Section 2 The data

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

This report provides an opportunity to examine the outcomes of graduates more thoroughly by drawing from two different data sources that survey similar populations, but at two different points in time. The first is the Survey of Earned Doctorates (SED), which has provided annual data on doctoral graduates at the point of graduation since the 2003/2004 academic year. The second source is the National Graduates Survey (NGS), which interviews a representative sample of graduates from Canadian post-secondary education institutions two years after their graduation. The survey has been administered at four- or five-year intervals since 1982. Thus, doctoral graduates in 2005 were interviewed at the time of graduation by SED and again in 2007 by the NGS. Due to the relatively small number of doctoral graduates, both surveys are a census of doctoral graduates in Canada.1 

Since SED is collected based on the academic year (from the beginning of July to the end of June of the following year) and the NGS data are collected for the calendar year, two waves of SED were merged to capture all graduates from the 2005 calendar year. These two classes have been described previously—2004/2005 graduates in King (2008) and 2005/2006 graduates in King, Eisl-Culkin and Desjardins (2008). The class of 2005 from the NGS has been described in Bayard and Greenlee (2009).

Non-response to the two surveys (approximately 46% for SED and 33% for the NGS) resulted in a total sample of approximately 2,500 graduates who responded to both surveys. These respondents were then weighted to represent the graduating class of 2005. In instances where the linked file did not add value to the analysis, statistics were computed with either the full SED or NGS sample in order to preserve sample size. It should be noted that SED is representative of all graduates from Canadian institutions, while the NGS and the NGS-SED linked files are representative only of graduates who remained in Canada or the United States after completion of their degrees. However, this difference did not lead to sizeable differences in key indicators between the samples (see Box 1).

Box 1
Target population of the National Graduates Survey

The target population for the 2005 NGS consisted of all graduates from a recognized public post-secondary Canadian institution who completed the requirements of an admissible program or obtained a diploma some time in 2005 and who were living in Canada or the United States at the time of the survey (with the exception of American citizens living in the United States at the time of the survey).

In-scope records are records that met all criteria in the target population as defined above. Of the 4,200 doctoral graduates in Canada in 2005, about 3,500 were considered to be in-scope graduates in 20072.

Overall, there were no differences in the distribution of women between the two populations; 44% of graduates in 2005 were women compared to 46% in 2007. Similarly, the distribution of graduates by different fields of study was comparable, except in the social and behavioural sciences, and law where the share of graduates increased by three percentage points, from 18% to 21%.

Note: Comparisons between 2005 and 2007 were made by comparing the NGS data to data from the Postsecondary Student Information System (PSIS).

End of box

2.1 Linking the SED and the NGS

Both the SED and the NGS each have their strengths and limitations for examining doctoral graduates. For instance, since SED is conducted at the time of graduation, it contains limited information regarding employment outcomes. In fact, employment data in SED relies on the graduates' own expectations for their future employment, if they had already made plans for employment or further education. On the other hand, because SED is collected at the time of graduation, it surveys all graduates regardless of where they will be living upon completion. This is in contrast to the NGS, which, for practical purposes, includes only graduates who are living in Canada or the United States at the time of the interview. Both surveys include only recipients of a doctorate degree from Canadian institutions and not doctorate holders who immigrated to Canada. According to the 2006 Census, graduates from Canadian institutions accounted for just over half (54%) of all doctorate degree holders in Canada.

Linking the two data sources provides a unique and valuable source of data on this population beyond what is generally known from these two sources alone. The linked file creates a longitudinal data file covering doctoral graduates who graduated in 2005 and who lived in Canada or the United States in 2007. Graduates' expectations and plans at the time of graduation can be verified with data collected two years following their first interview. Furthermore, the accuracy of their expectations can be assessed, giving us a picture of the outcomes of their degrees as well as an insight into the reliability of graduates' expectations as captured by SED. Additionally, information that was collected in SED may be used to add explanatory power to the outcomes found in the NGS.

For simplicity and occasionally to meet conditions of confidentiality, the fields of study have been collapsed in order to provide larger samples. The fields were collapsed as follows:

Table 1
Comparison of detailed field of study and Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) to collapsed list
Collapsed list Detailed field of study list Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) series and subseries
Life sciences Agricultural sciences Agriculture, natural resources and conservation
Biological sciences Biological and biomedical sciences, natural sciences
Health sciences All health sciences – including nutrition sciences and neurosciences
Engineering Engineering Engineering
Computer, mathematics and physical sciences Computer and information sciences and mathematics Mathematics, computer and information sciences
Physical sciences – including astronomy and astrophysics, atmospheric sciences and meteorology, chemistry, geological and earth sciences / geosciences, physics Physical sciences – including astronomy and astrophysics, atmospheric sciences and meteorology, chemistry, geological and earth sciences / geosciences, physics
Psychology and social sciences Psychology Psychology
Social sciences Social sciences
Behavioural sciences
Humanities History History
Letters, languages and literature Letters, languages, literatures and linguistics
Other humanities Liberal arts, general studies and humanities
Philosophy and religious studies
Education and other fields of study Education Education
Professional fields / other fields Business, management and public administration
Architecture
Communication, journalism and related and library science
Law
Parks, recreation, leisure and fitness
Other multidisciplinary studies
Note: Not all Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) series and subseries are represented at the doctoral level.

Notes

  1. Note that the NGS excludes graduates who are no longer living in Canada or the United States in 2007.
  2. Out-of-scope doctoral graduates shared characteristics similar to those of 2005-2006 graduates who were planning to leave Canada upon graduation. Proportionally more out-of-scope doctorates were men, from the computer, mathematics and physical sciences and non-Canadian than was the case for the in-scope graduates. See: King, Darren, Judy Eisl-Culkin and Louise Desjardins. 2008. Doctorate Education in Canada : Findings from the Survey of Earned Doctorates, 2005-2006. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 51-595MIE2008069. Ottawa, 75 p.
Date modified:

Publications

    Culture, tourisme et Centre de la statistique de l'éducation : documents de recherche

    Espérances et résultats sur le marché du travail des titulaires de doctorat des universités canadiennes

    Section 2 Les données

    Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

    Informations archivées

    Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

    Notre étude offre l'occasion d'examiner en profondeur les résultats des diplômés en exploitant deux sources de données distinctes axées sur des populations semblables, mais à deux moments différents. La première est l'Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat (ETD), qui produit depuis l'année scolaire 2003-2004 des données annuelles sur les titulaires de doctorat au moment de l'obtention du diplôme. La deuxième est l'Enquête nationale auprès des diplômés (END), qui consiste à interviewer un échantillon représentatif de diplômés d'établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire canadiens deux ans après l'obtention de leur diplôme. L'enquête est menée depuis 1982, à intervalles de quatre ou cinq ans. Les titulaires de doctorat de 2005 ont donc été interviewés au moment de l'obtention de leur diplôme dans le cadre de l'ETD, puis en 2007 dans le cadre de l'END. En raison du nombre relativement faible de titulaires de doctorat, les deux enquêtes constituent un recensement des titulaires de doctorat au Canada1.

    Les données de l'ETD étant recueillies en fonction de l'année scolaire (du début de juillet à la fin de juin de l'année suivante) et celles de l'END, en fonction de l'année civile, nous avons fusionné deux vagues de l'ETD pour couvrir tous les diplômés de l'année civile 2005. Ces deux promotions ont fait l'objet d'études antérieures : les diplômés de 2004-2005 dans King (2008) et ceux de 2005-2006, dans King, Eisl-Culkin et Desjardins (2008). La promotion de 2005 des répondants à l'END a fait l'objet d'une étude de Bayard et Greenlee (2009).

    En raison de la non-réponse aux deux enquêtes (environ 46 % dans le cas de l'ETD et 33 % dans celui de l'END), l'échantillon total se compose d'environ 2 500 diplômés ayant répondu aux deux enquêtes. Nous avons pondéré cet échantillon pour qu'il soit représentatif de la promotion de 2005. Dans les cas où le fichier couplé n'ajoutait aucune valeur à l'analyse, nous avons calculé des statistiques en fonction de l'échantillon entier de l'ETD ou de l'END afin de préserver la taille de l'échantillon. Il convient de signaler que l'ETD est représentative des diplômés d'établissements canadiens, alors que l'END et les fichiers couplés END-ETD sont représentatifs uniquement des diplômés qui sont restés au Canada ou aux États-Unis après avoir obtenu leur diplôme. Toutefois, cette différence n'a pas entraîné d'écarts appréciables dans les indicateurs clés entre les échantillons (voir l'encadré 1).

    Encadré 1 :
    Population cible de l'Enquête nationale auprès des diplômés

    La population cible de l'END de 2005 était composée des diplômés d'établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire publics canadiens reconnus qui répondaient aux exigences d'un programme admissible ou qui avaient obtenu un diplôme en 2005 et qui vivaient au Canada ou aux États-Unis au moment de l'enquête (à l'exception de citoyens américains vivant aux États-Unis au moment de l'enquête).

    Les enregistrements dans le champ de l'enquête sont ceux qui respectent tous les critères de la population définie ci-dessus. Sur les 4 200 titulaires de doctorat de 2005, environ 3 500 étaient considérés comme des diplômés dans le champ de l'enquête en 20072.

    Dans l'ensemble, la répartition de femmes ne présentait pas d'écart entre les deux populations; 44 % des diplômés de 2005 étaient des femmes, comparativement à 46 % en 2007. De même, la répartition des diplômés selon différents domaines d'études était comparable, sauf dans le cas des sciences sociales et des sciences du comportement et dans celui du droit, où la proportion des diplômés augmente de 3 points de pourcentage, passant de 18 % à 21 %.

    Nota :  Nous avons comparé les données de 2005 et de 2007 en comparant les données de l'END à celles du Système d'information sur les étudiants postsecondaires (SIEP).

    Fin de l'encadré

    2.1 Couplage des données de l'ETD et de l'END

    L'ETD et l'END ont chacune leurs points forts et leurs limites lorsqu'il s'agit d'examiner les titulaires de doctorat. Par exemple, l'ETD étant menée au moment de l'obtention du diplôme, elle produit des renseignements limités en ce qui concerne les résultats au chapitre de l'emploi. En effet, les données de l'ETD sur l'emploi reposent sur les attentes des diplômés à l'égard de leur emploi futur, s'ils ont déjà prévu d'obtenir un emploi ou de poursuivre leurs études. Par contre, les données de l'ETD étant recueillies au moment de l'obtention du diplôme, l'enquête porte sur tous les diplômés, quel que soit l'endroit où ils vivront après avoir obtenu leur diplôme. À l'opposé, pour des raisons pratiques, l'END porte uniquement sur les diplômés qui vivent au Canada ou aux États-Unis au moment de l'interview. Les deux enquêtes portent uniquement sur les diplômés qui obtiennent un doctorat d'un établissement canadien, et non sur les titulaires de doctorat ayant immigré au Canada. Selon le Recensement de 2006, les diplômés d'établissements canadiens comptaient pour un peu plus de la moitié (54 %) des titulaires de doctorat au Canada.

    En couplant les deux sources de données, on obtient une source de données exceptionnelles sur cette population, supérieures aux renseignements produits par ces deux sources prises isolément. Le fichier couplé devient un fichier de données longitudinales couvrant les titulaires de doctorat qui ont obtenu leur diplôme en 2005 et qui vivaient au Canada ou aux États-Unis en 2007. On peut comparer les attentes et les projets des diplômés au moment de l'obtention du diplôme aux données recueillies deux ans après leur première interview. En outre, on peut évaluer l'exactitude de leurs attentes, ce qui permet de brosser un tableau des résultats liés à leur diplôme et de vérifier la fiabilité des attentes des diplômés saisies par l'ETD. Enfin, les renseignements recueillis lors de l'ETD permettent de mieux expliquer les résultats observés lors de l'END.

    Pour simplifier les données et, à l'occasion, pour répondre aux conditions de la confidentialité, nous avons regroupé les domaines d'études afin d'obtenir de plus grands échantillons. Nous avons condensé les domaines comme suit :

    Tableau 1
    Comparaison de la liste détaillée et de la Classification des programmes d'enseignement (CPE) à la liste condensée des domaines d'études
    Liste condensée Liste détaillée des domaines d'études Séries et sous-séries de la Classification des programmes d'enseignement (CPE)
    Sciences de la vie Sciences agricoles Agriculture, ressources naturelles et conservation
    Sciences biologiques Sciences biologiques et biomédicales, sciences naturelles
    Sciences de la santé Toutes les sciences de la santé – incluant les sciences de la nutrition et la neuroscience
    Génie Génie Génie
    Mathématiques, informatique et sciences physiques Mathématiques, informatique et sciences de l'information Mathématiques, informatique et sciences de l'information
    Sciences physiques – incluant astronomie et astrophysique, sciences de l'atmosphère et météorologie, chimie, géologie et sciences connexes / géosciences, physique Sciences physiques – incluant astronomie et astrophysique, sciences de l'atmosphère et météorologie, chimie, géologie et sciences connexes / géosciences, physique
    Psychologie et sciences sociales Psychologie Psychologie
    Sciences sociales Sciences sociales
    Sciences du comportement
    Sciences humaines Histoire Histoire
    Lettres, langues et littérature Lettres, langues, litérature et linguistique
    Autres sciences humaines Arts libéraux, études générales et sciences humaines
    Philosophie et études religieuses
    Éducation et autres domaines d'études Éducation Éducation
    Domaines professionnels / Autres domaines Commerce, gestion et administration publique
    Architecture
    Communications, journalisme et programmes connexes et bibliothéconomie
    Droit
    Études des parcs, de la récréologie, des loisirs et du conditionnement physique
    Autres études multidisciplinaires
    Note : Les séries et sous-séries de la Classification des programmes d'enseignement (CPE) ne sont pas toutes représentées au niveau du doctorat.

    Notes

    1. Veuillez noter que l'END exclut les diplômés qui ne vivaient plus au Canada ou aux États-Unis en 2007.
    2. Les caractéristiques des diplômés hors du champ de l'enquête étaient semblables à celles des diplômés de 2005-2006 qui prévoyaient quitter le Canada au moment de l'obtention du diplôme. Ils étaient proportionnellement plus nombreux à être de sexe masculin, du domaine de l'informatique, mathématiques et sciences physiques et non-citoyens canadiens que dans le cas des diplômés qui étaient dans le champ de l'enquête. Voir : King, Darren, Judy Eisl-Culkin et Louise Desjardins. 2008. Les études doctorales au Canada : Résultats de l'Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat de 2005-2006, produit no. 81-595MIF2008069 au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa, 75 p.
    Date de modification :