Spotlight on Canadians: Results from the General Social Survey
Employer support of volunteering: Underlying characteristics of participation and presence of support measures

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

by Patric Fournier-Savard

Release date: June 27, 2016 Correction date: (if required)

For thousands of non-profit organizations and charities, volunteering is essential for accomplishing a wide range of collective missions that benefit communities. Many Canadians contribute based on their means, motivations and aims, all of which can differ. Citizens are indisputably the key actors in volunteering, but businesses can also play a supporting role through various workplace contributions and initiatives, in particular employer support of volunteering (ESV).

Employers encourage employees to participate in volunteer activities and reduce barriers to volunteering by offering specific support mechanisms, such as permission to use facilities or equipment, paid time off, modified work schedules, and recognition for volunteering. The benefits of such measures are numerous and are advantageous for many, ranging from improved corporate image, employee well-being, loyalty, productivity, and local and community impacts (Peterson 2004).

For the first time, the 2013 General Social Survey on Giving, Volunteering and Participating (GSS GVP) permits the calculation of volunteering rates of employees with or without employer support. This was impossible in previous surveys because the questions on employer support were asked only of volunteers. Consequently, it was not known whether or not employees, who did not volunteer, had support from their employers to volunteer.

To what extent is ESV associated with an increase in employee participation in volunteer activities? Are types of employer support of volunteering predominant in certain industries? Using data from the 2013 GSS GVP, this fact sheet attempts to answer these questions by looking at the employed population aged 20 to 64 years.

Start of text box

What you need to know about this study

This study is based on data from the 2013 General Social Survey on Giving, Volunteering and Participating (GSS GVP), which was conducted on a sample of 14,714 respondents. The sample comprises individuals aged 15 and over living in Canada’s 10 provinces, excluding people living full-time in institutions. It covered Canadians who, in 2013, reported having worked for pay (excluding self-employed workers) in the 12 months preceding the survey. More specifically, the analysis is restricted to respondents aged 20 to 64 years who had paid employment and who answered the questions in the employer support module. They represented 48% of all respondents.

The data from the 2010 Canadian Survey on Giving, Volunteering and ParticipatingNote 1 indicated that, for volunteers, some types of employer support were associated with more volunteering hours or that certain types of support were more prevalent in specific industries. However, it was impossible to expand the analysis to the non-volunteer population since only the volunteer cohort was asked the survey questions on employer support. In 2013, both populations were asked these questions.

Employer support of volunteering (ESV): Support of volunteering was identified by respondents who answered “yes” to any of the following questions: Please tell me about any formal support provided by your employer in the past 12 months. Did your employer give you: 1) use of facilities or equipment for your volunteer activities? 2) paid time off or time to spend volunteering while on the job? 3) approval to change work hours or reduce work activities to volunteer? 4) recognition or a letter of thanks for your volunteer activities? 5) donated prizes, gift certificates, food, etc.? 6) donated t?shirts, company goods, etc.? 7) donated financially to the organization; 8) provided transportation; 9) sponsored an event, paid entry fee, membership fee, etc.; 10) other.

Participation in volunteer activities is greater when employees receive support from their employer

Past studies have shown that employees who volunteered and received support from their employer dedicated more hours to volunteering than those who did volunteer activities and received no such support (Hurst 2012).

Data from the 2013 GSS GVP can be used to expand on and support these conclusions, as analysis can be extended to non-volunteers. Of all employees aged 20 to 64 years, those who received support from their employer were more likely (55%) than those who received no such support (37%) to have volunteered in the past 12 months.

In addition to ESV, many other determinants can play a role in employee participation in volunteer activities.Note 2Note 3 These include level of education, age, household income and the presence and age of children, which are recognized as especially important characteristics. The observations, in Table 1 of this fact sheet, confirm this conclusion when looking at employees aged 20 to 64 years.

For example, volunteering rates among individuals aged 20 to 64 years who are employed tend to increase with level of education, from 25% of those with no a high school diploma to 55% among individuals with a university degree. They also increase based on the household income quintile, from 37% for the bottom quintile to 55% for the top quintile. The rates also vary by sex and presence of children.

Employer support of volunteering is important regardless of employees’ personal characteristics. In fact, employer support was associated with an increased probability of having volunteered for each of the employee sub-groupsNote 4 in Table 1. Moreover, when all characteristics in Table 1 are controlled in a multivariate regression analysis, employer support of volunteering remains a predictive factor of volunteer activity (results not shown).

Employer support for volunteering varies by industry

In 2013, 44% of Canadians aged 20 to 64 years who are employed reported having worked for an employer that offered some form of volunteering support. However, not all employees were as likely to receive such support. Factors that can vary from one industry to another include organizational culture, relevance of a brand image or of socially responsible behaviour, as well as the profile of recruited employees. Employer support of volunteering in the different industries also varied.

Table 2 shows the proportion of employees, by industry, who received some form of volunteering support from their employer, whether they participated in volunteer activities or not.

Manufacturing and construction were among the industries with the lowest proportions of employees who reported having received support from their employer (roughly one-third). At the other end of the spectrum, the proportion of employees in finance and insurance, and public administration, who received volunteering support measures from their employer was evaluated at roughly double this (66% and 61% respectively).

A positive correlation is observed between employer support of volunteering by industry and volunteering rates

With employer support of volunteering varying from one industry to another, it could be assumed that volunteering rates are higher in the industries where this support is greatest. Chart 1 shows that there is indeed a positive correlation between employer support of volunteering in a given industry and the associated volunteering rates.

In several industries with significant employer support, employee volunteering rates are also relatively higher than average. For example, in the transportation and warehousing industry, the proportion of employees (38%) who receive some form of volunteering support from their employer is associated with a volunteering rate of 39%, compared with 53% and 50%, respectively, for the information and culture industry.

Chart 1 Employer support for volunteering and volunteering rates, by industry, employees aged 20 to 64 years, 2013

Data table for Chart 1
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1. The information is grouped by Industry (appearing as row headers), Employer support for volunteering and Volunteering rate, calculated using percent units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Industry Employer support for volunteering Volunteering rate
percent
Finance and insurance 66 58
Public administration 61 51
Mining, quarrying and oil and gas extraction 59 45
Arts, entertainment and recreation 55 74
Educational services 54 66
Information and cultural industries 53 50
Utilities 53 56
Other services (except public administration) 47 54
Real estate and rental and leasing 46Note E: Use with caution 36Note E: Use with caution
Professional, scientific and technical services 45 41
Health care and social assistance 45 43
Retail trade 44 32
Wholesale trade 43 27
Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting 42Note E: Use with caution 47Note E: Use with caution
Accommodation and food services 41 34
Transportation and warehousing 38 39
Manufacturing 33 34
Construction (ref.) 31 36
Administrative and support, waste management and remediation services
27Note E: Use with caution 39

Managers are more likely to receive volunteering support from their employers

With regard to the occupational groups of Canadian employees, the 2013 GSS GVP data reveal conclusions similar to those observed for the industries; in this case, a range of types of support offered by the employer among the different occupational groups, as well as a positive correlation between volunteering support and the rate of participation in volunteer activities. Management, education, law, and social, community and government services are some of the occupational groups with higher rates of both employer-supported volunteering and participation in volunteer activities (Table 3).

The same holds true for the occupational groups characterized by a lower-than-average volunteering rate. The manufacturing and utilities group, as well as trades, transport, and equipment operators and related occupations are good examples, since the volunteering rates of 28% and 29% respectively are also associated with the lowest proportions of support of volunteering (31% and 34%).

Summary

This fact sheet confirms that participation in volunteer activities is higher when employees receive various forms of support of volunteering from their employer. It also provides an overview of the distribution of the types of employer support of volunteering by various job-market-related characteristics and for certain sociodemographic characteristics recognized as being determinants of volunteering.

Overall, a positive, yet moderate, correlation is observed between employer support of volunteering and volunteering rates. In this regard, this fact sheet highlights the exceptions and nuances to consider with respect to associations that may exist between volunteering and certain characteristics of employees and their jobs.

This fact sheet bring us one step closer to better understanding ESV. Other analyses on the number and different types of volunteering support offered in the workplace could shed further light on how ESV and participation in volunteer activities interact.

References

Easwaramoorthy, M., Cathy Barr, Mary S. Runte and Debra Z. Basil. 2006. “Company Support for Employee Volunteering: A National Survey of Companies in Canada.” Knowledge Development Centre. Imagine Canada.

Hurst, Matt. 2012. “Employer support of volunteering.” Canadian Social Trends. no. 93. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-008-X.

MacPhail, Fiona and Paul Bowles. 2009. “Corporate Social Responsibility as Support for Employee Volunteers: Impacts, Gender Puzzles and Policy Implications in Canada.” Journal of Business Ethics, Vol. 84, no. 3, p. 405 to 416.

Peterson, Dane K. 2004. “Recruitment Strategies for Encouraging Participation in Corporate Volunteer Programs.” Journal of Business Ethics, Vol. 49, p. 371 to 386.

Sinha, Maire. 2015. “Volunteering in Canada, 2004 to 2013.” Spotlight on Canadians: Results from the General Social Survey. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 89-652-X2015003.

Speevak, Paula and Joanna Kaleniecka. 2014. “Employer-supported volunteering: The Practice and the Promise of Community Engagement.” Volunteer Canada.

Vézina, Mireille and Susan Crompton. 2012. “Volunteering in Canada.” Canadian Social Trends. no. 93. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11-008-X.

Date modified:

Mettre l'accent sur les Canadiens : résultats de l'Enquête sociale générale
Le bénévolat appuyé par l?employeur : caractéristiques sous-jacentes à la participation et présence de mesures d?appui

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

par Patric Fournier-Savard

Date de diffusion : le 27 juin 2016 Correction date: (if required)

Pour des milliers d’organismes à but non lucratif ou de bienfaisance, le bénévolat constitue un levier essentiel dans l’accomplissement d’un éventail de missions à vocation collective et au profit des collectivités. Un grand nombre de Canadiens y contribuent selon des moyens, des motivations et des finalités qui peuvent différer. Le citoyen est sans contredit l’acteur fondamental de ce levier, mais l’entreprise peut aussi jouer un rôle de soutien, grâce aux diverses contributions et initiatives en milieu de travail, notamment le bénévolat appuyé par l’employeur (BAE).

Les employeurs encouragent les employés à participer à des activités bénévoles et réduisent les obstacles au bénévolat en offrant des mécanismes particuliers d’appui comme la permission d’utiliser les installations ou l’équipement, les congés rémunérés, la modification de l’horaire de travail et la reconnaissance de l’engagement bénévole. Les bienfaits de telles mesures sont multiples et profitent à plus d’un, allant de l’amélioration de l’image de l’entreprise en passant par le bien-être, la loyauté ainsi que la productivité des employés, jusqu’aux répercussions locales et communautaires (Peterson, 2004).

Pour la première fois, l’Enquête sociale générale de 2013 sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation (ESG DBP) permet de calculer les taux de bénévolat des employés selon qu’ils ont l’appui de leur employeur ou non. Cela était impossible dans les enquêtes précédentes parce que les questions sur l’appui des employeurs étaient posées seulement aux bénévoles. Conséquemment on ne savait pas si les employés qui ne faisaient pas de bénévolat avaient eu ou non l’appui de leur employeur pour en faire.

Dans quelle mesure le BAE est-il associé à la participation accrue des employés à des activités bénévoles? Les formes d’appui au bénévolat offertes par l’employeur sont-elles prédominantes dans certains secteurs d’activités? À l’aide des données de l’ESG DBP de 2013, le présent feuillet d’information tente de répondre à ces questions en s’intéressant à la population âgée de 20 à 64 ans occupant un emploi.

Start of text box

Ce qu?il faut savoir au sujet de la présente étude

La présente étude est basée sur les données de l'Enquête sociale générale de 2013 sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation (ESG DBP), qui a été réalisée auprès d'un échantillon totalisant 14 714 répondants. Celui-ci est composé de personnes âgées de 15 ans et plus vivant dans les dix provinces du Canada, à l’exception des personnes qui vivent à temps plein dans des établissements. Elle porte sur les Canadiens ayant déclaré, en 2013, avoir travaillé contre rémunération (à l'exception des travailleurs autonomes) au cours des 12 mois ayant précédé l'enquête. Plus spécifiquement, l'analyse se limite aux répondants de 20 ans à 64 ans qui occupaient un emploi rémunéré et qui ont répondu aux questions du module sur l’appui de l’employeur. Ils représentaient 48 % de tous les répondants.

Il a été démontré à l’aide des données de l’Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010Note 1 que certaines formes d’appui des employeurs étaient associées, pour les bénévoles, à un plus grand nombre d’heures de bénévolat, ou encore que certains types d’appui étaient plus prévalents dans des secteurs d’activités particuliers. Il était néanmoins impossible d’étendre l’analyse à la population non-bénévole puisque les questions d’enquête concernant l’appui des employeurs n’avaient été posées qu’à la cohorte de bénévoles, chose que l’enquête de 2013 permet.

Bénévolat appuyé par l’employeur (BAE) : Appui au bénévolat, tel que déclaré par les répondants qui ont répondu « oui » à l'une ou l'autre des questions suivantes : Au cours des 12 derniers mois, votre employeur vous a-t-il accordé un appui officiel pour vous aider dans votre engagement de bénévolat comme : 1) l'utilisation des installations ou de l'équipement pour vos activités bénévoles; 2) des heures rémunérées ou du temps pour accomplir votre bénévolat durant vos heures de travail normales; 3) la permission de modifier votre horaire de travail ou de réduire vos activités professionnelles afin que vous puissiez accomplir votre bénévolat; 4) la reconnaissance de vos activités bénévoles ou une lettre de remerciements pour celles-ci; 5) un don de prix, bons-cadeaux, nourriture, etc.; 6) un don de t-shirts, de produits à l'effigie de la compagnie, etc.; 7) un don d'argent à l'organisme; 8) du transport; 9) la commandite d'un événement, le paiement des frais d'entrée ou d'adhésion, etc.; 10) autre.

La participation à des activités bénévoles est plus importante lorsque les employés reçoivent l?appui de leur employeur

Des études antérieures ont révélé que les employés qui effectuaient des activités bénévoles et qui avaient obtenu l’appui de leur employeur consacraient plus d’heures au bénévolat que ceux faisant du bénévolat et qui n’avaient pas reçu un tel appui (Hurst, 2012).

Les données de l’ESG DBP de 2013 permettent d’élargir ces conclusions et de les renforcer, puisqu’il est possible d’étendre l’analyse aux non-bénévoles. Parmi l’ensemble des employés âgés de 20 à 64 ans, ceux qui bénéficiaient de l’appui de leur employeur étaient plus susceptibles (55 %) que ceux n’ayant pas obtenu un tel appui (37 %) d’avoir fait du bénévolat au cours de 12 derniers mois.

Au-delà du BAE, bien d’autres déterminants peuvent jouer un rôle vis-à-vis de la participation des employés à des activités bénévolesNote 2Note 3. Parmi ces facteurs, notons le niveau de scolarité, l’âge, le revenu du ménage ainsi que la présence et l’âge des enfants, lesquels sont reconnus comme des caractéristiques particulièrement importantes. Les observations du tableau 1 de ce feuillet d’information confirment cette conclusion lorsqu’on s’intéresse aux employés de 20 à 64 ans.

Par exemple, les taux de bénévolat des personnes de 20 à 64 ans qui sont des employés tendent à augmenter avec le niveau de scolarité passant de 25 % chez ceux qui sont sans diplôme d’études secondaires à 55 % chez les personnes ayant un diplôme universitaire. Il augmente également en fonction du quintile de revenu du ménage passant de 37 % pour le quintile inférieur à 55 % pour le quintile supérieur. Les taux varient également selon le sexe et la présence d’enfants.

L’appui au bénévolat offert par l’employeur est important, quelles que soient les caractéristiques personnelles des employés. En effet, l’appui de l’employeur était associé à une probabilité accrue d’avoir effectué du bénévolat pour chacun des sous-groupes d’employésNote 4 du tableau 1. De plus, lorsque l’on contrôle toutes les caractéristiques du tableau 1 dans une analyse de régression multivariée, l’appui au bénévolat de la part de l’employeur demeure un facteur prédictif de l’activité bénévole (résultats non présentés).

Le bénévolat appuyé par l?employeur varie selon le secteur d?activité

En 2013, 44 % des Canadiens âgés de 20 à 64 ans occupant un emploi ont déclaré travailler pour un employeur offrant une forme d’appui au bénévolat. Cependant, les employés n’étaient pas tous aussi susceptibles de recevoir un tel appui. En outre, la culture organisationnelle, la pertinence d’une image de marque ou encore d’un comportement socialement responsable, ainsi que le profil d’employés recrutés sont des facteurs pouvant varier d’un secteur d’activité à l’autre. Le bénévolat appuyé par l’employeur offert dans les différents secteurs d’activités variait également.

Le tableau 2 présente, selon le secteur d’activité, la proportion d’employés ayant reçu une forme d’appui au bénévolat de la part de l’employeur, et ce, qu’ils aient ou non participé à des activités bénévoles.

Les secteurs de la fabrication et de la construction figuraient parmi les secteurs d’activités où l’on trouvait les plus faibles proportions d’employés ayant déclaré recevoir l’appui de leur employeur, à savoir environ le tiers de ceux-ci. À l’opposé, le secteur de la finance et des assurances ainsi que celui des administrations publiques présentent des proportions d’employés ayant reçu des mesures d’appui au bénévolat de la part de leur employeur évaluées à environ le double (66 % et 61 % respectivement).

On observe une corrélation positive entre l?appui au bénévolat offert par l?employeur selon le secteur d?activité et le taux de bénévolat

L’appui au bénévolat offert par l’employeur variant d’un secteur d’activité à l’autre, on pourrait penser que les taux de bénévolat sont plus élevés dans les secteurs d’activités où cet appui est plus important. Le graphique 1 montre qu’il existe effectivement une corrélation positive entre l’appui au bénévolat offert par l’employeur au sein d’un secteur d’activité et les taux de bénévolat qui y sont associés.

En effet, dans plusieurs secteurs d’activités où l’appui offert par l’employeur est important, les taux de bénévolat des employés sont eux aussi relativement plus élevés que la moyenne. Par exemple, dans le secteur du transport et de l’entreposage, la proportion d’employés (38 %) recevant une forme d’appui au bénévolat de la part de leur employeur est associée à un taux de bénévolat de 39 %, alors que ces proportions sont de 53 % et de 50 % respectivement pour le secteur de l’information et de la culture.

Graphique 1 Appui au bénévolat offert par l?employeur et taux de bénévolat, selon le secteur d'activité, employés âgés de 20 à 64 ans, 2013

Tableau de données du graphique 1
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1. Les données sont présentées selon Secteur d'activité (titres de rangée) et Appui au bénévolat offert par l'employeur et Taux de bénévolat, calculées selon pourcentage unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Secteur d'activité Appui au bénévolat offert par l'employeur Taux de bénévolat
pourcentage
Finance et assurances 66 58
Administrations publiques 61 51
Extraction minière, exploitation en carrière et extraction de pétrole et de gaz 59 45
Arts, spectacles et loisirs 55 74
Services d’enseignement 54 66
Industrie de l’information et industrie culturelle 53 50
Services publics 53 56
Autres services (sauf les administrations publiques) 47 54
Services immobiliers et services de location à bail 46Note E: à utiliser avec prudence 36Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques 45 41
Soins de santé et assistance sociale 45 43
Commerce de détail 44 32
Commerce de gros 43 27
Agriculture, industrie forestière, pêche et chasse 42Note E: à utiliser avec prudence 47Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Services d’hébergement et de restauration 41 34
Transport et entreposage 38 39
Fabrication 33 34
Construction (réf.) 31 36
Services administratifs, services de soutien, services de gestion des déchets et services
d’assainissement
27Note E: à utiliser avec prudence 39

Les gestionnaires sont proportionnellement plus nombreux à obtenir l?appui au bénévolat de leur employeur

Quant aux groupes professionnels dans lesquels ?uvrent les employés canadiens, les données de l’ESG DBP de 2013 révèlent des conclusions similaires à celles observées pour les secteurs d’activités, en l’occurrence, un gradient des formes d’appui offertes par l’employeur parmi les différents groupes professionnels, ainsi qu’une corrélation positive entre l’appui au bénévolat et le taux de participation à des activités bénévoles. La gestion ainsi que l’enseignement, le droit et les services sociaux, communautaires et gouvernementaux figurent parmi les groupes professionnels où l’on constatait à la fois des taux plus élevés d’appui au bénévolat offert par l’employeur et de participation à des activités bénévoles (tableau 3).

Ce constat demeure vrai pour les groupes professionnels caractérisés par un taux de bénévolat inférieur à la moyenne. Le groupe de la fabrication et des services d’utilité publique ainsi que celui des métiers, du transport, de la machinerie et des domaines apparentés en constituent de bons exemples, puisqu’aux taux de bénévolat de 28 % et de 29 % respectivement, sont également associées des proportions d’appui au bénévolat les plus faibles (31 % et 34 %).

Sommaire

Le présent feuillet d’information confirme la participation plus élevée à des activités bénévoles lorsque les employés bénéficient de formes d’appui au bénévolat offert par l’employeur. Il donne aussi un aperçu général de la répartition des formes d’appui au bénévolat offertes par les employeurs selon diverses caractéristiques liées au marché du travail ainsi que pour certaines caractéristiques sociodémographiques reconnues comme déterminants du bénévolat.

Globalement, on observe une corrélation positive entre l’appui au bénévolat offert par l’employeur et le taux de bénévolat, mais celle-ci est modérée. À ce sujet, le présent feuillet d’information met en lumière les exceptions et les nuances à considérer quant aux associations que peuvent entretenir le bénévolat et certaines caractéristiques des employés et de leur emploi.

De plus, ce feuillet d’information constitue un pas de plus vers une meilleure compréhension du BAE, d’autres analyses portant notamment sur la forme d’appui au bénévolat en milieu de travail et leur nombre pourraient éclairer davantage la façon dont interagissent le BAE et la participation aux activités bénévoles.

Références

EASWARAMOORTHY, M., Cathy BARR, Mary S. RUNTE et Debra Z. BASIL. 2006. « Soutien des entreprises au bénévolat des employés au Canada : résultats d’un sondage national », Centre de développement des connaissances, Imagine Canada.

HURST, Matt. 2012. « Le bénévolat appuyé par l’employeur », Tendances sociales canadiennes, no 93, produit no 11-008-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

MACPHAIL, Fiona et Paul BOWLES. 2009. « Corporate Social Responsibility as Support for Employee Volunteers: Impacts, Gender Puzzles and Policy Implications in Canada », Journal of Business Ethics, vol. 84, no 3, p. 405 à 416.

PETERSON, Dane K. 2004. « Recruitment Strategies for Encouraging Participation in Corporate Volunteer Programs », Journal of Business Ethics, vol. 49, p. 371 à 386.

SINHA, Maire. 2015. « Le bénévolat au Canada, de 2004 à 2013 », Mettre l’accent sur les Canadiens : résultats de l’Enquête sociale générale, produit no 89-652-X2015003 au catalogue de statistique Canada.

SPEEVAK, Paula et Joanna KALENIECKA. 2014. « Le bénévolat appuyé par l’employeur : pratiques prometteuses et mobilisation communautaire », Bénévoles Canada.

VÉZINA, Mireille et Susan CROMPTON. 2012. « Le bénévolat au Canada », Tendances sociales canadiennes, no 93, produit no 11-008-X au catalogue de statistique Canada.

Date de modification :