Publications

    Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics Profile Series

    Multiple Victimization in Canada, 2004

    Highlights

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived Content

    Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]85f0033m[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
    • In 2004, persons who reported having been the victim of more than one violent crime during the past year represented 2% of the population, but had experienced 60% of all violent crimes.
    • Among those Canadians who reported having been victims of a crime in the 12 months preceding the survey, 38% said they had been victimized more than once. Of those, half were victimized twice while the other half were victimized three or more times.
    • In 2004, young people, Aboriginals, single people, those involved in a large number of evening activities and who consumed alcohol more often were proportionally more likely to have reported being a victim of more than one violent crime.
    • People who rented their home, lived in urban areas and resided in neighbourhoods with a higher proportion of single-parent families were more likely to be victims of a property crime more than once.
    • While most Canadians, in 2004, reported being satisfied with their personal safety from crime, those reporting multiple victimizations expressed lower satisfaction with their safety compared to one-time victims and those that were not victimized in the 12 months preceding the survey.
    Report a problem on this page

    Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

    Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

    Privacy notice

    Date modified:

Publications

    Série de profils du Centre canadien de la statistique juridique

    La victimisation multiple au Canada, 2004

    Faits saillants

    Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Informations archivées

    Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    • En 2004, les personnes qui ont indiqué avoir été victimes de plus d'un crime violent durant l'année précédente représentaient 2 % de la population, mais elles avaient fait l'objet de 60 % de tous les crimes violents.
    • Parmi les Canadiens qui ont déclaré avoir été victimes d'un crime au cours des 12 mois précédant la tenue de l'enquête, 38 % ont dit avoir été victimisés à plusieurs reprises. La moitié d'entre eux ont été victimisés deux fois, alors que l'autre moitié l'ont été trois fois ou plus.
    • En 2004, les jeunes, les Autochtones, les personnes célibataires, celles qui participaient à un grand nombre d'activités en soirée et celles qui consommaient de l'alcool plus souvent ont été proportionnellement plus nombreux à mentionner avoir été victimes de plus d'un crime violent.
    • Les personnes qui étaient locataires de leur résidence, celles qui vivaient en milieu urbain et celles qui résidaient dans les quartiers où la proportion de familles monoparentales était plus élevée ont été plus nombreuses à être victimes d'un crime contre les biens à plusieurs reprises.
    • Alors qu'une majorité de Canadiens se sont dits satisfaits par rapport à leur sécurité personnelle face à la criminalité en 2004, les personnes qui ont déclaré avoir été victimes de multiples crimes ont exprimé des degrés de satisfaction moins élevés à ce chapitre que les personnes qui ont été victimes d'un seul crime et que les personnes qui n'ont pas été victimisées durant les 12 mois précédant l'enquête.
    Date de modification :