Statistics Canada - Government of Canada
Accessibility: General informationSkip all menus and go to content.Home - Statistics Canada logo Skip main menu and go to secondary menu. Français 1 of 5 Contact Us 2 of 5 Help 3 of 5 Search the website 4 of 5 Canada Site 5 of 5
Skip secondary menu and go to the module menu. The Daily 1 of 7
Census 2 of 7
Canadian Statistics 3 of 7 Community Profiles 4 of 7 Our Products and Services 5 of 7 Home 6 of 7
Other Links 7 of 7

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Skip module menu and go to content. Where Are the Scientists and Engineers?

Where Are the Scientists and Engineers?

Science, Innovation and Electronic Information Division (SIEID)

Content note: At this moment, full content is available in PDF only.

To access the PDF publication, please use the “Full content in PDF” link on the sidebar (on the left-hand side of this page).

Note to users

The science and innovation information program

The purpose of this program is to develop useful indicators of science and technology activity in Canada based on a framework that ties them together into a coherent picture. To achieve the purpose, statistical indicators are being developed in five key entities:

  • Actors: are persons and institutions engaged in S&T activities. Measures include distinguishing R&D performers, identifying universities that license their technologies, and determining the field of study of graduates.
  • Activities: include the creation, transmission or use of S&T knowledge including research and development, innovation, and use of technologies.
  • Linkages: are the means by which S&T knowledge is transferred among actors. Measures include the flow of graduates to industries, the licensing of a university's technology to a company, co-authorship of scientific papers, the source of ideas for innovation in industry.
  • Outcomes: are the medium-term consequences of activities. An outcome of an innovation in a firm may be more highly skilled jobs. An outcome of a firm adopting a new technology may be a greater market share for that firm.
  • Impacts: are the longer-term consequences of activities, linkages and outcomes. Wireless telephony is the result of many activities, linkages and outcomes. It has wide-ranging economic and social impacts such as increased connectedness.

The development of these indicators and their further elaboration is being done at Statistics Canada, in collaboration with other government departments and agencies, and a network of contractors.

Prior to the start of this work, the ongoing measurements of S&T activities were limited to the investment of money and human resources in research and development (R&D). For governments, there were also measures of related scientific activity (RSA) such as surveys and routine testing. These measures presented a limited picture of science and technology in Canada. More measures were needed to improve the picture.

Innovation makes firms competitive and we are continuing with our efforts to understand the characteristics of innovative and non-innovative firms, especially in the service sector that dominates the Canadian Economy. The capacity to innovate resides in people and measures are being developed of the characteristics of people in those industries that lead science and technology activity. In these same industries, measures are being made of the creation and the loss of jobs as part of understanding the impact of technological change.

The federal government is a principal player in science and technology in which it invests over five billion dollars each year. In the past, it has been possible to say only how much the federal government spends and where it spends it. Our report Federal Scientific Activities, 1998 (Cat. No. 88‑204) first published socio-economic objectives indicators to show what the S&T money is spent on. As well as offering a basis for a public debate on the priorities of government spending, all of this information has been used to provide a context for performance reports of individual departments and agencies.

As of April 1999, the Program has been established as a part of Statistics Canada's Science, Innovation and Electronic Information Division.
The final version of the framework that guides the future elaboration of indicators was published in December, 1998 (Science and Technology Activities and Impacts: A Framework for a Statistical Information System, Cat. No. 88-522). The framework has given rise to A Five-Year Strategic Plan for the Development of an Information System for Science and Technology (Cat. No. 88-523).

It is now possible to report on the Canadian system on science and technology and show the role of the federal government in that system.

Home | Search | Contact Us | Français Top of page
Date modified: 2007-04-16 Important Notices
Online catalogue Where Are the Scientists and Engineers? Main page of Where Are the Scientists and Engineers?Key findingsMore informationWhere Are the Scientists and Engineers? in PDF version Other issues in this series

Statistique Canada - Gouvernement du Canada
Accessibilité : Renseignements générauxÉviter tous les menus et aller au contenu.Accueil - Logo de Statistique Canada Éviter le menu principal et aller au menu secondaire. English 1 de 5 Contactez-nous 2 de 5 Aide 3 de 5 Recherche site web 4 de 5 Site du Canada 5 de 5
Éviter le menu secondaire et aller au menu des rubriques. Le quotidien 1 de 7
Recensement 2 de 7
Le Canada en statistiques 3 de 7 Profils des communautés 4 de 7 Nos produits et services 5 de 7 Accueil 6 de 7
Autres liens 7 de 7

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Éviter le menu du rubriques et aller au contenu. Où sont les scientifiques et les ingénieurs?

Où sont les scientifiques et les ingénieurs?

Division des sciences, de l’innovation et de l’information électronique (DSIIE)

Note concernant le contenu : Au moment actuel, le contenu intégral du rapport n'est disponible qu'en format PDF seulement.

Pour accéder à la version PDF, veuillez vous servir du lien hypertexte « Contenu intégral en version PDF » qui figure dans le menu latéral de cette page (côté gauche).

Note aux utilisateurs

Le Programme d’information sur les sciences et l’innovation

Le programme vise à élaborer des indicateurs utiles à l’égard de l’activité liée aux sciences et à la technologie au Canada, dans un cadre les regroupant de manière cohérente. Pour atteindre l’objectif, des indicateurs statistiques sont en voie d’élaboration dans cinq grandes catégories :

  • Acteurs : personnes et établissements engagés dans des activités de S-T. Au nombre des mesures prises, citons l’identification des participants en R-D et des universités qui accordent une licence pour l’utilisation de leurs technologies, ainsi que la détermination du domaine d’études des diplômés.
  • Activités : comportent la création, la transmission et l’utilisation des connaissances en S-T, notamment la recherche et le développement, l’innovation et l’utilisation des technologies.
  • Liens : moyen par lequel les connaissances en S-T sont communiquées aux intervenants. Au nombre des mesures, on compte l’acheminement des diplômés vers les industries, l’octroi à une entreprise d’une licence pour l’utilisation de la technologie d’une université, la copaternité de documents scientifiques, la source d’idées en matière d’innovation dans l’industrie.
  • Résultats : résultats à moyen terme d’activités. Dans une entreprise, l’innovation peut entraîner la création d’emplois plus spécialisés. Dans une autre, l’adoption d’une nouvelle technologie peut mener à une plus grande part de marché.
  • Incidences : répercussions à plus long terme des activités, du maillage et des conséquences. La téléphonie sans fil résulte d’activités, de maillage et de conséquences multiples. Elle présente une vaste gamme d’incidences économiques et sociales, comme l’augmentation de la connectivité.

Statistique Canada veille à l’élaboration actuelle et future de ces indicateurs, de concert avec d’autres ministères et organismes et un réseau d’entrepreneurs.

Avant la mise en route des travaux, les activités liées à la S-T étaient évaluées uniquement en fonction de l’investissement en ressources financières et humaines affectées au secteur de la recherche et du développement (R-D). Pour les administrations publiques, on ajoutait l’évaluation de l’activité scientifique connexe (ASC), comme les enquêtes et les essais courants. Cette évaluation donnait un aperçu limité des sciences et de la technologie au Canada. D’autres mesures s’imposaient pour améliorer le tableau.

L’innovation rend les entreprises concurrentielles, et nous poursuivons nos efforts pour comprendre les caractéristiques des entreprises novatrices et non novatrices, particulièrement dans le secteur des services, lequel domine l’économie canadienne. La capacité d’innover repose sur les personnes, et des mesures sont en voie d’élaboration au sujet des caractéristiques des personnes qui se trouvent dans les secteurs menant l’activité scientifique et technologique. Dans ces secteurs, des mesures sont en train d’être établies au sujet de la création et de la perte d’emplois en vue de cerner l’incidence des changements technologiques.

Le gouvernement fédéral est un intervenant clé en matière de sciences et de technologie, secteur dans lequel il investit plus de cinq milliards par année. Autrefois, on ne connaissait que les sommes dépensées par le gouvernement et l’objet de ces dépenses. Dans notre rapport, Activités scientifiques fédérales, 1998 (Cat. no  88‑204), on publiait, au départ, des indicateurs d’objectifs socioéconomiques afin de préciser comment on dépensait les fonds affectés à la S-T. En plus de servir de fondement à un débat public sur les priorités en matière de dépenses gouvernementales, tous ces renseignements ont servi de contexte aux rapports de rendement de ministères et d’organismes individuels.

Depuis avril 1999, la Division des sciences, de l’innovation et de l’information électronique est responsable du programme.

La version finale du cadre servant de guide à l’élaboration future d’indicateurs a été publiée en décembre 1998 (Activités et incidences des sciences et de la technologie - cadre conceptuel pour un système d’information statistique, Cat. no 88-522). Ce cadre a donné lieu à un Plan stratégique quinquennal pour le développement d’un système d’information sur les sciences et la technologie (Cat. no 88-523).

On peut désormais transmettre des informations sur le système canadien des sciences et de la technologie et montrer le rôle du gouvernement fédéral dans ce système.


Page d'accueil | Recherche | Contactez-nous | English
Haut de la page
Date de modification : 2007-04-16 Avis importants
Le catalogue en ligne Où sont les scientifiques et les ingénieurs? Page principale de Où sont les scientifiques et les ingénieurs? Résultats clés Renseignements supplémentaires Où sont les scientifiques et les ingénieurs? en version PDF Articles déjà parus dans la série Autres numéros dans la série