Chapter 4. Interprovincial migration

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]89-641-x[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Internal migration is one of the demographic factors that affect the evolution of linguistic groups in Canada. Determining how French-speaking immigrants migrate within Canada serves to shed light on their demographic dynamics. In Canada, an examination of the migratory movements of Francophone immigrants outside Quebec has two components. The first consists of the movements of such immigrants toward Quebec; the other consists of movements in the other direction, from Quebec to the rest of Canada. Do these exchanges balance out, or do they instead create demographic imbalances? That is the main question that we raise here.

Interprovincial migration is measured on the basis of answers to the question asked in censuses on the place of residence five years earlier. The census, then, captures individuals' migratory movements over a period of five years preceding the census.1

Interprovincial migration of French-speaking immigrants living outside Quebec

The interprovincial migration of French-speaking immigrants living outside Quebec differs from that of other immigrants, but it is similar to that of Canadian-born Francophones. The general bell shape of the curve of interprovincial migration rates by age group is typical of all the linguistic groups, peaking with 25 to 29 year-olds, although the curves for Francophones (both Canadian-born and immigrants) are higher, for all age groups (chart 4.1a). Thus, at its peak in the 25 to 29 age range, the migration rate for French-speaking immigrants reaches 140 per thousand, and it is 165 per thousand in the case of Francophones born in Canada. Among Canadian-born non-Francophones, the migration rate for 25 to 29 year-olds is half as high (87 per thousand), while non-Francophone immigrants register the lowest rate at 45 per thousand. Whereas the rates for French-speaking immigrants and Canadian-born Francophones are similar from one age group to another (their curves cross at two points, 15 to 19 and 30 to 34 years), the rate for non-Francophone immigrants is much lower than that for non-Francophone native-born Canadians in the adult ages, showing a substantial difference between ages 20 and 34.

Chart 4.1a Interprovincial migration rate (per thousand) of the immigrant and non immigrant population according to the first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category by age group, Canada less Quebec

A comparison of age-specific rates indicates that there is also a sizable difference between the intensity of the interprovincial migration of French FOLS immigrants and that of French-English first official language spoken (FOLS) immigrants. The age-specific rates of the latter group are more like those of non-Francophone immigrants and native-born Canadians, except among 30 to 34 year-olds, where the rate reaches a peak (135 per thousand) and equals that of French-speaking immigrants (chart 4.1b).

Chart 4.1b Interprovincial migration rate (per thousand) of the immigrant and non immigrant population according to the first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category by age group, Canada less Quebec

The results in each census since 1991 are similar. For each five-year migration period observed, the order of the groups is the same, both after and before redistribution of the French-English category. In the first case, Francophone immigrants have the highest interprovincial migration rate, followed by Canadian-born Francophones (chart 4.2a). The rates of these two groups are very close together, especially between 1996 and 2001. Well below these trends are the internal migration rates of non-Francophones, both immigrant and Canadian-born, whose migration rates are nearly two times lower. The migration rate fell between 1991 and 2006 for non-Francophone immigrants and native-born Canadians, going from 34 to 24 per thousand for the former group and from 39 to 33 per thousand for the latter. The change over time in this migration for the French-speaking population (including both Canadian-born and immigrants) was marked by a sizable decrease between the 1991 and 1996 censuses, followed by a slight increase by 2006. Thus, for Francophone immigrants, the migration rate, which was 84 per thousand in 1991, fell to 60 per thousand five years later, then edged up to 66 per thousand in 2006.

Chart 4.2a Total interprovincial migration rate (per thousand, standardised by age group) of the population according to immigrant status and first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category, Canada less Quebec

This trend is also seen in the interprovincial migration patterns of French FOLS and French-English FOLS immigrants between 1991 and 2006 (chart 4.2b). The gap between these two groups remained sizable throughout this period, with the migration rates of the first group sometimes doubling that of the second group (notably in 1996 and 2001).

Chart 4.2b Total interprovincial migration rate (per thousand, standardised by age group) of the population according to immigrant status and first official language spoken before redistribution of the French-English category, Canada less Quebec

For the populations of the provinces and territories excluding Quebec, the magnitude of interprovincial migration is different for Francophones and non-Francophones. The same applies to the destinations chosen by migrants in these two groups. French-speaking persons (after redistribution of the French-English category), whether they be Canadian-born or immigrants, mainly migrate to Quebec, whereas non-Francophones opt for much more diverse destinations. Among interprovincial Francophone migrants in the period 2001 to 2006 (captured in the 2006 Census), 62% of Canadian-born and 68% of immigrants went to Quebec (table 4.1). Ontario and Alberta, which are similarly attractive as provinces of destination, attracted 9% or 10% of French-speaking interprovincial migrants. Among non-Francophones (Canadian-born and immigrants), three provinces compete for the majority of immigrants: British Columbia, Alberta and Ontario. Together, these three provinces received 68% of Canadian-born and 78% of immigrant non-Francophones who migrated between provinces between 2001 and 2006. By comparison, these same three provinces received 25% of French-speaking migrants living outside Quebec.

Table 4.1 Population of interprovincial migrants (2001 to 2006) according to the first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category according to region of destination, migrants from Canada ouside Quebec

This characteristic of the interprovincial migration of persons living outside Quebec in 2001, which distinguishes Francophones from the rest of the population, is observed in all censuses between 1991 and 2006. Thus, Quebec's share as a destination for French-speaking interprovincial migrants, both Canadian-born and immigrant, remained above 54%, peaking in the 2006 Census (chart 4.3). Conversely, for other interprovincial migrants, Quebec's share remained below 10% in the case of immigrants and below 5% in the case of non-Francophone native-born Canadians during the study period.

Chart 4.3 Percentage of interprovincial migrants who settled in Quebec, immigrant and non immigrant population according to the first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category, migrants from outside Quebec

Interprovincial migration to Quebec and net migration

Differences in migratory behaviours between French-speaking individuals and the rest of the population of Canada outside Quebec also apply to Quebec, except that the behaviours in this case are reversed. Thus, rates of interprovincial migration from Quebec, observed in each census from 1991 to 2006, are much higher for non-Francophones, both Canadian-born and immigrant, than for Francophones, both Canadian-born and immigrant (chart 4.4). The picture is the opposite of what was seen in Canada outside Quebec, and here the differences between the two groups are even greater.

Chart 4.4 Total interprovincial migration rate (standardised by age group) of the population of selected groups defined according to first official language spoken and immigrant status (after redistribution of the French-English category), rate for migration from outside Quebec to rest of Canada

Migratory exchanges between Quebec and the rest of Canada are generally favourable to the latter (table 4.2). Between 1991 and 2006, net five-year migration for four of the five groups defined according to first official language spoken (FOLS) and immigrant status was positive for Canada excluding Quebec, except as regards Canadian-born Francophones, whose interprovincial migration favoured Quebec in three periods (1986 to 1991, 1991 to 1996 and 2001 to 2006). For Canadian-born non-Francophones, net migration was between 20,000 and just under 30,000 during the first three five-year periods but declined to slightly more than 8,000 between 2001 and 2006. Non-Francophone immigrants exhibit a similar pattern: between 10,000 and 16,000 such immigrants left Quebec to settle elsewhere in Canada in each period between 1991 and 2001, but this number then declined to just under 8,000 between 2001 and 2006, bringing it to the same level as for non-Francophone native-born Canadians.

Table 4.2a Net migration between Quebec and the rest of Canada of the population defined according to immigrant status and first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category

Table 4.2b Net migration between Quebec and the rest of Canada of the population defined according to immigrant status and first official language spoken after redistribution of the French-English category

For French-speaking immigrants too, net migration is in favour of the rest of Canada, but to a lesser extent. Between 1996 and 2001, it peaked at 4,055. Conversely, migration of Canadian-born Francophones favoured Quebec. Basically, net migration of the French-speaking population as a whole exhibited major fluctuations, reflecting those observed for both two components of that population, Canadian-born persons and immigrants.

Overall, interprovincial migration outside Quebec played a fairly modest role in the relative change over time in the non-Francophone population, mainly because that population is sizable. Despite lower absolute numbers, net migration has greater demographic effects on French-speaking populations, which are relatively small in the rest of Canada. Among immigrants in particular, net migration per 1,000 immigrants in Canada outside Quebec was 17.8‰ between 2001 and 2006, after reaching higher levels in earlier censuses, e.g., 48 and 60 per thousand during the periods 1991 to 1996 and 1996 to 2001 respectively (table 4.2).

Origins of Francophone immigrants who migrated between provinces

Francophone immigrants who lived outside Quebec in 2006 and had migrated between provinces between 2001 and 2006 mostly came from five large Canadian cities (census metropolitan areas), in particular Montréal. Overall, at least 30% of migrating Francophone immigrants came from the Montréal census metropolitan area, although there were major variations based on region of residence: 64.5% for Ontario, 49% for British Columbia but 33% for the region consisting of the four Atlantic provinces (table 4.3). In the latter region, the city of Québec contributed nearly 20% of such migrants. The other main cities that migrants left are Ottawa-Gatineau and Toronto. Only the region formed by the two Prairie provinces (Manitoba and Saskatchewan) attracted a relatively large percentage of such migrants (i.e., migrating Francophone immigrants) from the Vancouver CMA. The rest of Canada (including the province of Quebec outside the cities of Montréal and Québec) contributed less than one third of such migrants, and in Ontario less than 15%, with Montréal being that province's main place of origin of such interprovincial migrants between 2001 and 2006.

Table 4.3 Region of residence in 2006 of immigrants whose first official language spoken is French after redistribution of the French-English category and who did an interprovincial migration between 2001 and 2006, according to place of origin

The patterns for six cities of destination for migrants are similar (table 4.4). Montréal is still the main pool for Francophone immigrant migrants in Canada outside Quebec. In Toronto, for example, 77% of such interprovincial migrants come from the Quebec metropolis. Montréal is also the main supplier for three other cities: Ottawa, Winnipeg and Vancouver, at 54%, 55% et 59% respectively. The Toronto CMA also makes a considerable contribution to the interprovincial migration of Francophone immigrants. Thus, of those who chose Moncton, Calgary and Vancouver, respectively 23%, 19% and 15% came from Toronto. Considerable mobility is also observed between Ottawa and Gatineau. One-quarter of Francophone immigrant migrants who settled in Ottawa had come from Gatineau, on the other side of the Ottawa River.

Table 4.4 Region of residence in 2006 of immigrants whose first official language spoken is French after redistribution of the French-English category and who did an interprovincial migration between 2001 and 2006, according to place of origin

In summary, Francophones and non-Francophones living in Canada outside Quebec exhibit quite different interprovincial migration patterns. Whereas Francophones tend to settle in Quebec when they migrate within Canada, non-Francophones tend instead to choose one of the other nine provinces, especially Ontario, British Columbia and Alberta. In Quebec, exactly the opposite patterns are observed: Quebec Francophones, whether they be native-born or immigrants, migrate relatively little to other provinces, while a much higher proportion of non-Francophones leave the province. Overall, the movement of Francophone immigrants from elsewhere in Canada to Quebec fails to offset the opposite flow from Quebec to the rest of Canada, and the net interprovincial migration of Francophone immigrants definitely favours Canada outside Quebec. In relative terms, the net migration of Francophone immigrants is greater than that of both Canadian-born Francophones and non-Francophone immigrants.


Note

  1. The census also includes a question on place of residence one year earlier. However, that information is not used in this report because of the small size of the counts that it would yield of interprovincial migrants who are French FOLS immigrants.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Chapitre 4. Les migrations interprovinciales

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]89-641-x[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

La migration interne est l'un des facteurs démographiques qui joue sur l'évolution des groupes linguistiques au Canada. La question de savoir de quelle façon les immigrants de langue française migrent à l'intérieur du pays permet d'éclairer leur dynamique démographique. Au Canada, l'examen des mouvements migratoires des immigrants francophones à l'extérieur du Québec comporte deux volets. Le premier est constitué des mouvements de ces immigrants vers le Québec; l'autre est représenté par les mouvements dans l'autre sens, soit du Québec vers le reste du Canada. Est-ce que ces échanges se contrebalancent ou contribuent-ils plutôt à créer des déséquilibres démographiques? C'est la principale question que nous posons ici.

La migration interprovinciale est mesurée à partir des réponses à la question posée aux recensements sur le lieu de résidence cinq ans auparavant. Le recensement permet donc de saisir une migration par individu sur une période de cinq ans précédant le recensement1.

La migration interprovinciale des immigrants de langue française résidant à l'extérieur du Québec

La migration interprovinciale des immigrants de langue française résidant à l'extérieur du Québec se distingue de celle des autres immigrants, mais s'apparente à celle des francophones nés au Canada. La forme générale en « cloche » de la courbe par groupe d'âge des taux de migration interprovinciale est typique chez tous les groupes linguistiques, avec un sommet chez les 25 à 29 ans, bien que celles des francophones (natifs ou immigrants) se situent à un niveau plus élevé et ce pour tous les groupes d'âge (graphique 4.1a). Ainsi, à son sommet chez les 25 à 29 ans, le taux de migration des immigrants de langue française atteint plus de 140 pour mille, et est de 165 pour mille dans le cas des francophones nés au pays. Chez les natifs non francophones, le taux de migration chez les 25 à 29 ans y est deux fois moindre (87 pour mille), tandis que les immigrants non Francophones enregistrent le taux le moins élevé, soit 45 pour mille. Alors que les taux des immigrants et des natifs de langue française sont semblables d'un groupe d'âge à l'autre (leur courbe se croise à deux points, 15 à 19 et 30 à 34 ans), celle des immigrants non francophones se situe nettement en deçà de celles des natifs non francophones aux âges adultes, affichant un écart substantiel entre 20 et 34 ans.

Graphique 4.1a Taux (pour mille) de migration interprovinciale de la population selon le statut d'immigrant et la première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais par groupe d'âge, Canada moins le Québec

La comparaison des taux par âge indique qu'il y a aussi une différence notable entre l'intensité de la migration interprovinciale des immigrants de PLOP français et celle des immigrants de première langue officielle parlée (PLOP) français-anglais. Ce dernier groupe affiche des taux par âge qui s'apparentent davantage aux taux des immigrants et des natifs non francophones, sauf chez les 30 à 34 ans où le taux atteint un sommet (135 pour mille) et rejoint celui des immigrants de langue française (graphique 4.1b).

Graphique 4.1b Taux (pour mille) de migration interprovinciale de la population immigrante de première langue officielle parlée française avant redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais par groupe d'âge, Canada moins le Québec

Des résultats similaires sont observés à chacun des recensements depuis 1991. Pour chacune des périodes de migration quinquennales observées, l'ordre des groupes est le même, après comme avant redistribution de la catégorie français-anglais. Dans le premier cas, ce sont les immigrants francophones qui affichent le taux de migration interprovinciale le plus élevé, suivi par les natifs francophones (graphique 4.2a). Ces deux groupes présentent des taux très proches les uns des autres, surtout entre 1996 et 2006. Bien en deçà de ces tendances on retrouve les taux de migration interne des non francophones, immigrants et natifs, dont les taux de migration sont près de deux fois moindre. Le taux de migration a baissé entre 1991 et 2006 chez les immigrants et les natifs non francophones, passant de 34 à 24 pour mille chez le premier groupe et de 39 à 33 pour mille chez le deuxième. L'évolution de cette migration chez la population de langue française (tant chez les natifs que chez les immigrants) a été marquée par une baisse importante entre les Recensements de 1991 et 1996, suivie par une légère hausse jusqu'en 2006. Ainsi, chez les immigrants francophones, le taux de migration, qui se situait à 84 pour mille en 1991, est passé à 60 pour mille cinq ans plus tard, pour ensuite légèrement remonter jusqu'à 66 pour mille en 2006.

Graphique 4.2a Taux total (pour mille) de migration interprovinciale (standardisé par groupe d'âge) de la population selon le statut d'immigrant et la première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais, Canada moins le Québec

Cette tendance caractérise aussi les schémas de migration interprovinciale des immigrants de PLOP français et de PLOP français-anglais entre 1991 et 2006 (graphique 4.2b). L'écart entre ces deux groupes est demeuré élevé tout au long de cette période, les taux de migration du premier groupe pouvant être du double du second (en 1996 et 2001, notamment).

Graphique 4.2b Taux total (pour mille) de migration interprovinciale (standardisé par groupe d'âge) de la population selon le statut d'immigrant et la première langue officielle parlée avant redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais, Canada moins le Québec

L'ampleur de la migration interprovinciale chez les populations des provinces et territoires à l'extérieur du Québec varie selon qu'on est un francophone ou non. Il en va de même des destinations choisies par l'un ou l'autre de ces groupes. On observe en effet que les personnes de langue française (après redistribution de la catégorie français-anglais), qu'elles soient natives ou immigrées, migrent principalement vers la province de Québec, alors que les autres optent pour des destinations beaucoup plus diversifiées. Parmi les migrants interprovinciaux de la période 2001 - 2006 (saisies au recensement de 2006), 62 % des natifs francophones et 68 % des immigrants francophones se sont dirigés majoritairement vers la province de Québec (tableau 4.1). L'Ontario et l'Alberta, dont l'attrait respectif comme provinces de destination est semblable, ont attiré respectivement 9 % et 10 % des migrants interprovinciaux de langue française. Parmi les non francophones (natifs ou immigrants), trois provinces se disputent la majorité des migrants : la Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta et l'Ontario. Ensemble, ces trois provinces ont accueilli 68 % des natifs et 78 % des immigrants non francophones qui ont effectué une migration interprovinciale entre 2001 et 2006. En comparaison, ces mêmes trois provinces ont reçu 25 % des migrants de langue française résidant à l'extérieur du Québec.

Tableau 4.1 Population de migrants interprovinciaux (2001 à 2006) de première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais selon la région de destination, migrants originaires du Canada à l'extérieur du Québec

Cette caractéristique de la migration interprovinciale des personnes qui résidaient à l'extérieur du Québec en 2001 et qui distingue les francophones du reste de la population s'observe à tous les recensements entre 1991 et 2006. Ainsi, la part du Québec comme destination pour les migrants interprovinciaux de langue française s'est maintenue au-delà de 54 % tant chez les natifs que chez les immigrants, et a atteint un sommet au Recensement de 2006 (graphique 4.3). À l'inverse, chez les autres migrants interprovinciaux, la part du Québec est demeurée en deçà de 10 % dans le cas des immigrants et en deçà de 5 % dans le cas des natifs non francophones au cours de la période considérée.

Graphique 4.3 Pourcentage des migrants interprovinciaux qui se sont établis au Québec, population immigrante ou non immigrante de première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais, migrants originaires de l'extérieur du Québec

La migration interprovinciale au Québec et le solde migratoire

Les différences de comportements migratoires entre les individus de langue française et le reste de la population au Canada à l'extérieur du Québec se manifestent également au Québec, à la différence près que les comportements y sont ici inversés. Ainsi, les taux de migration interprovinciale en provenance du Québec, observés à chacun des recensements de 1991 à 2006, sont nettement supérieurs chez les natifs et les immigrants non francophones à ceux des natifs et des immigrants de langue française (graphique 4.4). Le portrait de la situation est l'inverse de ce que l'on a pu observer dans le Canada à l'extérieur du Québec et les écarts entre les deux groupes y sont encore plus importants.

Graphique 4.4 Taux total (pour mille) de migration interprovinciale (standardisé par groupe d'âge) de la population de certains groupes définis selon la première langue officielle parlée (PLOP) après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais et le statut d'immigrant au Canada, taux en provenance du Québec vers le reste du Canada. Canada moins le Québec

Les échanges migratoires entre le Québec et le reste du Canada sont en général favorables à ce dernier (tableau 4.2). Entre 1991 et 2006, le solde migratoire quinquennal pour quatre des cinq groupes définis par la première langue officielle parlée (PLOP) et le statut d'immigrant a été positif pour le Canada à l'extérieur du Québec, sauf en ce qui concerne les personnes natives francophones dont les migrations interprovinciales ont favorisé le Québec lors de trois périodes (1986 à 1991, 1991 à 1996 et 2001 à 2006). Chez les natifs non francophones, le solde net se situait entre 20 000 et près de 30 000 au cours des trois premiers lustres, mais s'est réduit à un peu plus de 8 000 entre 2001 et 2006. On constate une tendance analogue chez les immigrants non francophones : entre 10 000 et 16 000 immigrants ont quitté le Québec pour s'établir dans le reste du Canada à chaque période entre 1991 et 2001, mais ce nombre a ensuite diminué à un peu moins de 8 000 entre 2001 et 2006, rejoignant ainsi le niveau des personnes nées au pays.

Tableau 4.2a Solde migratoire entre le Québec et le reste du Canada de la population immigrante ou non immigrante de première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais

Tableau 4.2b Solde migratoire entre le Québec et le reste du Canada de la population immigrante ou non immigrante de première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais

Les immigrants de langue française affichent également un solde net positif à l'avantage du reste du Canada, mais à un niveau moindre. C'est entre 1996 et 2001 que le solde net a atteint un sommet, soit 4 055. À l'inverse, la migration des natifs francophones a favorisé le Québec. Pour l'essentiel, le solde migratoire net de l'ensemble de la population de langue française a connu des fluctuations importantes, suivant en cela celles observées tant chez les natifs que chez les immigrants francophones.

Dans l'ensemble, la migration interprovinciale à l'extérieur du Québec a joué un rôle relativement modeste sur l'évolution relative de la population non francophone, principalement en raison du fait que l'effectif de cette population est élevé. Malgré des nombres absolus moins élevés, le solde migratoire net a des répercussions démographiques plus importantes chez les populations de langue française dont les effectifs sont relativement peu élevés dans le reste du Canada. Chez les immigrants en particulier, le solde net pour 1 000 immigrants dans le Canada à l'extérieur du Québec s'est établi à 17,8 pour mille entre 2001 et 2006, après avoir atteint des niveaux plus élevés au cours des recensements antérieurs, par exemple, 48 et 60 pour mille au cours des périodes 1991 à 1996 et 1996 à 2001, respectivement (tableau 4.2b).

Les origines des immigrants francophones ayant effectué une migration interprovinciale

Les immigrants francophones résidant à l'extérieur du Québec en 2006 et ayant effectué une migration interprovinciale entre 2001 et 2006 provenaient en majorité de cinq grandes villes (régions métropolitaines de recensement) canadiennes, en particulier de Montréal. Dans l'ensemble, au moins 30 % des immigrants francophones provenaient de la RMR de Montréal, avec cependant de grandes variations selon la région de résidence : 64,5 % dans le cas de l'Ontario, 49 % dans le cas de la Colombie-Britannique, mais 33 % pour la région regroupant les quatre provinces atlantiques (tableau 4.3). Dans cette dernière région, la ville de Québec a contribué pour près de 20 % des migrants. Les principales autres villes d'où sont partis les migrants sont Ottawa-Gatineau et Toronto. Seule la région formée par les deux provinces des Prairies (Manitoba et Saskatchewan) a attiré un pourcentage relativement important de migrants (immigrants francophones) en provenance de la RMR de Vancouver. Le reste du pays (incluant la province de Québec à l'extérieur des villes de Montréal et Québec) a contribué pour moins du tiers des migrants, et en Ontario pour moins de 15 %, Montréal constituant pour cette province le principal pôle d'origine des migrants interprovinciaux entre 2001 et 2006 en ce qui concerne le mouvement des immigrants francophones.

Tableau 4.3 Région de résidence hors Québec en 2006 des immigrants de première langue officielle parlée après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais ayant effectué une migration interprovinciale entre 2001 et 2006 selon le lieu d'origine

Les tendances pour six villes de destination des migrants sont similaires (tableau 4.4). C'est toujours Montréal qui constitue le principal bassin fournissant des migrants issus de l'immigration francophone au Canada à l'extérieur du Québec. À Toronto, par exemple, 77 % des migrants interprovinciaux proviennent de la métropole québécoise. Montréal représente le principal fournisseur pour trois autres villes : Ottawa, Winnipeg et Vancouver, soit 54 %, 55 % et 59 % respectivement. La RMR de Toronto contribue également de façon non négligeable à la migration interprovinciale des immigrants francophones. Ainsi, de ceux ayant choisi Moncton, Calgary et Vancouver, respectivement 23 %, 19 % et 15 % provenaient de Toronto. On constate également une mobilité non négligeable entre Ottawa et Gatineau. Le quart des migrants issus de l'immigration francophone établis à Ottawa provenaient en effet de Gatineau, de l'autre côté de la rivière des Outaouais.

Tableau 4.4 Lieu de résidence hors Québec en 2006 des immigrants de première langue officielle parlée français après redistribution de la catégorie français et anglais ayant effectué une migration interprovinciale entre 2001 et 2006 selon le lieu d'origine

En résumé, la migration interprovinciale est très différentiée selon que l'on est un francophone ou un non francophone habitant le Canada à l'extérieur du Québec. Alors que les francophones tendent à s'établir au Québec lorsqu'ils migrent à l'intérieur du Canada, les non francophones choisissent plutôt une des neuf autres provinces, surtout l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et l'Alberta. Au Québec on observe les tendances inverses : les francophones du Québec, qu'ils soient natifs ou immigrants, migrent relativement peu vers les autres provinces alors que les non francophones quittent la province dans une proportion beaucoup plus élevée. Au total, le mouvement des immigrants francophones du Canada vers le Québec n'arrive pas à compenser le mouvement inverse du Québec vers le reste du Canada et le solde migratoire interprovincial des immigrants francophones favorise nettement le Canada à l'extérieur du Québec. En terme relatif, le solde migratoire des immigrants francophones est même plus important que celui des francophones nés au pays et que celui des immigrants non francophones.


Note

  1. Le recensement comprend également une question sur le lieu de résidence un an auparavant. Toutefois, cette information n'est pas utilisée dans le cadre de ce rapport en raison de la faible taille des effectifs de migrants interprovinciaux d'immigrants de première langue officielle française qui en résulterait.

 

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :