Life Tables, Canada, Provinces and Territories
1980/1982 to 2019/2021 (three-year estimates), and 1980 to 2021 (single-year estimates)Note 1

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Release date: August 28, 2023

Start of text box

For Canada, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, two sets of complete life tables are available:

For Prince Edward Island, Yukon,Note 2 Northwest Territories and Nunavut, three-year abridged life tables are available: Table 13-10-0140.

End of text box

Click here to obtain the full set of life tables in Excel format.

The life tables include various indicators that can be used to describe mortality in a population at a given point in time: life expectancy, death probabilities, probabilities of survival, survivors at various ages and years lived. It answers many statistical needs, especially in the health, epidemiology and actuarial sectors, and allows for comparisons to be made between regions or over time.

Complete life tables, by single years of age and sex, are produced for Canada as a whole and for nine provinces: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. Complete life tables are available for three-year estimates and for single-year estimates.

Single-year life tables can be useful for granular analysis of time variations and for highlighting the most recent trends. However, for comparisons between regions or for the analysis of long-term mortality trends, it is recommended that three-year life tables be used, especially for the less populated provinces. Compared to single-year life tables, three-year life tables provide more robust and more stable estimates of mortality indicators and require less imputation to produce (especially at young ages when the number of deaths is often low).

Abridged life tables (by five-year age groups) by sex are produced for Prince Edward Island, Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. The population size of this province and the three territories are too small to allow the calculation of complete life tables or single-year life tables with sufficient accuracy. Northwest Territories and Nunavut are treated separately in the construction of 1998/2000 and 1999/2001 mortality tables, even though Nunavut was officially created on April 1, 1999.


Table 1
Changes for this release
Table summary
This table displays the results of Changes for this release . The information is grouped by Description (appearing as row headers), Effective period (appearing as column headers).
Description Effective period
Three-year complete life tablesTable 1 Note 1 Table 1 Note 2
New estimates 2019/2021
Updates on death counts 2016/2018 to 2018/2020
Updates on population estimates 2020 and 2021
Adjustments for missing data in YukonTable 1 Note 2 2015/2017 to 2019/2021
Single-year complete life tablesTable 1 Note 1 Table 1 Note 2
New estimates 2021
Updates on death counts 2018 to 2020
Updates on population estimates 2020 and 2021
Adjustments for missing data in YukonTable 1 Note 2 2017 to 2021
Three-year abridged life tablesTable 1 Note 1 Table 1 Note 2
New estimates 2019/2021
Updates on death counts 2016/2018 to 2018/2020
Updates on population estimates 2020 and 2021
Adjustments for missing data in YukonTable 1 Note 2 2015/2017 to 2019/2021

Methods

The methods used for the life tables are described in the document Methods for Constructing Life Tables for Canada, Provinces and Territories, catalogue no. 84-538. All of the Statistics Canada life tables computed in this series are based on this revised methodology which takes into account recent progress in the field of mortality studies.

Definitions of the elements included in the life tables

The following elements are available in all life tables included in this document.

Age (age interval):

The major visual difference between the complete and abridged life tables lies in the age groupings for which the estimates have been produced.

In complete life tables, there is only one age value per row, which indicates the exact age for the number of survivors, the cumulative number of life years lived and the life expectancy. For the number of deaths, death and survival probabilities, as well as the number of life years lived, the interval in the life table represent the interval between two exact ages. For example, death at age 30 means that the death occurred on or after the 30th birthday but before reaching the 31st birthday.

The presentation is the same in abridged life tables, but the age intervals are of the form (x, x+(n−1)); that is, both ages x and x+(n−1) are included in the interval. For example, the age interval 40 to 44 comprises deaths occurring among 40 to 44 year-olds. Most age intervals in abridged life tables span five years. The exceptions occur in the first two rows of these tables and for the last row: the first row (age 0) represents a one-year interval and the second row, a four-year interval (ages 1 to 4). The last row is an open age interval, 90 years and over.

lx (number of survivors at age x):

Number of persons in an initial cohort of 100,000 live births who are still alive at the beginning of each subsequent age interval. The number of survivors decreases as age increases, under the effect of mortality.

It is possible to compute, from the number of survivors, probabilities of survival between two ages. For example, if the number of survivors is 99,297 at age 10 and 98,935 at age 20, the probability of surviving from age 10 to age 20 is 98,935 / 99,297, that is, 0.99635.

dx (number of deaths between age x and x+n):

Number of deaths which occur in each age interval among the initial cohort of 100,000 live births at age 0.

qx (death probability between age x and x+n):

Probability that a person of age x dies before reaching age x+n.

m.e. (qx) (margin of error associated with the death probability):

Margin of error associated with the death probability. For example, a margin of error of 0.00020 for a death probability at age 0 of 0.00556 enables the construction of a 95% confidence interval with lower and upper limits of 0.00536 and 0.00576.

px (probability of survival between age x and x+n):

Probability that a person of age x survives up to year x+n.

Lx (number of life years lived between age x and x+n):

Number of life years lived by persons between age x and x+n. Life years lived are also considered as the stationary population of the life table. Except for ages from 0 to 4 where a separation factor is computed (see the document Methods for Constructing Life Tables for Canada, Provinces and Territories, catalogue no. 84-538), the assumption made is that the deaths are distributed evenly over time within the age interval.

Tx (cumulative number of life years lived beyond age x):

Total number of life years lived by persons of age x and all those included in subsequent age intervals.

ex (life expectancy at age x):

Average number of years remaining to be lived by persons at age x if these persons would experience, during their life, the mortality observed over the reference period.

m.e. (ex) (margin of error associated with the life expectancy):

Margin of error associated with the life expectancy at age x. For example, a margin of error of 0.2 on a life expectancy at birth of 81.9 years enables the construction of a 95% confidence interval with lower and upper limits of 81.7 years and 82.1 years.

Client services

For custom products requests regarding life tables, please contact Statistics Canada's National Contact Centre (613-951-8116; toll-free 1-800-263-1136) or infostats@statcan.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Tables de mortalité, Canada, provinces et territoires
1980-1982 à 2019-2021 (estimations sur trois ans), et 1980 à 2021 (estimations sur un an)Note 1

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de diffusion : le 28 août 2023

Début de l'encadré

Pour le Canada, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick, le Québec, l'Ontario, le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan, l'Alberta et la Colombie-Britannique, deux séries de tables complètes de mortalité sont disponibles :

Pour l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le YukonNote 2, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut, des tables abrégées de mortalité sur trois ans sont disponibles : Tableau 13-10-0140.

Fin de l'encadré

Appuyez ici pour obtenir les tables de mortalité en format Excel.

Les tables de mortalité comprennent plusieurs indicateurs permettant de décrire la mortalité au sein d'une population durant une période donnée : espérance de vie, quotients de mortalité, probabilités de survie, survivants à divers âges et années vécues. Elle répond à plusieurs besoins statistiques, notamment dans les domaines de la santé, de l’épidémiologie et de l’actuariat, et permet d’établir des comparaisons entre les régions.

Des tables complètes de mortalité, c'est-à-dire par années d'âge et sexe, sont produites pour le Canada dans son ensemble et neuf provinces : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nouveau-Brunswick, Québec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta et Colombie-Britannique. Les tables complètes de mortalité sont disponibles pour des estimations sur trois ans et des estimations sur une seule année.

Les tables de mortalité sur un an peuvent être utiles pour une analyse granulaire des variations temporelles et pour mettre en évidence la conjoncture récente. Cependant, pour les comparaisons entre régions ou pour l'analyse des tendances de la mortalité à long terme, il est recommandé d'utiliser des tables de mortalité sur trois ans, en particulier pour les provinces les moins peuplées. Par rapport aux tables de mortalité sur un an, les tables de mortalité sur trois ans fournissent des estimations plus robustes et plus stables des indicateurs de mortalité et leur production nécessite moins d’imputation (en particulier aux jeunes âges où le nombre de décès est souvent faible).

Des tables abrégées (par groupes d'âge de 5 ans) de mortalité par sexe sont produites pour l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut. Les tailles de population de cette province et des trois territoires ne sont pas suffisantes pour permettre le calcul de tables complètes de mortalité ou de tables de mortalité sur un an avec une précision satisfaisante. Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut sont considérés séparément dans le calcul des tables 1998-2000 et 1999-2001, cela même si le Nunavut a été créé officiellement le 1er avril 1999.


Tableau 1
Changements associés à cette diffusion
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Changements associés à cette diffusion. Les données sont présentées selon Description (titres de rangée) et Période d’application(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Description Période d’application
Tables complètes de mortalité sur trois ansTableau 1 Note 1 Tableau 1 Note 2
Nouvelles estimations 2019-2021
Mises à jour des nombres de décès 2016-2018 à 2018-2020
Mises à jour des estimations de population 2020 et 2021
Ajustements en fonction des données manquantes pour le YukonTableau 1 Note 2 2015-2017 à 2019-2021
Tables complètes de mortalité sur un anTableau 1 Note 1 Tableau 1 Note 2
Nouvelles estimations 2021
Mises à jour des nombres de décès 2018 à 2020
Mises à jour des estimations de population 2020 et 2021
Ajustements en fonction des données manquantes pour le YukonTableau 1 Note 2 2017 à 2021
Tables abrégées de mortalitéTableau 1 Note 1 Tableau 1 Note 2
Nouvelles estimations 2019-2021
Mises à jour des nombres de décès 2016-2018 à 2018-2020
Mises à jour des estimations de population 2020 et 2021
Ajustements en fonction des données manquantes pour le YukonTableau 1 Note 2 2015-2017 à 2019-2021

Méthodologie

La méthodologie des tables de mortalité est disponible dans le document Méthodologie des tables de mortalité pour le Canada, les provinces et les territoires 84-538 au catalogue. Toutes les tables de mortalité de Statistique Canada produites dans cette série sont basées sur cette méthodologie qui a été révisée pour tenir compte de certaines avancées récentes dans le domaine des études de la mortalité.

Définitions des éléments des tables de mortalité

Les éléments suivants sont disponibles dans toutes les tables de mortalité publiées dans ce document.

Âge (intervalle d'âge) : 

La principale différence dans la présentation matérielle des tables complètes et abrégées de mortalité concerne les intervalles d'âge pour lesquels les estimations ont été produites.

Dans les tables complètes de mortalité, on retrouve un seul âge par ligne, qui repère l'âge exact pour le nombre de survivants, le total des années vécues et l'espérance de vie. Pour le nombre de décès, les probabilités de décès et de survie, ainsi que le nombre d'années vécues, l'intervalle considéré dans ces tables est un intervalle entre deux âges exact. Par exemple, un décès survenu à 30 ans signifie que le sujet est décédé le jour de son 30e anniversaire ou après, mais avant d'atteindre son 31e anniversaire.

La présentation est la même dans les tables abrégées de mortalité, sauf que les intervalles d'âge prennent la forme (x, x+(n-1)), c'est-à-dire que les deux âges, x et x+(n-1), sont inclus dans l'intervalle. Par exemple, le nombre de décès indiqué entre 40 et 44 ans est celui correspondant aux décès survenus chez les personnes qui ont entre 40 et 44 ans révolus. La plupart des intervalles d'âge sont de cinq ans dans les tables abrégées, sauf pour les deux premières lignes et pour la dernière ligne. La première ligne (âge 0) représente un intervalle d'un an, et la deuxième (1 à 4 ans) un intervalle de 4 ans. La dernière ligne, 90 ans et plus, représente un intervalle d'âge ouvert.

lx (nombre de survivants à l'âge x) : 

Nombre de personnes d'une cohorte initiale de 100 000 naissances vivantes et qui sont toujours vivantes au début de chaque intervalle d'âge suivant. Le nombre de survivants diminue progressivement à mesure que l'âge augmente, sous l'effet de la mortalité.

On peut estimer, grâce au nombre de survivants, les probabilités de survie entre deux âges. Par exemple, si le nombre de survivants est de 99 297 personnes à 10 ans et de 98 935 à 20 ans, la probabilité qu'une personne âgée de 10 ans survive jusqu'à l'âge de 20 ans est de 98 935 / 99 297, soit 0,99635.

dx (nombre de décès entre l'âge x et x+n) : 

Nombre de décès qui surviennent dans chaque intervalle d'âge au sein d'une cohorte initiale de 100 000 naissances vivantes à l'âge 0.

qx (quotient de mortalité entre l'âge x et x+n) : 

Probabilité qu'un individu d'âge x décède avant d'atteindre l'âge x+n.

m.e. (qx) (marge d'erreur du quotient de mortalité) : 

Marge d'erreur associée au quotient de mortalité. Par exemple, une marge d'erreur de 0,00020 sur un quotient de mortalité à 0 an dont la valeur est 0,00556 permet de construire un intervalle de confiance à 95 % ayant comme borne inférieure et supérieure 0,00536 et 0,00576.

px (probabilité de survie entre l'âge x et x+n) : 

Probabilité qu'un individu d'âge x survit jusqu'à l'âge x+n.

Lx (nombre d'années vécues entre l'âge x et x+n) : 

Nombre d'années vécues par les personnes entre l'âge x et x+n. On désigne aussi les années vécues comme étant la population stationnaire de la table de mortalité. Sauf entre 0 et 4 ans où un facteur de séparation est calculé (voir le document Méthodologie des tables de mortalité pour le Canada, les provinces et les territoires 84-538 au catalogue), on fait l'hypothèse que les décès sont répartis uniformément dans le temps au cours de l'intervalle d'âge.

Tx (nombre cumulé d'années vécues à partir de l'âge x) : 

Nombre total d'années vécues par les personnes d'âge x et toutes celles qui appartiennent aux intervalles d'âge suivants.

ex (espérance de vie à l'âge x) : 

Nombre moyen d'années restant à vivre pour les personnes d'âge x, si ces personnes connaissaient, durant leur vie, la mortalité observée au cours de la période de référence.

m.e. (ex) (marge d'erreur de l'espérance de vie) : 

Marge d'erreur associée à l'espérance de vie à l'âge x. Par exemple, une marge d'erreur de 0,2 sur une espérance de vie à la naissance de 81,9 ans permet de construire un intervalle de confiance à 95 % ayant comme borne inférieure et supérieure 81,7 ans et 82,1 ans.

Service à la clientèle

Pour toute demande de produits personnalisés concernant les tables complètes ou abrégées de mortalité, veuillez contacter le Centre de contact national de Statistique Canada au 613-951-8116 ou composez sans frais le 1-800-263-1136 (infostats@statcan.gc.ca).

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :