Health Reports

A Canadian peer-reviewed journal of population health and health services research

July 2015

Comparison of Physical Activity Adult Questionnaire results with accelerometer data

by Didier Garriguet, Sylvain Tremblay and Rachel C. Colley

Physical activity is a key element in health behaviour surveillance programs. In 1994/1995, Statistics Canada adopted the Minnesota Leisure Time Physical Activity Questionnaire (LTPA) in the National Population Health Survey (NPHS). In addition to the nine NPHS cycles (1994/1995 to 2011/2012), this questionnaire was used in the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) from 2001 to 2014 and in the Canadian Health Measures Survey (CHMS) from 2007 to 2011.


Walk Score® and the prevalence of utilitarian walking and obesity among Ontario adults: A cross-sectional study

by Maria Chiu, Baiju R. Shah, Laura C. Maclagan, Mohammad-Reza Rezai, Peter C. Austin and Jack V. Tu

The rising prevalence of obesity in Canada has led researchers to examine not only individual behaviours, but also, environmental factors that may be contributing to the increase. Interest is growing in potential effects of the built environment, notably, neighbourhood walkability, on the risk of obesity and related diseases.


Prevalence of hearing loss among Canadians aged 20 to 79: Audiometric results from the 2012/2013 Canadian Health Measures Survey

by Katya Feder, David Michaud, Pamela Ramage-Morin, James McNamee and Yves Beauregard

Hearing loss is an important public health concern with far-reaching implications. At the beginning of the twenty-first century, the World Health Organization reported adult-onset hearing loss to be one of the leading causes of years lost due to disability (YLD); in 2001, hearing loss accounted for 4.7% of total YLD due to all causes, with the total global YLD for hearing loss estimated at 24.9 million years. As well, hearing loss has been associated with worse quality of life and functional outcomes. The personal consequences may include social isolation, depression, safety issues, mobility limitations, and reduced income and employment opportunities. Yet despite the importance of hearing for daily functioning, hearing loss is often unrecognized and undertreated.

Date modified:

Rapports sur la santé

Une revue à comité de lecture canadienne consacrée à la recherche sur la santé des populations et les services de santé

Juillet 2015

Comparaison des résultats tirés du Questionnaire sur les activités physiques destiné aux adultes avec des données d'accélérométrie

par Didier Garriguet, Sylvain Tremblay et Rachel C. Colley

L’activité physique constitue un élément clé des programmes de surveillance des comportements qui influent sur la santé. En 1994-1995, Statistique Canada a adopté le Minnesota Leisure Time Physical Activity Questionnaire (questionnaire LTPA) aux fins de l’Enquête nationale sur la santé de la population (ENSP). En plus d’avoir été utilisé pour les neuf cycles de l’ENSP (de 1994-1995 à 2011-2012), ce questionnaire a été administré dans le cadre de l’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), de 2001 à 2014, et de l’Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé (ECMS), de 2007 à 2011.


Walk Score® et prévalence de la marche à des fins utilitaires et de l'obésité chez les adultes en Ontario : une étude transversale

par Maria Chiu, Baiju R. Shah, Laura C. Maclagan, Mohammad-Reza Rezai, Peter C. Austin et Jack V. Tu

La prévalence croissante de l’obésité au Canada a amené les chercheurs à examiner non seulement les comportements individuels, mais aussi les facteurs environnementaux, pouvant y être rattachés. On s’intéresse de plus en plus aux effets possibles de l’environnement bâti, notamment le potentiel piétonnier (walkability) d’un quartier, sur le risque d’obésité et de maladies connexes.


Taux de perte auditive chez les Canadiens de 20 à 79 ans : résultats audiométriques de l'Enquête canadienne sur les mesures de la santé de 2012-2013

par Katya Feder, David Michaud, Pamela Ramage-Morin, James McNamee et Yves Beauregard

La perte auditive représente un problème de santé publique important, qui a de vastes conséquences. Au début du XXIe siècle, l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé indiquait que la perte auditive chez l’adulte constituait l’une des principales causes des années de vie vécues avec une incapacité (AVI); en 2000, la perte auditive représentait 4,7 % des AVI, soit 24,9 millions d’années. Par ailleurs, la perte auditive a été associée à une détérioration de la qualité de vie et des résultats fonctionnels. Parmi les conséquences personnelles figurent l’isolement social, la dépression, les questions de sécurité, les limitations de la mobilité et la réduction du revenu et des possibilités d’emploi. Mais malgré l’importance de l’audition dans les activités au quotidien, la perte auditive est souvent non reconnue et insuffisamment traitée.

Date de modification :