Canadian Survey on Disability Reports
The evolution of disability data in Canada: Keeping in step with a more inclusive Canada

by Adele Furrie

Release date: November 28, 2018
Start of text box

Identifying the number of Canadians with disabilities, and collecting information on what prevents or impedes their full participation in Canadian society, has evolved significantly over the years. The purpose of this note is to provide an overview of this evolution and its impact on the comparability of results from Canadian disability surveys.

End of text box

Background

The issues facing Canadians with disabilities and the barriers that they face were first documented in 1981 with the tabling in Parliament of Obstacles – the report of the Special Parliamentary Committee on the Disabled and the Handicapped. The need to have data to quantify the nature and extent of the barriers was one of the 130 recommendations contained in the report — a call to develop a long-term, national data collection strategy on persons with disabilities.

In 1998, the In Unison report provided both the vision and the guiding framework for moving towards an inclusive Canada through the elimination of barriers that prevent or impede their full participation in society. The need for data was reaffirmed with Canada’s ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNCRPD) – Article 31 in 2010 which reinforced the commitment to an inclusive Canada.

The evolution of the concept of disability

The concept of disability has evolved over the past three decades, moving from a more medical model to a social one. Initial concepts focused more on physical and sensory impairments as well as the health conditions of an individual. Conversely, the social model of disability has evolved to also include cognitive and mental health-related impairments, in addition to the barriers which may prevent or limit one’s full participation in society. It acknowledges that barriers posed by the environment also need to be addressed in order to give everyone an equal chance of participating more fully in society. It acknowledges that barriers posed by the environment also need to be addressed in order to give everyone an equal chance of participating more fully in society. This approach is in line with UNCRPD.

As a result, questions to identify the population with disabilities also had to evolve, which posed certain challenges in establishing trend data. Since 1983, Statistics Canada, with the support of Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC), has conducted seven surveys focussed on persons with disabilities: the 1983/84 Canadian Health and Disability Survey (a supplement of the monthly Labour Force Survey), the 1986 and 1991 Health and Activity Limitation Surveys (HALS), the 2001 and 2006 Participation and Activity Limitation Surveys (PALS), and the 2012 and 2017 Canadian Surveys on Disability (CSD).

Identifying persons with a disability

Beginning with the 1986 HALS, Statistics Canada developed, and has used, a two-step approach to conduct disability surveys. Step 1 uses a set of questions (called filter questions) that are included on the census to identify persons most likely to have a disability. A sample of persons who responded positively to these filter questions is then selected. Step 2 used a longer set of questions (referred to as the screening questions) to identify the population with disabilities, the type of disability and the severity of the disability. Both the filter questions and the screening questions used in Statistics Canada surveys have evolved and progressed since 1986 to remain in-step with the evolution of the concept of disability.

The inclusion of the filter questions on the 2016 Census of Population was the culmination of the federal government’s new Persons with Disabilities Data and Information Strategy that began in 2010.

Figure 1 for 2012 and 2017 Canadian Surveys on Disability – Coverage of persons with a disability

Data table for Figure 1
Data table for Figure 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Figure 1 2012 CSD and 2017 CSD, calculated using million and percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
2012 CSD 2017 CSD
million
Population aged 15 years and older 27.5 28
percent
Step 1 (Census) Persons likely to have a disability 21.4 35.3
Step 2 (CSD) Persons with a disability 13.7 22.3

When the 2012 CSD took place, the filter questions used to identify persons most likely to have a disability on the census (Step 1) were not as inclusive of persons with cognitive and mental health-related disabilities.

With the inclusion of the latest filter questions on the 2016 Census of Population, the methodology of the 2017 CSD benefited from the latest versions of both the filter and screening questions.

The results of the 2017 CSD are, therefore, more inclusive of all persons with disabilities and more reflective of today’s Canada. With this more inclusive CSD, a comparison of trends over time is limitedNote 1 but we can look forward by adopting the 2017 data as a benchmark against which to measure future progress.

Note

Date modified:

Rapports sur l'enquête canadienne sur l'incapacité
L’évolution des données sur l’incapacité au Canada : rester en phase avec un Canada plus inclusif

par Adele Furrie

Date de diffusion : le 28 novembre 2018
Début de l’encadré

Déterminer le nombre de Canadiens ayant une incapacité, et recueillir des renseignements sur ce qui empêche ou gêne leur pleine participation à la société canadienne, a beaucoup évolué au fil des ans. L’objet de cette note est de fournir un aperçu de cette évolution et son incidence sur la comparabilité des résultats des enquêtes canadiennes sur l’incapacité.

Fin de l’encadré

Contexte

Les problèmes auxquels font face les Canadiens avec incapacité et les obstacles auxquels ils sont confrontés ont d’abord été documentés en 1981 lors du dépôt au Parlement d’Obstacles – le rapport du Comité parlementaire spécial sur les invalides et les handicapés. La nécessité d’avoir des données afin de quantifier la nature et l’ampleur des obstacles était l’une des 130 recommandations contenues dans le rapport, un appel à l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale à long terme de collecte de données sur les personnes avec incapacité.

En 1998, le rapport À l’unisson a fourni à la fois la vision et le cadre directeur pour avancer vers un Canada inclusif grâce à l’élimination des obstacles qui empêchent ou entravent leur pleine participation à la société. Ce besoin de données a été réaffirmé lors de la ratification par le Canada de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (CNUDPH), article 31 en 2010, qui a renforcé l’engagement envers un Canada inclusif.

L’évolution du concept de l’incapacité

Le concept de l’incapacité a évolué au cours des trois dernières décennies pour passer d’un modèle plus médical à un modèle social. Les concepts initiaux étaient axés davantage sur les déficiences physiques et sensorielles, ainsi que sur les conditions de santé d’une personne. À l’inverse, le modèle social a évolué pour tenir compte des déficiences cognitives et de celles reliées à la santé mentale, en plus des obstacles qui empêchent ou limitent une pleine participation à la société. Il reconnaît que les obstacles posés par l’environnement doivent aussi être résolus afin de donner à tous une chance égale de participer plus pleinement à la société. Cette approche est conforme à la CNUDPH.

Par conséquent, les questions visant à identifier la population ayant des incapacités devaient également évoluer, ce qui a posé certains défis pour établir des données sur les tendances. Depuis 1983, Statistique Canada, avec le soutien d’Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC), a mené sept enquêtes axées sur les personnes ayant une incapacité : l’Enquête sur la santé et l’incapacité au Canada de 1983-1984 (un supplément de l’Enquête mensuelle sur la population active), l’Enquête sur la santé et les limitations d’activités (ESLA) de 1986 et de 1991, l’Enquête sur la participation et les limitations d’activités (EPLA) de 2001 et de 2006 et l’Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité (ECI) de 2012 et 2017.

Identification des personnes avec incapacité

En commençant par l’ESLA de 1986, Statistique Canada a mis au point, et a utilisé, une démarche en deux étapes pour mener les enquêtes sur l’incapacité. L’étape 1 utilise une série de questions (appelées questions filtres) qui sont incluses dans le recensement pour identifier les personnes les plus susceptibles d’avoir une incapacité. Un échantillon de personnes ayant répondu positivement à ces questions filtres est ensuite sélectionné. L’étape 2 utilise une plus longue série de questions (appelées questions de sélection) pour identifier la population avec incapacité, le type d’incapacité et la sévérité de l’incapacité. Les questions filtres et les questions de sélection utilisées dans les enquêtes de Statistique Canada ont évolué et progressé depuis 1986 afin de demeurer en phase avec l’évolution du concept d’incapacité.

L'inclusion des questions filtres sur le Recensement de 2016 constitue l’aboutissement de la nouvelle stratégie relative aux données et à l’information sur les personnes handicapées du gouvernement fédéral, qui a été lancée en 2010.

Figure 1 Enquête canadienne sur l’incapacité de 2012 et 2017 – Couverture des personnes avec incapacité

Tableau de données de la figure 1
Tableau de données de la figure 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données de la figure 1 ECI de 2012 et ECI de 2017, calculées selon millions et pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
ECI de 2012 ECI de 2017
millions
Population âgée de 15 ans et plus 27,5 28
pourcentage
Étape 1 (recensement) Personnes susceptibles d’avoir une incapacité 21,4 35,3
Étape 2 (ECI) Personnes ayant une incapacité 13,7 22,3

Lorsque l’ECI de 2012 a eu lieu, les questions filtres utilisées pour identifier les personnes les plus susceptibles d’avoir une incapacité sur le recensement (étape 1) n’étaient pas aussi inclusives des personnes ayant des incapacités cognitives ou liées à la santé mentale.

Avec l’inclusion des plus récentes questions filtres au Recensement de la population de 2016, la méthodologie de l’ECI de 2017 a bénéficié des plus récentes versions des questions filtres et des questions de sélection.

Les résultats de l’ECI de 2017 sont, par conséquent, plus inclusifs de toutes les personnes ayant une incapacité et reflète davantage le Canada d’aujourd’hui. Avec cette ECI plus inclusive, une comparaison des tendances au fil du temps est limitéeNote 1, mais nous pouvons regarder vers l’avenir en adoptant les données de 2017 comme point de repère avec lequel on pourra mesurer les progrès futurs.

Note

Date de modification :