Table A4.3
Problem solving – Description of Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies proficiency levels, 2012

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Table A4.3
Problem solving – Description of Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies proficiency levels, 2012
Table summary
This table displays the results of Problem solving – Description of Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies proficiency levels, 2012. The information is grouped by Level (appearing as row headers), Score range (appearing as column headers).
Level Score range
Non-respondents
This category includes those individuals who did not report previous computer experience, did not pass the ICT core test, or opted not to be assessed by a computer-based test.
Note ...: not applicable
Below 1
Tasks are based on well-defined problems involving the use of only one function within a generic interface to meet one explicit criterion without any categorical, inferential reasoning or transforming of information. Few steps are required and no sub-goal has to be generated.
0 to 240
1
At this level, tasks typically require the use of widely available and familiar technology applications, such as e-mail software or a web browser. There is little or no navigation required to access to the information or commands required to solve the problem. The problem may be solved regardless of respondents' awareness and use of specific tools and functions (e.g., a sort function). The tasks involve few steps and a minimal number of operators. At the cognitive level, the respondent can readily infer the goal from the task statement; problem resolution requires the respondent to apply explicit criteria; and there are few monitoring demands (e.g., the respondent does not have to check whether he or she has used the appropriate procedure or made progress toward the solution). Identifying contents and operators can be done through simple match. Only simple forms of reasoning, such as assigning items to categories, are required; there is no need to contrast or integrate information.
241 to 290
2
At this level, tasks typically require the use of both generic and specific technology applications. For instance, respondents may have to make use of a novel online form. Some navigation across pages and applications is required to solve the problem. The use of tools (e.g., a sort function) can facilitate resolution of the problem. The task may involve multiple steps and operators. The goal of the problem may have to be defined by the respondent, though thecri teria to be met are explicit. There are higher monitoring demands. Some unexpected outcomes or impasses may appear. The task may require evaluating the relevance of a set of items to discard distractors. Some integration and inferential reasoning may be needed.
291 to 340
3
At this level, tasks typically require the use of both generic and more specific technology applications. Some navigation across pages and applications is required to solve the problem. The use of tools (e.g., a sort function) is needed to make progress toward the solution. The task may involve multiple steps and operators. The goal of the problem may have to be defined by the respondent, and the criteria to be met may or may not be explicit. There are typically high monitoring demands. Unexpected outcomes and impasses are likely to occur. The task may require evaluating the relevance and reliability of information in order to discard distractors. Integration and inferential reasoning may be needed to a large extent.
341 to 500
Date modified:

Tableau A4.3
Description des niveaux de compétence en résolution de problèmes du Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes, 2012

Tableau A4.3
Description des niveaux de compétence en résolution de problèmes du Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes, 2012
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Description des niveaux de compétence en résolution de problèmes du Programme pour l'évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes. Les données sont présentées selon Niveau (titres de rangée) et Fourchette de scores(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Niveau Fourchette de scores
Non-répondants
Cette catégorie correspond aux adultes qui n’ont aucune expérience en informatique, ou qui ont échoué au test de base des technologies de l’information et des communications, ou qui ont choisi de ne pas subir la composante informatique de l'évaluation.
Note ...: n'ayant pas lieu de figurer
Inférieur au niveau 1
Les tâches reposent sur des problèmes bien définis, qui font appel à l’usage d’une seule fonction au sein d’une interface générique pour répondre à un critère explicite sans raisonnement catégorique ou par inférence ni transformation de l’information. Peu d’étapes sont requises et aucun sous-objectif ne doit être généré.
0 à 240
1
Les tâches de ce niveau exigent habituellement l’utilisation d’applications technologiques largement accessibles et familières  telles qu’un logiciel de courriel ou un navigateur Web, Peu de navigation  voire aucune  est nécessaire pour accéder aux informations ou aux commandes requises pour résoudre le problème, Le problème peut être résolu indépendamment du fait que le répondant connaisse et utilise ou non des fonctions et outils précis (par exemple  une fonction de tri), Les tâches nécessitent peu d’étapes et un nombre minimal d’opérateurs, Sur le plan cognitif  le répondant peut facilement déduire l’objectif à partir de l’énoncé; la personne doit appliquer des critères explicites pour résoudre le problème; et il y a peu d’exigences de contrôle (la personne n’a pas besoin  par exemple  de vérifier si elle a fait appel au procédé approprié ou si elle s’est approchée de la solution), Le repérage du contenu et des opérateurs peut être effectué à l’aide d’une mise en correspondance simple, Seules des formes simples de raisonnement  notamment la mise en correspondance d’items avec des catégories précises  sont requises; il n’est pas nécessaire de mettre en contraste ou d’intégrer les informations,
241 à 290
2
Les tâches de ce niveau exigent habituellement l’utilisation d’applications technologiques à la fois génériques et plus spécifiques, Le répondant peut avoir à se servir  par exemple  d’un nouveau formulaire en ligne, La navigation entre les pages et les applications est nécessaire pour résoudre le problème, L’utilisation d’outils (par exemple  une fonction de tri) peut faciliter la résolution du problème, La tâche peut donner lieu à des étapes et à des opérateurs multiples, Le répondant peut avoir à définir l’objectif du problème  même si les critères auxquels il faut satisfaire sont explicites, Les exigences de contrôle sont plus élevées, Il se peut que des résultats inattendus soient obtenus ou que des impasses se présentent, La tâche peut nécessiter d’évaluer la pertinence d’un ensemble d’items pour écarter les éléments de distraction, L’intégration et le raisonnement par inférence peuvent être nécessaires,
291 à 340
3
Les tâches de ce niveau exigent habituellement l’utilisation d’applications technologiques à la fois génériques et plus spécifiques, La navigation entre les pages et les applications est nécessaire pour résoudre le problème, L’utilisation d’outils (par exemple  une fonction de tri) est nécessaire pour s’approcher de la solution, La tâche peut donner lieu à des étapes et à des opérateurs multiples, Le répondant peut avoir à définir l’objectif du problème, Les critères auxquels il faut satisfaire peuvent être explicites ou non, Il y a habituellement des exigences de contrôle élevées, Il est probable que des résultats inattendus soient obtenus et que des impasses se présentent, La tâche peut nécessiter d’évaluer la pertinence et la fiabilité des informations pour écarter les éléments de distraction, L’intégration et le raisonnement par inférence peuvent  dans une grande mesure  être nécessaires,
341 à 500
Date de modification :