Notes

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]85-004-x[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Gannon, M. and K. Mihorean. 2005. "Criminal victimization in Canada, 2004."Juristat. Vol. 25, no. 7. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 85-002. Ottawa.
The Working Group consists of members from the following organizations: Statistics Canada, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Ontario Provincial Police, Sûreté du Québec, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary, Toronto Police Service, Ottawa Police Service, Winnipeg Police Service, Victoria Police Service, Saint John Police Service, Justice Canada, New Brunswick Department of Public Safety, Quebec Ministry of Public Security, Ontario Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services, Alberta Department of Justice, University of Ottawa, University of Waterloo and University of Manitoba.
For further information on these surveys refer to the data sources in Appendix A.
For more information on the calculation of the Crime Severity Index and its weights, refer to the Crime Severity Index Methodological Paper which is forthcoming.
For certain rare or new violations, courts sentencing data are not available. In these cases, a proxy weight is used which is calculated from similar offence types with the same maximum penalty in the Criminal Code.
To calculate the average sentence length, an outlier treatment method is used to remove a small number of extreme and highly influential sentences which may be due to unique court cases or data quality issues.
The Crime Severity Index is calculated using Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey data. For the period from 1998 to 2007 Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey data are not available for all respondents. In order to report this level of detail for police services still reporting to the aggregate Uniform Crime Reporting Survey over this time, a process of imputation was applied to derive counts for violations that do not exist on their own in the aggregate survey. For approximately 80% of the aggregate offence codes, there is a 1:1 mapping with a new Incident-based violation code. For violations where this was not the case, such as the aggregate 'other'Criminal Code category, it was necessary to estimate (impute) this figure using the distribution of 'other'Criminal Code offences from existing Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey respondents.
The definition of violent crimes has been expanded to include some offences which were not included in the past. This change is detailed in Appendix C of this report.
A census metropolitan area is defined as one or more adjacent municipalities centred on a large urban area (known as the urban core). A census metropolitan area must have a total population of at least 100,000 of which 50,000 or more must live in the urban core.
Coverage of the Incident-based Uniform Crime Reporting Survey in the years prior to 1998 was limited, making it impossible to calculate the Crime Severity Index before this year.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Notes

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]85-004-x[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Maire Gannon et Karen Mihorean, 2005, « La victimisation criminelle au Canada, 2004 », Juristat, produit no 85-002 au catalogue de Statistique Canada, vol. 25, no 7.
Le groupe de travail est composé de membres des organismes suivants : Statistique Canada, Gendarmerie royale du Canada, Police provinciale de l'Ontario, Sûreté du Québec, Force constabulaire royale de Terre-Neuve, Service de police de Toronto, Service de police d'Ottawa, Service de police de Winnipeg, Service de police de Victoria, Service de police de Saint John, ministère de la Justice Canada, ministère de la Sécurité publique du Nouveau-Brunswick, ministère de la Sécurité publique du Québec, ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels de l'Ontario, Alberta Justice, Université d'Ottawa, Université de Waterloo et Université du Manitoba.
Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces enquêtes, consultez les sources de données à l'appendice A.
Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le calcul de l'Indice de gravité de la criminalité et sur ses poids, consultez le rapport méthodologique sur l'Indice de gravité de la criminalité qui paraîtra sous peu.
On ne dispose pas de données judiciaires sur les peines imposées pour certaines infractions rares ou nouvelles. Dans ces cas, on utilise un poids approximatif, qui est calculé à partir de types d'infractions semblables dont les mêmes peines maximales sont prévues au Code criminel.
Pour calculer la durée moyenne des peines, on applique une méthode de traitement des observations aberrantes pour supprimer un petit nombre de peines ayant des valeurs extrêmes et une incidence marquée sur les données, ce qui peut être attribuable au caractère unique de certaines causes ou à des problèmes de qualité des données.
L'Indice de gravité de la criminalité est calculé au moyen des données du Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité fondé sur l'affaire (DUC 2). Pour la période allant de 1998 à 2007, les données du Programme DUC 2 n'ont pas été fournies par tous les répondants. Afin de consigner ce niveau de détail pour les services de police qui participaient toujours au Programme DUC agrégé au cours de cette période, on a utilisé un processus d'imputation pour calculer les comptes d'infractions qui n'existent pas en soi dans le cadre de l'enquête agrégée. Pour environ 80 % des codes d'infractions agrégés, il y a une correspondance de 1:1 avec un nouveau code d'infraction du Programme DUC 2. En ce qui concerne les infractions pour lesquelles il n'y a pas une telle correspondance, comme la catégorie agrégée des autres infractions en vertu du Code criminel, il a fallu estimer (imputer) ce chiffre en utilisant la répartition des autres infractions au Code criminel déclarées par les répondants actuels du Programme DUC 2.
La définition de crimes violents a été modifiée pour inclure certaines infractions qui étaient exclues auparavant. Ce changement est expliqué à l'appendice C du présent rapport.
Une région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) est composée d'un grand centre urbain (appelé « noyau urbain ») ainsi que des régions suburbaines et rurales adjacentes qui sont intégrées au centre urbain. Une RMR doit compter au moins 100 000 habitants, dont 50 000 ou plus vivent dans le noyau urbain.
Comme la couverture du Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité fondé sur l'affaire était limitée avant 1998, il a été impossible de calculer l'Indice de gravité de la criminalité pour les années antérieures à cette année-là.
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :