Highlights

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

  1. As of July 1, 2011, 23,901,900 people lived in a census metropolitan area (CMA), accounting for 69.3 % of the Canadian population.
  2. Between July 1, 2010 and July 1, 2011, the highest growth rates were observed in the CMAs of Saskatoon (25.7 per thousand), Ottawa-Gatineau, Quebec part (19.3 per thousand) and Regina (18.4 per thousand). The size of the population of only one CMA, Greater Sudbury, decreased during the last year (-6.3 per thousand).
  3. As of July 1, 2011, the median age of the population living in the country's 33 CMAs was 38.8 years, whereas the population not living in a CMA had a median age of 42.8 years.
  4. Saskatoon was the CMA with the youngest population in the country, with a median age of 34.9 years compared with 39.9 years for Canada. Apart from Saskatoon, Calgary (35.9 years), Edmonton (36.1 years) and Regina (36.3 years) were the youngest CMAs in the country. The CMAs of Saguenay and Trois-Rivières constituted the oldest CMAs in Canada. Both had a median age of 45.3 years.
  5. 60 of the 76 economic regions (ER) of the country experienced a positive demographic growth in 2010/2011. With a demographic growth of 36.0 per thousand, the ER of Wood Buffalo-Cold Lake (Fort McMurray) in Alberta stands out, capturing the top place among fastest growing ERs. In contrast, 16 ER saw declines in their population. The strongest decrease occurred in the ER of South Coast-Burin Peninsula in Newfoundland and Labrador (-15.3 per thousand).
  6. With a median age of 23.8 years as of July 1, 2011, the Northern Saskatchewan ER is the youngest region in Canada. Conversely, the Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine ER in Quebec constitutes the oldest ER in the country, with a median age of 49.0 years.
  7. 187 of the 288 census divisions (CD) experienced a positive demographic growth between July 1, 2010 and July 1, 2011. Among the fastest growing CDs, Alberta's Division No. 16 CD was far ahead with a growth rate of 61.7 per thousand. In contrast, the biggest decrease was observed in British Columbia's Stikine CD (-30.5 per thousand).
  8. The median age crossed the symbolic threshold of 50 years in 19 Canadian CDs. In comparison, 10 CDs have median ages below 30 years, while the national average is 39.9 years. Nunavut's Keewatin CD was the youngest in the country, with a median age of 22.6 years while Quebec's Mékinac and Ontario's Haliburton CDs were the oldest at 52.6 years.
Date modified:

Faits saillants

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

  1. Au 1er juillet 2011, 23 901 900 personnes vivaient dans une région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR), soit 69,3 % de la population canadienne.
  2. Entre le 1er juillet 2010 et le 1er juillet 2011, les RMR dont l'accroissement démographique a été le plus élevé sont celles de Saskatoon (25,7 pour mille), d'Ottawa-Gatineau partie québécoise (19,3 pour mille) et de Regina (18,4 pour mille). La taille de la population d'une seule RMR a diminué au cours de la dernière année, soit celle de Grand Sudbury (-6,3 pour mille).
  3. Au 1er juillet 2011, l'âge médian de la population vivant dans une des 33 RMR se chiffrait à 38,8 ans, comparativement à 42,8 ans pour la population hors RMR.
  4. Au 1er juillet 2011, Saskatoon constituait la RMR où se trouvait la population la plus jeune. L'âge médian se chiffrait à 34,9 ans, comparativement à 39,9 ans pour l'ensemble du Canada. Après Saskatoon, les autres RMR avec l'âge médian le plus faible étaient Calgary (35,9 ans), Edmonton (36,1 ans) et Regina (36,3 ans). Les RMR de Saguenay et Trois-Rivières représentaient les deux RMR les plus vieilles du Canada, avec un âge médian de 45,3 ans.
  5. 60 des 76 régions économiques RE du pays ont connu une croissance démographique en 2010-2011. C'est la région économique de Wood Buffalo-Cold Lake (Fort McMurray) en Alberta qui a affiché la plus forte croissance (36,0 pour mille). À l'inverse, 16 RÉ ont connu une décroissance. La région de Côte-sud-Burin Peninsula à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est celle qui a enregistré le déclin le plus marqué (-15,3 pour mille).
  6. La RÉ du Nord en Saskatchewan constituait la plus jeune région économique de tout le Canada au 1er juillet 2011, avec un âge médian de 23,8 ans. À l'opposé, la RÉ de Gaspésie – Îles-de-la-Madeleine au Québec est celle affichant l'âge médian le plus élevé au pays, soit 49,0 ans.
  7. 187 divisions de recensement (DR) sur un total de 288 ont enregistré un accroissement démographique positif entre le 1er juillet 2010 et le 1er juillet 2011. La croissance la plus élevée du pays a été enregistrée dans la DR Division No. 16 en Alberta (Fort McMurray) avec une croissance de 61,7 pour mille. En revanche, la DR de Stikine en Colombie-Britannique se démarque en raison de son taux de décroissance, le plus important du pays à -30,5 pour mille.
  8. L'âge médian de la population a franchi le cap symbolique des 50 ans dans 19 DR du Canada. En revanche, 10 DR affichent un âge médian inférieur à 30 ans. À l'échelle nationale, l'âge médian de l'ensemble de la population est de 39,9 ans. La DR la plus jeune est celle de Keewatin au Nuvanut, avec un âge médian de 22,6 ans, tandis que Mékinac au Québec et Haliburton en Ontario sont les DR les plus vieilles, avec un âge médian de 52,6 ans.
Date de modification :