Statistics Canada - Statistique Canada
Skip main navigation menuSkip secondary navigation menuHomeFrançaisContact UsHelpSearch the websiteCanada Site
The DailyCanadian StatisticsCommunity ProfilesProducts and servicesHome
CensusCanadian StatisticsCommunity ProfilesProducts and servicesOther links

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Publication's logo
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
91-215-XWE
Annual Demographic Estimates: Canada, Provinces and Territories
2005-2006


Analysis

On July 1, 2006, the population of Canada was estimated at 32,623,500, an increase of 324,000 compared with the same date in 2005. At 10.0 per 1,000, last year’s growth rate is near the average of 10.2 per 1,000 seen since the beginning of the millenium.

The rate of natural increase, estimated at 3.3 per 1,000 in 2005/2006, is similar to that for the previous year. While the rate has been fairly stable since the beginning of the millennium, it is nevertheless characterized over the long term by a decrease that began in the early 1990s.

As a result, net international migration is assuming growing importance as a prime engine of population growth in Canada. In 2005/2006, two-thirds (66.5%) of the increase in the nation's population was due to population exchanges between Canada and the rest of the world. This percentage has remained consistently above 60.0% since 1999/2000. Comparatively, net international migration accounted for 46.0% of Canada's population growth in the nineties and for 34.8% in the eighties.

Chart 1Components of annual demographic growth, 1971/1972 to 2005/2006,
Canada

Population growth in Canada is currently slightly exceeding what it is measured for the United States. In 2004/2005, the last year for which American data are available, population in the U.S. grew at a rate of 9.3 per 1,000 while Canada’s rate was at 9.6. Moreover, net international migration as a factor in population growth is much more significant in our country than it is in the U.S. In 2004/2005, net international migration explained about two thirds of the Canadian demographic growth while it accounted for only 38.1% in U.S. Our neighbours to the south rely on a much stronger birth rate to increase their population than Canadians currently do.

According to the average growth scenarios derived from the most recent population projections published by Statistics Canada (Catalogue no 91-520), the number of deaths would exceed the number of births around 2030. Thereafter, net international migration will become the only source of population growth in Canada.

A sustained immigration

In 2005/2006, Canada welcomed 254,400 immigrants, a peak since 2001/2002 (256,300), and 9,800 more than the previous year. Canada's immigration rate (7.8 per 1,000) has increased for the third consecutive year, and is the highest since 2001/2002 (8.2 per 1,000).

A vast majority of immigrants still settles in one of the three largest provinces of the country (Ontario, Québec and British Columbia). Last year, 86.1% of newcomers chose one of these three provinces. This proportion is somewhat decreasing since the 2001/2002 high (89.7%).

This decrease is mainly explained by a decrease of the Ontario’s draw for new immigrants.The attraction that Ontario holds for new Canadians has been diminishing since it peaked in the early 2000s (59.6% in 2001/2002), and has never been as low since 1993/1994 (51.1%).

An uneven population growth

During the 2005/2006 year, four jurisdictions posted a demographic growth higher than the national average: Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Nunavut. Conversely, five jurisdictions recorded population losses: Northwest Territories, Saskatchewan, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

The last year was marked by a strong increase of the Alberta net interprovincial migration which, supported by a booming economy, reached a record high of 57,100 persons. It is 22,700 more than last year. The former record was 46,000 in 1980/1981, during the first oil boom. Over the last year, net interprovincial migration to Alberta accounted for 58.2% of the province's total growth. Moreover, Alberta is posting the highest natural growth amongst all provinces.

Because of this strong population influx from other Canadian areas, Alberta's population growth rate (29.5 per 1,000) was almost three times higher than the rate for Canada as a whole.

Nevertheless, international migration attenuated the effects of the Alberta draw in certain regions. During the last year, net international migration was the main demographic factor for eight of the 10 provinces.

Hence, British Columbia also experienced growth (12.3 per 1,000) above the national rate, thanks in particular to an increase in international migration, which accounted for 72.1% of its total growth. The number of new arrivals in the province (43,900) has increased for the third consecutive year and had not been this high since 1996/1997 (53,200), at a time when there was a significant influx of immigrants from Hong Kong. This increase made British Columbia moved back into second place as an immigrant destination, overtaking Quebec for the first time since 2000/2001.

Manitoba also experienced growth (3.1 per 1,000), mainly as a result of its net international migration. Over the course of last year, the province accepted 8,900 immigrants, a historic high. Manitoba’s immigration rate (7.6 per 1,000) is the third highest in the country.

Because of its losses to other provinces, particularly Alberta, Saskatchewan recorded a deficit (-4.6 per 1,000) for the ninth time in the last 10 years (See chart 2 ).

In central Canada, Ontario (10.2 per 1,000) grew at a rate similar to that of the rest of the country, again because of an immigration rate (10.5 per 1,000) which is the highest in the country. Ontario’s draw for new immigrants offset growing losses from interprovincial migration.

Quebec's population growth rate was slightly lower at 7.1 per 1,000. However, Quebec’s birth rate is rising. Data for 2005/2006 show that the number of births in Quebec (78,500) has not been as high since 1996/1997 (82,900). Moreover, Quebec attracted 42 000 immigrants over the last year. If this number is decreasing for a second year in a row, it stays much higher that what was observed since the beginning of the 1990’s (51,600 in 1991/1992).

Chart 2Population growth rates, 2004/2005 and 2005/2006, Canada,
provinces and territories

In Atlantic Canada, only Prince Edward Island had a positive rate of increase (2.5 per 1,000). The other three provinces lost population at various rates: Newfoundland and Labrador (-8.4 per 1,000), New Brunswick (-3.1 per 1,000) and Nova Scotia (-1.8 per 1,000). These three provinces lost population as a result of negative net interprovincial migration and a lower rate of natural increase than the rest of Canada.

Newfoundland and Labrador, with a decrease in population for the 14th consecutive year, is the first Canadian jurisdiction to record more deaths than births during a year, and there seems to be no sign, in the short term, of change for this situation. Moreover, if current trends continue, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia should experience the same phenomenon in the years ahead.

Of the northern Territories, Nunavut is distinguished by a growth rate of 24.4 per 1,000, well above the Canadian average. This marked increase is due essentially to a fertility rate (more than three children per woman) that is double the national rate. Largely because of their growing losses to interprovincial migration, Yukon (3.5 per 1,000) had its slowest growth in the last four years, while the Northwest Territories (-18.2 per 1,000) showed negative population growth for the first time since 1997/1998 (-19.9 per 1,000) (See chart 3 ).

Interprovincial migration affected by the lure of Alberta

The record demographic movement (+57,100) to Alberta in 2005/2006 has affected the demographics of other regions in Canada. For example, 10 jurisdictions out of 13 showed a negative balance in interprovincial migration. In addition to Alberta, British Columbia (+3,800) and Nunavut (+100) showed increases in their exchanges with other regions. Were it not for interprovincial migration, all the jurisdictions that recorded deficits would have shown positive population growth.

Because of this increase in Alberta’s gains from other provinces, interprovincial losses for most of the jurisdictions showing a deficit in 2004/2005 were aggravated in 2005/2006. In the case of Ontario, losses almost doubled, from -11,200 to -21,400, a figure that had not been seen since 1980-1981 (-33,900). The negative balance recorded by Nova Scotia (-3,900) was unprecedented. New Brunswick (-3,800) had not dealt with such a large loss (-5,000) since 1980-1981. Manitoba and Saskatchewan had not experienced such losses since the beginning of the 1990s. In British Columbia, increases fell by half, from 8,200 to 3,800. Only Prince Edward Island and Nunavut, which had higher net positive interprovincial migration in 2005/2006 than it did the year before, seem not to have been affected by this stronger pull towards Alberta.

Chart 3Demographic growth rates by component, 2005/2006, Canada, provinces
and territories

Proportionally, the Northwest Territories decreased the most, with a net interprovincial migration rate of -31.4 per 1,000. Saskatchewan came next (-9.2 per 1,000), followed by Newfoundland and Labrador (-8.5 per 1,000) and Manitoba (-7.3 per 1,000).

In 2005/2006, Alberta was the region of choice for migrants from seven of the other 12 Canadian jurisdictions. In all other cases, it came second among preferred destinations. The neighbouring regions were the most affected. Thus, more than half of interprovincial migrants from the Northwest Territories (50.3%), British Columbia (58.1%) and Saskatchewan (62.8%) moved to Alberta.

Ontario was favoured by migrants from Quebec (58.0%), Nova Scotia (31.2%), Prince-Edward Island (24.6%) and Nunavut (21.2%). British Columbia was the destination for migrants who left Alberta (43.3%) and the Yukon (37.9%).

If Alberta is excluded from the interprovincial migration picture, British Columbia is the province showing the strongest net increase (+11,300). After British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador (+600), Prince Edward Island (+400), Nova Scotia (+200), the Yukon (+100) and Nunavut (+100) are the other jurisdictions—apart from Alberta—to have gained more interprovincial migrants than they lost.



Home | Search | Contact Us | Français Return to top of page
Date Modified: 2006-09-27 Important Notices

Statistique Canada - Statistics Canada
Sauter la barre de navigation principaleSauter la barre de navigation secondaireAccueilEnglishContactez-nousAideRecherche site webSite du Canada
Le quotidienLe Canada en statistiquesProfils des communautésNos produits et servicesAccueil
RecensementLe Canada en statistiquesProfils des communautésNos produits et servicesAutres liens

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Logo de la publication
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
91-215-XWF
Estimations démographiques annuelles, Canada, provinces et territoires
2005-2006


Analyse

Au 1er juillet 2006, la population canadienne était estimée à 32 623 500 habitants, une hausse de 324 000 personnes par rapport au 1er juillet de l’année précédente. À 10,0 pour mille, le taux d'accroissement de la dernière année s’apparente à ce qui a été observé depuis le début du nouveau millénaire (10,2 pour mille).

Le taux d’accroissement naturel, estimé à 3,3 pour mille en 2005-2006 est semblable à celui de l’année précédente. Si ce taux est assez stable depuis le début du millénaire, il n’en reste pas moins que, dans le long terme, il est caractérisé par une baisse amorcée au début des années 1990.

De ce fait, le solde de la migration internationale prend de plus en plus d’importance comme moteur de la croissance démographique du pays. En 2005-2006, les deux tiers (66,5 %) de l’accroissement de la population canadienne s’expliquent par des gains dans les échanges démographiques du pays avec le reste du monde. Cette proportion est constamment supérieure à 60,0% depuis 1999-2000. En comparaison, l’importance du solde migratoire international comptait pour 46,0 % de l’accroissement démographique canadien au cours de la décennie 1990 et 34,8% au cours de la décennie 1980 (voir le graphique 1 ).

Graphique 1Composantes de l'accroissement démographique annuel, 1971-1972 à 2005-2006,
Canada

Actuellement, la croissance démographique canadienne est légèrement supérieure à celle des États-Unis. En 2004-2005, dernière année pour laquelle les statistiques américaines sont disponibles, l’accroissement démographique états-unien était de 9,3 pour 1000 comparativement à 9,6 pour mille pour le Canada. De plus, l’importance de l’immigration dans la croissance démographique canadienne est beaucoup plus importante qu’aux États-Unis. Alors qu’en 2004-2005, le solde migratoire international expliquait les deux tiers de l’augmentation de la population du Canada, il ne comptait que pour 38,1 % aux États-Unis. L’augmentation de la population de nos voisins du sud repose sur une fécondité beaucoup plus forte que celle du pays.

Selon les scénarios de croissance moyenne des plus récentes projections démographiques publiées par Statistique Canada (catalogue 91-520–X), le nombre de décès excéderait celui des naissances autour de 2030. À partir de ce moment, le solde de la migration internationale deviendrait le seul facteur de croissance démographique du pays.

Une immigration soutenue

Au cours de l’année 2005-2006, le Canada a accueilli 254 400 immigrants, un sommet depuis 2001-2002 (256 300) et 9 800 de plus que l'année précédente. Le taux d’immigration canadien (7,8 pour mille) est en hausse pour une troisième année consécutive et est le plus élevé depuis 2001-2002 (8,2 pour mille).

La grande majorité des immigrants continuent de choisir comme lieu de résidence l’une des trois provinces les plus populeuses du pays (Ontario, Québec et Colombie-Britannique). Au cours de la dernière année, 86,1 % des nouveaux arrivants choisissaient l’une de ces trois provinces. Cette proportion est toutefois en baisse depuis le sommet de 2001-2002 (89,7 %).

Cette diminution s’explique notamment par une baisse de l’attraction ontarienne sur les nouveaux Canadiens. Cette attraction décroît depuis les sommets du début des années 2000 (59,6 % en 2001-2002) et n’a jamais été aussi faible depuis 1993-1994 (51,1 %). Il n’en reste pas moins que plus de la moitié (52,3 %) des immigrants canadiens ont opté pour l’Ontario comme lieu de résidence en 2005-2006.

Un accroissement démographique inégal

Au cours de l’année 2005-2006, quatre juridictions ont connu un accroissement démographique supérieur à la moyenne canadienne : l’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique, l’Ontario et le Nunavut. A l’inverse, cinq juridictions ont connu des pertes : les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Saskatchewan, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Nouveau-Brunswick.

La dernière année a été marquée par une forte hausse du solde migratoire interprovincial de l’Alberta qui, supportée par une économie florissante, a atteint un niveau record (+57 100). C’est 22 700 de plus qu’en 2004-2005. L’ancienne marque, atteinte en 1980-1981 lors du premier boom pétrolier, était de 46 000. Au cours de la dernière année, le solde de la migration interprovinciale de l’Alberta a compté pour 58,2 % de sa croissance totale. De plus, l’accroissement naturel albertain est le plus élevé parmi les provinces.

Grâce à ce fort afflux démographique venant des autres régions canadiennes, le taux de croissance de la population de l’Alberta (29,5 pour mille) a été près de trois fois supérieur à celui de l’ensemble du pays.

Néanmoins, le solde de la migration a réduit les effets de l’attraction albertaine dans certaines régions. Au cours de la dernière année, la migration internationale a été le facteur démographique le plus important pour huit des 10 provinces canadiennes.

Ainsi, la Colombie-Britannique présente également un taux d’accroissement supérieur (12,3 pour mille) à celui du pays, grâce notamment à ses gains en migration internationale qui comptent pour 72,1 % de sa croissance totale. Le nombre de nouveaux arrivants en Colombie-Britannique (43 900) est en hausse pour une troisième année consécutive et n’avait pas été aussi élevé depuis 1996-1997 (53 200), période marquée par l’important flux migratoire en provenance de Hong Kong. Le taux d’immigration de la province (10,2 pour mille) est le deuxième plus élevé au pays derrière l’Ontario. Cette augmentation a permis à la Colombie-Britannique de reprendre le deuxième rang quant au nombre d’immigrants, devançant le Québec, une première depuis 2000-2001.

Le Manitoba affiche également un taux positif (3,1 pour mille) en raison notamment de son solde migratoire international. Au cours de la dernière année, le Manitoba a accueilli 8 900 immigrants, un sommet historique. Le taux d’immigration du Manitoba (7,6 pour 1 000) est le troisième plus important au pays.

En raison surtout de ses pertes vers les autres provinces, notamment l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan est déficitaire (-4,6 pour mille) pour la neuvième fois au cours des dix dernières années (voir le graphique 2 ).

Graphique 2Taux d'accroissement de la population, 2004-2005 et 2005-2006,
Canada, provinces et territoires

Dans le centre du pays, l’Ontario (10,2 pour mille) a crû à une vitesse semblable à la moyenne nationale toujours en raison du taux d’immigration (10,5 pour mille) le plus élevé au pays. L’attraction de l’Ontario pour les nouveaux immigrants compense des pertes migratoires interprovinciales de plus en plus élevées.

La population québécoise a augmenté à un rythme légèrement inférieur (7,1 pour mille). Cependant, le nombre des naissances au Québec est en hausse. En effet, les données de 2005-2006 montrent que le nombre de naissances québécoises (78 500) n’avait pas été aussi élevé depuis 1996-1997 (82 900). De plus, le Québec a reçu 42,000 immigrants au cours de la dernière année. Si ce nombre a diminué pour une deuxième année consécutive, il demeure tout de même beaucoup plus élevé que tout ce qui a été observé depuis le tournant des années 1990 (51 600 en 1991-1992).

Dans la région Atlantique, seule l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard affiche un taux d’accroissement positif (2,5 pour mille). Les trois autres provinces ont vu leur population diminuer à des rythmes différents : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (-8,4 pour mille), Nouveau-Brunswick (-3,1 pour mille) et Nouvelle-Écosse (-1,8 pour mille). Ces provinces subissent des pertes démographiques en raison notamment de leur solde migratoire interprovincial négatif et d’un accroissement naturel faible par rapport au reste du pays.

La province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, qui présente un bilan démographique négatif pour une 14e année consécutive, est la première juridiction canadienne à comptabiliser plus de décès que de naissances au cours d’une année et rien ne semble indiquer, à court terme, un renversement de situation. De plus, si les tendances se maintiennent, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse devraient vivre le même phénomène au cours des années à venir.

Quant aux territoires nordiques, le Nunavut se démarque par une croissance démographique (24,4 pour mille) largement supérieure à la moyenne canadienne. Cet accroissement marqué est essentiellement attribuable à une fécondité (plus de 3 enfants par femme) qui double celle du pays. En raison notamment à l’augmentation de leurs pertes migratoires interprovinciales, le Territoire du Yukon (3,5 pour mille) a présenté sa plus faible croissance au cours des quatre dernières années alors que les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (-18,2 pour mille) ont présenté un taux démographique négatif qui n’avait pas été mesuré depuis 1997-1998 (-19,9 pour mille) (voir le graphique 3 ).

Graphique 3Taux d'accroissement démographique selon la composante, 2005-2006,
Canada, provinces et territoires

Une migration interprovinciale marquée par l’attraction albertaine

L’attraction démographique record (+57 100) de l’Alberta en 2005-2006 a affecté la démographie des autres régions canadiennes. Ainsi, 10 juridictions sur 13 ont présenté un solde de migration interprovinciale négatif. Outre l’Alberta, seuls la Colombie-Britannique (+3 800) et le Nunavut (+100) ont enregistré des gains dans leurs échanges avec les autres régions du pays. Sans tenir compte de la migration interprovinciale, l’accroissement démographique de toutes les juridictions déficitaires aurait été positif.

Compte tenu de la forte augmentation de la migration interprovinciale nette de l’Alberta, les pertes des juridictions déficitaires en 2004-2005 ont été, pour la plupart, aggravées lors de la dernière année. Dans le cas de l’Ontario, les pertes interprovinciales ont presque doublé, passant de -11 200 à -21 400, ce qui n’avait pas été observé depuis 1980-1981 (-33 900). Le solde négatif de la Nouvelle-Écosse (-3 900) n’avait jamais été mesuré auparavant. Le Nouveau-Brunswick (-3 800) n’avait pas perdu autant depuis 1980-1981 (-5 000). Pour le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan, il faut remonter au tournant des années 1990 pour revoir pareilles pertes. Dans le cas de la Colombie-Britannique, les gains ont chuté de moitié, passant de 8 200 à 3 800. Seuls l’île-du-Prince-Édouard et le Nunavut, qui ont présenté un solde de migration interprovinciale positif plus élevé en 2005-2006 par rapport à l’année précédente, semblent ne pas avoir été affectés par cette hausse de l’attraction albertaine.

Toutes proportions gardées, ce sont les Territoires du Nord-Ouest qui ont le plus perdu avec un taux net de migration interprovinciale de -31,4 pour mille. La Saskatchewan (-9,2 pour mille), Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (-8,5 pour mille) et le Manitoba (-7,3 pour mille) ont aussi présenté d’importantes pertes.

Au cours de l’année 2005-2006, l’Alberta a été la région de prédilection des migrants de sept des 12 autres juridictions canadiennes. Dans tous les autres cas, elle était au deuxième rang des destinations privilégiées. Ce sont ses régions voisines qui ont été le plus affectées. Ainsi, plus de la moitié des migrants interprovinciaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (50,3 %), de la Colombie-Britannique (58,1 %) et de la Saskatchewan (62,8 %), ont opté pour l’Alberta.

La Colombie-Britannique et l’Ontario ont aussi été des choix privilégiés. Ainsi, la Colombie-Britannique a été le choix des migrants ayant quitté l’Alberta (43,3 %) et le Territoire du Yukon (37,9 %). Malgré un solde interprovincial nettement déficitaire, l’Ontario a tout de même été le choix premier de ceux du Québec (58,0 %), de la Nouvelle-Écosse (31,2 %), de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard (24,6 %) et du Nunavut (21,2 %).

En excluant l’Alberta des comptes de la migration interprovinciale, la Colombie-Britannique est la province qui montre le plus fort solde (+11,300). Outre cette dernière province, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (+600), l’île-du-Prince-Édouard (+400), la Nouvelle-Écosse (+200), le Territoire du Yukon (+100) et le Nunavut (+100) sont les autres juridictions, une fois l’Alberta exclue, à avoir accueilli plus de migrants interprovinciaux qu’elles n’en ont perdus.



Page d'accueil | Recherche | Contactez-nous | English Haut de la page
Date de modification : 2006-09-27 Avis importants