54.

    [Dans le Recensement de 1976, une réévaluation des concepts, des méthodes de totalisation, des procédures de dénombrement et du champ d’observation ont provoqué un certain nombre de changements qui visaient à améliorer la qualité de ces statistiques. En particulier, les changements conceptuels devaient faire concorder les statistiques sur les enfants avec la signification littérale du mot « enfant » tel qu’il est employé dans le recensement. On ne considère pas que l’élimination de certains membres des ménages autrefois totalisés comme enfants dans les famillesNote 55, que les changements de procédure dans le dénombrement de certains jeunes adultes absents du foyer pour des motifs scolaires, et que la limitation des statistiques sur la famille et les enfants aux ménages privés résidant au Canada seulement, affectent indûment la comparabilité des données sur les enfants de 0 à 24 ans de 1941 à 1976, étant donné que ces modifications sont prises en considération au besoin, c’est-à-dire lorsqu’elle peuvent introduire une différence significative lors de l’interprétation des statistiquesNote 56.

    Le concept de famille de recensement est demeuré inchangé de 1976 à 1996, et ce, malgré les changements terminologiques apportés en 1991Note 57 et la disponibilité rétroactive, remontant à 1981, des données sur les partenaires en union libre et les couples en union libreNote 58.

    Au tournant du millénaire, on a étendu de diverses façons la définition des familles de recensement et, par conséquent, la définition des enfants vivant au sein de ces familles. Le Recensement de 2001 a étendu et mieux précisé le concept des enfants dans les familles de recensement afin d’inclure ce qui suit :

    • Les enfants dans une famille de recensement qui ont déjà été mariés (il faut cependant qu’ils ne vivent pas avec le conjoint marié ou en union libre au moment du recensement). De 1941 à 1996, ils devaient être « jamais mariés ».
    • Les enfants vivant avec deux parents en union libre de même sexe — un concept qui a été étendu en 2006 pour inclure les parents mariés de même sexe.
    • Un petit-enfant vivant dans un ménage trigénérationnel dont le parent (génération intermédiaire) ne s’est jamais marié est, contrairement à ce qu’il était fait dans les recensements antérieurs, considéré comme un enfant dans la famille de recensement de ce père ou de cette mère à condition de n’habiter ni avec son propre conjoint marié, partenaire en union libre ou enfant. De 1976 à 1996, la famille de recensement se composait habituellement des deux générations plus âgées.
    • Un petit-enfant d’un autre membre du ménage, et pour lequel un parent appartenant à la génération intermédiaire est absent, est maintenant considéré comme un enfant dans la famille de recensement de son grand-parent, à condition que le petit-enfant n’habite pas avec son propre conjoint, partenaire en union libre ou enfant. De 1976 à 1996, un tel petit-enfant n’était pas considéré comme un membre d’une famille de recensement.

    Dans l’ensemble, de 1996 à 2001, on a enregistré une hausse de 1,0 % du nombre d’enfants de 24 ans et moins dans les familles de recensement en fonction du nouveau concept de 2001, tandis qu’il y aurait eu une diminution de -0,3 % du nombre d’enfants pendant cette période si les concepts étaient demeurés constants. Parmi les enfants de 24 ans et moins dans les familles monoparentales, l’augmentation a été de 11,3 % entre 1996 et 2001 en tenant compte des nouveaux concepts de 2001, comparativement à une hausse de 5,5 % si ces concepts étaient demeurés inchangés. Par conséquent, ces modifications conceptuelles nous obligent à interpréter avec prudence les comparaisons historiques des familles de recensement, surtout dans le cas des familles monoparentales.

    Depuis le Recensement de 2011, un enfant vivant avec deux parents pouvait également être classé comme vivant dans une famille intacte ou dans une famille recomposée. Un enfant par alliance est défini comme étant un enfant vivant au sein d’une famille composée d’un couple marié ou en union libre et qui est l’enfant biologique ou adoptif d’un et un seul conjoint au sein de ce couple. Une famille recomposée est une famille de recensement comptant un couple et au moins un tel enfant.

    En outre, en 2011, on pouvait établir une distinction entre les enfants vivant dans une famille recomposée simple ou une famille recomposée complexeNote 59. Une famille recomposée simple désigne une famille comptant un couple marié ou en union libre et où tous les enfants présents sont les enfants biologiques ou adoptifs d’un et un seul des conjoints et dont la naissance ou l’adoption précédait la relation actuelle. Il y a trois types de familles recomposées complexes :  une famille comptant un couple où il y a au moins un enfant des deux conjoints et au moins un enfant d’un et un seul conjoint; une famille comptant un couple où il y a au moins un enfant issu de l’union précédente de chaque conjoint et aucun enfant commun aux deux conjoints; enfin, une famille comptant un couple où il y a au moins un enfant commun aux deux conjoints et au moins un enfant issu de l’union précédente de chaque conjoint.

    Tout au long du document, le terme « enfant » désigne les enfants biologiques ou adoptifs de 24 ans et moins vivant dans le même logement que leur(s) parent(s) dans l’univers des ménages privés, sauf indication contraire. La volonté d’établir des tendances historiques est la principale raison de ce choix puisque des données statistiques sur les enfants de 24 ans et moins ont été publiées pour la plupart des recensements. De plus, cette limite d’âge permet de refléter une certaine dépendance des enfants par rapport à leur(s) parent(s).

    On peut ajouter que les personnes qui sont généralement considérées comme des enfants ne sont pas toutes catégoriées comme des « enfants » dans les familles de recensement. Dans le Recensement de 2011, par exemple, 89,2 % de la population de 24 ans et moins vivant dans un ménage privé étaient des enfants dans des familles de recensement, tandis que la proportion restante de 10,8 % présentaient d’autres modes de vie. Les « enfants en famille d’accueil », qui sont considérés comme d’« autres personnes apparentées » dans une famille économiqueNote 60, ne sont pas considérés comme des « enfants » dans les familles de recensement depuis 1976. Depuis 1941, la proportion de la population de 24 ans et moins dans les ménages privés vivant hors d’une famille de recensement n’a pas dépassé 20,7 %.

    Le terme « enfant » peut être employé dans d’autres contextes, comme celui des jeunes adultes vivant au sein du foyer parental. Dans ce dernier cas, le terme « enfant » est défini dans le contexte du concept des familles économique, c'est‑à‑dire le fils ou la fille de la personne repère de la famille économique. Ces enfants adultes peuvent vivre au sein du foyer parental en compagnie d’un conjoint marié ou d’un partenaire en union libre ou d’enfants propres.

    Les définitions du mode de vie dans le contexte du recensement se limitent aux modes de vie en cohabitation. Les membres de la famille immédiate vivant dans des ménages séparés ne sont pas dénombrés comme des membres de la même famille de recensement. Comme c’est toujours le cas aujourd’hui, les recensements permettent d’obtenir une photo à un moment précis, le jour du recensement, du mode de vie des personnes; dans ce contexte, le recensement ne saisit pas complètement le mode de vie des enfants durant toute leur enfance.


    Notes

    1. Che-Alford, J., C. Allan et G. Butlin. 1994. Focus on Canada: Families in Canada, 96-307E au catalogue de Statistique Canada et Prentice Hall Canada.
    2. Gauthier, H. 1971. L’évolution de la définition de la famille du recensement de 1871 au recensement de 1971, note de recherche sur la population et le logement, PH-FAM-2, 1570F au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
    3. Wargon, S.T. 1979. L’enfant dans la famille canadienne, 98-810 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
    4. Wargon. 1979, pages 11 à 12.
    5. Wargon. 1979, page 12.
    6. Wargon. 1979, page 13.
    7. Wargon. 1979, page 12.
    8. Wargon. 1979, page 13.
    9. Ceci comprend l’exclusion des membres du ménage qui étaient auparavant désignés comme des enfants dans tous les recensements avant celui de 1976, mais pour lesquels il n’y avait pas (selon un rapport d’évaluation non publié de 1971), en fait, de lien parent-enfant direct comme l’exige la définition de famille de recensement. Ces enfants étaient, par exemple, des petits-enfants, nièces, neveux, etc., qui avaient moins de 21 ans. Les pupilles sans lien de parenté, les enfants en foyer d’accueil et en tutelle, qu’une rémunération ait été touchée ou non par les adultes responsables, étaient classés et totalisés en 1976 comme des chambreurs au lieu d’enfants dans les familles. En 1971 et dans tous les recensements précédents jusqu’à celui de 1941, ils avaient été classés comme des enfants si aucune rémunération n’avait été touchée.
    10. Wargon. 1979, page 14.
    11. Le Dictionnaire du Recensement de 1991 indique (page 149) « Lors des recensements antérieurs, le terme « familles époux-épouse » désignait tant les familles comptant un couple actuellement marié que celles comptant un couple en union libre ».
    12. Le Dictionnaire du Recensement de 1996 indique (page 147) « Les données sur les couples vivant en union libre ne sont disponibles que depuis 1981 [comme sous-ensemble de tous les couples] ».
    13. Pour plus d’information sur les familles recomposées, voir le document analytique du Recensement de 2011 intitulé Portrait des familles et situation des particuliers dans les ménages au Canada, 98-312-X-2011001 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
    14. Les enfants en famille d’accueil sont considérés comme « d’autres personnes apparentées » dans la famille économique depuis 2006, même si les données les concernant n’étaient pas publiées séparément avant 2011. De 1976 à 1996, les enfants en famille d’accueil étaient considérés comme des « chambreurs » dans la famille économique.
    Date de modification :