Health at a Glance

Each issue of Health at a Glance consists of a short non-technical article on topics that feature statistics from health-related surveys and administrative data.

Difficulty accessing health care services in Canada

Release date: December 8, 2016

by Janine Clarke

This article explores difficulty accessing selected health care services, reported by Canadians aged 15 and older. Some of the sociodemographic characteristics (e.g., age, sex, level of education) and main reasons associated with difficulty accessing health care are highlighted. Data are from the Canadian Community Health Survey 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2013.

Full article PDF version

Updating the standard population and its effect on cancer incidence and mortality rates

Release date: October 20, 2016

by Lawrence Ellison

This article describes the impact on age-standardized cancer incidence and mortality rates of an update to the standard population used to derive them. The impact is assessed by cancer type and by province for 2012, and on trends in cancer rates from 1992 to 2012. Data are from the Canadian Cancer Registry and the Canadian Vital Statistics – Death Database.

Full article PDF version

Deaths from congenital anomalies in Canada, 1974 to 2012

Release date: September 29, 2016

by Tanya Navaneelan, Caryn Pearson and Teresa Janz

Congenital anomalies, commonly referred to as birth defects, describe conditions that develop in the fetus at the time of conception or during pregnancy. This article presents data on trends in the average age at death, and death rates from five of the most common congenital anomalies: circulatory anomalies; Spina Bifida; and three chromosomal anomalies-Down syndrome, Edwards' syndrome and Patau's syndrome. Data from the 1974 to 2012 Canadian Vital Statistics-Deaths Database will be used to examine differences in the death rate due to congenital anomalies, among infants in Canada.

Full article PDF version

Understanding your health by using reference ranges

Release date: June 27, 2016

by Janine Clarke, Victoria Higgins, and Khosrow Adeli

This article highlights work that is being done to create laboratory reference ranges for substances measured in blood that are specific for the Canadian population. Results for two laboratory tests are presented to illustrate how reference ranges are created and how age and/or sex can influence normal values in a healthy population. This article uses data from the Canadian Health Measures Survey (2007–2011).

Full article PDF version

Prostate cancer trends in Canada, 1995 to 2012

Release date: April 25, 2016

by Lawrence Ellison

This article presents national data on the annual rates of newly diagnosed cases of prostate cancer (incidence) and deaths attributed to this cancer (mortality) from 1995 to 2012. Trends in rates are presented for all ages combined and by age group. The age distribution of both prostate cancer incidence and prostate cancer mortality in 2012 is compared with corresponding data from 1995.

Full article PDF version

Deaths involving sepsis in Canada

Release date: January 21, 2016

by Tanya Navaneelan, Sarah Alam, Paul A. Peters, and Owen Phillips

This article explores deaths in Canada that involved sepsis, a serious medical condition caused by an overwhelming immune response to an infection. Sepsis-associated mortality rates are presented over time and by sex, age and underlying cause of death. The article uses multiple-causes-of-death data from the Canadian Vital Statistics – Death Database. Data from the years 2000 to 2011 are used when discussing changes over time.

Full article PDF version

Previous Health at a Glance from issue 2015001

Previous Health at a Glance from issue 2014001

Previous Health at a Glance from issue 2013001

Previous Health at a Glance from issue 2012001

Previous Health at a Glance from issue 2011001


Date modified:

Coup d'œil sur la santé

Chaque numéro de Coup d'œil sur la santé est composé d'un court article, non technique, sur des sujets mettant en valeur des statistiques tirées d'enquêtes sur la santé et de sources administratives.

Difficulté liée à l'accès aux services de soins de santé au Canada

Date de diffusion : le 8 décembre 2016

par Janine Clarke

Le présent article traite de la difficulté éprouvée par les Canadiens de 15 ans et plus à accéder à divers services de soins de santé. Certaines caractéristiques sociodémographiques (p. ex. l'âge, le sexe et le niveau de scolarité) ainsi que les principales raisons liées à la difficulté à accéder aux soins de santé sont également abordées. Les données utilisées proviennent de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes de 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011 et 2013.

Article complet Version PDF

La mise à jour de la population type et son effet sur les taux d’incidence du cancer et de mortalité par cancer

Date de diffusion : le 20 octobre 2016

par Lawrence Ellison

Cet article décrit les répercussions sur les taux d'incidence et de mortalité du cancer normalisés selon l'âge d'une mise à jour de la population type, qui est utilisée pour calculer ces taux. Les répercussions sont évaluées en fonction du type de cancer et de la province en 2012, ainsi que selon les tendances dans les taux de cancer de 1992 à 2012. Les données sont tirées du Registre canadien du cancer et de la Statistique de l'état civil du Canada – Base de données sur les décès.

Article complet Version PDF

Décès dus à des anomalies congénitales au Canada, 1974 à 2012

Date de diffusion : le 29 septembre 2016

par Tanya Navaneelan, Caryn Pearson et Teresa Janz

Les anomalies congénitales, que l’on appelle communément malformations, sont des problèmes qui se développent dans le fœtus au moment de la conception ou durant la grossesse. Cet article présente des données sur les tendances de l’âge moyen au décès, et les taux de mortalité due à cinq anomalies congénitales parmi les plus courantes : anomalies de l’appareil circulatoire; spina bifida; et trois anomalies chromosomiques, soit le syndrome de Down, le syndrome d’Edwards et le syndrome de Patau. On se servira de données de 1974 à 2012 tirées de la Statistique de l’état civil – Base de données sur les décès pour examiner les différences de taux de mortalité due à des anomalies congénitales chez les nourrissons au Canada.

Article complet Version PDF

Comprendre votre santé à l'aide des intervalles de référence

Date de diffusion : le 27 juin 2016

par Janine Clarke, Victoria Higgins et Khosrow Adeli

Cet article porte sur les travaux effectués en vue de créer des intervalles de référence propres à la population canadienne en ce qui a trait aux substances mesurées dans le sang. Les résultats de deux tests de laboratoire sont présentés dans le but de démontrer la façon dont les intervalles de référence sont créés ainsi que l'influence de l'âge et du sexe sur les valeurs normales au sein d'une population en santé. Cet article utilise les données de l'enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (2007–2011).

Article complet Version PDF

Tendances en matière de cancer de la prostate au Canada, 1995 à 2012

Date de diffusion : le 25 avril 2016

par Lawrence Ellison

L'article présente les données nationales sur les taux annuels des nouveaux cas de cancer de la prostate diagnostiqués (incidence) et des décès attribués à ce cancer (mortalité) entre 1995 et 2012. Les tendances des taux sont présentées pour l'ensemble des groupes d'âge et par groupe d'âge. On compare en outre la répartition selon l'âge de l'incidence du cancer de la prostate et de la mortalité attribuable à ce type de cancer en 2012 aux données correspondantes de 1995.

Article complet Version PDF

Les décès associés à une sepsie au Canada

Date de diffusion : le 21 janvier 2016

par Tanya Navaneelan, Sarah Alam, Paul A. Peters et Owen Phillips

L'article fait ressortir les décès au Canada qui étaient associés à une sepsie, un problème médical grave causé par une réponse immunitaire extrêmement puissante à une infection. Les décès associés à une sepsie sont analysés au fil du temps selon le sexe, l'âge et la cause initiale de décès. Les données présentées dans cet article sont tirées de la Statistique de l'état civil – Base de données sur les décès. Les discussions portant sur les variations au fil du temps sont fondées sur les données pour la période de 2000 à 2011.

Article complet Version PDF

Coup d'oeil sur la santé précédents de l'édition 2015001

Coup d'oeil sur la santé précédents de l'édition 2014001

Coup d'oeil sur la santé précédents de l'édition 2013001

Coup d'oeil sur la santé précédents de l'édition 2012001

Coup d'oeil sur la santé précédents de l'édition 2011001


Date de modification :