Section 3 Profile of 2005 doctoral degree graduates two years after graduation

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

Two years after graduation, about 3,500 graduates from doctoral programs from the class of 2005 were living in Canada or the United States, representing 83% of the 4,200 doctorate graduates from Canadian universities in 2005.

Almost three out of ten doctoral recipients graduated in life sciences

Two fields of study accounted for nearly half of all 2005 doctoral graduates who lived in Canada or the United States in 2007: 29% graduated from life sciences programs and 19% from psychology and social sciences programs. The proportion of doctoral graduates in the four other fields of study varied between 12% and 14% (Appendix table A.1).

Six out of ten women graduated from the life sciences and psychology and social sciences

Women accounted for 46% of doctoral graduates in the class of 2005; an increase of 11 percentage points compared to their proportion in the class of 1995, which stood at 35%1.

The difference between the proportion of female and male graduates was highest in engineering, where for every female (17%) there were almost five male graduates (83%), as well as in computer, mathematics and physical sciences, where the proportion of men (74%) was close to three times that of women (26%). Women made up the majority of graduates in two fields of study, namely, psychology and social sciences (64%) and education and other fields of study (56%). The proportion of women was comparable to that of men in life sciences (50%) as well as in the humanities (52% versus 48%) (Chart 1).

Chart 1 Proportion of 2005 women doctoral graduates by field of study

Moreover, about six women out of ten (59%) graduated from two fields of study, namely the life sciences (32%) and psychology and social sciences (27%). While life sciences also posted the highest share of men (27%), this proportion was lower than that of women and was followed by engineering (21%) and computer, mathematics and physical sciences (17%).

Although the median age of doctoral graduates was 33 years at the time of graduation in 2005, graduates in education and other fields of study reported the oldest median age at 42 years. These graduates were also much older at the start of their doctoral program; 36 years compared to an overall median age of 27. The relatively high age of these graduates at registration can be explained by the fact that most of them were out of the educational system during the twelve months before enrolling in their program. Indeed, seven out of ten graduates from education and the professional fields (70%) were in the labour force compared to 45% for all graduates combined (Appendix table A.5). Furthermore, they were also less likely to have taken their program full-time (56%) compared to all graduates combined (80%). Apart from education and other fields of study, there were no substantial differences in the age at the time of registration between the fields of study.

Conversely, the lowest median age at graduation was found in life sciences (31 years) and in computer, mathematics and physical sciences (30 years) (Chart 2).

Chart 2 Median age at graduation for 2005 doctoral graduates by field of study

Chinese languages were the third largest mother tongue group

Since Canadian universities deliver their programs in either English or French and since the pursuit of a doctoral program requires very high level literacy skills, it is worth exploring the literacy profiles of doctoral graduates by examining the first language learned at home in childhood and still understood by the graduates; that is, their mother tongue.

About two-thirds of doctoral graduates (67%) reported English or French as their mother tongue (47% and 20% respectively). Another 30% had a mother tongue other than English or French; an additional 1% had learned and still understood both English and French; and finally, 2% had learned and still understood English or French along with a non-official language. After English and French, Chinese languages2 were the third largest group, as 8% of doctoral degree holders reported a Chinese language as their mother tongue. This percentage is more than twice the proportion reported in the general Canadian population (3%).3 Furthermore, Chinese speakers accounted for more than one-quarter (27%) of doctoral graduates whose mother tongue was a non-official language. In addition, the vast majority of Chinese speakers (81%) as well as other non-official language speakers (87%) lived in Canada in 2007.

The proportion of graduates with a non-official language mother tongue varied greatly across fields of study. Almost two-thirds of engineering graduates (64%) as well as close to four out of ten graduates in computer, mathematics and physical sciences (37%) had a non-official language as their mother tongue. Conversely, 20% of graduates in psychology and social sciences and about 17% graduates in humanities reported a non-official language as their mother tongue (Appendix table A.2).

More than six out of ten engineering graduates were members of a visible minority group

Overall, 28% of doctorate graduates reported being members of a visible monority group and this proportion varied by field of study. The proportion of graduates who reported being a member of a visible minority group was higher in engineering (62%) and computer, mathematics and physical sciences (32%). On the other hand, the proportion was lower in psychology and social sciences (16%) as well as the humanities (11%, Chart 3).

Chart 3 Proportion of 2005 doctoral graduates members of a visible minority group, by field of study

The vast majority of 2005 foreign-born doctoral graduates were naturalized of became landed immigrants by 2007

Results for engineering and computer, mathematics and physical sciences can be attributed to the fact that a high proportion of graduates in these fields of study were born outside Canada. Indeed, close to three-quarters of engineering doctoral recipients (74%) and 44% of graduates in computer, mathematics and physical sciences were born outside Canada, compared to 36% for all fields of study combined. However, the vast majority of 2005 foreign-born4 graduates who were living in Canada or the United States two years after graduation (91%) were naturalized or became a landed immigrant by the time of the interview in 2007 (Appendix table A.3). As shown in Figure 1, more than two-thirds of immigrant graduates became landed immigrants before graduating from their doctoral program in 2005.

Figure 1 Citizenship status in 2007 of 2005 doctoral graduates

Half of doctoral graduates had a parent whose education was at least a bachelor degree

Previous studies have suggested that higher parental education results in higher education levels in children. More specifically, it showed that the type of postsecondary education pursued by young Canadians was strongly associated with parents' educational attainment. Young people whose parents had a university degree were three times more likely to pursue university studies than were those whose parents had a high school diploma or less.5

Moreover, a study of doctoral graduates in the United States showed that doctorate recipients who were American citizen were more likely than their non-citizen counterparts to report that at least one of their parents attained at least a bachelor degree.6

As shown in Chart 4, half of Canadian doctoral graduates had a parent whose highest level of education was at least a bachelor degree. There was no difference between the proportion of Canadian-born (51%) and foreign-born graduates (50%) who reported that at least one of their parents attained such a degree. In contrast, there were differences between Canadian and foreign born graduates among those whose parents did not have at least a bachelor degree. Foreign-born students were more likely to have parents who had not pursued post-secondary education (36% versus 30% for Canadian born) whereas Canadian-born students were more likely to have parents who had completed post-secondary education below the bachelor level (18 % compared to 14% for foreign-born (Chart 4). These differences may be explained by differences in the structure of educational systems within Canada compared to other countries.

Chart 4 Highest level of parental education, 2005 Canadian and foreign-born doctoral graduates

Two graduates out of ten did not hold a master's degree before they started their doctoral program

Not all doctoral graduates had completed a master's degree before enrolling in their program, nor do all doctoral programs require a master's degree for admission. In fact, according to the Survey of Earned Doctorates, about seven graduates out of ten (69%) reported that a master's degree was a prerequisite for admission to their doctoral program.7 Graduates in the life sciences (50%) as well as those in computer, mathematics and physical sciences (57%) reported in significantly lower proportions than the overall rate that entry into their program required a master's degree.

Similarly, these same graduates reported the lowest rates of master's attainment at 63% and 73% respectively. Graduates in the humanities posted the highest rate of master's attainment (95%) while the overall rate was 80%. Moreover, a similar proportion of graduates in the humanities (93%) reported that they needed a master's degree to be admitted to their doctoral program (Appendix table A.4.1).

Typically, a median time of four months elapsed between the completion of a master's degree and the start of the doctoral program. However, for graduates who held a master's degree and were working during the twelve months prior to enrolling in their doctoral program, the median elapsed time between the completion of the master's degree and the start of the doctoral studies was three years and two months (Appendix table A.4.2).

Almost four out of ten graduates were working before entering their program

About half (51%) of all 2005 doctoral graduates were in school in the year prior to enrolling in their doctoral program. Almost four out of ten graduates (38%) were working, whereas 7% were combining working and going to school (Chart 5). The highest proportions of graduates to have been in school 12 months before the start of their doctoral program were those in computer, mathematics and physical sciences (64%). They were followed by graduates in psychology and social sciences (58%), life sciences (54%) and the humanities (54%). Conversely, seven out of ten graduates in education and other fields of study were either working (60%) or combining work and school (10%) (Appendix table A.5).

Chart 5 Main activity of 2005 doctoral graduates 12 months prior enrolment in program

More than three-quarters of graduates had firm plans at the time of graduation

Upon graduation, doctoral recipients may have firm plans to enter the labour market; to continue their research; to pursue further studies or other activities; or they may still be undecided. At the time of graduation in 2005, three-quarters of doctoral graduates had made firm plans for either employment or postdoctoral studies or training for the year following their graduation.

There was no difference in the proportion of women with definite commitments compared to male graduates (75%). The proportion of graduates with definite plans upon graduation was comparable across all fields of study, ranging from 77% to 82%, except for engineering and the humanities, both at about 65%. Furthermore, Canadian-born graduates (79%) were more likely than their foreign-born counterparts (68%) to have definite plans at the time of graduation for the following year (Chart 6).

Chart 6 Proportion of 2005 doctoral graduates with definite plans at graduation

More than half the graduates with firm plans (56%) expected to join the labour market upon graduation. Proportionally more women graduates (61%) than men (52%) had plans for employment, whereas about half the men (48%) were planning to pursue a postdoctoral fellowship or other training (see box 2 for a definition of postdoctoral fellowship).

In addition, there were marked differences in the type of definite plans across fields of study. Almost all graduates in education and other fields (93%) were planning to work immediately upon receiving their degree. These were followed by graduates in humanities (76%) and psychology and social sciences (70%). Conversely, about two-thirds of life sciences graduates (69%), as well as computer, mathematics and physical sciences graduates (64%) had plans for postdoctoral studies or research when they graduated in 2005. Foreign-born and Canadian-born graduates had definite plans for postdoctoral studies in comparable proportions (at 49% and 41%, respectively) (Appendix table A.6).

Box 2
Postdoctoral positions

The Survey of Earned Doctorates defines a "postdoctoral position" or a "postdoc" as a temporary position primarily for gaining additional education and training in research, usually in academia, industry, or government.

In Canada, individuals who contract with a university (and sometimes a specific faculty member) to conduct academic or scholarly research that will further professional development and expand their expertise in a specialized subject are usually referred to as "Postdoctoral Fellows" or "Postdoctoral Research Associates". They are considered trainees rather than employees by the university or research institution.

Their appointment normally occurs within five years from the completion of a doctoral degree and is time limited (often to a maximum of three years), with the possibility of renewal. The postdoctoral researcher may be funded through a salary, a stipend or sponsorship award. The amount of the fellowship typically varies between $25,000 to $50,000 depending on the field of research, the funding agency and the research institution.

Source: Information gathered from diverse Canadian universities' web site.

End of text box


Notes

  1. Taillon, Jacques and Mike Paju. 1999. The Class of '95 : Report of the 1997 National Survey of 1995 Graduates. Ottawa: Human Resources Development Canada, 19 p.
  2. Chinese languages include : Mandarin, Cantonese, Hakka, Taiwanese, Chaochow (Teochow), Fukien and Shanghainese.
  3. Statistics Canada, 2006 Census of Population.
  4. Includes visa students; however, these accounted for only 5% of all foreign-born graduates.
  5. See for example: Knighton, Tamara and Sheba Mirza. 2002. "Postsecondary participation: the effects of parents' education and household income." Education Quarterly Review. Vol 8, no. 3: 25-32. Statistics Canada Catalogue No. 81-003-XPB2001.
  6. Hoffer, T.B., M. Hess, V. Welch Jr., and K. Williams. 2007. Doctorate Recipients from United States Universities: Summary Report 2006. Chicago: National Opinion Research Centre, 203 p.
  7. Statistics Canada, National Graduates Survey (Class of 2005) and Survey of Earned Doctorates, 2004/2005 2005/2006 linked file.
Date modified:

Publications

    Culture, tourisme et Centre de la statistique de l'éducation : documents de recherche

    Espérances et résultats sur le marché du travail des titulaires de doctorat des universités canadiennes

    Section 3 Profil des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 deux ans après l'obtention de leur diplôme

    Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Informations archivées

    Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    Deux ans après l'obtention de leur diplôme, environ 3 500 diplômés des programmes de doctorat de la promotion de 2005 vivaient au Canada ou aux États-Unis; ils représentaient 83 % des 4 200 titulaires de doctorat issus des universités canadiennes en 2005.

    Près de trois titulaires de doctorat sur dix obtiennent leur diplôme en sciences de la vie

    Près de la moitié des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 qui vivaient au Canada ou aux États-Unis en 2007 avaient obtenu leur diplôme dans l'un de deux domaines d'études : 29 % en sciences de la vie et 19 % en psychologie et sciences sociales. La proportion de titulaires de doctorat dans les quatre autres domaines d'études variait entre 12 % et 14 % (tableau A.1 en annexe).

    Six femmes sur dix obtiennent leur diplôme en sciences de la vie et en psychologie et sciences sociales

    Les femmes représentaient 46 % des titulaires de doctorat de la promotion de 2005; il s'agit d'une hausse de 11 points de pourcentage par rapport à leur proportion de la promotion de 1995 (35 %)1.

    C'est en génie qu'on observe l'écart le plus élevé entre les proportions d'hommes et de femmes : pour chaque femme diplômée (17 %), on comptait près de cinq diplômés masculins (83 %); venaient ensuite l'informatique, les mathématiques et les sciences physiques, où la proportion des hommes (74 %) représentait près de trois fois celle des femmes (26 %). Les femmes constituaient la majorité des diplômés dans deux grands domaines d'études, soit en psychologie et sciences sociales (64 %) et en enseignement et autres domaines (56 %). La proportion des femmes était comparable à celle des hommes en sciences de la vie (50 %) et en sciences humaines (52 % contre 48 %) (graphique 1).

    Graphique 1 Proportion des femmes titulaires de doctorat de 2005, selon le domaine d'études

    En outre, environ six femmes sur dix (59 %) ont obtenu leur diplôme dans deux domaines d'études, soit en sciences de la vie (32 %) et en psychologie et sciences sociales (27 %). Les sciences de la vie enregistraient aussi la plus forte proportiond'hommes (27 %), mais celle-ci était inférieure à celle des femmes et était suivie par le génie (21 %) et l'informatique, les mathématiques et les sciences physiques (17 %).

    Si l'âge médian des titulaires de doctorat était de 33 ans au moment de l'obtention du diplôme en 2005, les diplômés en enseignement et en autres domaines d'études avaient cependant l'âge médian le plus élevé (42 ans). Ces diplômés étaient aussi beaucoup plus âgés au début de leur programme de doctorat : 36 ans, comparativement à un âge médian global de 27 ans. L'âge relativement élevé de ces diplômés au début du programme s'explique par le fait que la plupart d'entre eux n'étaient pas aux études au cours des douze mois qui ont précédé leur inscription au programme. En effet, parmi les diplômés en enseignement et autres domaines professionnels, sept sur dix (70 %) occupaient un emploi, contre 45 % de l'ensemble des diplômés (tableau A.5 en annexe). En outre, ils étaient moins susceptibles d'avoir entrepris leur doctorat à temps plein (56 %) que l'ensemble des diplômés (80 %). À l'exception de l'enseignement et autres domaines d'études, on n'observe pas d'écarts substantiels entre les domaines d'études en ce qui concerne l'âge au moment de l'inscription.

    Inversement, c'est en sciences de la vie (31 ans) et en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques (30 ans) qu'on observe l'âge médian le plus bas au moment de l'obtention du diplôme (graphique 2).

    Graphique 2 Âge médian des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 au moment de l'obtention du diplôme, selon le domaine d'études

    Les langues chinoises constituent le troisième groupe de langues maternelles en importance

    Comme les universités canadiennes offrent leur enseignement en anglais ou en français et que la poursuite d'un programme de doctorat exige des capacités de lecture et d'écriture très élevées, il convient d'examiner à ce chapitre les profils des titulaires de doctorat en fonction de la première langue apprise au foyer pendant l'enfance et encore comprise, c'est-à-dire la langue maternelle.

    Environ deux tiers des titulaires de doctorat (67 %) ont déclaré comme langue maternelle l'anglais (47 %) ou le français (20 %). Parallèlement, 30 % avaient une langue maternelle autre que l'anglais ou le français; 1 % avaient appris et comprenaient encore l'anglais et le français; enfin, 2 % avaient appris et comprenaient encore l'anglais ou le français ainsi qu'une langue non officielle. Après l'anglais et le français, les langues chinoises2 constituaient le troisième groupe en importance, 8 % des titulaires de doctorat ayant déclaré une langue chinoise comme langue maternelle. Cette proportion représente plus du double de celle déclarée dans l'ensemble de la population canadienne (3 %)3. En outre, les locuteurs chinois représentaient plus du quart (27 %) des titulaires de doctorat dont la langue maternelle était une langue non officielle. Par ailleurs, la vaste majorité des locuteurs chinois (81 %) ainsi que des locuteurs d'une autre langue non officielle (87 %) vivaient au Canada en 2007.

    La proportion de diplômés dont la langue maternelle est une langue non officielle varie considérablement selon le domaine d'études. Près des deux tiers des diplômés en génie (64 %) et près de quatre diplômés sur dix en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques (37 %) avaient une langue non officielle comme langue maternelle. Inversement, 20 % des diplômés en psychologie et sciences sociales et environ 17 % des diplômés en sciences humaines ont déclaré une langue non officielle comme langue maternelle (tableau A.2 en annexe).

    Plus de six diplômés en génie sur dix appartiennent à une minorité visible

    Dans l'ensemble, 28 % des titulaires de doctorat déclarent appartenir à une minorité visible, mais cette proportion varie selon le domaine d'études. La proportion de diplômés ayant déclaré appartenir à une minorité visible est élevée en génie (62 %) et en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques (32 %). Par contre, elle est faible en psychologie et sciences sociales (16 %) ainsi qu'en sciences humaines (11 %, graphique 3).

    Graphique 3 Proportion de titulaires de doctorat de 2005 appartenant à une minorité visible, selon le domaine d'études

    En 2007, la grande majorité des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 nés à l'étranger étaient naturalisés ou étaient devenus des immigrants reçus

    En génie ainsi qu'en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques, ces résultats sont attribuables au fait qu'une forte proportion de diplômés dans ces domaines d'études étaient nés à l'extérieur du Canada. En effet, près des trois quarts des titulaires d'un doctorat en génie (74 %) et 44 % des diplômés en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques étaient nés à l'étranger, contre 36 % pour l'ensemble des domaines d'études. Au moment de l'interview de 2007, toutefois, la grande majorité des diplômés de 2005 nés à l'étranger4 qui vivaient au Canada ou aux États-Unis deux ans après l'obtention de leur diplôme (91 %) étaient naturalisés ou étaient devenus des immigrants reçus (tableau A.3 en annexe). Comme le montre la figure 1, plus des deux tiers des immigrants diplômés étaient devenus des immigrants reçus avant d'achever leur programme de doctorat en 2005.

    Figure 1 Citoyenneté en 2007 des titulaires de doctorat de 2005

    La moitié des titulaires de doctorat ont un parent qui détient au moins un baccalauréat

    Selon des études antérieures, le niveau de scolarité élevé des parents serait propice au niveau de scolarité élevé des enfants. Plus précisément, le genre d'études postsecondaires suivies par les jeunes Canadiens serait étroitement lié au niveau de scolarité des parents. Les jeunes dont les parents détiennent un grade universitaire sont trois fois plus susceptibles de poursuivre des études universitaires que ceux dont les parents possèdent au plus un diplôme d'études secondaires5.

    En outre, selon une étude menée aux États-Unis, les titulaires de doctorat qui sont des citoyens américains sont plus susceptibles que leurs homologues non citoyens d'avoir au moins un parent possédant au moins un baccalauréat6.

    Comme le montre le graphique 4, la moitié des titulaires de doctorat canadiens ont un parent dont le plus haut niveau de scolarité est au moins un baccalauréat. On n'observe pas d'écart entre les proportions de diplômés nés au Canada (51 %) et de diplômés nés à l'étranger (50 %) dont au moins un des parents possédait ce niveau de scolarité. À l'opposé, on observe des écarts entre les diplômés nés au Canada et les diplômés nés à l'étranger dont les parents ne détiennent pas au moins un baccalauréat. Les étudiants nés à l'étranger sont plus susceptibles d'avoir des parents n'ayant pas fait d'études postsecondaires (36 % contre 30 % chez les diplômés nés au Canada), alors que les étudiants nés au Canada sont plus susceptibles d'avoir des parents ayant fait des études postsecondaires de niveau inférieur au baccalauréat (18 % contre 14 % chez les diplômés nés à l'étranger) (graphique 4). Ces écarts s'expliquent sans doute par les différences entre le Canada et d'autres pays au chapitre de la structure du système éducatif.

    Graphique 4 Plus haut niveau de scolarité des parents des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 nés au Canada et nés à l'étranger

    Deux diplômés sur dix ne détenaient pas de maîtrise avant d'entreprendre leur programme de doctorat

    Les titulaires de doctorat n'avaient pas tous obtenu une maîtrise avant de s'inscrire à leur programme, et ce ne sont pas tous les programmes de doctorat qui exigent une maîtrise comme condition d'admission. En effet, selon l'Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat, environ sept diplômés sur dix (69 %) ont déclaré qu'une maîtrise était un préalable à l'admission à leur programme de doctorat7. Par rapport au taux global, les diplômés en sciences de la vie (50 %) et ceux en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques (57 %) ont déclaré dans des proportions nettement inférieures que l'admission à leur programme exigeait une maîtrise.

    Ces mêmes diplômés ont aussi enregistré les plus faibles taux d'obtention d'une maîtrise, soit respectivement 63 % et 73 %. Les diplômés en sciences humaines affichent le taux d'obtention d'une maîtrise le plus élevé (95 %), par rapport au taux global de 80 %. En outre, une proportion semblable de diplômés en sciences humaines (93 %) ont déclaré avoir besoin d'une maîtrise pour être admis à leur programme de doctorat (tableau A.4.1 en annexe).

    En règle générale, il s'est écoulé une période médiane de quatre mois entre l'obtention d'une maîtrise et le début du programme de doctorat. Toutefois, dans le cas des diplômés qui détenaient une maîtrise et qui travaillaient au cours des douze mois ayant précédé leur inscription au programme de doctorat, la période médiane écoulée entre l'obtention de la maîtrise et le début des études doctorales était de trois ans et deux mois (tableau A.4.2 en annexe).

    Près de quatre diplômés sur dix travaillaient avant de s'inscrire à leur programme

    Environ la moitié (51 %) des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 étaient aux études au cours de l'année qui a précédé leur inscription au programme de doctorat. Près de quatre diplômés sur dix (38 %) travaillaient, alors que 7 % combinaient le travail et les études (graphique 5). La plus forte proportion de diplômés qui étaient aux études 12 mois avant le début de leur programme de doctorat était celle des diplômés en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques (64 %). Venaient ensuite les diplômés en psychologie et sciences sociales (58 %), en sciences de la vie (54 %) et en sciences humaines (54 %). Inversement, parmi les diplômés en enseignement et autres domaines d'études, sept sur dix travaillaient (60 %) ou combinaient le travail et les études (10 %) (tableau A.5 en annexe).

    Graphique 5 Principale activité des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 douze mois avant leur inscription au programme

    Au moment d'obtenir leur diplôme, plus des trois quarts des diplômés avaient des projets précis

    Au moment d'obtenir leur diplôme, les titulaires de doctorat peuvent avoir des projets précis d'entrer sur le marché du travail, de poursuivre leurs travaux de recherche, de poursuivre des études ou d'autres activités, ou encore être indécis. Au moment d'obtenir leur diplôme en 2005, les trois quarts des titulaires de doctorat avaient des projets précis d'emploi ou de formation ou d'études postdoctorales pour l'année suivant l'obtention de leur diplôme.

    On n'observe pas d'écart entre les proportions d'hommes et de femmes ayant des engagements précis (75 %). La proportion de diplômés qui avaient des projets précis au moment d'obtenir leur diplôme était comparable pour l'ensemble des domaines d'études et variait entre 77 % et 82 %, sauf en ce qui concerne le génie et les sciences humaines (environ 65 % dans les deux cas). En outre, les diplômés nés au Canada (79 %) étaient plus susceptibles que leurs homologues nés à l'étranger (68 %) d'avoir, au moment d'obtenir leur diplôme, des projets précis pour l'année suivante (graphique 6).

    Graphique 6 Proportion des titulaires de doctorat de 2005 ayant des projets précis au moment de l'obtention du diplôme

    Plus de la moitié des diplômés ayant des projets précis (56 %) prévoyaient entrer sur le marché du travail après avoir obtenu leur diplôme. Les femmes (61 %) étaient proportionnellement plus nombreuses que les hommes (52 %) à avoir des projets d'emploi, alors qu'environ la moitié des hommes (48 %) prévoyaient effectuer un stage postdoctoral ou suivre une autre formation (voir, dans l'encadré 2, la définition de stage postdoctoral).

    De plus, on observe des écarts marqués entre les domaines d'études en ce qui concerne les projets précis. Presque tous les diplômés en enseignement et autres domaines (93 %) prévoyaient travailler immédiatement après avoir obtenu leur diplôme. Venaient ensuite les diplômés en sciences humaines (76 %) et en psychologie et sciences sociales (70 %). Inversement, environ deux tiers des diplômés en sciences de la vie (69 %) et des diplômés en informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques (64 %) prévoyaient poursuivre des études postdoctorales ou des travaux de recherche après avoir obtenu leur diplôme en 2005. Enfin, des proportions comparables de diplômés nés à l'étranger (49 %) et de diplômés nés au Canada (41 %) avaient des projets précis d'études postdoctorales (tableau A.6 en annexe).

    Encadré 2 :
    Le stage postdoctoral

    Pour les besoins de l'Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat, on entend par « stage postdoctoral » un poste temporaire permettant à l'étudiant d'acquérir une formation et des connaissances complémentaires en recherche, habituellement au sein du milieu universitaire, du secteur industriel ou de l'administration publique.

    Au Canada, on appelle habituellement « boursier postdoctoral » ou « attaché de recherche au niveau postdoctoral » un diplômé qui conclut une entente avec une université (et parfois avec un professeur) pour mener une recherche universitaire ou avancée afin de se perfectionner professionnellement et d'accroître ses compétences dans un domaine spécialisé. L'université ou l'établissement de recherche le considère comme un stagiaire et non comme un employé.

    Le stagiaire est habituellement engagé au cours des cinq ans suivant l'obtention du doctorat. Le stage est de durée limitée (souvent de trois ans au plus), avec possibilité de renouvellement. La rémunération du chercheur postdoctoral peut prendre la forme d'un salaire, d'un paiement forfaitaire ou d'un parrainage. Le montant de la bourse de recherche varie habituellement entre 25 000 $ et 50 000 $ selon le domaine de recherche, l'organisme de financement et l'établissement de recherche.

    Source : Sites Web de diverses universités canadiennes.

    Fin de l'encadré


    Notes

    1. Taillon, Jacques et Mike Paju, 1999, La promotion de 1995 : rapport de l'Enquête nationale (1997) auprès des diplômés de 1995, Ottawa : Développement des ressources humaines Canada, 17 p.
    2. Les langues chinoises comprennent le mandarin, le cantonais, le hakka, le taïwanais, le chaochow (teochow), le fou-kien et le shanghaïen
    3. Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population de 2006
    4. Comprend les étudiants détenteurs d'un visa; toutefois, ces derniers comptaient pour seulement 5 % des diplômés nés à l'étranger.
    5. Voir, par exemple, Knighton, Tamara et Sheba Mirza. 2002. « L'incidence du niveau de scolarité des parents et du revenu du ménage sur la poursuite d'études postsecondaires », Revue trimestrielle de l'éducation, vol 8, 3, pages 25 à 32, produit 81-003-XPB2001 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.
    6. Hoffer, T.B., M. Hess, V. Welch Jr. et K. Williams. 2007. Doctorate Recipients from United States Universities: Summary Report 2006, Chicago, National Opinion Research Centre, 203 p.
    7. Statistique Canada, Enquête nationale auprès des diplômés (promotion de 2005) et Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat, 2004-2005 et 2005-2006 (fichier couplé)
    Date de modification :