Introduction

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Ranking causes of death is an informative way to present mortality statistics, supplementing other measures of mortality such as death rates and life table.  Statistical tables in this publication were prepared to serve as a reference tool for health professionals and anyone requiring information on current mortality patterns in Canada.

The present publication replaces the Leading Causes of Death at Different Ages, Canada, catalogue no. 84F0503XPB.

Previous leading causes of death publications of Statistics Canada were based on earlier versions of International Statistical Classification of Diseases (ICD). For this publication, causes of death are coded to the 10th revision of the World Health Organization's International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD–10).1

There are three series of data tables in this publication. First series of tables presents the ten leading causes of death in Canada for 10 age groups (all ages, 1 to 14, and ten–year age groups from 15 to 24 to 85 and over) by sex and for the most recent five years. The reference year for the ranking is the most recent year. Further information is available for leading causes of death ranked by five–year age groups in CANSIM table 102–0561.

Second series of tables presents the ten leading causes of infant death (less than one year old) in Canada by sex for the most recent five years. The reference year for the ranking is the most recent year. Further information is available for more leading causes of infant death in CANSIM table 102–0562.

The third series of tables presents the ten leading causes of death for Canada and each province or territory by sex, for the most recent year. The 'Canada' level data is the reference for the ranking of these ten leading causes of death. Further information is available for an expanded list of leading causes of death by province and territory in CANSIM table 102–0563.

From the approximately 8,000 ICD–10 codes valid for underlying causes of death, aggregated groups of causes of death called "short lists" were developed for use in the summary list of causes of death and to rank the leading causes of death. The short lists of ICD-10 used to rank the leading causes of death and the methodology used to select the rankable causes were developed by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services.2

The number of deaths is used as the ranking criteria because it most accurately reflects the frequency of cause-specific mortality. The 50 rankable causes of death, as shown in Appendix 1, were selected from the short list of 113 selected causes of death developed by NCHS for use with ICD–10. Causes of death are ranked according to the number of deaths assigned to each of the 50 rankable causes shown in the Appendix 1.

The 71 rankable causes of infant death, as shown in Appendix 2, were selected from the short list of 130 selected causes of infant death developed by NCHS for use with ICD–10. Causes of infant death are ranked according to the number of deaths assigned to each of the 71 rankable causes presented in the Appendix 2.

The ranking of leading causes has limitations; it describes the rank order, by number of deaths, of each cause of death from a selected list of causes. The ranking alone cannot measure the relative risk of death.  Further, any comparisons of leading causes by region or by year do not take into account the differences in the population age structure.


Footnotes

  1. World Health Organization (WHO). International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision, Volumes 1 and 2 (ICD–10). Geneva, 1992.
  2. Heron, M. "Deaths: leading causes for 2004." National Vital Statistics Reports. 2007; 56(5): 1–95.
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified:

Introduction – Principales causes de décès

Warning Consulter la version la plus récente.

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le classement des causes de décès est une façon informative de présenter les statistiques de la mortalité, de manière à compléter d'autres mesures de la mortalité comme les taux de mortalité et la table de mortalité. Les tableaux statistiques de cette publication servent d'outil de référence aux professionnels de la santé et aux personnes ayant besoin d'information sur les tendances actuelles de la mortalité au Canada.

La présente publication remplace Les principales causes de décès au Canada à différents âges, Canada, no 84F0503XPB au catalogue.

Les publications antérieures de Statistique Canada sur les principales causes de décès étaient fondées sur des versions précédentes de la Classification statistique internationale des maladies (CIM). Dans la présente publication, les causes de décès sont codées en fonction de la dixième révision de la Classification statistique internationale des maladies et des problèmes de santé connexes (CIM–10)1 de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Il y a trois séries de tableaux de données dans cette publication. La première série de tableaux présente les 10 principales causes de décès au Canada pour 10 groupes d'âge (tous les âges, de 1 à 14 ans, et des groupes d'âge de 10 ans à partir de 15 à 24 ans jusqu'à 85 ans et plus) selon le sexe et pour les cinq années les plus récentes. L'année de référence du classement est l'année la plus récente. Le tableau CANSIM 102–0561 contient de plus amples renseignements sur les principales causes de décès, selon des groupes d'âge de cinq ans.

La deuxième série de tableaux présente les 10 principales causes de décès infantiles (enfants de moins d'un an) au Canada pour les cinq années les plus récentes. L'année de référence du classement est l'année la plus récente. Le tableau CANSIM 102–0562 contient de plus amples renseignements sur les principales causes de décès infantiles.

La troisième série de tableaux présente les 10 principales causes de décès pour le Canada et chaque province ou territoire selon le sexe, pour l'année la plus récente. Les données au niveau du « Canada » sont les données de référence du classement de ces 10 principales causes de décès. Le tableau CANSIM 102–0563 contient de plus amples renseignements sur une liste élargie des principales causes de décès selon la province et le territoire.

À partir des quelque 8 000 codes valides de causes initiales de décès énumérées dans la CIM–10, des groupes agrégés de causes de décès appelés « listes réduites » ont été élaborés afin d'être utilisés dans la liste sommaire des causes de décès et pour le classement des principales causes de décès. Les listes réduites de la CIM–10 servant à classer les principales causes de décès et la méthode de sélection des causes classables ont été élaborées par le National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) du U.S Department of Health and Human Services2.

Le nombre de décès est utilisé comme critère de classement parce qu'il représente de manière plus exacte la fréquence de la mortalité par cause. Les 50 causes de décès classables, présentées à l'annexe 1, ont été choisies à partir de la liste réduite de 113 causes de décès dressée par le NCHS pour être utilisée avec la CIM–10. Les causes de décès sont classées en fonction du nombre de décès par l'ordre d'importance attribuée à chacune des 50 causes classables présentées à l'annexe 1.

Les 71 causes classables de décès infantiles, présentées à l'annexe 2, ont été choisies à partir de la liste réduite de 130 causes de décès infantiles dressée par le NCHS pour être utilisée avec la CIM–10. Les causes de décès infantiles sont classées en fonction du nombre de décès par l'ordre d'importance attribuée à chacune des 71 causes classables présentées à l'annexe 2.

Le classement des principales causes comporte des limites; il décrit le classement par ordre de rang, selon le nombre de décès, de chaque cause de décès tirée d'une liste choisie de causes. Le classement à lui seul ne permet pas de mesurer le risque relatif de décès. De plus, la comparaison des principales causes selon la région ou l'année ne tient pas compte des différences dans la structure par âge des populations.


Notes de renvoi

  1. Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). Classification statistique internationale des maladies et des problèmes de santé connexes, dixième révision, volumes 1 et 2 (CIM–10). Genève, 1992.
  2. Heron, M. "Deaths: leading causes for 2004." National Vital Statistics Reports. 2007; 56(5): 1–95.
Signaler un proble sur cette page

Quelque chose ne fonctionne pas? L'information n'est plus à jour? Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez?

S'il vous plaît contactez-nous et nous informer comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Avis de confidentialité

Date de modification :