Publications

    Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics Profile Series

    Multiple Victimization in Canada, 2004

    Introduction

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived Content

    Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]85f0033m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    A large proportion of all victimization incidents are experienced by a relatively small number of victims who experienced multiple incidents. According to the 2004 General Social Survey (GSS) on Victimization, a little more than 10% of the population aged 15 and over were the victims of more than one crime during the 12 months preceding the survey, representing 60% of all criminal incidents. If one considers only violent crimes, 2% of the population accounted for 60% of all violent victimization reported to the GSS.

    Given that a small proportion of individuals and households face a significant proportion of crimes, as a result determining which characteristics increases a person's risk of being victimized will help to improve the effectiveness of crime prevention measures, and perhaps help prevent further incidents of victimization.

    Text box 1
    Distinguishing between multiple and repeat victimization

    Multiple and repeat victimization have been the subject of several studies and are sometimes defined in different ways. On several occasions the two terms have been interchanged and defined the same way (Farrell and Pease, 1993). However, repeat victimization can refer to a somewhat different experience. Multiple victimization, in general, is applicable to individuals who have been victims of crime on more than one occasion during a given period (DeValve, 2004). Multiple victimization can also be considered repeat victimization which is when an individual is the victim on more than one occasion, of the same type of crime committed by the same offender and in which the circumstances of the incident are similar (Outlaw, Ruback & Britt, 2002).

    While repeat victimization may exhibit different characteristics and consequences for the victims than non-repeat multiple victimization, the low frequency of repeat victimization makes analysis difficult. As such, repeat victimization will be included under multiple victimization for this study.

    Using data from the 2004 General Social Survey on Victimization, this profile will look at the prevalence of multiple victimization and the socio-demographic factors that may place people at higher risk of experiencing multiple victimizations.

    The analysis will distinguish between violent victimizations directed at an individual (excluding spousal abuse) and household crimes that are non-violent in nature and are directed at property. As such, when analyzing violent multiple victimizations, only victims of multiple violent crimes will be considered. Furthermore, the analysis of a specific crime type will focus on those who have been victims of that specific crime more than once. Otherwise, multiple victimization will include all those persons who were the victim of a crime on more than one occasion in the 12 months preceding the survey, where the crimes in question could be any crime included in the survey.

    This profile will present a comparative analysis of persons who were victims of more than one crime and persons who were victims of only one crime during the 12 months prior to the survey. In addition, it will compare individuals who have been victims of a criminal act to those who have not been victimized. It will look at the differences in their perceptions of crime, social disorder and police performance as well as their fear of crime.

    Among those Canadians who reported being victims of a crime during the 12 months preceding the 2004 survey, 38% said they had been victimized more than once. This pattern is similar to what was observed in the 1999 survey on victimization. Of those Canadians who reported that they were victimized more than once, half of them were victimized twice, while the other half were victimized three or more times.

    Research to date has shown that not all people are equally at risk of being victims of crime. Some demographic groups are at greater risk of experiencing crime. The first section of this report examines those socio-demographic characteristics associated with a greater risk of experiencing multiple violent victimizations.

    Similarly there are some household characteristics that place them at risk of being targets of household crime. For example, property crimes (i.e. crimes committed against households) such as break-ins, vehicle thefts, vandalism and thefts of personal property are associated with the attractiveness of the home or property to the offender. These considerations will be discussed later in this article.

    Text box 2
    Types of offences

    The 2004 General Social Survey (GSS) measured the extent of criminal victimization by looking at three types of violent crime, theft of personal property and four types of household property crime, according to their definitions in the Criminal Code.

    When an incident included more than one type of crime, it was classified according to the most serious offence. The rank of offences from most to least serious is sexual assault, robbery, physical assault, break and enter, motor vehicle/ parts theft, theft of personal property, theft of household property and vandalism.

    Violent offences:

    Sexual assault: Forced sexual activity, an attempt at forced sexual activity, or unwanted sexual touching, grabbing, kissing or fondling.
    Robbery: Theft or attempted theft in which the perpetrator had a weapon or there was violence or the threat of violence against the victim.
    Assault: An attack (victim hit, slapped, grabbed, knocked down or beaten), a face-to-face threat of physical harm, or an incident with a weapon present.

    Non-violent offences:

    Theft of personal property: Theft or attempted theft of personal property such as money, credit cards, clothing, jewellery, a purse or a wallet (unlike robbery, the perpetrator does not confront the victim).

    Household offences:

    Break and enter: Illegal entry or attempted entry into a residence or other building on the victim's property.
    Motor vehicle/parts theft: Theft or attempted theft of a car, truck, van, motorcycle, moped or other vehicle or part of a motor vehicle.
    Theft of household property: Theft or attempted theft of household property such as liquor, bicycles, electronic equipment, tools or appliances.
    Vandalism: Wilful damage of personal or household property, theft or attempted theft of personal property such as money, credit cards, clothing, jewellery, a purse or a wallet (unlike robbery, the perpetrator does not confront the victim).

    One third of victims of violent offences and one quarter of victims of property crimes are victims of multiple incidents1, 2

    Among the 5% of Canadians who reported being the victim of a violent offence during the year prior to the survey, one third (33%) indicated experiencing more than one violent incident during this period. As for the 19% of Canadians who were victims of a property crime, one quarter of them had their household victimized two or more times (Table 1).

    Table 1 Types of crime experienced by victims, 2004


    Notes

    1. Unless otherwise stated, the differences reported in this profile are statistically significant. For more information, see the "Methodology" section.
    2. Incidences of sexual assault and assault committed by the spouse, common-law partner, ex-spouse or ex-partner are excluded from this analysis.
    Report a problem on this page

    Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

    Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

    Privacy notice

    Date modified:

Publications

    Série de profils du Centre canadien de la statistique juridique

    La victimisation multiple au Canada, 2004

    Introduction

    Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Informations archivées

    Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    Une bonne partie des incidents de victimisation qui se produisent sont vécus par un nombre relativement faible de personnes qui sont victimes de multiples incidents. Selon les données de l'Enquête sociale générale (ESG) de 2004 sur la victimisation, un peu plus de 10 % des personnes de 15 ans et plus avaient été victimes de plus d'un crime au cours des 12 mois précédant l'enquête, mais elles avaient subi 60 % de tous les incidents criminels. Lorsque l'on ne tient compte que des crimes violents, on observe que 2 % de la population avaient subi 60 % des incidents de victimisation avec violence déclarés dans le cadre de l'ESG.

    Comme une faible proportion de personnes et de ménages font face à une part importante des crimes, le fait de connaître les caractéristiques augmentant le risque d'être victime d'un crime permettrait une meilleure efficacité des mesures de prévention du crime, et peut-être prévenir des incidents de victimisation subséquents.

    Encadré 1
    Distinction entre la victimisation multiple et la victimisation répétée

    La victimisation multiple et la victimisation répétée ont fait l'objet de plusieurs recherches et sont parfois définies de façon différente. À plusieurs occasions, ces deux termes ont été interchangés et définis de la même façon (Farrell et Pease, 1993). Or, la victimisation répétée peut signifier une expérience quelque peu différente. De façon générale, la victimisation multiple s'applique aux personnes qui ont été victimes d'un crime à plus d'une occasion au cours d'une période donnée (DeValve, 2004). La victimisation multiple peut aussi être considérée comme répétée lorsqu'une personne est victime à plusieurs reprises du même type de crime commis par le même agresseur, et où les circonstances des incidents sont semblables (Outlaw, Ruback et Britt, 2002).

    Bien que la victimisation répétée puisse avoir des caractéristiques et des conséquences différentes de la victimisation multiple non répétée, la faible fréquence de la victimisation répétée en rend l'analyse difficile. Pour cette raison, la victimisation répétée sera incluse dans la victimisation multiple aux fins de cette étude.

    À l'aide des données de l'ESG de 2004 sur la victimisation, on examine dans le présent profil la prévalence de la victimisation multiple ainsi que les facteurs sociodémographiques qui pourraient accroître le risque pour les personnes d'être l'objet de victimisation multiple.

    Dans le cadre de cette analyse, on fait la distinction entre les victimisations avec violence à l'endroit des personnes (sauf la violence conjugale) et les crimes contre les ménages, lesquels sont de nature non violente et dirigés contre les biens. Ainsi, dans l'analyse des victimisations multiples avec violence, seules les victimes de multiples crimes violents sont étudiées. En outre, l'analyse d'un type de crime précis portera sur les personnes qui ont été victimes de ce crime précis plus d'une fois. Autrement, la victimisation multiple comprendra toute personne ayant été victime d'un crime à plusieurs reprises durant les 12 mois précédant l'enquête, les crimes en question pouvant être n'importe lesquels des crimes visés par l'enquête.

    Ce profil présente une analyse comparative des personnes qui ont été victimes de plus d'un crime et des personnes ayant été victimes d'un seul crime au cours des 12 mois précédant la tenue de l'enquête. On y compare aussi les personnes qui ont été victimes d'un acte criminel à celles qui n'ont jamais été victimisées. Enfin, on examine les différences dans leurs perceptions de la criminalité, des désordres sociaux et du rendement de la police ainsi que leur crainte face à la criminalité.

    Parmi les Canadiens qui ont indiqué avoir été victimes d'un crime au cours de l'année précédant l'ESG de 2004, 38 % ont dit l'avoir été à plus d'une reprise. Il s'agit d'un résultat similaire à ce qui avait été observé lors du cycle précédent sur la victimisation en 1999. Chez les Canadiens qui ont dit avoir été victimisés à plus d'une occasion, la moitié l'ont été deux fois, alors que l'autre moitié l'ont été trois fois ou plus.

    La recherche effectuée à ce jour démontre que les personnes ne présentent pas toutes le même risque d'être victimes d'un crime. En effet, certains groupes démographiques ont un risque plus élevé d'être victimisés. La première partie de ce rapport comprend une analyse de ces caractéristiques sociodémographiques qui sont liées à un plus grand risque de victimisation multiple avec violence.

    De même, certaines caractéristiques des ménages augmentent leur risque d'être la cible d'un crime contre les ménages. Par exemple, les crimes contre les biens (c.-à-d. les crimes perpétrés contre les ménages) tels que les introductions par effraction, les vols de véhicules à moteur, le vandalisme et les vols de biens personnels sont associés à l'attrait du ménage ou de la propriété aux yeux du contrevenant. C'est ce dont il sera également question dans ce profil.

    Encadré 2
    Types d'infractions

    L'Enquête sociale générale (ESG) de 2004 a permis de mesurer l'étendue de la victimisation criminelle en examinant trois types de crimes violents, le vol de biens personnels et quatre types de crimes contre les biens du ménage, selon leurs définitions dans le Code criminel.

    Lorsqu'un incident comprenait plus d'un type de crime, il était classé en fonction de l'infraction la plus grave. Le classement des infractions, de la plus grave à la moins grave, est le suivant : agression sexuelle, vol qualifié, voies de fait, introduction par effraction, vol de véhicules à moteur ou de leurs pièces, vol de biens personnels, vol de biens du ménage et vandalisme.

    Infractions violentes 

    Agression sexuelle : Activité sexuelle forcée, tentative d'activité sexuelle forcée, attouchements sexuels non désirés ou le fait d'être empoigné(e) ou caressé(e) contre son gré.
    Vol qualifié : Vol ou tentative de vol lorsque le contrevenant est armé ou lorsqu'il y a des actes de violence ou des menaces de violence contre la victime.
    Voies de fait : Attaque (victime frappée, giflée, empoignée, envoyée par terre ou battue), menace de préjudice physique proférée face à face ou incident dans lequel une arme est présente.

    Infractions non violentes 

    Vol de biens personnels : Vol ou tentative de vol de biens personnels comme de l'argent, des cartes de crédit, des vêtements, des bijoux, un sac à main ou un portefeuille (contrairement au vol qualifié, l'auteur ne confronte pas sa victime).

    Infractions contre les ménages 

    Introduction par effraction : Introduction illégale ou tentative d'introduction illégale dans une résidence ou un autre édifice sur le terrain de la victime.
    Vol de véhicules à moteur ou de leurs pièces : Vol ou tentative de vol d'une voiture, d'un camion, d'une fourgonnette, d'une motocyclette, d'un cyclomoteur ou d'un autre véhicule ou de pièces d'un véhicule à moteur.
    Vol de biens du ménage : Vol ou tentative de vol de biens appartenant au ménage comme de la boisson, des bicyclettes, des appareils électroniques, des outils ou des appareils ménagers.
    Vandalisme : Endommagement intentionnel de biens personnels ou du ménage, vol ou tentative de vol de biens personnels comme de l'argent, des cartes de crédit, des vêtements, des bijoux, un sac à main ou un portefeuille (contrairement au vol qualifié, l'auteur ne confronte pas sa victime).

    Le tiers des victimes d'infractions violentes et le quart des victimes de crimes contre les biens sont des victimes de multiples incidents1, 2

    Parmi les 5 % de Canadiens ayant déclaré avoir été victimes d'un crime violent au cours de l'année précédant la tenue de l'enquête, le tiers (33 %) ont indiqué avoir subi plus d'un incident violent durant cette période. Quant aux 19 % de Canadiens qui ont été victimes d'un crime contre les biens, pour le quart d'entre eux, leur ménage avait été victimisé à deux reprises ou plus (tableau 1).

    Tableau 1 Types de crimes vécus par les victimes, 2004


    Notes

    1. Sauf indication contraire, les différences indiquées dans le présent profil sont statistiquement significatives. Voir la section « Méthodes » pour obtenir plus de renseignements.
    2. Les incidents d'agression sexuelle et de voies de fait perpétrés par le conjoint, le conjoint de fait, l'ex-conjoint ou l'ex-conjoint de fait sont exclus de l'analyse.
    Date de modification :