Language Projections for Canada, 2011 to 2036
Introduction

On the eve of the 150th anniversary of Confederation, in 2017, Canada can be described as a nation of great ethnic, linguistic and cultural diversity. We owe this rich diversity largely not only to the international immigration that we have seen over the decades, particularly since the beginning of the last century, but also to the presence of Aboriginal peoples (First Nations people, Métis and Inuit) on the territory long before the arrival of the first European settlers. The 200 or so languages that are spoken or understood, which include at least some sixty Aboriginal languages, and just as many ethnic or cultural origins declared on recent censuses, are a testament to Canada’s diversity.

The expansion of linguistic diversity of the population reflects the fact that the country’s two official languages–English and French–have exerted a strong pull as languages of convergence and integration into Canadian society, particularly as languages of work, education and the delivery of government services to the public.Note 1

At the time of the 1871 CensusNote 2 – the first census conducted after Confederation – Canadians of British and French origin represented respectively 61% and 31% of the country’s population. In 2011, while 20% of the Canadian population reported a mother tongue other than English or French, close to 9 out of 10 of these individuals reported speaking English or French at home.

This duality, which defines the legislative framework of language planning in Canada, is validated by the fact that, despite the diverse language practices and characteristics that have arisen out of immigration-based population growth, the country’s two official languages remain key vectors for integrating into and becoming fully contributing members of Canadian society.Note 3

International immigration is the main driver of Canadian population growth.Note 4 The primary effect it has had on the language situation is increasing the population for whom neither English nor French is their mother tongue or home language. In addition, the geographic and linguistic make-up of international immigrants has a direct impact on the demolinguistic balance between English and French across the country, such that the vast majority of immigrants are far more likely to adopt English as the main language in Canada outside Quebec. Nationally, this influence is further exacerbated by the fact that Quebec–home to the vast majority of Canada’s French-speaking population–receives less than its share of the immigrant population in relation to its demographic weight in the country. For example, in 2011, Quebec was the province of residence of 14.4% of the country’s immigrants, whereas its population represented 23.6% of the Canadian population.Note 5

In the 25 years leading up to the 2011 Census and the 2011 National Household Survey, Canada admitted an average of 230,000 immigrants per year. During that period, the demographic weight of the population whose mother tongue was neither English nor French rose from 12.5% to 20.6%,Note 6 whereas the weight of the French-mother-tongue population fell from 25.1% to 21.7%, and the weight of the and English-mother tongue population declined from 62.3% to 57.8%.

In 1986, the English-mother-tongue population represented close to 10.4% of the Quebec population, whereas the other-mother-tongue population (other than English or French) accounted for 6.8% of the population. However, in 2011, there were considerably more individuals with an other mother tongue than with English as their mother (12.8% compared with 8.3%). Moreover, French was the mother tongue of less than 79% of the population in 2011, down 4 percentage points from 1986.

In Canada outside Quebec, the population with French as a mother tongue and even as its first official language spoken grew by more than 60,000 people in 25 years. However, its demographic weight decreased from 5% in 1986 to 4% in 2011.

As we will see later in our study, “other” languages are generally more prevalent as a mother tongue than as the home language. In 2011, while more than one in five had a mother tongue other than English or French, 12.6% of the Canadian population reported speaking a language other than English or French most often at home. This observation attests in part to the scope of the penetration of official languages in the homes of the “other mother tongue” population. This compared with 8.1% in Quebec and 14.0% in Canada outside Quebec.

With regard to knowledge of the country’s official languages, the number of people who are able to conduct a conversation in English and French grew by 1.7 million in the 25 years preceding the 2011 NHS, to 5.8 million. This translated into a rise in the bilingualism rate across the country from 16.2% to 17.5%, which was mainly attributable to the Quebec population. In fact, the growth of the bilingual English-French population was higher in Quebec than in the rest of Canada. In 2011, 57.4% of the English-French bilingual population was living in Quebec, compared with 54.9% in 1986. Furthermore, the growth observed from 1986 to 2011 across the country masks a decline of the bilingualism rate between 2001 and 2011 in Canada outside Quebec, which went from 10.3% to 9.7%.Note 7

As for knowledge of French, the minority official language across the country, 10 million people could conduct a conversation in French in 2011, compared with 8 million 25 years earlier. However, in terms of relative share, this represented a decline from 32% to just under 30%.Note 8

Given that the size and share of the immigrant population stand to grow over the next 25 years,Note 9 how will the language situation and characteristics of the country’s population change? Aside from international immigration, what demographic factors are likely to have the strongest influence on this change? How will the country’s demolinguistic balance between the English- and French-speaking populations evolve? How might the size and share of the population that are able to speak both official languages change? This study will attempt to answer these questions, among others.

The first chapter of our study presents a brief review of the literature and earlier work on projections of the language situation in Canada, and Quebec in particular. We will then demonstrate how the methodology chosen for our language projections–microsimulation–is different from the method generally used in the past (macrosimulation using the component method) and the advantages we stand to gain from it. The first chapter also discusses the main language indicators or variables from the census or the 2011 National Household Survey used in this study, and compares them with other available language data on projections of the language situation in Canada. We will conclude this chapter by presenting and justifying the various scenarios used in our language projections.

The second chapter presents the demographic factors and dimensions that have influenced the evolution of the country’s language situation over the past 40 years and the ones that are likely to shape it between now and 2036. We will present the roles and influence of immigration (levels and composition by geolinguistic origin), natural increase (births minus deaths), internal migration, as well as intragenerational and intergenerational linguistic mobility.

The third chapter of our study presents the results of our projections of the evolution of the language situation in Canada from 2011 to 2036. Specifically, we look at the mother tongue, language spoken most often at home and the first official language spoken of Canadians, and examine and present a number of alternative scenarios.

The fourth chapter examines and measures the potential influence that each factor presented in Chapter 2 could have on the evolution of language groups between now and 2036, as presented in Chapter 3. This chapter also presents the results of the evolution of language transfers (also called shifts) of Canadians; in other words, when individuals speak a language other than their mother tongue most often at home.

The fifth chapter deals with changes in knowledge of official languages and, more specifically, the evolution of English-French bilingualism in Canada and in various regions. It also discusses the evolution of the ability to conduct a conversation in French, a minority official language in Canada. We will highlight some of the factors that have, in recent decades, shaped the current status of English-French bilingualism in the country, and others that are likely to influence its development going forward. The evolution of bilingualism is examined in light of a number of scenarios regarding immigration rates, the bilingualism rates of immigrants upon arrival in Canada, and the rates of bilingualism retention among young people over time.

Lastly, the sixth chapter in our study presents an overview of the relationship between linguistic diversity and linguistic duality in Canada from 2011 to 2036. This final section sheds light on the link between a population growth driven mainly by a highly diverse immigrant population whose mother tongue is other than English or French, and the changes in the number and demographic weight of English and French speakers in Canada.


Date modified:

Projections linguistiques pour le Canada, 2011 à 2036
Introduction

À l’aube du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération qui aura lieu en 2017, le Canada se caractérise par une grande diversité ethnique, linguistique et culturelle. Cette diversité est largement tributaire non seulement de l’apport de l’immigration internationale au fil des décennies, en particulier depuis le début du siècle dernier, mais également de la présence des peuples autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis) sur le territoire bien avant l'arrivée des premiers colons européens. En témoignent les quelque 200 langues parlées ou connues, dont une soixantaine de langues autochtones, et autant d’origines ethniques ou culturelles déclarées lors des recensements récents.

La croissance de la diversité linguistique observée au sein de la population s’est inscrite dans une mouvance où les deux langues officielles du pays, l'anglais et le français, ont exercé une forte attraction comme vecteurs de convergence et d'intégration à la société canadienne, notamment comme langues de travail, langues d'éducation et langues de service avec les administrations publiquesNote 1.

Au moment du recensement de 1871Note 2 – premier recensement tenu après la création de la Confédération –, les Canadiens d’origine britannique et d’origine française représentaient respectivement 61 % et 31 % de la population du pays. En 2011, bien que 20 % de la population canadienne n’avait ni le français ni l’anglais comme langue maternelle, près de neuf Canadiens sur dix déclaraient parler l’anglais ou le français à la maison.

Cette dualité qui caractérise le cadre législatif de l’aménagement linguistique au Canada se trouve donc renforcée du fait qu’en dépit de cette grande diversité des pratiques et des caractéristiques linguistiques découlant de la croissance de la population issue de l’immigration, les deux langues officielles du pays demeurent les vecteurs clés de l’intégration et de la pleine participation à la société canadienneNote 3.

L'immigration internationale est le principal moteur de croissance de la population canadienneNote 4. Sa principale répercussion en matière linguistique est l'augmentation de la population n'ayant ni le français ni l'anglais comme langue maternelle ou comme principale langue d’usage à la maison. De plus, sa composition géographique et linguistique exerce une influence directe sur l'équilibre démolinguistique entre le français et l'anglais au Canada dans la mesure où la forte majorité de ces immigrants ont une très forte propension à adopter l’anglais comme principale langue d’usage au Canada hors Québec. À l’échelle nationale, cette influence est également exacerbée par le fait que le Québec, où réside la forte majorité de la population de langue française au pays, accueille et intègre une part de la population immigrante inférieure à son poids démographique au sein de la fédération.

Ainsi, en 2011, le Québec était la province de résidence de 14,4 % des immigrants au pays, alors que sa population représentait 23,6 % de la population canadienneNote 5.

Au cours des 25 années ayant précédé le recensement et l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011, le Canada a admis en moyenne environ 230 000 immigrants annuellement. Durant cette période, le poids démographique de la population n’ayant ni le français ni l’anglais comme langue maternelle est passé de 12,5 % à 20,6 %Note 6, alors que celui des populations de langue maternelle française et de la langue maternelle anglaise passait de 25,1 % à 21,7 % et de 62,3 % à 57,8 % respectivement.

Au Québec, alors que la population de langue maternelle anglaise représentait en 1986 près de 10,4 % de la population, celle de langue maternelle tierce (autre que française ou anglaise) se situait à 6,8 %. En 2011, on y comptait proportionnellement plus de personnes de langue maternelle tierce que de langue maternelle anglaise (12,8 % vs 8,3 %). Le français était quant à lui la langue maternelle de moins de 79 % de la population en 2011, soit environ 4 points de pourcentage de moins qu’en 1986.

Au Canada hors Québec, bien que la population ayant le français comme langue maternelle, voire comme première langue officielle parlée, se soit accrue de plus de 60 000 personnes en un quart de siècle, son poids démographique est quant à lui passé de 5 % en 1986 à 4 % en 2011.

Comme nous le verrons plus loin dans notre étude, la présence des langues tierces en tant que langue maternelle est généralement plus répandue que leur usage principal à la maison. En 2011, alors que plus d'un Canadien sur cinq avait une langue maternelle autre que le français ou l'anglais (langue tierce), c'est plutôt 12,6 % de la population qui déclarait parler l'une de ces langues le plus souvent au foyer, une situation qui témoigne en partie de l'ampleur de la pénétration des langues officielles dans l'espace privé des personnes de langue maternelle tierce. Au Québec, il s’agissait de 8,1 % de la population, alors qu’à l’extérieur de cette province, c’était le fait de 14,0 % de la population.

En ce qui a trait à la connaissance des langues officielles du pays, la population capable de soutenir une conversation dans les deux langues officielles du pays s’est accrue de 1,7 million de personnes au cours du quart de siècle ayant précédé l’ENM pour atteindre 5,8 millions en 2011. Cela s’est traduit par une hausse du taux de bilinguisme dans l’ensemble du pays de 16,2 % à 17,5 %, principalement attribuable à la population du Québec. La croissance de la population bilingue français-anglais a en effet été plus importante au Québec que dans le reste du pays. Cette province regroupait 57,4 % de la population bilingue (français-anglais) du pays en 2011 comparativement à 54,9 % en 1986. De plus, il faut noter que la croissance observée entre 1986 et 2011 dans l’ensemble du pays masque le recul du taux de bilinguisme observé entre 2001 et 2011 au Canada hors Québec, lequel passait de 10,3 % à 9,7 %Note 7.

En matière de connaissance du français, langue officielle minoritaire à l’échelle du pays, 10 millions de personnes pouvaient soutenir une conversation dans cette langue en 2011, comparativement à 8 millions 25 ans plus tôt. En termes de part relative cependant, il s’agissait d’un recul de 32 % à un peu moins de 30 %Note 8.

Puisque l’effectif et la part relative des personnes issues de l’immigration iront vraisemblablement en s’accroissant au cours du prochain quart de siècleNote 9, qu’en sera-t-il de l’évolution de la situation et des caractéristiques linguistiques de la population du pays? Outre l’immigration internationale, quels sont les facteurs démographiques susceptibles d’exercer la plus forte influence sur cette évolution? Comment l’équilibre démolinguistique entre les populations de langue française et de langue anglaise au pays et dans ses diverses régions évoluera-t-il? Quelle pourrait être l’évolution de l’effectif et de la proportion de la population pouvant parler les deux langues officielles du pays? C’est à ce type de questions que la présente étude tentera de répondre.

Le premier chapitre de notre étude présente d'abord un bref survol de la littérature et des travaux antérieurs en matière de projection de la situation linguistique au Canada et au Québec en particulier. Ensuite, nous montrons en quoi l'approche méthodologique privilégiée pour nos projections linguistiques, soit celle de la microsimulation, se distingue de celle qui a généralement été utilisée par le passé (méthode de macrosimulation par la méthode des composantes) et quels avantages on peut en tirer. Cette première section discute également des principaux indicateurs ou variables linguistiques du recensement ou de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 utilisées dans notre étude, et les met en perspective avec les autres informations linguistiques disponibles à des fins de projections de la situation linguistique au pays. Finalement, nous terminerons cette section en présentant et en justifiant les divers scénarios utilisés dans nos projections linguistiques.

Le second chapitre de notre étude présente les divers facteurs ou dimensions démographiques ayant eu une influence sur l'évolution de la situation linguistique au pays au cours des 40 dernières années ainsi que ceux susceptibles de l'influencer d’ici 2036. Sont ainsi tour à tour présentés les rôles et l'influence de l'immigration (niveaux et composition en matière d'origine géolinguistique), de l’accroissement naturel (naissances moins les décès), les migrations internes ainsi que les mobilités linguistiques intra et intergénérationnelles.

Le troisième chapitre de notre étude présente des résultats tirés de nos projections sur l’évolution de la situation linguistique au pays entre 2011 et 2036 en ce qui a trait à la langue maternelle, la langue parlée le plus souvent à la maison et la première langue officielle parlée des Canadiens. Divers scénarios alternatifs sont examinés et présentés à cette fin.

Le quatrième chapitre examine et mesure l’influence possible de chacun des facteurs présentés au chapitre 2 et qui pourraient influer sur l’évolution plausible des groupes linguistiques d’ici 2036 telle que présentée au chapitre 3. Nous y présentons entre autres des résultats sur l’évolution des transferts (aussi appelés substitutions) linguistiques des Canadiens, c’est-à-dire ceux parlant une autre langue que leur langue maternelle le plus souvent à la maison.

Le cinquième chapitre porte sur l’évolution de la connaissance des langues officielles et, plus spécifiquement, sur l’évolution du bilinguisme français-anglais au Canada et dans les diverses régions du pays. Il aborde également l’évolution de la capacité de soutenir une conversation en français, langue officielle minoritaire à l’échelle nationale. Il met en lumière quelques-uns des facteurs qui, au fil des décennies récentes, ont eu une influence sur l'état actuel du bilinguisme français-anglais au pays et ceux susceptibles d'influencer son évolution future. L’évolution du bilinguisme est examinée à la lumière d’un certain nombre de scénarios en ce qui a trait aux taux d’immigration, au taux de bilinguisme des immigrants à leur arrivée ainsi qu’aux taux de rétention du bilinguisme chez les jeunes au fil du temps.

Finalement, la sixième et dernière section de notre étude présente une vue d’ensemble du lien entre diversité et dualité linguistique au Canada sur l’horizon 2011-2036. Cette dernière partie permet de mettre en lumière le lien entre la croissance de la population principalement alimentée par une immigration très diversifiée et de langue maternelle autre que française ou anglaise et l’évolution de l’effectif et du poids démographique des locuteurs du français et de l’anglais au Canada.


Date de modification :