Income Research Paper Series
Methodological changes to the Market Basket Measure in 2019

Release date: February 26, 2019

Skip to text

Text begins

This note describes methodological changes made to the Market Basket Measure (MBM) of low income in calendar year 2019. These revisions mainly affect MBM estimates for 2008 and 2009, but they also affect the overall interpretation of the trends in the MBM over the 2000s.

The MBM develops thresholds based upon the cost of a basket of food, clothing, shelter, transportation and other items.  The MBM methodology is reviewed on a regular basis through a “comprehensive review” and, where necessary, methodological changes and updates are made.  At these times, the basket contents can also be adjusted to reflect contemporary circumstances.

The MBM was originally designed in the early 2000s. Between 2008 and 2010, the “first comprehensive review” updated the MBM methodology and basket contents. To avoid breaks between the statistics produced by the old and new methodologies, it was decided that the thresholds developed using the new methodology would be “blended” or “smoothed” in over multiple years. Different methods were used to smooth in different basket components (Hatfield, Pyper and Gustajtis, 2010).

Hindsight has shown that “smoothing” the series affected the interpretability of the incidences of low-income over time.  Accordingly, in 2019 the decision was taken to remove this smoothing. In the future (and in this note), the original series will be denoted the “2000-base MBM” and the revised series based on the results of the 2008-2010 comprehensive review, will be denoted the “2008-base MBM”. The two series will be presented separately.Note   This paper describes the need for this change in more detail, and presents the new series.

It should be noted that Statistics Canada is currently conducting a “second comprehensive review” with the intention to produce a new 2018-base MBM . Users should note that the results of this review will be made available in 2020, and that the methodological revisions described in this note are unrelated to this second comprehensive review.

Food Component

The threshold for the food component of the MBM is determined using the National Nutritious Food Basket (NNFB), produced by Health Canada. The 2000-base MBM used the 1998 version of the NNFB, while the 2008-base MBM used the 2008 version of the NNFB . As there were significant differences in the cost of the two baskets, it was decided that the higher cost of the 2008 NNFB would be smoothed in over two years.Note  This approach of “smoothing in” prices reduced the comparability over time of the food component thresholds.  The increase in food prices in the resulting series derived partly from changes in food prices, but more so from a change in the composition of the food component itself. This would have a downstream effect on the low-income rates calculated using these thresholds.  Chart 1 uses the food component threshold for Toronto to illustrate this point.Note 

Chart 1 Comparison of 2000-base, 2008-base and originally published food component thresholds, Toronto, 2002 to 2017

Data table for Chart 1 
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), 2000-base, 2008-base, Published and Smoothing years, calculated using current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year 2000-base 2008-base Published Smoothing years
current dollars
2002 6,674 .. 6,674 ..
2003 6,694 .. 6,694 ..
2004 6,793 .. 6,793 ..
2005 7,009 .. 7,009 ..
2006 7,284 8,922 7,284 ..
2007 7,343 8,877 7,343 ..
2008 7,748 9,064 8,188 1
2009 8,168 9,268 8,907 1
2010 8,151 9,009 9,016 ..
2011 8,576 9,767 9,767 ..
2012 8,867 9,947 9,947 ..
2013 .. 10,001 10,001 ..
2014 .. 10,309 10,309 ..
2015 .. 10,808 10,808 ..
2016 .. 10,933 10,933 ..
2017 .. 10,721 10,721 ..

Private Transportation Component

During the first comprehensive review, it was determined that the reference vehicle for the private transportation component would need to be changed, because the previous reference vehicle had ceased production. Specifically, in the 2000-base MBM, the private transportation component was based on the cost of owning and operating a four-door, four-cylinder Chevrolet Cavalier.  In the 2008-base MBM, the vehicle was changed to the four-door Ford Focus sedan. As with the food component, there was a significant difference in the costs of these two automobiles, and so the transition was introduced gradually, over two years.Note  Similar to the food component, the “smoothing in” of this new transportation expense reduced the interpretability of the series.  In contrast, the revised methodology clearly separates the change over this period resulting from the change in the vehicle and the change in the vehicle price. Chart 2 uses the transportation component threshold for Alberta cities that have a population less than 30,000 to illustrate this point.Note 

Chart 2 Comparison of 2000-base, 2008-base and originally published transportation component thresholds, Alberta cities with a population less than 30,000, 2002 to 2016

Data table for Chart 2 
Data table for Chart 2
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 2. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), 2000-base, 2008-base, Published and Smoothing years, calculated using current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year 2000-base 2008-base Published Smoothing years
current dollars
2002 3,573 .. 3,573 ..
2003 3,626 .. 3,626 ..
2004 3,748 .. 3,748 ..
2005 3,959 .. 3,959 ..
2006 3,826 4,206 3,826 ..
2007 3,877 4,293 4,016 1
2008 3,917 4,366 4,217 1
2009 3,659 3,953 3,953 ..
2010 3,880 4,221 4,221 ..
2011 4,112 4,324 4,355 ..
2012 4,095 4,621 4,621 ..
2013 .. 4,631 4,631 ..
2014 .. 4,398 4,366 ..
2015 .. 4,402 4,402 ..
2016 .. 4,488 4,488 ..
2017 .. 4,784 4,784 ..

Shelter Component

In the MBM, shelter costs are based upon the weighted average of the costs of two and three bedroom apartments in the respective MBM regions. These estimates come mainly from the Census, and are updated in post-Censal years using a rental price index. Prior to the first comprehensive review, shelter costs were based on 1996 Census results and adjusted for inflation using the provincial level rented accommodation index of the CPI. During the first comprehensive review, shelter costs were updated to the most recent available, 2006 Census data, and as with the food and transportation revisions, the new 2006 census data were found to produce cost estimates that were higher than the previous costs. To avoid a break in the series, shelter costs were produced in the following way:

  • Shelter costs for 2000 came from 1996 census, with an adjustment forward using the rental price CPI.
  • Shelter costs for 2001 came from the 2001 census.
  • Shelter costs for 2002 to 2005 were a “blend” of 2001 and 2006 census estimates.
  • Shelter costs for 2006 were derived from 2006 census estimates, and estimates for 2007 onward were based on 2006 estimates adjusted using the rental price CPI

As with the food and transportation components, this combination of two methodologies has resulted in a reduction in the interpretability of the series. Since 2006, growth in the shelter costs has been due to pure price movements in shelter costs, while for the 2001-2006 period, growth in shelter costs were due to a combination of price increases, and changes in the rental stock associated with shifts in quality or the appearance of new units.Note  In the current revision, the 2001 census shelter estimates will be used for the 2000-base series and the 2006 census shelter estimates will be used for the 2008-base series, with the rental price index used to update changes over time. This ensures that a consistent price adjustment method is used within each base.  Chart 3 uses the shelter component threshold for Vancouver to illustrate this point.Note 

Chart 3 Comparison of the 2000-base, 2008-base and originally published shelter component thresholds, Vancouver, 2002 to 2017

Data table for Chart 3 
Data table for Chart 3
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 3. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), 2000-base, 2008-base, Published and Smoothing years, calculated using current dollars units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year 2000-base 2008-base Published Smoothing years
current dollars
2002 11,008 .. 11,076 1
2003 11,126 .. 11,264 1
2004 11,255 .. 11,464 1
2005 11,295 .. 11,574 1
2006 11,346 11,695 11,695 ..
2007 11,464 11,821 11,821 ..
2008 11,701 12,064 12,064 ..
2009 11,882 12,252 12,252 ..
2010 12,040 12,415 12,415 ..
2011 12,192 12,573 12,573 ..
2012 12,344 12,729 12,729 ..
2013 .. 12,884 12,884 ..
2014 .. 13,008 13,008 ..
2015 .. 13,143 13,143 ..
2016 .. 13,267 13,267 ..
2017 .. 13,422 13,422 ..

Over time, one would also want to account for changes in the rental stock associated with shifts in quality or the appearance of new units. Statistics Canada is currently conducting a “second comprehensive review” which will consider this question, and produce a new 2018-base MBM. Results of this review will be made available in early 2020.

Conclusion

This paper introduces changes made to the Market Basket Measure (MBM) in 2019. These changes improve the interpretability of the MBM series over the previously published ones through methodological revisions that removed “smoothing” that had been done in the past to mask breaks between differently defined baskets.  These revisions mainly affect MBM estimates for 2008 and 2009. On the aggregate, these revisions can be quite important to our understanding of MBM low-income trends in Canada over this period.

Chart 4 illustrates how the estimates will appear using the new methodology, as well as the previously published estimates for comparison purposes.

Chart 4 Comparison of low-income rates based on the 2000-base, 2008-base and those originally published, Canada, 2002 to 2017

Data table for Chart 4 
Data table for Chart 4
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 4. The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), 2000-base, 2008-base and Published, calculated using % units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Year 2000-base 2008-base Published
%
2002 12.9 .. 13.0
2003 12.5 .. 12.7
2004 12.5 .. 12.7
2005 11.8 .. 12.3
2006 12.4 15.6 12.7
2007 10.8 13.9 11.1
2008 10.2 12.4 11.2
2009 11.3 13.4 12.7
2010 10.4 12.3 12.3
2011 10.5 12.7 12.7
2012 10.8 12.7 12.7
2013 .. 12.1 12.1
2014 .. 11.3 11.3
2015 .. 12.1 12.1
2016 .. 10.6 10.6
2017 .. 9.5 9.5

The data in Chart 4 would describe two different evolutions of the MBM in Canada over this period. In the originally “published” series, the MBM low-income rate fell from 2002 to 2007, then rose from 2007 to 2009, and gradually fell again.  By 2016, low income in Canada was at a similar level as nine years earlier.  As indicated in this note, this trend was partially influenced by the “smoothing in” of MBM thresholds, which caused the historical years’ thresholds to increase not only because of higher prices, but also because of changes in the components of the basket.  With the new methodological approach, it is clear that MBM rates declined over the period.

From a usability perspective, the main drawback to the revised MBM approach is that users will have multiple base years to choose from.  For example, a user who wishes to compare low income “over the great recession” may need to choose between results using the 2000-base and results using the 2008-base.  Users will be advised to use the base closest to their period of interest, where possible.

Again, it should be noted that Statistics Canada is currently conducting a “second comprehensive review” with the intention to produce a new 2018-base MBM. Users should note that the results of this review will be made available in early 2020, and that the methodological revision described in this note is unrelated to this second comprehensive review.

References

Hatfield, Michael, Wendy Pyper and Burton Gustajtis. (2010), “First Comprehensive Review of the Market Basket Measure of Low Income”, Applied Research Branch paper, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada.

Statistics Canada (2015). “ Low Income Lines, 2013-2014:  Update”, Statistics Canada 75F0002M. December 2015.


Date modified:

Série de documents de recherche
Modifications méthodologiques apportées à la Mesure du panier de consommation en 2019

Date de diffusion : le 26 février 2019

Passer au texte

Début du texte

La présente note décrit les changements méthodologiques apportés à la mesure de faible revenu fondée sur un panier de consommation (MPC) au cours de l’année civile 2019. Ces révisions influent principalement sur les estimations de la MPC pour 2008 et 2009, mais aussi sur l’interprétation globale des tendances de la MPC au cours des années 2000.

La MPC établit des seuils à partir du coût d’un panier de nourriture, de vêtements, de logement, de transport et d’autres articles. La méthodologie de la MPC est révisée régulièrement au moyen d’un « examen approfondi » et, au besoin, des changements méthodologiques et des mises à jour sont apportés. À ce moment, le contenu du panier peut également être ajusté en fonction de la situation courante.

La MPC a été conçue au début des années 2000. Entre 2008 et 2010, le « premier examen approfondi » a mis à jour la méthodologie de la MPC et le contenu du panier. Pour éviter des ruptures entre les statistiques produites par les anciennes et les nouvelles méthodologies, on a décidé que les seuils établis à l’aide de la nouvelle méthodologie seraient « combinés » ou « lissés » sur plusieurs années. Diverses méthodes ont été employées pour lisser différentes composantes du panier (Hatfield, Pyper et Gustajtis, 2010).

Rétrospectivement, on a constaté que le « lissage » de la série avait une incidence sur l’interprétabilité de la fréquence du faible revenu au fil du temps. Par conséquent, en 2019, on a décidé de supprimer ce lissage. À l’avenir (et dans la présente note), la série originale portera le nom de « MPC de l’année de base 2000 » et la série révisée, qui repose sur les résultats de l’examen approfondi de 2008 à 2010, s’appellera la « MPC de l’année de base 2008 ». Les deux séries seront présentées séparémentNote . Le présent article décrit plus en détail la nécessité de ce changement et présente les nouvelles séries.

Il convient de souligner que Statistique Canada effectue actuellement un « deuxième examen approfondi » dans le but de produire une nouvelle MPC de l’année de base 2018. Les utilisateurs doivent noter que les résultats de cet examen seront diffusés en 2020 et que les révisions méthodologiques décrites dans la présente note ne sont pas liées à ce deuxième examen approfondi.

Composante de la nourriture

Le seuil de la composante de la nourriture de la MPC est déterminé à l’aide du panier de provisions nutritif – Canada (PPNC), produit par Santé Canada. La MPC de l’année de base 2000 avait recours à la version de 1998 du PPNC, tandis que la MPC de l’année de base 2008 utilisait la version de 2008 du PPNC . Puisque le coût des deux paniers était très différent, on a décidé que le coût plus élevé du PPNC de 2008 serait lissé sur deux ansNote . Cette approche de « lissage » des prix a réduit la comparabilité dans le temps des seuils de la composante de la nourriture. L’augmentation du prix des aliments dans la série qui en a résulté est en partie attribuable à l'évolution du prix des denrées alimentaires, mais surtout à la modification de la composition de la composante de la nourriture elle-même. Cela a un effet en aval sur les taux de faible revenu calculés à partir de ces seuils. Le graphique 1 utilise le seuil de la composante de la nourriture à Toronto pour illustrer ce pointNote .

Graphique 1 Comparaison de la base de 2000, de la base de 2008 et des seuils de la composante Nourriture initialement diffusés, Toronto, 2002 à 2017

Tableau de donnée du graphique 1 
Tableau de données du graphique 1

Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de . Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Base de 2000 , Base de 2008 , Diffusé et Années de lissage, calculées selon en dollars courants unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Base de 2000 Base de 2008 Diffusé Années de lissage
en dollars courants
2002 6 674 .. 6 674 ..
2003 6 694 .. 6 694 ..
2004 6 793 .. 6 793 ..
2005 7 009 .. 7 009 ..
2006 7 284 8 922 7 284 ..
2007 7 343 8 877 7 343 ..
2008 7 748 9 064 8 188 1
2009 8 168 9 268 8 907 1
2010 8 151 9 009 9 016 ..
2011 8 576 9 767 9 767 ..
2012 8 867 9 947 9 947 ..
2013 .. 10 001 10 001 ..
2014 .. 10 309 10 309 ..
2015 .. 10 808 10 808 ..
2016 .. 10 933 10 933 ..
2017 .. 10 721 10 721 ..

Composante du transport privé

Lors du premier examen approfondi, il a été déterminé que le véhicule de référence pour la composante du transport privé devait être changé, car le véhicule de référence précédent n’était plus produit. Plus précisément, dans la MPC de l’année de base 2000, la composante du transport privé était fondée sur le coût de possession et d’utilisation d’une Chevrolet Cavalier à quatre portes et à quatre cylindres. Dans la MPC de l’année de base 2008, ce véhicule a été remplacé par une Ford Focus berline à quatre portes. Comme pour la composante de la nourriture, puisque le coût de ces deux automobiles était très différent, la transition a été faite graduellement, sur deux ansNote . Tout comme pour la composante de la nourriture, le « lissage » de cette nouvelle dépense de transport a réduit l’interprétabilité de la série. En comparaison, la méthodologie révisée établit une distinction claire entre les fluctuations au cours de cette période découlant du changement du véhicule et de la variation du prix du véhicule. Dans le graphique 2, le seuil de la composante du transport pour les villes de l’Alberta comptant moins de 30 000 habitants sert à illustrer ce pointNote .

Graphique 2 Comparaison de la base de 2000, de la base de 2008 et des seuils de la composante Transport initialement diffusés, villes de l’Alberta ayant une population inférieur à 30 000 habitants, 2002 à 2017

Tableau de donnée du graphique 2 
Tableau de données du graphique 2

Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de . Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Base de 2000 , Base de 2008 , Diffusé et Années de lissage, calculées selon en dollars courants unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Base de 2000 Base de 2008 Diffusé Années de lissage
en dollars courants
2002 3 573 .. 3 573 ..
2003 3 626 .. 3 626 ..
2004 3 748 .. 3 748 ..
2005 3 959 .. 3 959 ..
2006 3 826 4 206 3 826 ..
2007 3 877 4 293 4 016 1
2008 3 917 4 366 4 217 1
2009 3 659 3 953 3 953 ..
2010 3 880 4 221 4 221 ..
2011 4 112 4 324 4 355 ..
2012 4 095 4 621 4 621 ..
2013 .. 4 631 4 631 ..
2014 .. 4 398 4 366 ..
2015 .. 4 402 4 402 ..
2016 .. 4 488 4 488 ..
2017 .. 4 784 4 784 ..

Composante du logement

Dans la MPC, les coûts d’habitation sont fondés sur la moyenne pondérée du coût des appartements de deux et trois chambres dans les régions respectives de la MPC. Ces estimations proviennent surtout du recensement et sont mises à jour au cours des années postcensitaires à l’aide d’un indice des prix de location. Avant le premier examen approfondi, les coûts d’habitation reposaient sur les résultats du Recensement de 1996 et ils étaient rajustés pour tenir compte de l’inflation à l’aide de l’IPC des logements locatifs au niveau provincial. Lors du premier examen approfondi, les coûts d’habitation ont été mis à jour en fonction des données les plus récentes, soit celles du Recensement de 2006, et, comme dans le cas des révisions relatives à la nourriture et au transport, on a constaté que les nouvelles données du Recensement de 2006 produisaient des estimations des coûts plus élevées que les coûts précédents. Pour éviter une rupture dans la série, les coûts d’habitation ont été produits de la façon suivante :

  • les coûts d’habitation pour 2000 provenaient du Recensement de 1996 et un rajustement avait été fait à l’aide de l’IPC des prix de location
  • les coûts d’habitation pour 2001 provenaient du Recensement de 2001
  • les coûts d’habitation de 2002 à 2005 étaient une « combinaison » des estimations des recensements de 2001 et de 2006
  • les coûts d’habitation pour 2006 provenaient des estimations du Recensement de 2006 et les estimations de 2007 et des années suivantes reposaient sur les estimations de 2006 rajustées à l’aide de l’IPC des prix de location.

Comme pour les composantes de la nourriture et du transport, cette combinaison de deux méthodologies a entraîné une réduction de l’interprétabilité de la série. Depuis 2006, la croissance des coûts d’habitation est attribuable à des fluctuations pures des coûts d’habitation, tandis que pour la période allant de 2001 à 2006, la croissance des coûts d’habitation était attribuable à une combinaison d’augmentation des prix et de changements dans le parc locatif associés à des changements dans la qualité ou l'apparence de nouveaux logementsNote . Dans la présente révision, les estimations des coûts d’habitation du Recensement de 2001 seront utilisées pour la série de l’année de base 2000, les estimations des coûts d’habitation du Recensement de 2006 seront employées pour la série de l’année de base 2008 et l’indice des coûts de location servira à mettre à jour les fluctuations dans le temps. De cette façon, on s'assure qu'une méthode uniforme de rajustement des prix est utilisée  pour chaque base. Le graphique 3 utilise le seuil de la composante du logement à Vancouver pour illustrer ce pointNote .

Graphique 3 Comparaison de la base de 2000, de la base de 2008 et des seuils de la composante Logement initialement diffusés, Vancouver, 2002 à 2017

Tableau de donnée du graphique 3 
Tableau de données du graphique 3
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 3. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Base de 2000 , Base de 2008 , Diffusé et Années de lissage, calculées selon en dollars courants unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Base de 2000 Base de 2008 Diffusé Années de lissage
en dollars courants
2002 11 008 .. 11 076 1
2003 11 126 .. 11 264 1
2004 11 255 .. 11 464 1
2005 11 295 .. 11 574 1
2006 11 346 11 695 11 695 ..
2007 11 464 11 821 11 821 ..
2008 11 701 12 064 12 064 ..
2009 11 882 12 252 12 252 ..
2010 12 040 12 415 12 415 ..
2011 12 192 12 573 12 573 ..
2012 12 344 12 729 12 729 ..
2013 .. 12 884 12 884 ..
2014 .. 13 008 13 008 ..
2015 .. 13 143 13 143 ..
2016 .. 13 267 13 267 ..
2017 .. 13 422 13 422 ..

Au fil du temps, on voudrait aussi tenir compte des changements dans le parc locatif associés aux changements de la qualité ou de l’apparence des nouveaux logements. Statistique Canada effectue actuellement un « deuxième examen approfondi » qui portera sur cette question et donnera une nouvelle MPC de l’année de base 2018. Les résultats de cet examen seront diffusés au début de l’automne 2020.

Conclusion

Le présent document fait état des changements apportés à la mesure fondée sur un panier de consommation (MPC) en 2019. Ces changements améliorent l'interprétabilité de la série de la MPC par rapport aux séries déjà publiées grâce aux révisions méthodologiques qui ont éliminé le « lissage » qui avait été fait par le passé pour masquer les ruptures entre des paniers définis différemment. Ces révisions touchent principalement les estimations de la MPC pour 2008 et 2009. Dans l’ensemble, ces révisions peuvent être très importantes pour notre compréhension des tendances du faible revenu selon la MPC au Canada pendant cette période.

Le graphique 4 illustre la manière dont les estimations apparaîtront à la suite de la nouvelle méthodologie, ainsi que les estimations qui ont déjà été publiées, à titre de comparaison.

Graphique 4 Comparaison des taux de faible revenu fondés sur la base de 2000, la base de 2008 et ceux initialement diffusés, Canada, 2002 à 2017

Tableau de donnée du graphique 4 
Tableau de données du graphique 4
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 4. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Base de 2000 , Base de 2008 et Diffusé, calculées selon % unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Base de 2000 Base de 2008 Diffusé
%
2002 12,9 .. 13,0
2003 12,5 .. 12,7
2004 12,5 .. 12,7
2005 11,8 .. 12,3
2006 12,4 15,6 12,7
2007 10,8 13,9 11,1
2008 10,2 12,4 11,2
2009 11,3 13,4 12,7
2010 10,4 12,3 12,3
2011 10,5 12,7 12,7
2012 10,8 12,7 12,7
2013 .. 12,1 12,1
2014 .. 11,3 11,3
2015 .. 12,1 12,1
2016 .. 10,6 10,6
2017 .. 9,5 9,5

Les données du graphique 4 décriraient deux évolutions différentes de la MPC au Canada pendant cette période. Dans la série initialement diffusée, le taux de faible revenu de la MPC a diminué de 2002 à 2007, puis il a augmenté de 2007 à 2009, avant de redescendre graduellement. En 2016, le faible revenu au Canada se situait au même niveau que neuf ans plus tôt. Tel qu’indiqué dans la présente note, cette tendance est en partie attribuable au « lissage » des seuils de la MPC, qui a fait augmenter les seuils des années historiques non seulement en raison des prix plus élevés, mais aussi en raison des changements apportés aux composantes du panier. Avec la nouvelle approche méthodologique, il est évident que les taux de la MPC ont diminué au cours de la période.

D’un point de vue pratique, le principal inconvénient de l’approche révisée de la MPC est le fait que les utilisateurs auront plusieurs années de base parmi lesquelles choisir. Par exemple, un utilisateur qui souhaite comparer le faible revenu « pendant la grande récession » pourrait devoir choisir entre les résultats de l’année de base 2000 et ceux de l’année de base 2008. On conseillera aux utilisateurs de se servir de l’année de base la plus proche de leur période d’intérêt, dans la mesure du possible.

Encore une fois, il convient de souligner que Statistique Canada effectue actuellement un « deuxième examen approfondi » afin de produire une nouvelle MPC de l’année de base 2018. Les utilisateurs doivent noter que les résultats de cet examen seront diffusés au début de 2020 et que la révision méthodologique décrite dans la présente note n’est pas liée à ce deuxième examen approfondi.

Références

Hatfield, Michael, Wendy Pyper et Burton Gustajtis. (2010), «  Premier examen complet de la mesure du faible revenu fondée sur un panier de consommation : rapport final », Rapport de la Direction générale de la recherche appliquée, Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada.

Statistique Canada (2015). « Les lignes de faible revenu, 2013-2014 : mise à jour », Statistique Canada 75F0002M. Décembre 2015.


Date de modification :